Safety Culture

Safety is the top priority in everything we do

Safety First

As the national grid operator, Swissgrid is responsible for the operation, safety and expansion of the Swiss transmission grid. As the operator of a critical infrastructure, Swissgrid insists on a high level of safety and reliability. Safety is therefore rooted in Swissgrid's strategic objectives. The claim is to ensure safety first in everything we do. Ensuring the safety of people, equipment and the environment is a top priority.

Infovideo on the safety culture at Swissgrid
Infovideo on the safety culture at Swissgrid

Ensuring the safety of people, equipment and the environment is a top priority.

 
Safety culture at Swissgrid

Swissgrid defines safety culture as a common understanding and awareness of the topic of safety. This includes, for example, clearly defined responsibilities, regular training and further education as well as a constructive error culture. What does this require? A positive safety culture requires active questioning, open communication and safety-driven behaviour from everyone. Safety culture is an integral part of the corporate culture.

Safety is a continuous process rather than a state, because you can never be safe enough. What does it mean? Safety culture must be developed systematically and sustainably. In order to root safety even more firmly in the awareness and behaviour of employees and service providers, Swissgrid is introducing the certifiable Safety Culture Ladder (SCL) method.

Statement of Doris Barnert, Head of Coroprate Services
Statement of Doris Barnert, Head of Coroprate Services

Safety Culture Ladder

The SCL is a method for assessing and developing safety culture. What does it focus on? It aims to continuously foster the safety-related conduct of all managers, employees and service providers. Although the SCL was primarily designed for occupational safety, the principle can be applied to all safety areas in an organisation.

Implementation in practice

How is the SCL implemented? Introducing the SCL can be divided into the following steps:

  1. Self-assessment to determine the current maturity level of the safety culture
  2. Analysis of gaps between the prevailing maturity level and the targeted maturity level of the safety culture
  3. Action plan containing specific measures aimed at further developing the safety culture and attaining the targeted level
  4. Certification of the organisation
  5. Ongoing culture development via further implementation of the medium- and long-term measures from the action plan

How is the process designed to ensure sustainability? The safety culture development process is regularly reflected upon within the organisation, reviewed and adjusted as necessary. This external view of an independent certification body is also valuable in this regard.

Evaluation of the safety culture

What aspects does the SCL evaluate? The safety culture is assessed according to a five-level maturity model. The more pronounced the safety culture of an organisation, the higher the level. An organisation's performance is assessed against six corporate aspects. These focus on people and their security behaviour.

The SCL at a glance

SCL fosters safety awareness

Why is Swissgrid implementing the SCL? Introducing the SCL enables managers, employees and service providers to continuously develop and expand their knowledge and understanding of safety. This in turn will make them ambassadors of the vision of a safe working world. Swissgrid is leading by example and aiming for Level 3 certification in the first quarter of 2022.

The role of service providers

Swissgrid aims to involve employees and service providers in the value creation process and thus strengthen common safety awareness for all involved. Service providers play an important role here, because it is only possible to provide a safe and reliable supply of electricity in close cooperation with them.

Statement of Adrian Häsler, Head of Grid Infrastructure
Statement of Adrian Häsler, Head of Grid Infrastructure

The road to a common understanding of safety

What does SCL change for external service providers? From 2022, Swissgrid will add SCL as a requirement for service providers whose activities on behalf of Swissgrid require a high level of occupational safety. This will make an important contribution to promoting a common understanding of safety.


Stay informed

Would you like to receive more information about Safety Culture and SCL? Then sign up for the newsletter now.

Webinar for service providers

The webinar will provide interested service providers with more information about the SCL method and its future significance for Swissgrid and its service providers. The SCL webinars will take place from October 2021. Registrations can be made via the following link.

 


Your contact partners

Pascale Stalder

HSE Manager, Health & Safety
Phone +41 58 580 21 11
safetyculture@swissgrid.ch

Marcel Duttwiler

Head of Health & Safety
Phone +41 58 580 21 11
safetyculture@swissgrid.ch


Downloads

Contact

Title

Please select a title.

Please enter your first name.

Please enter your last name.

Please enter a valid e-mail address.

Please enter your message.

Please click the checkbox.

Register for newsletter and/or webinar

Salutation

Please select a title.

Please enter your first name.

Please enter your last name.

Please enter a valid e-mail address.

Please enter a valid phone number.

Newsletter subscription

Please select whether you would like to receive the newsletter.

I would like to register for the SCL webinar on the following date: (optional)

Please click the checkbox.

Safety Culture

La sécurité est notre première priorité, dans tout ce que nous faisons.

Safety First

En tant que gestionnaire du réseau de transport suisse, Swissgrid est responsable de l’exploitation, de la sécurité et de l’extension du réseau de transport suisse; en sa qualité de gestionnaire d’une infrastructure critique, Swissgrid pose des exigences élevées en matière de sécurité et de fiabilité. La sécurité est donc ancrée dans les objectifs stratégiques de Swissgrid. L’objectif est le suivant: «Safety First» dans toutes nos activités. La garantie de la sécurité des personnes, des installations et de l’environnement constitue notre priorité absolue.

Vidéo informative sur la culture de la sécurité chez Swissgrid
Vidéo informative sur la culture de la sécurité chez Swissgrid

La garantie de la sécurité des personnes, des installations et de l’environnement constitue notre priorité absolue.

 
La Safety Culture chez Swissgrid

Pour Swissgrid, la Safety Culture (culture de la sécurité) signifie une compréhension et une conscience communes de la sécurité. En font partie, entre autres, des responsabilités clairement définies, des formations et formations continues régulières ainsi qu’une culture de l’erreur constructive. Quels sont les ingrédients nécessaires? Une culture de la sécurité positive nécessite une remise en question commune active, une communication ouverte et un comportement qui tient compte de la sécurité. La Safety Culture fait partie intégrante de la culture d’entreprise.

La sécurité est un processus continu et non un état. Car on ne peut jamais être suffisamment sûr. Qu’est-ce que cela signifie? La culture de la sécurité doit être développée de manière systématique et durable. Afin d’ancrer encore davantage la sécurité dans la conscience et dans le comportement des collaborateurs et des prestataires de services, Swissgrid introduit la méthode Safety Culture Ladder (SCL) qui peut faire l’objet d’une certification.

Déclaration de Doris Barnert, responsable Corporate Services
Déclaration de Doris Barnert, responsable Corporate Services

Safety Culture Ladder

La SCL est une méthode d’évaluation et de développement de la culture de la sécurité. Quel en est l’élément central? Le comportement en matière de sécurité de tous les cadres, collaborateurs et prestataires de services doit être encouragé en permanence. Bien qu’elle ait été principalement conçue pour la sécurité au travail, il est possible d’appliquer la SCL à tous les domaines de sécurité d’une organisation.

Mise en pratique

Comment la SCL est-elle appliquée dans la pratique? L’introduction de la SCL se déroule en plusieurs étapes :

  1. Auto-évaluation afin de déterminer le niveau de maturité actuel de la culture de la sécurité
  2. Analyse des écarts entre le niveau de maturité existant et le niveau de maturité envisagé de la culture de la sécurité
  3. Plan d’action comprenant des mesures concrètes visant au développement ciblé de la cul-ture de la sécurité en fonction de l’échelon visé
  4. Certification de l’organisation
  5. Développement continu de la culture par la poursuite de la mise en œuvre des mesures à moyen et long terme issues du plan d’action

Comment en faire un processus durable? Le processus de développement de la culture de la sécurité est régulièrement soumis à réflexion au sein de l'organisation, contrôlé et modifié, le cas échéant. Un avis extérieur donné par un organisme de certification indépendant est en outre précieux.

Évaluation de la culture de la sécurité

Quels aspects la SCL évalue-t-elle? La culture de la sécurité est évaluée selon un modèle de maturité à cinq échelons: plus la culture de la sécurité d’une organisation est développée, plus l’échelon est élevé. La performance d’une organisation est évaluée selon six aspects. Les personnes et leur comportement en matière de sécurité sont des éléments centraux.

Infographique Safety Culture Ladder - la SCL en un coup d'œil
Le SCL en un coup d'œil

La SCL encourage une prise de conscience en matière de sécurité

Pourquoi Swissgrid met-elle la SCL en place? L’introduction de la SCL permet aux cadres, aux collaborateurs et aux prestataires de services d’acquérir et d’améliorer continuellement leurs connaissances et leur compréhension du thème de la sécurité. Ils deviennent ainsi les ambassadrices et les ambassadeurs de la vision d’un monde du travail sûr. Swissgrid montre l’exemple et va s’efforcer de faire certifier l’échelon 3 au premier trimestre 2022.

Le rôle des prestataires de services

L’objectif de Swissgrid est d’impliquer les collaborateurs et les prestataires de services dans la création de valeur et ainsi de renforcer la sensibilisation de tous à la sécurité. Les prestataires de services jouent ici un rôle important. Car ce n’est qu’en collaborant étroitement avec eux que nous pouvons rendre l’approvisionnement en électricité sûr et fiable.

Déclaration de Adrian Häsler, responsable Grid Infrastructure
Déclaration de Adrian Häsler, responsable Grid Infrastructure

La voie vers une compréhension commune de la sécurité

Quels changements la SCL apporte-t-elle pour les prestataires de services externes? À compter de 2022, la SCL sera pour Swissgrid une exigence vis-à-vis de tous les prestataires de services ayant un rôle central à jouer en matière de sécurité au travail durant les activités qu’ils effectueront pour le compte de Swissgrid. Il s’agit d’une contribution importante pour promouvoir une compréhension commune de la sécurité.


Restez informés

Vous souhaitez recevoir des informations complémentaires ? Alors, n’hésitez pas à vous inscrire à la newsletter.

Webinaire pour les prestataires de services

Durant le webinaire, les prestataires de services intéressés en apprendront davantage sur la méthode SCL et son importance à l’avenir pour Swissgrid et ses prestataires de services. Les «webinaires SCL» se dérouleront à partir du mois d’octobre 2021. Il est possible de s’inscrire via le lien suivant.

 


Vos personnes de contact

Pascale Stalder

HSE Manager, Health & Safety
Téléphone +41 58 580 21 11
safetyculture@swissgrid.ch

Marcel Duttwiler

Head of Health & Safety
Téléphone +41 58 580 21 11
safetyculture@swissgrid.ch


Téléchargements

Contact

Titre

Veuillez sélectionner le titre.

Veuillez entrer votre prénom.

Veuillez entrer votre nom.

Veuillez entrer une adresse e-mail valide.

Veuillez entrer votre message.

Veuillez cocher la case.

S’inscrire à la newsletter et/ou au webinaire

Titre

Veuillez sélectionner le titre.

Veuillez entrer votre prénom.

Veuillez entrer votre nom.

Veuillez entrer une adresse e-mail valide.

Veuillez entrer votre numéro de téléphone.

S'inscrire à la newsletter

Veuillez choisir si vous souhaitez vous abonner à la newsletter.

Je m'inscris au «Webinar SCL» à la date suivante (facultatif)

Klicken Sie bitte die Checkbox an.