The Swiss transmission system

Every day electricity from energy producers finds its way to the power socket in your home: at the right time, in the right quantity and at prices in line with the market.

Swissgrid operates the Swiss transmission system and secures the transport of energy across long distances. The Swiss grid has two main tasks:

  • Transport electricity from the producing power plant to the end consumer via the transmission system. Electricity reaches domestic power sockets via regional and local system distributors.
  • Electricity is traded, exported and imported in Europe. Situated at the heart of Europe, Switzerland has an important role as a transit country: electricity exports from Germany to Italy travel via Switzerland and the same happens for the East-West axis.

The Swiss transmission system is 6,700 kilometres long, about the distance from Zurich to Washington, D.C. The Swiss transmission system is connected to those of the neighbouring countries at over 40 points.

Secure supply around the clock

As the owner of the Swiss transmission system, Swissgrid is responsible for maintaining, modernising and expanding it to meet demand. Swissgrid’s task is to manage the transmission system safely, efficiently and economically. The focus here is on security of supply. The Swiss transmission system is one of the most stable in the world and forms the backbone of Switzerland’s security of supply.

Swissgrid possesses a comprehensive information technology infrastructure with which it is able to map an up-to-date model of the Swiss transmission system from around 40,000 data points. From them, about 10,000 measurements and switch positions of every grid element are recorded and processed in cycles of less than 20 seconds. The Swissgrid Control Room monitors the system 24 hours a day, 365 days a year.

To ensure a secure supply of electricity, it is also necessary to coordinate and regulate the electricity flow within a grid that extends right across Europe. To do so, Swissgrid cooperates closely with its European partners.

Share
Facebook
Twitter

References

Das Schweizer Übertragungsnetz

Jeden Tag findet der Strom den Weg vom Energieproduzenten bis zur Steckdose in Ihrem Haushalt: zum richtigen Zeitpunkt, in ausreichender Menge und zu marktgerechten Preisen.

Swissgrid betreibt das Schweizer Übertragungsnetz und sichert den Transport von Energie über weite Entfernungen. Das Schweizer Netz hat im Prinzip zwei Hauptaufgaben:

  • Mit dem Übertragungsnetz wird Strom vom produzierenden Kraftwerk zu den Endverbrauchern transportiert. Der Strom gelangt via regionale und lokale Netzverteiler zur heimischen Steckdose.
  • Strom wird in Europa gehandelt, exportiert und importiert. Als Land im Herzen Europas hat die Schweiz eine wichtige Rolle als Transitland: Stromexporte von Deutschland nach Italien laufen über die Schweiz, gleiches geschieht auf der Ost-West-Achse.

Das Schweizer Übertragungsnetz ist 6700 Kilometer lang, dies entspricht der Strecke Zürich – Washington D.C. An über 40 Stellen ist das Schweizer Übertragungsnetz mit jenen der umliegenden Länder verbunden.

 

Sichere Versorgung rund um die Uhr

Swissgrid ist die Eigentümerin des Schweizer Übertragungsnetzes und für den Unterhalt, die Erneuerung und den bedarfsgerechten Ausbau verantwortlich. Aufgabe von Swissgrid ist es, das Übertragungsnetz sicher, effizient und wirtschaftlich zu führen. Die Versorgungssicherheit steht dabei im Vordergrund. Das Schweizer Übertragungsnetz gehört zu den stabilsten der Welt und ist das Rückgrat der Schweizer Versorgungssicherheit.

Swissgrid verfügt über eine umfassende informationstechnologische Infrastruktur, mit deren Hilfe ein aktuelles Modell des Schweizer Übertragungsnetzes mit rund 40 000 Datenpunkten abgebildet wird. Davon werden rund 10 000 Messwerte und Schalterstellungen aller Netzelemente im Zyklus von weniger als 20 Sekunden erfasst und verarbeitet. Swissgrid Control, die Netzleitstelle, überwacht das Netz während 24 Stunden an 365 Tagen im Jahr.

Für eine sichere Stromversorgung sind auch die Koordination und der geregelte Stromfluss innerhalb eines Netzwerks erforderlich, das sich über ganz Europa erstreckt. Swissgrid arbeitet dazu eng mit ihren europäischen Partnern zusammen.

Teilen
E-Mail
Facebook
Twitter