Grid stability

A steady balance between production and consumption is the prerequisite for a stable electricity grid and guarantees secure supply at a frequency of 50 Hz. This means production and consumption need to be coordinated. As far as production is concerned, this is relatively simple: the production of electrical energy is largely foreseeable, apart from the new renewable energies. Consumption (so-called grid load) is a different matter, however: it can be estimated but never accurately predicted. An unforeseen cold spell, for example, can drive up electricity consumption in contradiction to plans.

Grid load Switzerland

All electricity withdrawals from the electricity grid are referred to as grid load. The electricity withdrawal is the quantity of produced energy distributed from the electricity grid. Swissgrid makes the following distinction in terms of electricity withdrawal:

  • Load on the transmission system: load which is distributed from the high-voltage grid to subordinate grids (grids with lower voltage level, distribution systems) or to directly connected consumers. These include, for example, pumps or frequency converters linked to the high-voltage grid.
  • Total load: total grid load of all consumers, irrespective of the grid level (high-voltage grid, grids with lower voltage levels).

There is a difference between the load on the transmission system and the total load. Many power plants do not feed the energy they produce into the high-voltage grid. They transport the energy produced to the consumer via subordinate grids.

Example of feed-in to subordinate grids:
A river power plant close to a city seldom feeds the energy it has produced into the high-voltage grid, but rather into a lower voltage level. The city draws its electricity from this voltage level. Because of the short distances between the river power plant and the city, no detour via the high-voltage grid is necessary. The electricity can be transmitted directly via a lower voltage level. This electricity withdrawal therefore does not feature in the «load on the transmission system».

Example of feed-in to high-voltage grid:
An efficient pumped storage power plant in the Alps has to transport large volumes of produced energy across large distances. Because transport is more efficient on a high voltage level this power plant feeds the energy produced into the high-voltage grid.

When this power plant goes into pumping mode and pumps water up into the higher reservoir in order to store energy, it becomes an additional consumer (load). Consequently, the power plant will feature in the «load on the transmission system” when in pumping mode.


Load flows across the border (exchange)

The exchange of electricity between different high-voltage grids is referred to as load flows across the border. Switzerland has more than 30 connections to the high-voltage grids of neighbouring countries. Electricity is constantly exchanged via these connections. The electrical flows and direction of flow change depending on where electricity is produced and consumed in Europe. The load flows between Switzerland and its neighbouring countries are calculated for each border.

The sum of all load flows across the border yields the balance for Switzerland.


Balance

The balance for Switzerland indicates how much electrical power (electricity) Switzerland currently exchanges with its neighbouring countries. The balance states whether Switzerland imports or exports more electrical power overall.

The balance for Switzerland does not refer to the overall production or the total consumption of energy in Switzerland.

Example:
Electricity consumption in Switzerland rises significantly with the operation of a large factory. If the required energy is supplied by a power plant within Switzerland there is no additional load flow across the border. There is no additional exchange of electricity with grids belonging to neighbouring states. The balance consequently remains unchanged.

Share
Facebook
Twitter

Stabilité du réseau

L’équilibre constant entre production et consommation est à la base d’un réseau de transport stable et garantit un approvisionnement sûr à une fréquence de 50 hertz. Aussi production et consommation doivent-elles coïncider. Pour ce qui est de la production, c’est relativement simple, car si l’on exclut les nouvelles énergies renouvelables, la production d’énergie électrique est facilement planifiable. Mais en ce qui concerne la consommation, c’est-à-dire la charge réseau, s’il est possible d’établir des prévisions, rien ne permet de savoir précisément comment les choses vont se dérouler. Une vague de froid inattendue peut par exemple venir chambouler les prévisions et faire augmenter la consommation de courant.

Charge réseau en Suisse

La charge réseau désigne tous les soutirages électriques effectués sur le réseau électrique. Le soutirage électrique correspond à la quantité d’énergie produite distribuée depuis le réseau électrique. Pour ce qui est du soutirage électrique, Swissgrid établit une distinction entre:

  • la charge dans le réseau de transport: charge distribuée du réseau à très haute tension aux réseaux sous-jacents (réseaux avec des niveaux de tension inférieurs, réseaux de distribution) ou aux consommateurs directement raccordés. Au nombre de ces consommateurs, on compte par exemple les pompes ou les convertisseurs de fréquence raccordés au réseau à très haute tension.
  • la charge totale: charge réseau totale de tous les consommateurs indépendamment du niveau de réseau (réseau à très haute tension, réseaux avec des niveaux de tension inférieurs).

Il y a une différence entre la charge dans le réseau de transport et la charge totale. De nombreuses centrales électriques n’injectent pas l’énergie qu’elles produisent dans le réseau à très haute tension. Elles la transportent jusque chez le consommateur via des réseaux sous-jacents.

Exemple d’injection dans des réseaux sous-jacents:
Une centrale électrique au fil de l’eau à proximité d’une ville injecte très rarement l’énergie qu’elle produit dans le réseau à très haute tension; elle l’injecte en effet dans un niveau de tension inférieur, dans lequel la ville se procure son courant. En raison des faibles distances de transport entre la centrale électrique au fil de l’eau et la ville, aucun détour par l’intermédiaire du réseau à très haute tension n’est nécessaire. L’électricité peut être transportée directement via un niveau de tension inférieur. Ce soutirage électrique n’est donc pas pris en compte dans la «charge du réseau de transport».

Exemple d’injection dans le réseau à très haute tension:
Une centrale à accumulation par pompage dans les Alpes doit transporter une quantité importante d’énergie produite sur de longues distances. Etant donné que le transport est plus efficace via un niveau de tension élevé, cette centrale injecte l’énergie produite dans le réseau à très haute tension.

Si cette centrale passe à l’exploitation en pompage et pompe de l’eau en hauteur dans le lac de retenue pour stocker de l’énergie, elle devient un consommateur supplémentaire (charge). Ainsi, lorsqu’elle est fonctionne en pompage, la centrale est aussi prise en compte dans la «charge du réseau de transport».


Flux de charge transfrontaliers (échange)

Les flux de charge transfrontaliers désignent l’échange d’électricité entre les différents réseaux à très haute tension. La Suisse possède plus de 30 liaisons avec les réseaux à très haute tension des pays voisins. De l’électricité est en permanence échangée via ces liaisons. En fonction de l’endroit où le courant est produit et consommé en Europe, les flux électriques et leur direction changent. Les flux de charge entre la Suisse et les Etats voisins sont calculés à chaque frontière.

La somme de tous les flux de charge transfrontaliers correspond au bilan de la Suisse.


Bilan

Le bilan de la Suisse indique la puissance électrique (courant) que la Suisse échange à un moment donné avec les pays frontaliers. Il précise donc si elle en importe ou en exporte.

Le bilan de la Suisse ne repose pas sur la production totale ou la consommation totale d’énergie en Suisse.

Exemple:
L’exploitation d’une grande usine fait sensiblement augmenter la consommation d’électricité en Suisse. Lorsque l’énergie nécessaire est fournie par une centrale installée en Suisse, il n’en résulte aucun flux de charge transfrontalier supplémentaire, ni aucun échange supplémentaire de courant avec les réseaux des Etats voisins. Le bilan ne change donc pas.

Partager
E-Mail
Facebook
Twitter