e-Highway2050

ehighway2050_logo

Together with its partners, Swissgrid is exploring the possibilities of a pan-European supergrid taking into account operational, grid planning, socioeconomic and regulatory developments. The project consortium is made up of 15 European transmission system operators, research institutes, universities, industry federations and one NGO.

Over the next two to three years, the project will research the many relevant aspects to a supergrid of the future. The goal of the «e-Highway2050» project is to develop a new methodology to establish the phased grid planning of pan-European supergrid – the so-called electricity highway – for the time between 2020 and 2050. It will be the first time that all relevant aspects of a future pan-European «electricity highways system» are explored and assessed as part of a holistic approach:

  • Technology
  • Operational challenges
  • Socioeconomic aspects (economic benefits compared to a conventional set-up, financing, etc.)
  • Regulatory and legal obstacles (in particular the governance of a supergrid)
  • Environmental protection aspects
  • Acceptance by society
  • Geopolitical challenges
  • New planning methods taking into account grid and market

The role of a European supergrid

Plans envisage the supergrid forming a superimposed grid designed for the long-distance transport of large volumes of electricity. To do this, «electricity highways» – special new high-voltage lines – are required. In the past, power plants were built where consumption was highest, with the focus on transporting power over medium distances. But in future, electricity from renewable energy sources will increasingly need to be produced in places which make the most sense from an economic and technical perspective in order to achieve climate targets set for Europe as a whole. Electricity from renewable energy sources is frequently produced peripherally, for example through the huge potential of offshore wind parks in the North Sea and Baltic. As a result, a sharp increase in north-south load flows is expected. The same thing applies to the increasing production of solar electricity in Southern Europe, which has to be transported to the load centres. Because centres of production and consumption are drifting further and further apart, the future challenges in power transmission will increasingly lie in transporting it across nations and continents.

Share
Facebook
Twitter

e-Highway2050

ehighway2050_logo

Swissgrid erforscht gemeinsam mit ihren Partnern den Weg zu einem pan-europäischen Supergrid unter Berücksichtigung betrieblicher, netzplanerischer, sozio-ökonomischer und regulatorischer Entwicklungen. Am Konsortium des Projekts beteiligen sich 15 europäische Netzgesellschaften, Forschungsinstitute, Universitäten, Industrieverbände und eine Nichtregierungsorganisation.

Das Forschungsprojekt soll in den nächsten zwei bis drei Jahren viele relevante Aspekte eines zukünftigen Supergrids erforschen. Das Ziel des Projektes «e-Highway2050» ist die Entwicklung einer neuen Methodologie zum Aufbau einer schrittweisen Netzplanung eines pan-europäischen Supergrids – den sogenannten Electricity Highways – für die Zeit zwischen 2020 und 2050. Hierbei sollen erstmals alle relevanten Aspekte eines zukünftigen pan-europäischen «Electricity Highways System» in einem allumfassenden Ansatz untersucht und bewertet.

  • Technologie
  • Betriebliche Herausforderungen
  • Sozio-ökonomische Aspekte (volkswirtschaftlicher Nutzen im Gegensatz zum «konventionellen» Ausbau, Finanzierung, etc.)
  • Regulatorische und juristische Hemmnisse (insbesondere auch Governance eines Supergrids)
  • Umweltschutzaspekte
  • Akzeptanz in der Gesellschaft
  • Geopolitische Herausforderungen
  • Neue Planungsmethoden unter Berücksichtigung von Netz und Markt

Rolle eines europäischen Supergrids

Mit dem Supergrid soll ein übergelagertes Stromnetz aufgebaut werden, das für den weiträumigen Transport grosser Strommengen ausgelegt ist. Dafür werden spezielle, neue Höchstspannungsleitungen benötigt, sogenannte Stromautobahnen. Bisher wurden Kraftwerke dort gebaut, wo der grösste Verbrauch anfiel, wodurch der Transport über mittlere Entfernungen im Vordergrund stand. In Zukunft wird der Strom aus erneuerbaren Energien verstärkt dort produziert werden, wo es aus wirtschaftlichen und technischen Aspekten am sinnvollsten ist, um die europaweit gesetzten Klimaziele erreichen zu können. Der Strom aus erneuerbaren Energiequellen wird oft dezentral produziert, zum Beispiel durch grosse Windenergiepotenziale in den «Offshore-Windparks» der Nord- und Ostsee. Dadurch wird eine massive Zunahme der Lastflüsse in Nord-Süd-Richtung erwartet. Das Gleiche gilt für die zunehmende Produktion von Solarstrom im Süden Europas, welche in die Lastzentren transportiert werden muss. Weil die Produktions- und Verbrauchszentren geographisch immer mehr auseinander fallen, liegen die zukünftigen Aufgaben der Stromübertragung immer mehr bei einem länder- und kontinentübergreifenden Transport.

Teilen
Facebook
Twitter