Disturbance management

The energy in Europe’s high-voltage grids is transmitted at a constant frequency of 50 Hertz. The grid frequency must not fall significantly below this figure otherwise there is the risk, in the worst case, of an interregional or cross-border power outage. Automatic load shedding is the measure of last resort for preventing this sort of failure and is only used in the most extreme situations. Fortunately this "emergency brake" is hardly ever required.

Preventing underfrequencies...

An underfrequency can occur when consumption increases dramatically or a power plant suddenly fails. In order to prevent an underfrequency, individual supply regions have to be disconnected from the grid: this results in power outages. The load on the grid is reduced, however, and a constant frequency of 50 Hertz is restored.

... through automatic load shedding

Frequency-dependent load shedding means that individual grid sections are automatically disconnected when certain measured values are reached. The supply regions to be disconnected are selected randomly, so the risk of a power failure is the same for all. This emergency brake re-stabilises the electricity grid. After only a few hours, all consumers are supplied with electricity again.

Share
Facebook
Twitter

Fault reports

Report a disturbance in the Swiss extra-high-voltage grid (substation, line or power pole)

More…

Störungsmanagement

Auf den Höchstspannungsnetzen Europas wird die Energie mit einer konstanten Frequenz von 50 Hertz übertragen. Diese Netzfrequenz darf nicht wesentlich unterschritten werden; es droht sonst im schlimmsten Fall ein überregionaler oder länderübergreifender Ausfall. Der automatische Lastabwurf ist die letzte aller möglichen Massnahmen, um einen solchen Ausfall zu verhindern und kommt nur in absoluten Extremsituationen zum Einsatz. Glücklicherweise wird diese «Notbremse des Netzes» so gut wie nie benötigt.

Unterfrequenzen verhindern...

Eine Unterfrequenz kann entstehen, wenn der Verbrauch sprunghaft ansteigt oder Kraftwerksleistung plötzlich ausfällt. Um eine Unterfrequenz zu verhindern, müssen einzelne Versorgungsgebiete vom Netz getrennt werden: Es kommt zu Stromausfällen. Dafür wird die Last auf dem Netz kleiner und es wird wieder eine konstante Frequenz von 50 Hertz erreicht.

... durch automatischen Lastabwurf

Beim frequenzabhängigen Lastabwurf werden einzelne Netzteile automatisch abgeschaltet, wenn bestimmte Messwerte erreicht werden. Die zu trennenden Versorgungsgebiete werden zufällig ausgewählt, die Wahrscheinlichkeit eines Stromausfalls ist für alle gleich gross. Durch diese Notbremse wird das Stromnetz wieder stabilisiert. Nach wenigen Stunden werden alle Verbraucher wieder mit Strom versorgt.

Teilen
E-Mail
Facebook
Twitter

Störungsmeldungen

Melden Sie uns Störungen im Schweizer Höchst-spannungsnetz (Unterwerk, Leitung oder Mast).

Mehr...