Power market

Major player in the power market

Change is underway on the European power market. In future, there will only be one common internal electricity market for all of Europe. Although Switzerland is not part of the EU, this project will have an impact on the supply of electricity. Its central position, its numerous cross-border lines and its enormous water reserves make the country a natural and important electricity hub within Europe. 

Swiss electricity traders are taking advantage of the favourable framework conditions and are trading more and more with their international partners. Nevertheless, structural bottlenecks and limited capacities across borders are hampering trade. 

For Switzerland to continue to benefit from its role as an international electricity hub in future, it needs to be connected to the European internal electricity market. Swissgrid is therefore involved in a number of international committees to actively promote Switzerland's interests. 

Swissgrid is also committed to increased competition in the Swiss electricity market. For instance, it supports a transparent market for control energy. The introduction of control pooling and the liberalisation of the market for international participants have already led to a significant reduction in costs for ancillary services.


Auctions

If the Swiss grid has too much or too little electricity, electricity traders sell excess energy or purchase the energy they need from abroad. This electricity also flows through the Swiss grid. The capacities in the transmission grid are limited, however, and this is why it is not possible to simply allow any amount of electricity to flow between the individual countries. Swissgrid sells its limited cross-border capacities through auctions.

These days, most European countries use auctions to manage their congestion. Binding auction rules guarantee that capacities are allocated transparently and under the same terms for all parties.

The currently applicable version of the auction rules is published on the JAO S.A. website.


Switzerland as an electricity hub

Over 900 companies generate and distribute electricity. Be they small suppliers or international corporations, they all help to supply electricity to over eight million citizens in Switzerland and to industry and trade.

Switzerland, located in the centre of Europe, is an important electricity hub and is closely integrated in the continental grid. To successfully implement the Swiss federal government's Energy Strategy 2050, Switzerland must continue to be firmly embedded in the European power market.

Switzerland and the European Union (EU) must therefore clearly regulate Switzerland's participation in the European power market. This is the only way to continue developing the cross-border exchange of electricity and contribute to ensuring the security of supply.


Control pooling

In an electricity grid, the goal is to ensure that production and consumption are always in equilibrium. This equilibrium is ensured by using control energy.

Swissgrid retrieves control energy from energy producers as required. Usually, this energy comes in the form of electricity packages of about 5 megawatts (MW).

Not just large, but also medium-sized and smaller electricity producers, such as water supply facilities, wastewater treatment plants or consumers, can deliver control power to Swissgrid. However, they are often not in a position to provide the necessary package size of 5 MW on their own.

That is why electricity producers can combine to form control pools and jointly participate in the market for control energy.


Merging markets

Energy knows no borders, and electricity is traded internationally. Yet the transmission grids between countries only have limited capacities. This means that energy traders first have to purchase the required capacities from the grid operators at auction, and only then can they proceed with international transactions.

Up to now, the markets for trading energy and purchasing transport capacities at auction have been separate. Market coupling is expected to merge these two markets, which will also lead to price benefits.

Market coupling allows the markets to adjust to the physical characteristics of the electricity flows. After all, the neighbouring grids are already physically connected to one another. This means that the electricity will always take the shortest path from the producer to the consumer – across market borders.


Congestion in the grid

These days, electricity is traded across national borders. However, the required transfer capacities can exceed the cross-border capacities. This results in congestion.

In order to avoid congestion, the cross-border capacities available in Switzerland and most European countries are awarded in auctions. These auctions are Swissgrid's most important congestion management instrument. The same conditions apply for all grid operators.

Contact

Title

Please select a title.

Please enter your first name.

Please enter your last name.

Please enter a valid e-mail address.

Please enter your message.

Please click the checkbox.

Strommarkt

Gestalterin im Strommarkt

Der europäische Strommarkt ist in Bewegung. Künftig soll es nur noch einen gemeinsamen Strombinnenmarkt für ganz Europa geben. Obwohl die Schweiz nicht Teil der EU ist, wirkt sich dieses Vorhaben auf die Stromversorgung aus. Denn ihre zentrale Lage, die vielen grenzüberschreitenden Leitungen sowie die grossen Wasserreserven machen die Schweiz sozusagen zu einer natürlichen und bedeutenden Stromdrehscheibe innerhalb Europas.

Schweizer Stromhändler nutzen die günstigen Rahmenbedingungen und tätigen immer mehr Geschäfte mit ausländischen Partnern. Strukturelle Engpässe und begrenzte Kapazitäten über die Grenzen erschweren jedoch den Handel.

Damit die Schweiz in Zukunft weiterhin von ihrer Rolle als internationale Stromdrehscheibe profitiert, braucht es die Anbindung an den europäischen Strombinnenmarkt. Deshalb engagiert sich Swissgrid in unterschiedlichen internationalen Gremien und vertritt dort aktiv die Interessen der Schweiz.

Darüber hinaus setzt sich Swissgrid für vermehrten Wettbewerb im Schweizer Strommarkt ein. So fordert sie unter anderem einen transparenten Markt für Regelenergie. Die Einführung von Regelpooling und die Marktöffnung für internationale Teilnehmer haben bereits dazu geführt, dass die Kosten für Systemdienstleistungen stark gesunken sind.


Auktionen

Je nach Angebot und Nachfrage auf dem europäischen Strommarkt verkaufen oder beschaffen Stromhändler Energie im Ausland. Dieser Strom fliesst auch durch das Schweizer Netz, um den Bedarf zu decken oder um in andere Länder transportiert zu werden. Die Kapazitäten im Übertragungsnetz sind jedoch begrenzt, weshalb nicht beliebig viel Strom zwischen den einzelnen Ländern fliessen kann. Swissgrid veräussert ihre begrenzt verfügbaren Grenzkapazitäten über sogenannte Auktionen.

Die meisten europäischen Länder setzen mittlerweile Auktionen ein, um ihre begrenzten Netzkapazitäten zu bewirtschaften. Verbindliche Auktionsregeln garantieren, dass die Kapazitäten transparent und für alle gleich zugeteilt werden.

Die gültige Version der Auktionsregeln ist auf der JAO S.A. Webseite publiziert.


Stromdrehscheibe Schweiz

Über 900 Unternehmen produzieren und verteilen Strom. Ob Kleinversorger oder internationale Grosskonzerne: Sie alle versorgen über acht Millionen Einwohnerinnen und Einwohner in der Schweiz mit Strom und beliefern Industrie und Handel.

Die Schweiz ist mitten von Europa eine bedeutende Stromdrehscheibe und eng mit dem kontinentalen Verbundnetz verknüpft. Um die Energiestrategie 2050 des Bundes erfolgreich umzusetzen, muss die Schweiz weiterhin in den europäischen Strommarkt eingebettet sein.

Daher müssen die Schweiz und die Europäische Union (EU) die Teilnahme der Schweiz am europäischen Strommarkt rechtlich klar regeln. Nur so kann sich der grenzüberschreitende Stromverkehr weiterentwickeln und die Versorgungssicherheit kontinuierlich wachsen.


Regelpooling

Im Stromnetz gilt es, stets das Gleichgewicht zwischen Produktion und Verbrauch aufrechtzuhalten. Dieses Gleichgewicht wird mit Regelenergie sichergestellt.

Swissgrid ruft Regelenergie bei Bedarf bei den Stromproduzenten ab. In der Regel handelt es sich dabei um Strompakete in der Grössenordnung von 5 Megawatt (MW).

Nicht nur grosse, sondern auch mittlere und kleinere Produzenten – zum Beispiel Wasserversorgungs- oder Abwassereinigungsanlagen sowie Verbraucher – können Swissgrid Regelleistung zur Verfügung stellen. Allerdings sind sie alleine oft nicht in der Lage, die nötige Paketgrösse von 5 MW bereitzustellen.

Deshalb können sich die Produzenten in einem Regelpool zusammenschliessen und gemeinsam am Markt für Regelenergie teilnehmen.


Market Coupling

Energie kennt keine Grenzen, und Strom wird länderübergreifend gehandelt. Doch die Übertragungsnetze zwischen den Ländern haben nur beschränkte Kapazitäten. Energiehändler müssen daher zunächst die benötigten Kapazitäten bei den Netzbetreibern ersteigern. Erst danach können sie internationale Geschäfte ausüben.

Bisher sind die Märkte für den Handel von Energie und die Ersteigerung von Transportkapazitäten getrennt. Market Coupling soll diese beiden Märkte zusammenführen – und damit unter anderem zu Preisvorteilen führen.

Durch Market Coupling passen sich die Märkte den physikalischen Eigenschaften der Stromflüsse an. Denn die benachbarten Stromnetze sind ohnehin physisch miteinander verbunden. Dabei nimmt der Strom stets den kürzesten Weg vom Hersteller zum Konsumenten – über Marktgrenzen hinweg.


Engpassmanagement

Der Strom wird heute über Landesgrenzen hinweg gehandelt. Doch die nachgefragten Übertragungskapazitäten können die Grenzkapazitäten überschreiten. Es kommt zu Engpässen.

Um Engpässe präventiv zu vermeiden, werden die vorhandenen Grenzkapazitäten in der Schweiz und den meisten europäischen Ländern über Auktionen vergeben. Diese Auktionen sind das wichtigste Instrument im Engpassmanagement von Swissgrid. Dabei gelten für sämtliche Netzbetreiber dieselben Bedingungen.

Kontakt

Anrede

Bitte wählen Sie die Anrede aus.

Bitte geben Sie Ihren Vornamen an.

Bitte geben Sie Ihren Nachnamen an.

Bitte geben Sie eine gültige E-Mail Adresse ein.

Geben Sie bitte Ihre Nachricht ein.

Klicken Sie bitte die Checkbox an.