Grid project Amsteg – Mettlen

Swissgrid and the SBB are laying the high-voltage lines in the Uri valley floor. This will relieve the burden on the settlement areas in Attinghausen and Werkmatt Uri, which is a focus of development.

Your contact for this grid project

Alessandro Cameroni
Alessandro Cameroni

Phone +41 58 580 21 11
info@swissgrid.ch

380 kV line
380 kV line
Dismantling
Dismantling
Existing line
Existing line
Substation
Substation

Overview

With the exception of the area between Mettlen and Küssnacht am Rigi, two 380 kV lines run in parallel between the Mettlen substation in the Canton of Lucerne and Amsteg in the Canton of Uri. These are the 380 kV Amsteg – Mettlen line (former Alpiq line), which leads on from Amsteg via the Lukmanier Pass to Lavorgo, and the 380 kV Mettlen – Plattischachen line (former CKW line), which runs from Plattischachen as the former Alpiq line via the Gotthard Pass to Airolo.

Former line-owner Alpiq submitted a planning approval application for the total renovation of the 380 kV Amsteg – Mettlen line as a result of the advanced corrosion of the pylons dating from the 1940s. This project was approved in sections and has already been implemented in part. Former line-owner CKW has not published a renovation project for the 380 kV Plattischachen – Mettlen line, which was built in the 1960s. Consequently there is no project for this line.


Project

History

The pylons of the 380 kV line from Mettlen via the Lukmanier Pass to Lavorgo were constructed in the post-war years out of pipes of the allies' former supply pipeline, as a result of the shortage of raw materials. These pipes were filled with concrete to improve stability. Soon after they were erected it became clear that this form of construction tends to corrode from the inside. For that reason at the end of the 1990s Alpiq decided to replace some pylons on the existing route that had been particularly weakened by corrosion. At the end of 2001 Alpiq modified this strategy and submitted a planning approval application for the total renovation of the Ingenbohl – Mettlen section of the 380 kV Amsteg – Mettlen line. The majority of the line has now been renovated. Three sections – Küssnacht am Rigi (SZ), Lauerz (SZ) and Eyschachen (UR) – are still pending in the planning approval process.

As of 3 January 2013 Swissgrid assumed ownership of Switzerland's entire 380/220 kV transmission grid. The former owners – including Alpiq – transferred all existing lines and substations, as well as the projects started at network level 1, to Swissgrid. So since that date the Amsteg – Mettlen and Mettlen – Plattischachen lines have been in the ownership of Swissgrid. Planning, construction and maintenance of all lines and substations are now carried out by a single agency.

Küssnacht am Rigi section

In 2011 the Federal Court ruled that a feasibility study was to be produced for the 380 kV Amsteg – Mettlen line, for partial underground cabling in the municipality of Küssnacht am Rigi. Swissgrid submitted the requested cable study to the Swiss Federal Office of Energy, expressing the opinion that the partial underground cabling – as demanded by the Federal Court – was justifiable neither on the basis of visual effect nor of economy.

Lauerz section

In 2011 the Federal Administrative Court ruled that a feasibility study was to be produced for the 380 kV Amsteg – Mettlen line for partial underground cabling in the municipality of Lauerz. Following the transfer of ownership, Swissgrid took on this task and had the cable study produced.

Following the landslides in the Windegg – Ober Rüti region in 2013, emergency pylons had to be produced for both 380 kV lines. The «Teilverkabelung Lauerz» feasibility study, [Partial underground cabling, Lauerz] which had already been produced, had to be revised. The results of the geological investigations which were carried out by GEOTEST on behalf of the Canton of Schwyz were also taken into account, and the requirements of ESTI relating to the «Erdbebensicherung der elektrischen Energieverteilung in der Schweiz» (Earthquake-proofing of electrical energy distribution in Switzerland), which is to be found in the draft consultation document, were included in the study.

After examining these new basic conditions Swissgrid has come to the conclusion that the subsoil in the landslide-prone region is suitable neither for an overhead line nor for underground cabling, so the «Durchstich Urniberg» (Urniberg transit), which is the subject of the study, is not feasible. The line can no longer follow the existing route and will have to be relocated.

The alternative line route along the lake, also indicated in the cable study, is judged by Swissgrid to be unfeasible for reasons relating to the effects on other infrastructure elements (roads, factory power lines, etc.). The implementation of this line route would result in the considerable obstruction or even total blockage of the main road from Lauerz to Schwyz.

In this section the parallel 380 kV Gotthard line runs on the uphill side. It is exposed to the same risk of landslide and for that reason is to be integrated into the existing project.

Eyschachen near Altdorf section

The 380/220 kV lines (Swissgrid) and the 132 kV of SBB will be bundled in Swissgrid Mast 9429/SBB Mast 60 section in the SABA Attinghausen area up to Swissgrid Mast 9440a/SBB Mast 81 in the Giessenkanal area with a total length of around 4.7 km to form a new route, running parallel with the motorway and the Reuss.

Milestones of the Eyschachen section

Start of 2014 The planning approval application was transferred by the Swiss Federal Inspectorate for Heavy Current Installations (ESTI) to the Swiss Federal Office of Energy (SFOE)
November 2015 The SFOE issued the construction permit
February – June 2017 Tenders
21 August 2017 Ground-breaking ceremony
Spring 2018 Commissioning of new lines

Downloads


Grid news

  • | Media release

    Ground-breaking ceremony at «Gäbihübel»

    Read article
  • | News

    Chamoson – Chippis: Work has begun

    The preparatory work for the Chamoson – Chippis VHV overhead line that started last January is nearing completion for the first two sections between Chalais and Sierre and Sion and Vex.
    Read article
  • | News

    Chamoson – Chippis: supplementary geological study

    In 2015, the cantonal geologist of the Valais requested an additional «natural hazards» study within the framework of the Chamoson – Chippis extra-high-voltage transmission line project.
    Read article

Contact

Title

Please select a title.

Please enter your first name.

Please enter your last name.

Please enter a valid e-mail address.

Please enter your message.

Please click the checkbox.

Contact

Title

Please select a title.

Please enter your first name.

Please enter your last name.

Please enter a valid e-mail address.

Please enter your message.

Please click the checkbox.

Netzprojekt Amsteg – Mettlen

Swissgrid und SBB verlegen die Hochspannungsleitungen im Urner Talboden. Damit werden die Siedlungsgebiete in Attinghausen und der Entwicklungschwerpunkt Werkmatt Uri entlastet.

Ihr Ansprechpartner für dieses Netzprojekt

Alessandro Cameroni
Alessandro Cameroni

Telefon +41 58 580 21 11
info@swissgrid.ch

380-kV-Leitung
380-kV-Leitung
Rückbau
Rückbau
Bestehende Leitung
Bestehende Leitung
Unterwerk
Unterwerk

Übersicht

Mit Ausnahme des Gebiets zwischen Mettlen und Küssnacht am Rigi verlaufen zwischen dem Unterwerk Mettlen im Kanton Luzern und Amsteg im Kanton Uri zwei 380-kV-Leitungen parallel. Es sind dies die 380-kV-Leitung Amsteg – Mettlen, welche bei Amsteg via Lukmanierpass weiter nach Lavorgo führt und die 380-kV-Leitung Mettlen – Plattischachen, welche ab Plattischachen via Gotthardpass nach Airolo verläuft.

Die ehemalige Leitungseigentümerin Alpiq hat aufgrund der fortgeschrittenen Korrosion der Masten aus den 1940er Jahren ein Plangenehmigungsgesuch zur Totalsanierung der 380-kV-Leitung Amsteg – Mettlen eingereicht. Dieses Projekt wurde in Teilabschnitten genehmigt und teilweise bereits ausgeführt. Die ehemalige Leitungseigentümerin CKW hat für die in den 1960er Jahren gebaute 380-kV-Leitung Plattischachen – Mettlen kein Sanierungsprojekt eröffnet. Es besteht für diese Leitung also kein Projekt.


Projekt

Geschichte

Die Masten der 380-kV-Leitung von Mettlen über den Lukmanier nach Lavorgo wurde in den Nachkriegsjahren aufgrund von Rohstoffknappheit aus Rohren der ehemaligen Versorungspipeline der Alliierten erstellt. Diese Rohre wurden zur Verbesserung der Tragfähigkeit ausbetoniert. Schon bald nach der Errichtung hat sich gezeigt, dass diese Bauweise dazu neigt von Innen zu korrodieren. Alpiq hat sich deshalb Ende der 1990er-Jahre für den Ersatz einzelner, durch die Korrosion besonders geschwächter, Masten auf dem bestehenden Trassee entschieden. Ende 2001 hat Alpiq diese Strategie geändert und das Plangenehmigungsgesuch zur Totalsanierung des Teilabschnittes Ingenbohl – Mettlen der 380-kV-Leitung Amsteg – Mettlen eingereicht. Mittlerweile ist ein Grossteil der Leitung saniert. Drei Abschnitte – Küssnacht am Rigi (SZ), Lauerz (SZ) und Eyschachen (UR) – sind im Plangenehmigungsverfahren noch hängig.

Per 3. Januar 2013 übernahm Swissgrid das Eigentum am gesamten 380-/220-kV-Übertragungsnetz der Schweiz. Die ehemaligen Eigentümer – darunter Alpiq – traten alle bestehenden Leitungen und Unterwerke sowie die angefangen Projekte der Netzebene 1 an Swissgrid ab. Seither sind also die Leitungen Amsteg –Mettlen und Mettlen – Plattischachen in Besitz von Swissgrid. Planung, Bau und Unterhalt aller Leitungen und Unterwerke erfolgen nun aus einer Hand.

Abschnitt Küssnacht am Rigi

Das Bundesgericht verfügte im Jahr 2011, dass für die 380-kV-Leitung Amsteg – Mettlen auf dem Gemeindegebiet von Küssnacht am Rigi eine Machbarkeitsstudie für eine Teilverkabelung zu erstellen sei. Swissgrid hat die geforderte Kabelstudie beim Bundesamt für Energie eingereicht und erachtet eine Teilverkabelung – wie sie vom Bundesgericht gefordert wurde – weder aufgrund der optischen Wirkung noch der Wirtschaftlichkeit als vertretbar.

Abschnitt Lauerz

Das Bundesverwaltungsgericht verfügte im Jahr 2011, dass für die 380-kV-Leitung Amsteg – Mettlen auf dem Gemeindegebiet von Lauerz eine Machbarkeitsstudie für eine Teilverkabelung zu erstellen sei. Swissgrid hat sich nach erfolgtem Eigentumsübertrag dieser Aufgabe angenommen und die Kabelstudie erstellen lassen.

Infolge der Hangrutschungen 2013 im Gebiet Windegg – Ober Rüti mussten für beide 380-kV-Leitungen Notmasten erstellt werden. Die bereits erstellte Machbarkeitsstudie «Teilverkabelung Lauerz» musste überarbeitet werden. Dabei wurden die Resultate der geologischen Abklärungen, die von GEOTEST im Auftrag des Kantons Schwyz durchgeführt wurden, berücksichtigt und die Vorgaben des ESTI zur «Erdbeben¬sicherung der elektrischen Energieverteilung in der Schweiz», die im Vernehmlassungsentwurf vorliegt, in die Studie aufgenommen.

Nach Prüfung dieser neuen Randbedingungen kommt Swissgrid zum Schluss, dass der Baugrund im Rutschgebiet weder für eine Freileitung noch für eine Kabelleitung geeignet ist und deshalb die studierte Variante «Durchstich Urniberg» nicht machbar ist. Die Leitung kann nicht mehr auf dem bestehenden Trassee geführt werden und muss verlegt werden.

Die alternative, ebenfalls in der Kabelstudie aufgezeigte, Linienführung entlang des Sees beurteilt Swissgrid aus Gründen der Einwirkungen auf andere Infrastrukturen (Strassen, Werkleitungen etc.) als nicht machbar. Eine Realisierung dieser Linienführung hätte erhebliche Behinderungen bis hin zu Totalsperrungen der Kantonsstrasse von Lauerz nach Schwyz zur Folge.

In diesem Abschnitt verläuft bergseits die parallel geführte 380-kV-Gotthardleitung. Sie ist durch den Hangrutsch von der gleichen Gefährdung betroffen und ist deshalb neu in das bestehende Projekt zu integrieren.

Abschnitt Eyschachen bei Altdorf

Die 380-/220-kV-Leitungen (Swissgrid) und die 132-kVLeitung der SBB werden auf dem Abschnitt Swissgrid Mast 9429 / SBB Mast 60 im Bereich SABA Attinghausen bis Swissgrid Mast 9440a / SBB Mast 81 im Bereich Giessenkanal auf einer Gesamtlänge von ca. 4,7 km auf einem neuen Trassee gebündelt und parallel zur Autobahn und zur Reuss geführt.

Meilensteine Abschnitt Eyschachen

Anfang 2014 Plangenehmigungsgesuch vom Eidgenössischen Starkstrominspektorat (ESTI) an das Bundesamt für Energie (BFE) überwiesen
November 2015 BFE erteilt Baubewilligung
Februar – Juni 2017 Ausschreibungen
21. August 2017 Spatenstich
Frühling 2018 Inbetriebnahme der neuen Leitungen

Downloads


Netznews

  • | News

    Netzprojekte: Swissgrid informiert über den aktuellsten Stand der Bauarbeiten

    Beitrag lesen
  • | Medienmitteilung

    Spatenstich am «Gäbihübel»

    Beitrag lesen
  • | News

    Chamoson – Chippis: Beginn der Bauarbeiten

    Die im letzten Januar begonnenen Vorbereitungsarbeiten für die ersten beiden Abschnitte der Höchstpannungsleitung Chamoson – Chippis zwischen Chalais und Siders sowie Sitten und Vex stehen kurz vor dem Abschluss.
    Beitrag lesen

Kontakt

Anrede

Bitte wählen Sie die Anrede aus.

Bitte geben Sie Ihren Vornamen an.

Bitte geben Sie Ihren Nachnamen an.

Bitte geben Sie eine gültige E-Mail Adresse ein.

Geben Sie bitte Ihre Nachricht ein.

Klicken Sie bitte die Checkbox an.

Kontakt

Anrede

Bitte wählen Sie die Anrede aus.

Bitte geben Sie Ihren Vornamen an.

Bitte geben Sie Ihren Nachnamen an.

Bitte geben Sie eine gültige E-Mail Adresse ein.

Geben Sie bitte Ihre Nachricht ein.

Klicken Sie bitte die Checkbox an.