The Swiss government’s sectoral plan process

The process

The sectoral plan for transmission lines is the government’s overarching planning and coordination tool for the development and new construction of transmission lines (220 and 380 Kilovolt) and railway power lines (132 Kilovolt). The sectoral plan process is a regulatory process by way of which a line construction project is assessed from an area planning perspective, is reviewed in relationship with the existing and future utilizations as well as compatibility with the protected areas, and a planning corridor is defined.

The process is divided into three phases:

  1. Preparatory phase: Before the actual sectoral plan process can be launched, Swissgrid and the cantons involved conclude a coordination agreement. This guarantees that the interests of the cantons are incorporated into the planning at the earliest possible stage.
    The sectoral plan process starts with the submission of the application for inclusion in the sectoral plan for transmission lines (SÜL application) by Swissgrid, in which proposals for planning territories are put forward.
  2. Phase 1: On the basis of the planning territory proposals made by Swissgrid in the SÜL application, the support group deployed by the Swiss Federal Office of Energy (SFOE) makes its recommendations. Within the planning territory, several corridor options should be possible.
  3. Phase 2: Swissgrid draws up various corridor options within the defined planning territory. The support group then recommends one planning corridor using, if required, the «Evaluation Plan for Transmission Lines».

 
The government decides on both the planning territories and the planning corridor on the basis of the support group recommendations. The planning territories and the corridor are then set out in the sectoral plan based on these decisions. Within the planning corridor defined by the government, Swissgrid can then work out the concrete line routing during the detailed phase of the project, which follows the sectoral plan process.

Involvement options in the sectoral plan process

Support group: The support group is put together by the Swiss Federal Office of Energy (SFOE). It provides assistance with the definition of the planning territories and with the definition of the planning corridor and makes recommendations.

The support group comprises representatives of the interested Swiss federal offices (ARE, SFOE, BAV, etc.) and of the ESTI, the ElCom, the cantonal authorities involved, organisations under private law (e.g. environmental protection organisations) and Swissgrid. Independent experts are also asked to assist where necessary.

Consultation and cooperation process in accordance with Art. 19 of the Area Planning Directive (RPV): Prior to the relevant definitions being laid down by the government, any private person may issue a statement on the support group recommendations by way of the consultation and cooperation process.

Share
Facebook
Twitter

Das Sachplanverfahren des Bundes

Das Verfahren

Der Sachplan Übertragungsleitungen ist das übergeordnete Planungs- und Koordinationsinstrument des Bundes für den Aus- und Neubau von Übertragungsleitungen (220 und 380 Kilovolt) und Bahnstromleitungen (132 Kilovolt). Das Sachplanverfahren ist ein Behördenverfahren, in welchem es darum geht, ein Leitungsbauvorhaben aus raumplanerischer Sicht zu beurteilen, es in Bezug auf bestehende und zukünftige Nutzungen und auf die Vereinbarkeit mit den bestehenden Schutzgebieten zu überprüfen sowie einen Planungskorridor festzulegen.

Das Verfahren ist in drei Schritte gegliedert:

  1. Vorbereitungsphase: Bevor das eigentliche Sachplanverfahren gestartet werden kann, schliessen Swissgrid und die betroffenen Kantone eine Koordinationsvereinbarung ab. Diese stellt sicher, dass die Anliegen der Kantone möglichst früh in die Planung einbezogen werden.
    Das Sachplanverfahren startet mit der Einreichung des Gesuchs um Aufnahme in den Sachplan Übertragungsleitungen (SÜL-Gesuch) durch Swissgrid, in welchem Vorschläge für Planungsgebiete aufgezeigt werden.
  2. Phase 1: Auf Grundlage der von Swissgrid im SÜL-Gesuch erarbeiteten Vorschläge für ein Planungsgebiet gibt die vom Bundesamt für Energie (BFE) eingesetzte Begleitgruppe eine Empfehlung ab. Innerhalb des Planungsgebietes sollen mehrere Korridorvarianten möglich sein.
  3. Phase 2: Swissgrid erarbeitet innerhalb des definierten Planungsgebietes verschiedene Korridorvarianten. Die Begleitgruppe empfiehlt dann allenfalls unter Anwendung des «Bewertungsschemas für Übertragungsleitungen» einen Planungskorridor.

 
Der Bund entscheidet in Kenntnis der Empfehlung der Begleitgruppe sowohl über die Planungsgebiete wie auch über den Planungskorridor. Mit diesen Entscheiden werden die Planungsgebiete und der Korridor im Sachplan festgesetzt. Innerhalb des vom Bund festgesetzten Planungskorridors kann Swissgrid im Anschluss an das Sachplanverfahren die konkrete Leitungsführung während des Detailprojekts ausarbeiten.

Mitwirkungsmöglichkeiten im Sachplanverfahren

Begleitgruppe: Die Begleitgruppe wird vom Bundesamt für Energie (BFE) zusammengesetzt. Sie steht bei der Definition der Planungsgebiete und bei der Definition des Planungskorridors beratend zur Seite und gibt Empfehlungen ab.

Die Begleitgruppe setzt sich aus Vertretern der interessierten Bundesämter (ARE, BAFU, BAV usw.) und des ESTI, der ElCom, der betroffenen kantonalen Behörden, Organisationen des privaten Bereichs (z.B. Umweltschutzorganisationen) und Swissgrid zusammen. Je nach Bedarf werden unabhängige Experten beigezogen.

Anhörungs- und Mitwirkungsverfahren nach Art. 19 der Raumplanungsverordnung (RPV): Vor der jeweiligen Festsetzung durch den Bund kann im Rahmen des Anhörungs- und Mitwirkungsverfahrens jede private Person Stellung zu den Empfehlungen der Begleitgruppe nehmen.

Teilen
Facebook
Twitter