Grid stability

A steady balance between production and consumption is the prerequisite for a stable electricity grid and guarantees secure supply at a frequency of 50 Hz. This means production and consumption need to be coordinated. As far as production is concerned, this is relatively simple: the production of electrical energy is largely foreseeable, apart from the new renewable energies. Consumption (so-called grid load) is a different matter, however: it can be estimated but never accurately predicted. An unforeseen cold spell, for example, can drive up electricity consumption in contradiction to plans.

Grid load Switzerland

All electricity withdrawals from the electricity grid are referred to as grid load. The electricity withdrawal is the quantity of produced energy distributed from the electricity grid. Swissgrid makes the following distinction in terms of electricity withdrawal:

  • Load on the transmission system: load which is distributed from the high-voltage grid to subordinate grids (grids with lower voltage level, distribution systems) or to directly connected consumers. These include, for example, pumps or frequency converters linked to the high-voltage grid.
  • Total load: total grid load of all consumers, irrespective of the grid level (high-voltage grid, grids with lower voltage levels).

There is a difference between the load on the transmission system and the total load. Many power plants do not feed the energy they produce into the high-voltage grid. They transport the energy produced to the consumer via subordinate grids.

Example of feed-in to subordinate grids:
A river power plant close to a city seldom feeds the energy it has produced into the high-voltage grid, but rather into a lower voltage level. The city draws its electricity from this voltage level. Because of the short distances between the river power plant and the city, no detour via the high-voltage grid is necessary. The electricity can be transmitted directly via a lower voltage level. This electricity withdrawal therefore does not feature in the «load on the transmission system».

Example of feed-in to high-voltage grid:
An efficient pumped storage power plant in the Alps has to transport large volumes of produced energy across large distances. Because transport is more efficient on a high voltage level this power plant feeds the energy produced into the high-voltage grid.

When this power plant goes into pumping mode and pumps water up into the higher reservoir in order to store energy, it becomes an additional consumer (load). Consequently, the power plant will feature in the «load on the transmission system” when in pumping mode.


Load flows across the border (exchange)

The exchange of electricity between different high-voltage grids is referred to as load flows across the border. Switzerland has more than 30 connections to the high-voltage grids of neighbouring countries. Electricity is constantly exchanged via these connections. The electrical flows and direction of flow change depending on where electricity is produced and consumed in Europe. The load flows between Switzerland and its neighbouring countries are calculated for each border.

The sum of all load flows across the border yields the balance for Switzerland.


Balance

The balance for Switzerland indicates how much electrical power (electricity) Switzerland currently exchanges with its neighbouring countries. The balance states whether Switzerland imports or exports more electrical power overall.

The balance for Switzerland does not refer to the overall production or the total consumption of energy in Switzerland.

Example:
Electricity consumption in Switzerland rises significantly with the operation of a large factory. If the required energy is supplied by a power plant within Switzerland there is no additional load flow across the border. There is no additional exchange of electricity with grids belonging to neighbouring states. The balance consequently remains unchanged.

Share
Facebook
Twitter

Netzstabilität

Das konstante Gleichgewicht zwischen Produktion und Verbrauch ist die Voraussetzung für ein stabiles Stromnetz und gewährleistet die sichere Versorgung bei einer Frequenz von 50 Hertz. Dies bedeutet, dass Produktion und Verbrauch miteinander abgestimmt werden müssen.  Bei der Produktion ist dies relativ einfach: die Produktion elektrischer Energie ist, abgesehen von den neuen Erneuerbaren Energien, weitgehend planbar. Über den Verbrauch hingegen, die sogenannte Netzlast, lässt sich zwar eine Prognose abgeben, genau vorhersagen lässt er sich jedoch nie. So kann etwa ein unvorhergesehener Kälteeinbruch den Stromverbrauch entgegen den Planungen nach oben setzen.

Netzlast Schweiz

Als Netzlast werden alle elektrischen Ausspeisungen aus dem Stromnetz bezeichnet. Die elektrische Ausspeisung ist die vom Stromnetz verteilte Menge an produzierter Energie. Swissgrid unterscheidet bei der elektrische Ausspeisung zwischen:

  • Last am Übertragungsnetz: Last, die vom Höchstspannungsnetz an untergelagerte Netze (Netze mit tieferer Spannungsebene, Verteilnetze) oder an direkt angeschlossene Verbraucher verteilt wird. Zu diesen zählen zum Beispiel am Höchstspannungsnetz angeschlossene Pumpen oder Frequenzumformer.
  • Gesamtlast: gesamte Netzlast aller Verbraucher, unabhängig von der Netzebene (Höchstspannungsnetz, Netze mit tieferen Spannungsebenen).

Es gibt einen Unterschied zwischen der Last am Übertragungsnetz und der Gesamtlast. Viele Kraftwerke speisen ihre produzierte Energie nicht ins Höchstspannungsnetz ein. Sie transportieren die produzierte Energie über untergelagerte Netze zum Verbraucher.

Beispiel einer Einspeisung in untergelagerte Netze:
Ein Flusskraftwerk in Stadtnähe speist die produzierte Energie in den seltensten Fällen ins Höchstspannungsnetz ein, sondern in einer tieferen Spannungsebene. Aus dieser Spannungsebene bezieht die Stadt ihren Strom. Aufgrund der geringen Transportwege zwischen dem Flusskraftwerk und der Stadt muss kein Umweg über das Höchstspannungsnetz gemacht werden. Der Strom kann direkt über eine tiefere Spannungsebene übertragen werden. Diese elektrische Ausspeisung taucht deshalb nicht in der «Last am Übertragungsnetz» auf.

Beispiel einer Einspeisung ins Höchstspannungsnetz:
Ein leistungsstarkes Pumpspeicherkraftwerk in den Alpen muss grosse Menge an produzierter Energie über grosse Distanzen transportieren. Da auf einer hohen Spannungsebene der Transport effizienter ist, speist dieses Kraftwerk die produzierte Energie in das Höchstspannungsnetz ein.

Geht dieses Kraftwerk in den Pumpbetrieb über und pumpt Wasser hoch in den Stausee um Energie zu speichern, wird es zu einem zusätzlichen Verbraucher (Last). Somit taucht das Kraftwerk, wenn es im Pumpbetrieb ist, auch in der «Last am Übertragungsnetz» auf.


Lastflüsse über die Grenze (Austausch)

Als Lastflüsse über die Grenze wird der Austausch von Strom zwischen verschiedenen Höchstspannungsnetzen bezeichnet. Die Schweiz hat über 30 Verbindungen mit den Höchstspannungsnetzen umliegender Staaten. Über diese Verbindungen wird dauernd Strom ausgetauscht. Je nach dem wo in Europa Strom produziert und verbraucht wird, ändern sich die elektrischen Flüsse und deren Fliessrichtigung. Die Lastflüsse zwischen der Schweiz und den angrenzenden Staaten werden für jede Grenze berechnet.

Die Summe aller Lastflüsse über die Grenze ergibt die Bilanz der Schweiz.


Bilanz

Die Bilanz der Schweiz gibt an, wie viel elektrische Leistung (Strom) die Schweiz momentan mit den angrenzenden Ländern austauscht. Die Bilanz sagt aus ob die Schweiz insgesamt mehr elektrische Leistung importiert oder exportiert.

Die  Bilanz der Schweiz bezieht sich nicht auf die gesamte Erzeugung oder den gesamten Verbrauch von Energie in der Schweiz.

Beispiel:
Der Stromverbrauch steigt innerhalb der Schweiz durch den Betrieb einer grossen Fabrik deutlich an. Wenn die benötigte Energie durch ein Kraftwerk innerhalb der Schweiz geliefert wird, entsteht kein zusätzlicher Lastfluss über die Grenze. Es kommt zu keinem zusätzlichen Austausch von Strom mit Netzen angrenzender Staaten. Die Bilanz ändert sich somit nicht.

Teilen
E-Mail
Facebook
Twitter

Blackout im Emsland
(Quarks & Co, WDR)