New site for Swissgrid

Swissgrid will merge the two current sites Laufenburg and Frick in the new central location in Aarau.

Why is Swissgrid moving its site?

Swissgrid, the national grid company, operates the Swiss transmission grid. As the owner it is responsible for its maintenance, renewal and expansion. To improve internal cooperation and make processes as efficient as possible, Swissgrid has decided to consolidate its two sites at Laufenburg and Frick. This will also solve the lack of space that has become a problem at the current locations.

What were the criteria behind the choice of location?

Swissgrid carried out a detailed feasibility study of several potential sites within and outside the canton of Aargau. A key criterion for the choice of location was its accessibility from all parts of the country, since, as the national grid company, Swissgrid is active throughout Switzerland. Furthermore, the new location should help make it easier to recruit specialists and still remain easy for existing employees to reach.

Did Swissgrid also examine sites in the Fricktal region?

Sites in Fricktal were also subjected to a feasibility study. Among the locations assessed, the former Electrolux site in Aarau turned out to be the best. Swissgrid is easily accessible from all parts of the country here, especially by public transport. The Electrolux site in Aarau, which is very close to the train station, meets all the conditions required for the location of the head office of the national grid company.

Who owns the Electrolux site?

The Credit Suisse Investment Foundation purchased the Electrolux site in 2011 with the aim of redeveloping it.

Will the grid control room be moved to Aarau?

The grid control room is where the core tasks of Swissgrid are carried out: the monitoring and control of the Swiss transmission grid. These activities are in part closely linked to other significant tasks for which Swissgrid is responsible. The Asset Management division and the grid control room will therefore work intensively together in the future on the maintenance of the transmission grid as well as other issues. Other existing tasks such as procurement and the deployment of ancillary services also require staff to be close to one another. Swissgrid has therefore decided to also relocate the grid control room to Aarau.

When was the grid control room in Laufenburg put into operation?

The grid control centre in Laufenburg dates back to 1958 when Switzerland, Germany and France first interconnected their high-voltage networks. It was moved to a new building in 1991. However, Swissgrid’s new responsibilities meant that the control centre needed to be redesigned. It was therefore renovated and reequipped in the period from the autumn of 2008 until the end of 2009. The technical infrastructure will continue to be used at the future location in Aarau, as long as the technology is still up to date.

What will happen to the present location and the infrastructure in Laufenburg?

The owner of the building in Laufenburg is Axpo Power AG. They will decide how the location is to be used in future. After the takeover of the Swiss transmission grid as of 2013, the grid system in Laufenburg has passed to Swissgrid.

What will happen to the switching substation when the grid control room is moved?

Swissgrid will replace the switch gear cubicle in the coming years. This means that considerably less land will be required for the switching substation in future, which will significantly improve the landscape.

How are the cooperation and discussions with the affected municipalities taking place?

Swissgrid has been in contact with the affected municipalities in Fricktal since the start of the location evaluation and is providing ongoing information about the project status and further course of action.

How is Swissgrid taking into account the concerns of the municipalities and population?

Swissgrid understands the concerns of the municipalities. It is willing to support the municipalities in the search for new usage options for the Laufenburg site. Swissgrid is also planning to invite the population in Fricktal to the company's offices to provide information about its tasks, challenges and the planned change of location.

Share
Facebook
Twitter

Neuer Standort für Swissgrid

Swissgrid wird ihre beiden heutigen Standorte Laufenburg und Frick im neuen, zentralen Standort in Aarau zusammenzulegen.

Warum verlegt Swissgrid ihren Standort?

Swissgrid, die nationale Netzgesellschaft, betreibt das Schweizer Übertragungsnetz und ist als Eigentümerin für dessen Instandhaltung, Erneuerung und Ausbau verantwortlich. Um die interne Zusammenarbeit zu verbessern und die Arbeitsabläufe möglichst effizient zu gestalten, hat Swissgrid entschieden, ihre beiden Standorte Laufenburg und Frick zusammenzulegen. Auf diese Weise können auch die an den heutigen Standorten eng gewordenen Platzverhältnisse beseitigt werden.

Welche Kriterien waren für die Standortwahl entscheidend?

Swissgrid hat mehrere potentielle Standorte innerhalb und ausserhalb des Kantons Aargau einer detaillierten Machbarkeitsprüfung unterzogen. Wichtiges Kriterium für die Standortwahl war die Erreichbarkeit aus allen Landesteilen. Denn als nationale Netzgesellschaft ist Swissgrid in der ganzen Schweiz tätig. Im Weiteren soll der neue Standort helfen, die Rekrutierung von Fachspezialisten zu erleichtern. Zudem muss dieser für die bestehenden Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter weiterhin gut erreichbar sein.

Hat Swissgrid auch Standorte im Fricktal untersucht?

Auch Standorte im Fricktal wurden einer Machbarkeitsprüfung unterzogen. Unter den evaluierten Standorten schnitt das ehemalige Electrolux-Areal in Aarau am besten ab. Von hier aus ist Swissgrid aus allen Landesteilen sehr gut erreichbar, insbesondere mit den öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln. Das Electrolux-Areal in Aarau – in unmittelbarer Nähe beim Bahnhof gelegen – erfüllt sämtliche Bedingungen, die an den Sitz der nationalen Netzgesellschaft gestellt werden.

Wem gehört das Electrolux-Areal?

Die Credit Suisse Anlagestiftung hat das Electrolux-Areal 2011 erworben mit dem Ziel, dieses zu überbauen.

Wird die Netzleitstelle nach Aarau verlegt?

In der Netzleitstelle werden die Kernaufgaben von Swissgrid ausgeführt: die Überwachung und Steuerung des Schweizer Übertragungsnetzes. Diese Aktivitäten sind teilweise eng gekoppelt an andere bedeutende Aufgaben, die Swissgrid verantwortet. So werden der Bereich Asset Management und die Netzleitstelle unter anderem bei der Instandhaltung des Übertragungsnetzes zukünftig intensiv zusammenarbeiten. Auch andere, bereits heute bestehende Aufgaben wie die Beschaffung und der Einsatz von Systemdienstleistungen verlangen eine enge räumliche Zusammenarbeit. Swissgrid hat deshalb beschlossen, die Netzleitstelle ebenfalls nach Aarau zu verlegen.

Wann wurde die Netzleitstelle in Laufenburg in Betrieb genommen?

Die Netzleitstelle in Laufenburg hat ihren Ursprung 1958, als die Schweiz, Deutschland und Frankreich ihre Hochspannungsnetze miteinander verbanden. Sie zog 1991 in einen Neubau ein. Die zusätzlichen Aufgaben von Swissgrid bedingten eine Neukonzeption der Leitstelle. Von Herbst 2008 bis Ende 2009 wurde sie deshalb renoviert und neu ausgestattet.
Am künftigen Standort in Aarau soll die technische Infrastruktur – soweit dann technologisch noch zeitgemäss – weiterverwendet werden.

Was geschieht mit dem heutigen Standort und mit der Infrastruktur in Laufenburg?

Eigentümerin des Gebäudes in Laufenburg ist die Axpo Power AG. Sie wird entscheiden, wie der Standort künftig genutzt wird. Mit der Übernahme des Schweizer Übertragungsnetzes gingen die Netzanlagen Anfang 2013 an Swissgrid über.

Was geschieht mit der Schaltanlage, wenn die Netzleitstelle verlegt wird?

Swissgrid wird in den kommenden Jahren das Schaltfeld erneuern. Das bedeutet, dass künftig viel weniger Land für die Schaltanlage benötigt wird. In diesem Sinn wird es für das Landschaftsbild eine klare Verbesserung geben.

Wie erfolgen die Zusammenarbeit und der Austausch mit den betroffenen Gemeinden?

Swissgrid ist seit Beginn der Standortevaluation mit den betroffenen Gemeinden im Fricktal in Kontakt und informiert laufend über den Stand des Projekts sowie das weitere Vorgehen.

Wie wird Swissgrid den Anliegen der Gemeinden und der Bevölkerung gerecht?

Swissgrid hat Verständnis für die Anliegen der Gemeinden. Sie ist bereit, die Gemeinden bei der Suche nach neuen Nutzungsmöglichkeiten für das Areal in Laufenburg zu unterstützen. Swissgrid plant zudem, die Bevölkerung im Fricktal zu sich einzuladen, um über ihre Aufgaben, Herausforderungen und den Standortwechsel zu informieren.

Teilen
E-Mail
Facebook
Twitter