Questions and answers

Which legal fundamentals and their observance are examined in the environmental impact assessment?

Compliance with the regulations for environmental protection is examined (Art. 13 UVPV). This includes, for example, the environmental protection act and provisions that apply to protection of nature and cultural heritage, landscape protection, water protection, forest conservation, hunting and fishing (Art. 3 UVPV).

Is a UVP always required?

The UVP must always be carried out for facilities that could significantly impact the environment to the extent that project or location-specific measures are necessary to comply with the legal provisions for environmental protection. The Federal Council has designated facilities for which the UVP is mandatory in the annex to the UVP ordinance and determined threshold values for different types of facilities. Possible measures could include the following:

  • Preparation of water protection, air pollution control, noise prevention and soil protection concepts for the construction site
  • Project optimisation measures for the protection of valuable habitat (mitigation measures) and execution of restoration and replacement measures for the affected valuable habitat
  • Provisions for connection of the construction site and the building of tracks and roads for later forestry management

This is the case in many Swissgrid substation and transmission line projects.

Who decides whether a project is subject to an obligatory UVP?

The Federal Council has issued a list of all facilities for which a UVP is obligatory. Based on this, as a responsible applicant, Swissgrid clarifies whether a UVP is required for a project. In case of doubt, SFOE, as the responsible authority, determines the UVP obligation of a facility, following consultation with the specialist department for environmental protection.

What is a UVP preliminary examination?

A preliminary examination is carried out in preparation for the environmental impact report. The preliminary examination should show which environmental areas must be investigated in the UVB and precisely what must be clarified in the specific environmental areas. If the impacts on the environment and the environmental protection measures are conclusively determined in the preliminary examination, then the results of the preliminary examination are valid as a report.

At what point in the approval process is the UVP carried out?

The UVP Is carried out of as part of the planning approval process. This is done on the basis of the UVB submitted by Swissgrid.

What issues does the UVB examine?

The environmental impact report contains all the information required for assessment of a project in accordance with the regulations for environmental protection. The impact, which can vary, depending on the proposed facility (e.g. major roads, landfills, golf courses, high-voltage overhead and underground lines, etc.) is examined for different environmental areas. The environmental areas examined could be: noise, non-ionising radiation, water, soil, contamination, forest, biotope and vegetation, fauna and habitat, landscape and visual character, cultural monuments and archaeological sites.

Which issues are particularly sensitive?

That depends on the facility and the affected area. With high-voltage overhead lines, issues such as landscape intrusion and the effect of non-ionising radiation are relevant whereas with underground lines, landscape intrusion almost disappears, but encroachment in the soil becomes more important. In addition, special attention is paid to protected areas (landscape protection areas, protected biotope), protected species and habitat.

When is UVB submittal required?

The UVB is prepared during the project design phase and is a component of the planning submission. It is delivered to the authority directing the process at the time of planning submittal.

Is the UVB publicly accessible?

Following submittal of the dossier, the UVB remains with the publicly accessible plans at the municipality. Public display lasts for 30 days and is publicised in the official register. Swissgrid also publishes its UVBs on its website.

Which authorities examine the environmental impact of a project?

The environmental impact assessment and regional planning departments of the Swiss Federal Office for the Environment (SFOE) evaluates compliance with legal requirements on the basis of the environmental impact report and the opinions of cantonal environmental protection specialist units. Based on this assessment, ESTI carries out the formal examination of environmental impact and issues environmental requirements which must be strictly complied with during execution of the project.

What are locations with sensitive use (OMEN)?

The following qualify as OMEN:

  • rooms in buildings where persons remain for extended periods
  • public or private, legally approved children's playgrounds
  • areas of undeveloped land where the above uses are permitted
Who decides whether environmental supervision (UBB) must be arranged?

The obligation to arrange UBB is based on the provisions of the environmental protection law. Basically, UBB is indicated for all projects with significant environmental impacts during the construction phase. In these projects, UBB is a requirement of planning approval. As the client, Swissgrid can also provide UBB independently. Ultimately, the authority administering the process determines when UBB is mandatory.

Who provides UBB?

Depending on the environmental impacts that must be anticipated during the construction phase and Swissgrid's resources, environmental supervision tasks are assigned to internal or external units, individuals or entire project teams. It is also possible, depending on the project, that supervision by environmental specialists is only required for individual environmental areas such as site support related to soils.

Who checks whether the requirements of the planning approval decision (PGE) are implemented correctly?

ESTI ensures that the requirements are implemented and measures executed by carrying out an ecological building inspection, together with the owner, cantonal specialist units and, if necessary, service providers, following completion of the work.

When does UBB begin in a project?

UBB is already in place and active before construction begins. It plays an important part in the bidding and planning of construction work, because the greatest opportunities for influence exist at this point.

Is environmental supervision permanently on site? Or do they make spot checks?

The organisation of UBB is matched to the project. But basically, it is not permanently on site. On larger projects or in critical construction phases, supervision is on site regularly, up to several days a week. With smaller or less problematic projects, it is on site less frequently. In any case, UBB is always available to the owner and project manager as an expert contact.

Share
Facebook
Twitter

Fragen und Antworten

Welche rechtlichen Grundlagen und deren Einhaltung werden mit der Umweltverträglichkeitsprüfung (UVP) überprüft?

Es wird überprüft ob die Vorschriften zum Schutz der Umwelt eingehalten werden (Art. 13 UVPV). Dazu gehören zum Beispiel das Umweltschutzgesetz und die Vorschriften, die den Natur und Heimatschutz, den Landschaftsschutz, den Gewässerschutz, die Walderhaltung, die Jagd oder die Fischerei betreffen (Art. 3 UVPV).

Muss immer eine UVP durchgeführt werden?

Die UVP muss für Anlagen durchgeführt werden, welche die Umwelt erheblich belasten können, so dass es voraussichtlich projekt- oder standortspezifische Massnahmen braucht, damit die rechtlichen Vorschriften zum Schutz der Umwelt eingehalten werden. Der Bundesrat hat die UVP-pflichtigen Anlagen im Anhang der Verordnung zur UVP abschliessend bezeichnet und bei verschiedenen Anlagetypen Schwellenwerte festgelegt. Mögliche Massnahmen können die folgenden sein:

  • Erstellung von Gewässerschutz-, Luftreinhaltungs-, Lärmschutz- und Bodenschutzkonzepten für die Baustelle;
  • Projektoptimierungen zur Schonung von wertvollen Lebensräumen (Minderungsmassnahmen) und Realisierung von Wiederherstellungs- und Ersatzmassahmen für die beeinträchtigten schutzwürdigen Lebensräume;
  • Vorschriften für die Erschliessung der Baustelle und den Bau von Wegen und Strassen für die spätere forstliche Bewirtschaftung.

Dies ist bei vielen Unterwerks- und Leitungsprojekten von Swissgrid der Fall.

Wer entscheidet, ob ein Projekt der UVP-Pflicht untersteht?

Der Bundesrat hat eine Liste aller UVP-pflichtigen Anlagen erlassen. Gestützt darauf klärt Swissgrid in ihrer Verantwortung als Gesuchstellerin ab, ob für ein Projekt eine UVP erforderlich ist. Im Zweifelsfall bestimmt das BFE als zuständige Behörde, nach Rücksprache mit der Umweltschutzfachstelle, über die UVP-Pflicht einer Anlage.

Was ist eine UVP-Voruntersuchung?

Zur Vorbereitung des Umweltverträglichkeitsberichts (UVB) wird eine Voruntersuchung durchgeführt. Im Rahmen der Voruntersuchung soll gezeigt werden, welche Umweltbereiche im UVB untersucht werden müssen und was genau bei den jeweiligen Umweltbereichen abgeklärt werden muss. Werden in der Voruntersuchung die Auswirkungen auf die Umwelt und die Umweltschutzmassnahmen abschliessend ermittelt, so gelten die Ergebnisse der Voruntersuchung als Bericht.

Zu welchem Zeitpunkt im Bewilligungsverfahren wird die UVP durchgeführt?

Die UVP wird im Rahmen des Plangenehmigungsverfahrens durchgeführt. Dies auf Basis des von Swissgrid eingereichten UVB.

Welche Aspekte untersucht der UVB?

Der Umweltverträglichkeitsbericht enthält alle Angaben, die zur Prüfung eines Vorhabens nach den Vorschriften über den Schutz der Umwelt nötig sind. Es werden die Auswirkungen auf die verschiedenen Umweltbereiche untersucht, die je nach geplanter Anlage (z.B. Nationalstrassen, Deponien, Golfplätze, Hochspannungs-Freileitungen und -kabel, etc.) unterschiedlich sein können. Untersuchte Umweltbereiche können zum Beispiel sein: Lärm, nicht-ionisierende Strahlung, Gewässer, Boden, Altlasten, Wald, Biotope und Vegetation, Fauna und deren Lebensräume, Landschaft und Ortsbild oder Kulturdenkmäler und archäologische Stätten.

Welches sind die besonders heiklen Aspekte?

Das variiert je nach Anlage und betroffenem Gebiet. Bei Hochspannungs-Freileitungen sind z.B. der landschaftliche Eingriff oder die Auswirkungen von nicht-ionisierender Strahlung relevant, bei Erdkabeln hingegen fällt der landschaftliche Eingriff beinahe weg, dafür ist der Eingriff in den Boden stärker. Ein besonderes Augenmerk wird ausserdem auf Schutzgebiete (Landschaftsschutzgebiete, geschützte Biotope), geschützte Arten und Lebensräume gelegt.

Wann muss der UVB eingereicht werden?

Der UVB wird während der Phase Bauprojekt erstellt und dient als Bestandteil für das Planeingabedossier. Er wird also zum Zeitpunkt der Planeingabe an die verfahrensleitenden Behörden übergeben.

Ist der UVB öffentlich zugänglich?

Der UVB liegt zusammen mit der Planvorlage nach Einreichung des Dossiers öffentlich auf den Gemeinden auf. Die Auflage dauert 30 Tage und wird jeweils im Amtsblatt publiziert. Swissgrid veröffentlicht ihre UVBs auch auf ihrer Website.

Welche Behörde überprüft die Umweltverträglichkeit eines Projektes?

Die Sektion Umweltverträglichkeitsprüfung und Raumordnung des Bundesamts für Umwelt (BAFU) beurteilt anhand des UVB und der Stellungnahmen der kantonalen Umweltschutzfachstellen die Einhaltung der rechtlichen Grundlagen. Gestützt auf diese Beurteilung führt das ESTI die formelle Prüfung der Umweltverträglichkeit durch und erteilt Umweltauflagen, die bei der Realisierung des Projekts zwingend eingehalten werden müssen.

Was sind sogenannte Orte mit empfindlicher Nutzung (OMEN)?

Als OMEN gelten:

  • Räume in Gebäuden, in denen sich Personen regelmässig während längerer Zeit aufhalten
  • öffentliche oder private, raumplanungsrechtlich festgesetzte Kinderspielplätze
  • Flächen von unüberbauten Grundstücken, auf denen obige Nutzungen zugelassen sind.
Wer entscheidet, ob eine Umweltbaubegleitung (UBB) eingerichtet werden muss?

Die Verpflichtung, eine UBB einzurichten, stützt sich auf die Vorschriften aus dem Umweltschutzgesetz. Grundsätzlich ist eine UBB bei allen Vorhaben mit erheblichen Umweltauswirkungen während der Bauphase angezeigt. Bei solchen Vorhaben ist die UBB eine Auflage der Plangenehmigung. Swissgrid als Bauherrin kann aber auch eigenverantwortlich eine UBB vorsehen. Letztlich entscheidet die verfahrensführende Behörde, wann eine UBB zwingend eingerichtet werden muss.

Wer führt die UBB durch?

Je nach Umweltauswirkungen mit denen in der Bauphase gerechnet werden muss sowie der Ressourcen von Swissgrid werden interne oder externe Stellen, Einzelpersonen oder ganze Projektteams mit den Aufgaben der Umweltbaubegleitung beauftragt. Abhängig vom Projekt ist es auch möglich, dass nur für einzelne Umweltbereiche eine Begleitung durch Umweltspezialisten notwendig ist, so zum Beispiel eine bodenkundliche Baubegleitung.

Wer überprüft, ob die Auflagen des Plangenehmigungsentscheides (PGE) korrekt umgesetzt werden?

Das ESTI stellt sicher, dass die Auflagen umgesetzt und die Massnahmen realisiert werden, indem sie nach Beendigung der Arbeiten zusammen mit dem Bauherrn, den kantonalen Fachstellen und gegebenenfalls Dienstleistern eine ökologische Bauabnahme durchführt.

Wann startet die UBB bei einem Projekt?

Die UBB wird bereits vor Baubeginn eingesetzt und aktiv. Sie spielt bereits bei den Ausschreibungen und der Planung der Bauarbeiten eine wichtige Rolle, da zu diesem Zeitpunkt am meisten Einflussmöglichkeiten bestehen.

Ist die Umweltbaubegleitung permanent vor Ort auf der Baustelle? Oder macht sie Stichproben?

Die Organisation der UBB ist auf das Projekt angepasst. Grundsätzlich ist sie aber nicht permanent auf der Baustelle. Bei grösseren Projekten oder in kritischen Bauphasen ist sie regelmässig, bis zu mehrere Tage pro Woche, vor Ort. Bei kleineren oder wenig problematischen Projekten ist sie seltener auf der Baustelle. In jedem Fall steht die UBB dem Bauherrn und dem Bauleiter als fachkundige Ansprechperson immer zur Verfügung.

Teilen
Facebook
Twitter