Smart Grid

Europe and therefore Switzerland too have set themselves ambitious climate targets. These goals can only be achieved if energy is used efficiently. Smart grids – intelligent electricity grids – support this development.

  • Demand and, as a consequence, supply of electricity from renewable energy sources are steadily increasing. This also alters the requirements placed on electricity grids.
  • The generation of electricity from solar or wind power cannot be easily planned and is subject to large fluctuations.

Increasing numbers of small electricity producers which draw electricity from regenerative sources are entering the market. The number of electricity producers is rising.

To cope with the increasing fluctuations in electricity production, transmission systems have to become smarter. A better balance needs to be established between production and consumption, and grids need to become more automated.

Smart grids offer one possible solution to these challenges. They are based on a symbiosis of modern information and communication technologies, making them more intelligent and more flexible to control:

  • Meter reading: Smart metering refers to a method for recording, processing and invoicing consumers’ energy requirements. It facilitates a more accurate analysis of electricity consumption. Consumers can decide more easily when they need electricity and identify which items are real energy guzzlers. Suppliers can optimise production and grids.
  • Feed in: The generation of electricity in solar and wind power plants is subject to far greater fluctuations. Excess electricity has to be stored. Sensors and intelligent meters form the basis for turning electricity storage systems on and off.

A number of obstacles still have to be overcome in the process of installing smart grids. But these grids will help to ensure efficient and reliable systems operation for the supply of electricity, thereby contributing to sustainable electricity production across Europe.

Share
Facebook
Twitter

News

Swissgrid supports Smart Grid pilot project in cooperation with BKW, Migros and IBM.

More…

Article fachkom.ch

05.02.2013 - Pilot project FlexLast: The cold store as energy storage (German)

More…

Smart Grid: Das intelligente Netz

Europa und damit auch die Schweiz haben sich ehrgeizige Klimaschutzziele gesetzt. Diese können nur erreicht werden, wenn Energie effizient genutzt wird. Smart Grids, intelligente Stromnetze, unterstützen diese Entwicklung.

  • Die Nachfrage und damit die Produktion von Strom aus erneuerbaren Energiequellen steigen stetig an. Damit verändern sich auch die Anforderungen an die Stromnetze.
  • Die Produktion von Strom aus Sonnen- oder Windkraft lässt sich nur sehr schwer planen und unterliegt grossen Schwankungen.

Vermehrt treten kleine Stromerzeuger in den Markt ein, die ebenfalls Strom aus regenerativen Quellen erzeugen. Die Anzahl der Stromproduzenten steigt.

Um mit den zunehmenden Schwankungen der Stromproduktion zurecht zu kommen, müssen die Stromübertragungsnetze intelligenter werden. Die Produktion und der Verbrauch müssen besser ausbalanciert werden: Eine stärkere Automatisierung der Netze ist notwendig.

Smart Grids sind ein Lösungsansatz für diese Herausforderungen. Dabei geht das Stromnetz eine Symbiose mit modernen Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologien ein und wird so intelligenter und flexibler steuerbar:

  • Ablesen: Smart Metering bezeichnet die Möglichkeit, den Energiebedarf von Konsumenten zu erfassen, weiterzuverarbeiten und abzurechnen. Dies erlaubt eine genauere Analyse des Stromverbrauchs: Konsumenten können so besser entscheiden, wann sie Strom beziehen und erfahren, welches die grossen Stromfresser sind. Erzeuger können Produktion und Netze optimieren.
  • Einspeisen: Die Stromproduktion in Sonnen- und Windkraftwerken unterliegt grossen Schwankungen. Überschüssiger Strom muss zwischengespeichert werden. Sensoren und intelligente Zähler sind die Grundlage, um Stromspeicher ab- und anzuschalten.

Auf dem Weg zu Smart Grids gilt es, noch einige Hindernisse zu überwinden. Smart Grids können dabei helfen einen effizienten und zuverlässigen Systembetrieb in der Stromversorgung sicherzustellen - und damit für eine nachhaltige Stromproduktion in Europa zu sorgen.

Teilen
E-Mail
Facebook
Twitter

News

Am 28. März 2013 ging FlexLast im Beisein von Bundesrätin Doris Leuthard in den Testbetrieb.

Mehr...

Artikel fachkom.ch

05.02.2013 - Pilotprojekt FlexLast: Das Kühlhaus als Energiespeicher

Mehr...

14. asut-Kolloquium

«ICT als Schlüsselfaktor für intelligente Netze» am Mittwoch, 27. November 2013 im Kursaal Bern.

Mehr...