Smart Grid

Europe and therefore Switzerland too have set themselves ambitious climate targets. These goals can only be achieved if energy is used efficiently. Smart grids – intelligent electricity grids – support this development.

  • Demand and, as a consequence, supply of electricity from renewable energy sources are steadily increasing. This also alters the requirements placed on electricity grids.
  • The generation of electricity from solar or wind power cannot be easily planned and is subject to large fluctuations.

Increasing numbers of small electricity producers which draw electricity from regenerative sources are entering the market. The number of electricity producers is rising.

To cope with the increasing fluctuations in electricity production, transmission systems have to become smarter. A better balance needs to be established between production and consumption, and grids need to become more automated.

Smart grids offer one possible solution to these challenges. They are based on a symbiosis of modern information and communication technologies, making them more intelligent and more flexible to control:

  • Meter reading: Smart metering refers to a method for recording, processing and invoicing consumers’ energy requirements. It facilitates a more accurate analysis of electricity consumption. Consumers can decide more easily when they need electricity and identify which items are real energy guzzlers. Suppliers can optimise production and grids.
  • Feed in: The generation of electricity in solar and wind power plants is subject to far greater fluctuations. Excess electricity has to be stored. Sensors and intelligent meters form the basis for turning electricity storage systems on and off.

A number of obstacles still have to be overcome in the process of installing smart grids. But these grids will help to ensure efficient and reliable systems operation for the supply of electricity, thereby contributing to sustainable electricity production across Europe.

Share
Facebook
Twitter

News

Swissgrid supports Smart Grid pilot project in cooperation with BKW, Migros and IBM.

More…

Article fachkom.ch

05.02.2013 - Pilot project FlexLast: The cold store as energy storage (German)

More…

Smart Grid: le réseau intelligent

L’Europe et la Suisse se sont fixé des objectifs environnementaux ambitieux. Mais pour les atteindre, elles doivent exploiter l’énergie avec efficacité. A cet effet, elles s’appuient sur les réseaux intelligents ou «smart grids».

  • La demande et, par conséquent, la production d’électricité issue de sources d’énergie renouvelable ne cessent d’augmenter, entraînant la modification des exigences posées aux réseaux électriques.
  • La production d’électricité solaire ou éolienne est difficile à planifier et est soumise à d’importantes variations.

Le marché voit arriver de plus en plus de petits producteurs qui génèrent de l’électricité à partir de sources renouvelables. Le nombre total de producteurs augmente donc.

Pour pouvoir gérer des fluctuations de production toujours plus fortes, les réseaux de transport d’électricité doivent devenir plus intelligents. Production et consommation doivent être mieux équilibrées: il faut donc renforcer l’automatisation des réseaux.

Les smart grids sont une solution pour relever ces défis. Il s’agit de faire en sorte que le réseau électrique intègre des technologies de l’information et de la communication modernes afin qu’il puisse être piloté de manière plus intelligente et flexible:

  • Lecture: le smart metering désigne la possibilité de saisir, traiter et calculer le besoin en électricité des clients, ce qui permet une analyse plus détaillée de la consommation d’électricité. Les clients peuvent décider avec plus de précision quand acheter de l’électricité et identifier les appareils qui consomment le plus d’énergie, tandis que les producteurs peuvent optimiser la production et les réseaux.
  • Injection: la production d’électricité par les centrales solaires et éoliennes est très variable. L’excédent doit être temporairement stocké et il est donc nécessaire d’installer des capteurs et des compteurs intelligents pour désactiver et activer les accumulateurs de courant.

Avant de disposer de smart grids, quelques obstacles doivent encore être surmontés. Toutefois, les smart grids peuvent aider à garantir une exploitation des systèmes fiable et efficace dans l’approvisionnement en électricité et, par là, une production durable en Europe.

Partager
E-Mail
Facebook
Twitter

News

Le 28 mars 2013 FlexLast est entré en phase de test en présence de la conseillère fédérale Doris Leuthard.

Pour en savoir plus…