Safety Culture

Safety is the top priority in everything we do

Safety First

As the national grid operator, Swissgrid is responsible for the operation, safety and expansion of the Swiss transmission grid. As the operator of a critical infrastructure, Swissgrid insists on a high level of safety and reliability. Safety is therefore rooted in Swissgrid's strategic objectives. The claim is to ensure safety first in everything we do. Ensuring the safety of people, equipment and the environment is a top priority.

Infovideo on the safety culture at Swissgrid
Infovideo on the safety culture at Swissgrid

Ensuring the safety of people, equipment and the environment is a top priority.

 
Safety culture at Swissgrid

Swissgrid defines safety culture as a common understanding and awareness of the topic of safety. This includes, for example, clearly defined responsibilities, regular training and further education as well as a constructive error culture. What does this require? A positive safety culture requires active questioning, open communication and safety-driven behaviour from everyone. Safety culture is an integral part of the corporate culture.

Safety is a continuous process rather than a state, because you can never be safe enough. What does it mean? Safety culture must be developed systematically and sustainably. In order to root safety even more firmly in the awareness and behaviour of employees and service providers, Swissgrid is introducing the certifiable Safety Culture Ladder (SCL) method.

Statement of Doris Barnert, Head of Coroprate Services
Statement of Doris Barnert, Head of Coroprate Services

Safety Culture Ladder

The SCL is a method for assessing and developing safety culture. What does it focus on? It aims to continuously foster the safety-related conduct of all managers, employees and service providers. Although the SCL was primarily designed for occupational safety, the principle can be applied to all safety areas in an organisation.

Implementation in practice

How is the SCL implemented? Introducing the SCL can be divided into the following steps:

  1. Self-assessment to determine the current maturity level of the safety culture
  2. Analysis of gaps between the prevailing maturity level and the targeted maturity level of the safety culture
  3. Action plan containing specific measures aimed at further developing the safety culture and attaining the targeted level
  4. Certification of the organisation
  5. Ongoing culture development via further implementation of the medium- and long-term measures from the action plan

How is the process designed to ensure sustainability? The safety culture development process is regularly reflected upon within the organisation, reviewed and adjusted as necessary. This external view of an independent certification body is also valuable in this regard.

Evaluation of the safety culture

What aspects does the SCL evaluate? The safety culture is assessed according to a five-level maturity model. The more pronounced the safety culture of an organisation, the higher the level. An organisation's performance is assessed against six corporate aspects. These focus on people and their security behaviour.

The SCL at a glance

SCL fosters safety awareness

Why is Swissgrid implementing the SCL? Introducing the SCL enables managers, employees and service providers to continuously develop and expand their knowledge and understanding of safety. This in turn will make them ambassadors of the vision of a safe working world. Swissgrid is leading by example and aiming for Level 3 certification in the first quarter of 2022.

The role of service providers

Swissgrid aims to involve employees and service providers in the value creation process and thus strengthen common safety awareness for all involved. Service providers play an important role here, because it is only possible to provide a safe and reliable supply of electricity in close cooperation with them.

Statement of Adrian Häsler, Head of Grid Infrastructure
Statement of Adrian Häsler, Head of Grid Infrastructure

The road to a common understanding of safety

What does SCL change for external service providers? From 2022, Swissgrid will add SCL as a requirement for service providers whose activities on behalf of Swissgrid require a high level of occupational safety. This will make an important contribution to promoting a common understanding of safety.


Stay informed

Would you like to receive more information about Safety Culture and SCL? Then sign up for the newsletter now.

Webinar for service providers

The webinar will provide interested service providers with more information about the SCL method and its future significance for Swissgrid and its service providers. The SCL webinars will take place from October 2021. Registrations can be made via the following link.

 


Your contact partners

Pascale Stalder

HSE Manager, Health & Safety
Phone +41 58 580 21 11
safetyculture@swissgrid.ch

Marcel Duttwiler

Head of Health & Safety
Phone +41 58 580 21 11
safetyculture@swissgrid.ch


Downloads

Contact

Title

Please select a title.

Please enter your first name.

Please enter your last name.

Please enter a valid e-mail address.

Please enter your message.

Please click the checkbox.

Register for newsletter and/or webinar

Salutation

Please select a title.

Please enter your first name.

Please enter your last name.

Please enter a valid e-mail address.

Please enter a valid phone number.

Newsletter subscription

Please select whether you would like to receive the newsletter.

I would like to register for the SCL webinar on the following date: (optional)

Please click the checkbox.

Safety Culture

Sicherheit hat höchste Priorität bei allem, was wir tun.

Safety First

Als nationale Netzbetreiberin ist Swissgrid für den Betrieb, die Sicherheit und den Ausbau des Schweizer Übertragungsnetzes verantwortlich. Swissgrid stellt als Betreiberin einer kritischen Infrastruktur hohe Anforderungen an Sicherheit und Zuverlässigkeit. Sicherheit ist deshalb in den strategischen Zielen von Swissgrid verankert. Der Anspruch lautet: «Safety First» bei allem, was wir tun. Die Gewährleistung der Sicherheit von Menschen, Anlagen und Umwelt hat höchste Priorität.

Infovideo zur Sicherheitskultur bei Swissgrid
Infovideo zur Sicherheitskultur bei Swissgrid

Die Gewährleistung der Sicherheit von Menschen, Anlagen und Umwelt hat höchste Priorität.

 
Safety Culture bei Swissgrid

Swissgrid versteht unter Safety Culture (Sicherheitskultur) ein gemeinsames Verständnis und Bewusstsein für das Thema Sicherheit. Dazu gehören beispielsweise klar festgelegte Verantwortlichkeiten, regelmässige Aus- und Weiterbildungen sowie eine konstruktive Fehlerkultur. Was braucht es dafür? Eine positive Sicherheitskultur erfordert von allen aktives Hinterfragen, eine offene Kommunikation und ein auf Sicherheit ausgerichtetes Verhalten. Safety Culture ist zentraler Bestandteil der Unternehmenskultur.

Sicherheit ist ein kontinuierlicher Prozess und kein Zustand. Denn man kann nie sicher genug sein. Was bedeutet das? Die Sicherheitskultur muss systematisch und nachhaltig weiterentwickelt werden. Um Sicherheit noch mehr im Bewusstsein und im Verhalten der Mitarbeitenden und Dienstleister zu verankern, führt Swissgrid die zertifizierungsfähige Methode der Safety Culture Ladder (SCL) ein.

Statement von Doris Barnert, Leiterin Corporate Services
Statement von Doris Barnert, Leiterin Corporate Services

Safety Culture Ladder

Die SCL ist eine Methode zur Bewertung und Weiterentwicklung der Sicherheitskultur. Wo liegt der Fokus? Das Sicherheitsverhalten aller Führungskräfte, Mitarbeitenden und Dienstleister soll kontinuierlich gefördert werden. Obwohl die SCL in erster Linie für die Arbeitssicherheit konzipiert wurde, lässt sich das Prinzip auf alle Sicherheitsbereiche einer Organisation anwenden.

Umsetzung in die Praxis

Wie wird die SCL umgesetzt? Die Einführung der SCL lässt sich in die folgenden Schritte gliedern:

  1. Selbsteinschätzung zur Bestimmung des aktuellen Reifegrades der Sicherheitskultur
  2. Lückenanalyse zwischen dem vorherrschenden Reifegrad und dem angestrebten Reifegrad der Sicherheitskultur
  3. Aktionsplan mit konkreten Massnahmen zur gezielten Weiterentwicklung der Sicherheitskultur im Hinblick auf die angestrebte Stufe
  4. Zertifizierung der Organisation
  5. Fortlaufende Kulturentwicklung durch weitere Umsetzung der mittel- und langfristigen Massnahmen aus dem Aktionsplan

Wie gestaltet sich dies als nachhaltiger Prozess? Der Entwicklungsprozess der Sicherheitskultur wird regelmässig innerhalb der Organisation reflektiert, überprüft und bei Bedarf angepasst. Dabei ist die Aussensicht durch eine unabhängige Zertifizierungsstelle zusätzlich wertvoll.

Bewertung der Sicherheitskultur

Welche Aspekte bewertet die SCL? Die Bewertung der Sicherheitskultur erfolgt entlang eines fünfstufigen Reifegradmodells: Je ausgeprägter die Sicherheitskultur einer Organisation, umso höher die Stufe. Die Leistung einer Organisation wird anhand von sechs Unternehmensaspekten bewertet. Im Zentrum stehen die Menschen und ihr Sicherheitsverhalten.

Infografik Safety Culture Ladder - die SCL auf einen Blick
Die SCL auf einen Blick

SCL fördert Sicherheitsbewusstsein

Warum implementiert Swissgrid die SCL? Die Einführung der SCL befähigt die Führungskräfte, Mitarbeitenden und Dienstleister darin, ihr Wissen und Verständnis zum Thema Sicherheit fortlaufend auf- und auszubauen. Damit werden sie zu Botschafterinnen und Botschaftern der Vision einer sicheren Arbeitswelt. Swissgrid geht mit gutem Beispiel voran und strebt die Zertifizierung der Stufe 3 für das erste Quartal 2022 an.

Die Rolle der Dienstleister

Ziel von Swissgrid ist es, Mitarbeitende und Dienstleister in der Wertschöpfung einzubeziehen und so das gemeinsame Sicherheitsbewusstsein bei allen zu stärken. Die Dienstleister spielen dabei eine wichtige Rolle. Denn nur in enger Zusammenarbeit mit ihnen ist eine sichere und zuverlässige Stromversorgung möglich.

Statement von Adrian Häsler, Leiter Grid Infrastructure
Statement von Adrian Häsler, Leiter Grid Infrastructure

Der Weg zu einem gemeinsamen Sicherheitsverständnis

Was ändert sich für externe Dienstleister durch SCL? Swissgrid führt SCL ab 2022 als Anforderung bei denjenigen Dienstleistern ein, bei deren Tätigkeiten im Auftrag von Swissgrid die Arbeitssicherheit eine zentrale Rolle spielt. Dies leistet einen wichtigen Beitrag für die Förderung eines gemeinsamen Sicherheitsverständnisses. Für welche Dienstleister SCL zukünftig relevant wird, ist im Leitfaden für Dienstleister ersichtlich. Dieser ist in Kürze verfügbar.


Bleiben Sie informiert

Möchten Sie weitere Informationen zu Safety Culture und SCL erhalten? Dann melden Sie sich jetzt für den Newsletter an.

Webinar für Dienstleister

Im Webinar erfahren interessierte Dienstleister mehr über die SCL Methode und ihre zukünftige Bedeutung für Swissgrid und deren Dienstleister. Die «Webinare SCL» finden ab Oktober 2021 statt. Anmeldungen können über den folgenden Link erfolgen.

 


Ihre Ansprechpartner

Pascale Stalder

HSE Manager, Health & Safety
Telefon +41 58 580 21 11
safetyculture@swissgrid.ch

Marcel Duttwiler

Head of Health & Safety
Telefon +41 58 580 21 11
safetyculture@swissgrid.ch


Downloads

Kontakt

Anrede

Bitte wählen Sie die Anrede aus.

Bitte geben Sie Ihren Vornamen an.

Bitte geben Sie Ihren Nachnamen an.

Bitte geben Sie eine gültige E-Mail Adresse ein.

Geben Sie bitte Ihre Nachricht ein.

Klicken Sie bitte die Checkbox an.

Für Newsletter und/oder Webinar anmelden

Anrede

Bitte wählen Sie die Anrede aus.

Bitte geben Sie Ihren Vornamen ein.

Bitte geben Sie Ihren Nachnamen ein.

Bitte geben Sie Ihre E-Mail Adresse ein.

Bitte geben Sie Ihre Telefonnummer ein.

Anmeldung zum Newsletter

Bitte wählen Sie aus, ob Sie den Newsletter erhalten möchten.

Ich melde mich zum «Webinar SCL» an folgendem Datum an (optional)

Klicken Sie bitte die Checkbox an.