Swissgrid presents a solid result in a challenging environment

06.04.2017

  • In 2016, Swissgrid achieved earnings of CHF 158.0 million before interest and taxes (EBIT). This is an improvement of 3.0% on the previous year (2015: 153.4 million).
  • The net income increased 4.4% against the previous year to CHF 91.9 million (2015: CHF 88.0 million).
  • A stable distribution of profits of CHF 21.8 million will be requested (2015: CHF 21.5 million).
  • The increasingly demanding climate is hampering secure grid operation.
  • Regula Wallimann, Dominique Gachoud and Dr. Kerem Kern are being recommended to the General Assembly on 2 May 2017 as new members of the Board of Directors.

«Swissgrid can look back on a pleasing 2016 financial year», says Yves Zumwald, CEO of Swissgrid. «By continuing to consolidate our activities, we have managed to create a solid starting point for tackling future challenges. Swissgrid is thus making an important contribution to the security of supply in Switzerland in an increasingly demanding environment.»

Higher EBIT and increased company results

Earnings before interest and taxes (EBIT) are CHF 158.0 million, up on the previous year by 3.0% (2015: CHF 153.4 million). This increase is attributable to the grid systems taken over on 4 January 2016 and the investment in the non-current assets. In the reporting year, these led to an increase in the invested operating assets.

Taking into account the higher EBIT; the financial expenses, which only increased CHF 0.6 million against 2015 to CHF 44.6 million (2015: CHF 44.0 million); the minimal financial income of CHF 0.7 million (2015: CHF 0.2 million); and the income tax deduction of CHF 22.2 million (2015: CHF 21.6 million), a 4.4% higher net income of CHF 91.9 million was achieved compared to the previous year (2015: CHF 88.0 million).

Higher procurement costs but stable operating costs

The one-off compulsory acquisition remuneration resulted in procurement costs of CHF 767.3 million (2015: CHF 295.2 million). In the grid utilisation segment, procurement costs increased significantly to CHF 484.7 million (2015: 48.3 million). This increase is attributable to the implementation of the EICom ruling with regard to determining the relevant value of the transmission grid and the preliminary remuneration resulting from this of CHF 417.4 million. These costs were further augmented by the indemnification of grid costs to former transmission system owners, which are CHF 19.0 million higher than the previous year. Without these two effects, the previous year's level would have been achieved exactly. In the general ancillary services segment, the cost of procurement increased by CHF 44.8 million compared to the previous year. This is attributable to the higher administration costs in connection with the challenging energy and grid situation in the winter months of 2016. In the individual ancillary services segment (active power loss and reactive energy), the procurement costs are CHF 7.4 millon lower than the previous year. This is due to the lower procurement volume of active power losses. The operating expenses are at the same level as the previous year.

Stable distribution of profits

The level of dividends paid is geared towards the peculiarities of Swissgrid’s regulated business model. Because of the existing equity share in 2016, the dividend policy passed by the Board of Directors provides for a distribution at the level of the equity return (6.86%) on the share capital, based on the regulated WACC. A distribution of profits of around CHF 21.8 million will be requested at the General Assembly on 2 May 2017.

Outlook for financial year 2017

Taking into account the modernisation of the transmission grid, an investment volume on a par with 2016 is expected. Because of the lower WACC of 3.83% in 2017 (2016: 4.70%), the net income will be significantly lower. The measures to increase efficiency and reduce costs will continue to be driven forward in 2017.

Secure grid operation increasingly complex and demanding

After the difficult energy and grid situation in the winter of 2015/16, the situation in the winter of 2016/17 was also challenging. The grid situation was strained in several European countries. The reasons for this were, amongst others, the unplanned outages of the French nuclear power plants and a cold spell in January 2017. This required increased coordination with neighbouring transmission grid operators to optimise the import and export capacities. The grid situation in Switzerland remained stable. Switzerland’s available net import capacity was maximised and was significantly higher this winter than last year. This is mainly due to the implementation of technical and market measures in 2016. In addition, the transformer in the Beznau substation was procured and installed at short notice. It has been in operation since 20 March 2017 and will continue to be so until the unit 1 of the Beznau nuclear power plant rejoins the grid.

The situations in the winter once again underline the growing demands to guarantee a secure grid operation. High electricity transit flows through Switzerland, unplanned load flows and, in particular, limited cross-border capacities bring the grid infrastructure to its load limit. Amongst other things, Switzerland's growing dependence on imports adds to this. The structural bottlenecks in the Swiss transmission grid must therefore be alleviated urgently. Swissgrid has made progress by implementing the «Strategic Grid 2025». However, important expansion plans have been delayed or even blocked by protracted procedures and objections. To ensure that secure grid operation and the high security of supply remain guaranteed in Switzerland, Swissgrid relies on the support of the authorities, policymakers and thepopulation.

Change to the Board of Directors

As already communicated, in advance of the Swissgrid Ltd Annual General Assembly on 2 May 2017, the Board of Directors members Doris Russi Schurter, Michael Wider and Dr. Andrew Walo have announced that they will be stepping down. The Board of Directors recommends Regula Wallimann, Dominique Gachoud and Dr. Kerem Kern to the General Assembly as their successors. Regula Wallimann is an expert in auditing for multinational corporations and in financial consulting. She holds a degree from the University of St. Gallen (HSG) and was responsible as Global Lead Partner for auditing various global companies during her long career at KPMG. She led auditing teams in the fields of income tax, IT, treasury and compliance. Dominique Gachoud has been the general manager of Groupe E since 2012. He holds a degree in electrical engineering from EPFL and has renowned expertise and many years of management experience in the energy industry. Dr. Kerem Kern is Head of Corporate Regulatory Management at Axpo Holding AG. A lawyer by profession, he wrote his dissertation on the privatization of communal electricity supply companies and joined Axpo Holding AG in 2010 after working for a law firm.

The Swissgrid EBIT is defined in law and is calculated from the invested operating assets (Regulated Asset Base/RAB) and the Weighted Average Cost of Capital (WACC) defined by the government plus income tax.

Share
Facebook
Twitter

References

Annual report 2017
(PDF)

Swissgrid präsentiert solides Ergebnis in herausforderndem Umfeld

06.04.2017

  • Swissgrid hat 2016 ein Ergebnis vor Zinsen und Steuern (EBIT) von CHF 158,0 Mio. erzielt. Dies ist eine Verbesserung gegenüber dem Vorjahr um 3,0 % (2015: CHF 153,4 Mio.).
  • Das Unternehmensergebnis konnte gegenüber dem Vorjahr um über 4,4% auf CHF 91,9 Mio. gesteigert werden (2015: CHF 88,0 Mio.).
  • Es wird eine stabile Gewinnausschüttung von CHF 21,8 Mio. beantragt (2015: CHF 21,5 Mio.).
  • Das zunehmend anspruchsvolle Umfeld erschwert den sicheren Netzbetrieb.
  • Regula Wallimann, Dominique Gachoud und Dr. Kerem Kern werden der Generalversammlung vom 2. Mai 2017 als neue Mitglieder für den Verwaltungsrat vorgeschlagen.

«Swissgrid kann auf ein erfreuliches Geschäftsjahr 2016 zurückblicken», sagt Yves Zumwald, CEO von Swissgrid. «Mit der weiteren Konsolidierung unserer Aktivitäten haben wir eine solide Ausgangslage geschaffen, um die künftigen Herausforderungen zu bewältigen. Damit leistet Swissgrid in einem zunehmend anspruchsvollen Umfeld einen wichtigen Beitrag zur Versorgungssicherheit in der Schweiz.»

Höherer EBIT und gesteigertes Unternehmensergebnis

Das Ergebnis vor Zinsen und Steuern (EBIT) beträgt CHF 158,0 Mio. und konnte gegenüber dem Vorjahr um 3,0% gesteigert werden (2015: CHF 153,4 Mio.). Die Zunahme ist auf die per 4. Januar 2016 übernommenen Netzanlagen sowie die Investitionen in das Anlagevermögen zurückzuführen. Diese führten im Berichtsjahr zu einer Erhöhung des betriebsnotwendigen Vermögens.

Unter Berücksichtigung des höheren EBIT, dem gegenüber 2015 um CHF 0,6 Mio. auf CHF 44,6 Mio. nur leicht gestiegenen Finanzaufwand (2015: CHF 44,0 Mio.) sowie einem minimalen Finanzertrag von CHF 0,7 Mio. (2015: CHF 0,2 Mio.) und nach Abzug der Ertragssteuern von CHF 22,2 Mio. (2015: CHF 21,6 Mio.) resultierte mit CHF 91,9 Mio. ein um 4,4% höheres Unternehmensergebnis als im Vorjahr (2015: CHF 88,0 Mio.).

Höhere Beschaffungskosten aber stabile Betriebskosten

Wegen der einmaligen Enteignungsentschädigung resultierte ein Beschaffungsaufwand von CHF 767,3 Mio. (2015 CHF 295,2 Mio.). Im Segment Netznutzung erhöhte sich der Beschaffungsaufwand deutlich auf CHF 484,7 Mio. (2015 CHF 48,3 Mio.). Zurückzuführen ist diese Erhöhung auf die Umsetzung der ElCom-Verfügung betreffend Festsetzung des massgeblichen Werts des Übertragungsnetzes und der daraus folgenden vorläufigen Entschädigung von CHF 417,4 Mio. Hinzu kommen gegenüber dem Vorjahr um CHF 19,0 Mio. höhere Nachentschädigungen von Netzkosten an ehemalige Übertragungsnetzeigentümer. Ohne diese beiden Effekte wäre exakt das Vorjahresniveau erreicht worden. Im Segment Allgemeine Systemdienstleistungen erhöhte sich der Beschaffungsaufwand um CHF 44,8 Mio. gegenüber dem Vorjahr. Dies ist auf höhere Vorhaltungskosten im Zusammenhang mit der angespannten Energie- und Netzsituation in den Wintermonaten 2016 zurückzuführen. Bei den Individuellen Systemdienstleistungen (Wirkverluste und Blindenergie) fällt der Beschaffungsaufwand im Vergleich zum Vorjahr um CHF 7,4 Mio. tiefer aus. Der Grund liegt in der geringeren Beschaffungsmenge an Wirkverlusten. Der Betriebsaufwand liegt auf dem Niveau des Vorjahrs.

Stabile Gewinnausschüttung

Die Höhe der Dividendenausschüttung orientiert sich an den Besonderheiten des regulierten Geschäftsmodells von Swissgrid. Basierend auf der 2016 bestehenden Eigenkapital-Quote sieht die vom Verwaltungsrat verabschiedete Dividendenpolitik eine Ausschüttung in Höhe der dem regulierten WACC zugrunde gelegten Eigenkapital-Rendite (6,86%) auf das Aktienkapital vor. Der Generalversammlung vom 2. Mai 2017 wird eine Gewinnausschüttung von rund CHF 21,8 Mio. beantragt.

Ausblick auf das Geschäftsjahr 2017

Im Hinblick auf die Modernisierung des Übertragungsnetzes ist mit einem Investitionsvolumen auf dem Niveau von 2016 zu rechnen. Das Unternehmensergebnis wird aufgrund des für 2017 tiefer liegenden WACC 3,83% (2016: 4,70%) deutlich niedriger zu liegen kommen. Auch 2017 werden die Effizienzsteigerung und die Senkung der Kosten weiter vorangetrieben.

Sicherer Netzbetrieb zunehmend komplexer und anspruchsvoller

Nach bereits angespannter Energie- und Netzsituation im Winter 2015/16 war auch die Lage im Winter 2016/17 herausfordernd. Die Netzsituation war in mehreren Ländern Europas angespannt. Gründe dafür waren unter anderem die ungeplanten Ausserbetriebnahmen von französischen Kernkraftwerken sowie eine Kältewelle im Januar 2017. Dies erforderte eine erhöhte Koordination mit den benachbarten Übertragungsnetzbetreibern zur Optimierung der Import- und Exportkapazitäten. Die Netzsituation in der Schweiz blieb indes stabil. Die zur Verfügung stehende Netto-Importkapazität der Schweiz wurde maximiert und war in diesem Winter deutlich höher als im vergangenen Jahr. Dies ist hauptsächlich auf die Umsetzung von technischen und marktseitigen Massnahmen im Jahr 2016 zurückzuführen. Zudem wurde der Transformator im Unterwerk Beznau in kurzer Frist beschafft und installiert. Er ist seit dem 20. März 2017 in Betrieb, solange bis Block 1 des Kernkraftwerks Beznau wieder ans Netz geht.

Die Situationen im Winter verdeutlichen einmal mehr die wachsenden Herausforderungen für die Gewährleistung eines sicheren Netzbetriebs. Hohe Stromtransite durch die Schweiz, ungeplante Lastflüsse und insbesondere limitierte Grenzkapazitäten bringen die Netzinfrastruktur an ihre Belastungsgrenze. Hinzu kommt unter anderem die steigende Importabhängigkeit der Schweiz. Die strukturellen Engpässe im Schweizer Übertragungsnetz müssen daher dringend beseitigt werden. Swissgrid hat bei der Umsetzung des «Strategischen Netzes 2025» Fortschritte erzielt. Doch wichtige Ausbauvorhaben sind durch langwierige Verfahren und Einsprachen verzögert oder gar blockiert. Damit der sichere Netzbetrieb und die hohe Versorgungssicherheit in der Schweiz gewährleistet bleiben, ist Swissgrid auf die Unterstützung von Behörden, Politik und Bevölkerung angewiesen.

Wechsel im Verwaltungsrat

Wie bereits kommuniziert, haben die Verwaltungsräte Doris Russi Schurter, Michael Wider sowie Dr. Andrew Walo im Hinblick auf die ordentliche Generalversammlung der Swissgrid AG vom 2. Mai 2017 ihren Rücktritt mitgeteilt. Als Nachfolger schlägt der Verwaltungsrat der Generalversammlung Regula Wallimann, Dominique Gachoud und Dr. Kerem Kern vor. Regula Wallimann ist Expertin für Buchprüfung multinationaler Konzerne und Finanzberatung. Sie verfügt über einen Abschluss der Universität St. Gallen (HSG) und war in ihrer langjährigen Karriere bei KPMG als Global Lead Partner für die Prüfung verschiedener globaler Unternehmen verantwortlich. Sie leitete Revisionsteams u.a. in den Bereichen Steuern, IT, Treasury und Compliance. Dominique Gachoud ist seit 2012 Generaldirektor der Groupe E. Der Elektroingenieur EPFL verfügt über ausgewiesene Kompetenz und langjährige Führungserfahrung in der Energiebranche. Dr. Kerem Kern ist Leiter Corporate Regulatory Management bei der Axpo Holding AG. Der Anwalt hat über die Privatisierung kommunaler Elektrizitätsversorgungsunternehmen dissertiert und ist nach Tätigkeiten in einer Anwaltskanzlei 2010 zur Axpo Holding AG gestossen.

Der EBIT von Swissgrid ist gesetzlich definiert und berechnet sich aus dem betriebsnotwendigen Vermögen (Regulated Asset Base / RAB) und dem vom Bund definierten Kapitalkostensatz (WACC) zuzüglich Ertragssteuern.

Teilen
Facebook
Twitter

Geschäftsbericht 2016
(PDF)