Electric and magnetic fields

It is hard to imagine our daily life without the numerous electronic gadgets and tools. However, we are much less aware that electric and magnetic fields are formed everywhere electricity is present: including in the generation, transmission and distribution of electric energy.

Electric field

As soon as a device is connected to an electrical outlet, it contains a voltage. An electric field is created even if the device remains switched off and no current flows. The voltage determines the intensity of the electric field and is measured in volt per metre (V/m). As the distance from the source increases, the strength of the field decreases.

Magnetic field

Once current flows, a magnetic field is formed in addition to an electric field. The electricity volume transported through the line determines the strength of the magnetic field and is measured in microtesla (μT). As the distance to the line increases, the strength of the field decreases.

Electromagnetic spectrum – non-ionising radiation

One of the strictest limit value directives in the world

The International Commission on Non-Ionizing Radiation Protection (ICNIRP) specified the international limits in 1998. In the Swiss Ordinance on Protection from Non-Ionising Radiation, Switzerland specified limits for electric and magnetic fields which go much further and are among the strictest in the world.

International comparison of limits for electrical and magnetic fields

  Electrical fields Magnetic fields
  Immission limit System limit
ICNIRP* 5 kV/m 200 μT
Switzerland 5 kV/m 100 μT 1 μT
Germany 5 kV/m 100 μT
Netherlands 5 kV/m 100 μT **

 
* International Commission on Protection against Non-Ionising Radiation

** The Netherlands use the annual average load and not the maximum load like Switzerland as the basis for calculations. They have a system limit of 0.4 μT.

Immission limit

Applies everywhere people may be present. The lines are to be dimensioned so that this limit is never exceeded.

System limit

Applies for places with sensitive use:

  • Places where people are subjected to immissions over extended periods of time, such as in bedrooms and living rooms.
  • Places where children are frequently present, such as in classrooms or on playgrounds.
  • Areas of undeveloped land where these uses are permitted.
Magnetic fields exist around overhead lines and underground cabling

Strength of the magnetic field

The magnetic field is much stronger right above underground cabling than it is below an overhead line. On the ground, where people normally are, the magnetic field for overhead lines is a few microtesla while it can reach up to 100 microtesla for underground cabling.

Spatial expansion of the magnetic field

For overhead lines, the 1 microtesla limit is observed at a distance of approx. 60-80 metres from the conductors. For underground cabling, this distance is approx. 6-8 metres.

Share
Facebook
Twitter
Your contact
 
Do you have questions about electric and magnetic fields? Contact us using the online form. We will contact you.
 
Contact form
Measurements and calculations

Cooperation with research

Swissgrid has entered into a partnership with the Swiss Research Foundation for Electricity and Mobile Communication (FSM), a non-profit research foundation at the ETH Zurich. The FSM promotes research on technological, biological, health-related and social issues in the context of electromagnetic fields of radio and electricity technologies. The foundation also provides consulting for the authorities, companies and organisations, hosts conferences and imparts expert knowledge to the general public.

 FSM website

Elektrische und magnetische Felder

Unseren Alltag können wir uns ohne zahlreiche elektronische Begleiter und Hilfsmittel kaum mehr vorstellen. Viel weniger sind wir uns allerdings bewusst, dass überall dort, wo Strom vorhanden ist, elektrische und magnetische Felder entstehen: auch bei Produktion, Transport und Verteilung von elektrischer Energie.

Elektrisches Feld

Sobald ein Gerät an die Steckdose angeschlossen wird, steht es unter Spannung. Ein elektrisches Feld entsteht selbst dann, wenn das Gerät ausgeschaltet bleibt und kein Strom fliesst. Die Spannung bestimmt die Stärke des elektrischen Feldes und wird in Volt pro Meter gemessen (V/m). Mit zunehmendem Abstand von der Quelle reduziert sich die Stärke des Feldes.

Magnetisches Feld

Fliesst Strom, entsteht zusätzlich zum elektrischen Feld auch ein magnetisches Feld. Die Strommenge, die über die Leitung transportiert wird, bestimmt die Stärke des magnetischen Feldes und wird in Mikrotesla (μT) gemessen. Mit zunehmendem Abstand zur Leitung nimmt die Stärke des Feldes ab.

Elektromagnetisches Spektrum – Nicht-ionisierende Strahlung

Eine der strengsten Grenzwertrichtlinien der Welt

Die internationale Kommission zum Schutz vor nicht-ionisierender Strahlung (ICNIRP) hat 1998 internationale Grenzwerte festgelegt. Die Schweiz hat in der Verordnung über den Schutz vor nicht-ionisierender Strahlung (NISV) Grenzwerte für elektrische und magnetische Felder festgelegt, die deutlich weiter gehen und zu den strengsten weltweit gehören.

Internationaler Vergleich der Grenzwerte für elektrische und magnetische Felder

  Elektrische Felder Magnetische Felder
  Immissionsgrenzwert Anlagengrenzwert
ICNIRP* 5 kV/m 200 μT
Schweiz 5 kV/m 100 μT 1 μT
Deutschland 5 kV/m 100 μT
Niederlande 5 kV/m 100 μT **

 
* Internationale Kommission zum Schutz vor nicht-ionisierender Strahlung

** Die Niederlande verwenden als Berechnungsgrundlage die jährliche Durchschnittslast und nicht die Maximallast wie die Schweiz. Sie haben einen Anlagengrenzwert von 0.4 μT.

Immissionsgrenzwert

Gilt überall dort, wo sich Menschen aufhalten können. Die Leitungen sind so zu dimensionieren, dass dieser Grenzwert immer eingehalten wird.

Anlagengrenzwert

Gilt an Orten mit empfindlicher Nutzung:

  • Dort, wo Menschen länger einer Belastung ausgesetzt sind, wie beispielsweise in Schlaf- und Wohnzimmern
  • Dort, wo sich Kinder häufig aufhalten, wie beispielsweise im Schulzimmer oder auf dem Kinderspielplatz
  • Flächen von unbebauten Grundstücken, auf denen diese Nutzungen zugelassen sind
Magnetische Felder gibt es bei Freileitungen und Erdverkabelungen

Stärke des magnetischen Feldes

Direkt über einer Erdkabelleitung ist das magnetische Feld deutlich stärker als unter einer Freileitung. Am Boden, wo sich der Mensch normalerweise aufhält, beträgt das Magnetfeld bei der Freileitung wenige Mikrotesla; bei der Erdkabelleitung hingegen ist es bis 100 Mikrotesla stark.

Räumliche Ausdehnung des magnetischen Feldes

Bei der Freileitung wird der 1 Mikrotesla-Grenzwert bei ca. 60 – 80 Meter Abstand von den Leiterseilen eingehalten; bei der Erdkabelleitung bereits bei ca. 6 – 8 Meter.

Teilen
Facebook
Twitter
Ihr Kontakt
 
Haben Sie Fragen zu elektrischen und magnetischen Feldern? Kontaktieren Sie uns über unser Kontaktformular. Wir melden uns bei Ihnen.
 
Zum Kontaktformular
Messungen und Berechnungen

Zusammenarbeit mit der Forschung

Swissgrid ist eine Partnerschaft mit der an der ETH Zürich ansässigen gemeinnützigen Forschungsstiftung Strom- und Mobilkommunikation (FSM) eingegangen. Die FSM fördert die Forschung zu technischen, biologischen, gesundheitlichen und sozialen Fragen im Zusammenhang mit elektromagnetischen Feldern von Funk- und Stromtechnologien. Zudem berät sie Behörden, Firmen und Organisationen, veranstaltet Tagungen und vermittelt Sachwissen an die Allgemeinheit.

 Website FSM