Grid project Amsteg – Mettlen

Swissgrid and the SBB are laying the high-voltage lines in the Uri valley floor. This will relieve the burden on the settlement areas in Attinghausen and Werkmatt Uri, which is a focus of development.

Your contact for this grid project

Alessandro Cameroni
Alessandro Cameroni

Phone +41 58 580 21 11
info@swissgrid.ch

380 kV line
380 kV line
Dismantling
Dismantling
Existing line
Existing line
Substation
Substation

Overview

With the exception of the area between Mettlen and Küssnacht am Rigi, two 380 kV lines run in parallel between the Mettlen substation in the Canton of Lucerne and Amsteg in the Canton of Uri. These are the 380 kV Amsteg – Mettlen line (former Alpiq line), which leads on from Amsteg via the Lukmanier Pass to Lavorgo, and the 380 kV Mettlen – Plattischachen line (former CKW line), which runs from Plattischachen as the former Alpiq line via the Gotthard Pass to Airolo.

Former line-owner Alpiq submitted a planning approval application for the total renovation of the 380 kV Amsteg – Mettlen line as a result of the advanced corrosion of the pylons dating from the 1940s. This project was approved in sections and has already been implemented in part. Former line-owner CKW has not published a renovation project for the 380 kV Plattischachen – Mettlen line, which was built in the 1960s. Consequently there is no project for this line.


Project

History

The pylons of the 380 kV line from Mettlen via the Lukmanier Pass to Lavorgo were constructed in the post-war years out of pipes of the allies' former supply pipeline, as a result of the shortage of raw materials. These pipes were filled with concrete to improve stability. Soon after they were erected it became clear that this form of construction tends to corrode from the inside. For that reason at the end of the 1990s Alpiq decided to replace some pylons on the existing route that had been particularly weakened by corrosion. At the end of 2001 Alpiq modified this strategy and submitted a planning approval application for the total renovation of the Ingenbohl – Mettlen section of the 380 kV Amsteg – Mettlen line. The majority of the line has now been renovated. Three sections – Küssnacht am Rigi (SZ), Lauerz (SZ) and Eyschachen (UR) – are still pending in the planning approval process.

As of 3 January 2013 Swissgrid assumed ownership of Switzerland's entire 380/220 kV transmission grid. The former owners – including Alpiq – transferred all existing lines and substations, as well as the projects started at network level 1, to Swissgrid. So since that date the Amsteg – Mettlen and Mettlen – Plattischachen lines have been in the ownership of Swissgrid. Planning, construction and maintenance of all lines and substations are now carried out by a single agency.

Küssnacht am Rigi section

In 2011 the Federal Court ruled that a feasibility study was to be produced for the 380 kV Amsteg – Mettlen line, for partial underground cabling in the municipality of Küssnacht am Rigi. Swissgrid submitted the requested cable study to the Swiss Federal Office of Energy, expressing the opinion that the partial underground cabling – as demanded by the Federal Court – was justifiable neither on the basis of visual effect nor of economy.

Lauerz section

In 2011 the Federal Administrative Court ruled that a feasibility study was to be produced for the 380 kV Amsteg – Mettlen line for partial underground cabling in the municipality of Lauerz. Following the transfer of ownership, Swissgrid took on this task and had the cable study produced.

Following the landslides in the Windegg – Ober Rüti region in 2013, emergency pylons had to be produced for both 380 kV lines. The «Teilverkabelung Lauerz» feasibility study, [Partial underground cabling, Lauerz] which had already been produced, had to be revised. The results of the geological investigations which were carried out by GEOTEST on behalf of the Canton of Schwyz were also taken into account, and the requirements of ESTI relating to the «Erdbebensicherung der elektrischen Energieverteilung in der Schweiz» (Earthquake-proofing of electrical energy distribution in Switzerland), which is to be found in the draft consultation document, were included in the study.

After examining these new basic conditions Swissgrid has come to the conclusion that the subsoil in the landslide-prone region is suitable neither for an overhead line nor for underground cabling, so the «Durchstich Urniberg» (Urniberg transit), which is the subject of the study, is not feasible. The line can no longer follow the existing route and will have to be relocated.

The alternative line route along the lake, also indicated in the cable study, is judged by Swissgrid to be unfeasible for reasons relating to the effects on other infrastructure elements (roads, factory power lines, etc.). The implementation of this line route would result in the considerable obstruction or even total blockage of the main road from Lauerz to Schwyz.

In this section the parallel 380 kV Gotthard line runs on the uphill side. It is exposed to the same risk of landslide and for that reason is to be integrated into the existing project.

Eyschachen near Altdorf section

The 380/220 kV lines (Swissgrid) and the 132 kV of SBB will be bundled in Swissgrid Mast 9429/SBB Mast 60 section in the SABA Attinghausen area up to Swissgrid Mast 9440a/SBB Mast 81 in the Giessenkanal area with a total length of around 4.7 km to form a new route, running parallel with the motorway and the Reuss.

Milestones of the Eyschachen section

Start of 2014 The planning approval application was transferred by the Swiss Federal Inspectorate for Heavy Current Installations (ESTI) to the Swiss Federal Office of Energy (SFOE)
November 2015 The SFOE issued the construction permit
February – June 2017 Tenders
21 August 2017 Ground-breaking ceremony
Spring 2018 Commissioning of new lines

Downloads


Grid news

  • | Media release

    Ground-breaking ceremony at «Gäbihübel»

    Read article
  • | News

    Chamoson – Chippis: Work has begun

    The preparatory work for the Chamoson – Chippis VHV overhead line that started last January is nearing completion for the first two sections between Chalais and Sierre and Sion and Vex.
    Read article
  • | News

    Chamoson – Chippis: supplementary geological study

    In 2015, the cantonal geologist of the Valais requested an additional «natural hazards» study within the framework of the Chamoson – Chippis extra-high-voltage transmission line project.
    Read article

Contact

Title

Please select a title.

Please enter your first name.

Please enter your last name.

Please enter a valid e-mail address.

Please enter your message.

Please click the checkbox.

Contact

Title

Please select a title.

Please enter your first name.

Please enter your last name.

Please enter a valid e-mail address.

Please enter your message.

Please click the checkbox.

Projet de réseau Amsteg – Mettlen

Swissgrid et les CFF déplacent les lignes à haute tension dans la plaine uranaise. De l'espace est ainsi libéré dans les zones d'habitation d'Attinghausen et le centre de développement prioritaire de Werkmatt Uri.

Votre contact pour ce projet

Alessandro Cameroni
Alessandro Cameroni

Téléphone +41 58 580 21 11
info@swissgrid.ch

Ligne 380 kV
Ligne 380 kV
Démantèlement
Démantèlement
Ligne actuelle
Ligne actuelle
Sous-station
Sous-station

Sommaire

Deux lignes de 380 kV parallèles existent entre la sous-station de Mettlen, dans le canton de Zurich, et Amsteg, dans le canton d'Uri, sauf dans la zone située entre Mettlen et Küssnacht am Rigi. Il s’agit de la ligne de 380 kV Amsteg - Mettlen (ancienne ligne Alpiq), qui se poursuit à Amsteg vers Lavorgo par le col du Lukmanier, et de la ligne Mettlen - Plattischachen (ancienne ligne CKW), qui se poursuit vers Airolo par le col du Saint-Gothard, et qui est l'ancienne ligne Alpiq à partir de Plattischachen.

La société Alpiq, ancienne propriétaire de la ligne, a déposé une demande d'approbation des plans pour la rénovation totale de la ligne Amsteg – Mettlen en raison de la corrosion avancée des pylônes qui datent des années 1940. Certains tronçons de ce projet ont été approuvés et parfois déjà réalisés. La société CKW, ancienne propriétaire de la ligne, n'a pas lancé de projet de rénovation pour la ligne de 380 kV Plattischachen – Mettlen qui a été construite dans les années 1960. Il n'existe donc pas de projet pour cette ligne.


Projet

Historique

Les pylônes de la ligne de 380 kV de Mettlen à Lavorgo par le col du Lukmanier ont été construits à partir des tubes de l'ancien pipe-line de ravitaillement des alliés en raison de la pénurie de matières premières dans les années d'après-guerre. Ces tubes ont été remplis de béton afin d'améliorer leur force portante. Peu après leur construction, on a constaté que ce mode de construction avait tendance à favoriser la corrosion à partir de l'intérieur. A la fin des années 1990, Alpiq a donc décidé de remplacer certains pylônes sur le tracé existant qui étaient particulièrement attaqués par la corrosion. Fin 2001, Alpiq a modifié cette stratégie et déposé la demande d'approbation des plans pour la rénovation totale du tronçon Ingenbohl – Mettlen de la ligne 380 kV Amsteg – Mettlen. Une grande partie de cette ligne a depuis été rénovée. La procédure d'approbation des plans est encore en cours pour les trois tronçons Küssnacht am Rigi (SZ), Lauerz (SZ) et Eyschachen (UR).

Le 3 janvier 2013, Swissgrid est devenue propriétaire de l'ensemble du réseau de transport 380/220 kV suisse. Les anciens propriétaires, dont Alpiq, ont cédé à Swissgrid toutes les lignes et les sous-stations existantes ainsi que les projets en cours du niveau de réseau 1. Swissgrid est donc propriétaire des lignes Amsteg –Mettlen et Mettlen – Plattischachen depuis cette date. Elle se charge désormais elle-même de la planification, de la construction et de l'entretien de toutes les lignes et sous-stations.

Tronçon Küssnacht am Rigi

En 2011, le Tribunal fédéral a ordonné la réalisation d'une étude de faisabilité du câblage partiel sur la commune de Küssnacht am Rigi pour la ligne de 380 kV Amsteg – Mettlen. Swissgrid a remis cette étude à l'Office fédéral de l'énergie et considère que le câblage partiel tel qu'il a été demandé par le Tribunal fédéral n'est pas acceptable, ni du point de vue de l'esthétique ni de celui de la rentabilité.

Tronçon de Lauerz

En 2011, le Tribunal administratif fédéral a ordonné la réalisation d'une étude de faisabilité du câblage partiel sur la commune de Lauerz pour la ligne de 380 kV Amsteg – Mettlen. Après le transfert de propriété, Swissgrid a repris ce dossier et a fait réaliser cette étude.

Suite aux glissements de terrain qui ont eu lieu en 2013 dans la région de Windegg – Ober Rüti, il a fallu ériger des pylônes d’urgence pour les deux lignes de 380 kV. L'étude de faisabilité «Câblage partiel de Lauerz», qui avait déjà été réalisée, a donc dû être modifiée. Les résultats des analyses géologiques réalisées par GEOTEST à la demande du canton de Schwyz, ont été pris en compte et les directives de l'ESTI concernant la «Sécurité sismique de la distribution d’énergie électrique en Suisse», qui figurent dans le projet de consultation, ont été intégrées à l'étude.

Après examen de ces nouvelles conditions, Swissgrid est arrivée à la conclusion que le terrain situé dans la zone de glissement ne convient ni pour une ligne aérienne, ni pour un câblage sous-terrain et que la variante étudiée «Percement Urniberg» n'est donc pas faisable. Il n'est plus possible de tirer la ligne sur le tracé actuel et il faut donc la déplacer.

Swissgrid estime que le tracé alternatif qui figure également dans l'étude de câblage et qui consiste à faire passer la ligne le long du lac, n'est pas faisable en raison des répercussions sur les autres infrastructures (routes, conduites, etc.). Sa réalisation provoquerait des perturbations importantes de la circulation sur la route cantonale entre Lauerz et Schwyz, voire la fermeture totale de cette dernière.

Dans ce tronçon, la ligne de 380 kV parallèle vers le Saint-Gothard passe en amont. Les risques de glissements de terrain sont les mêmes et il faut donc l'intégrer dans le projet existant.

Tronçon Eyschachen près d'Altdorf

Les lignes 380/220 kV (Swissgrid) et la ligne 132 kV des CFF seront regroupées sur le tronçon allant du pylône Swissgrid 9429 / pylône CFF 60 dans le secteur du SETEC d'Attinghausen (installation de traitement des eaux d’infrastructures routières) jusqu'au pylône Swissgrid 9440a / pylône CFF 81 dans le secteur du Giessenkanal sur un nouveau tracé d'environ 4,7 km et seront parallèles à l'autoroute et à la Reuss.

Etapes clés du tronçon Eyschachen

Début 2014 La demande d'approbation des plans a été transférée de l'Inspection fédérale des installations (ESTI) à courant fort à l'Office fédéral de l'énergie (OFEN)
Novembre 2015 L'OFEN a accordé le permis de construire
Février – juin 2017 Appels d'offres
21 août 2017 Premier coup de pioche
Printemps 2018 Mise en service des nouvelles lignes

Liens & téléchargements

Liens

Werkmatt Uri (en allemand)

Téléchargements


Actualités concernant le réseau

  • | Communiqué de presse

    Pour un approvisionnement en électricité sûr du Valais et de la Suisse

    Lire l'article
  • | News

    Projets de réseau: Swissgrid informe sur l’état d’avancement des travaux de cons-truction

    Lire l'article
  • | Communiqué de presse

    Premier coup de pioche dans la zone «Gäbihübel»

    Lire l'article

Contact

Titre

Veuillez sélectionner le titre.

Veuillez entrer votre prénom.

Veuillez entrer votre nom.

Veuillez entrer une adresse e-mail valide.

Veuillez entrer votre message.

Veuillez cocher la case.

Contact

Titre

Veuillez sélectionner le titre.

Veuillez entrer votre prénom.

Veuillez entrer votre nom.

Veuillez entrer une adresse e-mail valide.

Veuillez entrer votre message.

Veuillez cocher la case.