Overhead lines and underground cabling

The modernization and extension of infrastructure are necessary for Switzerland's sustainable energy future. This includes the currently prevalent UHV grids and overhead lines. The use of underground cabling in the transmission grid is relatively recent. Overhead and underground lines offer advantages and disadvantages in terms of project design, construction, operation and maintenance. Swissgrid must therefore evaluate all of the possible variants of overhead and underground lines for each grid construction. The results of these studies are used by decision-making bodies when choosing technologies and corridors.
 

Masten_Grenzwertrichtwerte_250px_en

An overhead line consists of the totality of all phase and earth conductors on a supporting structure and is installed above ground. Overhead lines are used almost exclusively worldwide for energy transmission at high voltage levels, such as 220 and 380 kilovolts. The air surrounding the conductor serves as insulation. The heat which is created by the electricity flow in the conductor can easily be transferred to the environment. More electricity can be transmitted in winter than in summer due to the lower ambient air temperature. In Switzerland, Aldrey cables are primarily used; an alloy of aluminium, magnesium and silicon.

The framework conditions (e.g. power of transmission, length of corridor, line load, soil conditions, etc.) play an essential role in technical design as well as influencing the number of conductors, their section or the choice of materials used for them. There are additional requirements in terms of availability and redundancy. How should underground cables be designed in order to guarantee supply security? Each extension of the transmission grid must be clarified on a case-to-case basis, taking into account the reliability of the operation.

Structural types

Tube block Tunnel construction Directional drilling
Concrete tube blocks are laid in open-air at approx. 1 to 2 meters deep. The width of the wiring trench is approx. 5 meters. A minimum width of approx. 25 meters is required for the construction. To install underground cables without trenches, tunnels of approx. 3 to 4 meters in diameter are constructed in the form of galleries or microtunnelling. The cables are placed on specific cable holders. A drill head to control the digging direction under the obstacles of the surface. To prevent them from collapsing, a stabilizing liquid is squirted behind the drill head and the empty tubes for the cables are laid. This type of construction is suitable for short distances, for example, passages under rivers or roads.

Underground cables are very widespread for the transmission of electricity in regional distribution grids, and are increasingly used in the national distribution grid up to 150 kV. Underground cables have proven themselves in terms of technique and operation in these areas. In the 380 kV and 220 kV transmission grid, very few underground cables of more than 1 km are used; empirical values resulting from operation over a long period of time are therefore lacking.

  Underground cables Overhead lines

Extra high voltage: 380 kV and 220 kV 8 km 6 750 km

High voltage: 36 kV to 150 kV 2 031 km 7 158 km

Medium voltage: 1 kV to 36 kV 33 544 km 10 914 km

Low voltage: 0.4 kV to 1 kV 76 311 km 9 719 km

Each grid construction project is developed as part of a multi-stage federal planning and authorization process involving federal agencies, cantonal authorities, environmental protection associations, grid operators and persons who are directly affected. While the authorities define transmission technology and the project corridor during the sector plan procedure, persons who are directly affected can submit their requests during the procedure for approval of the plans. The «Transmission Line Evaluation Model» developed by the Swiss Federal Office of Energy (SFOE), the Federal Office for the Environment (FOEN) and the Federal Office for Spatial Development (ARE) as well as the Federal Electricity Commission (ElCom) is used for the decisions. The aim is to ensure solutions with a high level of acceptance.

Evaluation scheme for transmission lines

All four evaluation categories flow equally into the technology decision.

* Cost comparison

The costs form part of the decision-making basis. The lifecycle costs are taken into consideration. These include construction, operation, maintenance and electrical energy losses over the entire service life. Depending on the technology and the local circumstances, the costs of underground cabling are higher by a specific factor than an overhead line. In cases with favourable conditions for underground cable and unfavourable conditions for overhead lines, underground cable can be about twice as expensive. With reverse conditions, the factor can be up to 10 and more.

Every Swissgrid grid project, whether overhead line or underground cable, must be evaluated by the ElCom regulator from an economic perspective since the costs are transferred to the consumers’ electricity bill.

Share
Facebook
Twitter

Grid technology news

27.04.2017

New tool from ETH Zurich assists in line planning

The new tool provides a bird's-eye view of high-voltage lin...>

18.04.2016

Swissgrid involvement in the national «Energy Turnaround» research programme.

The «Hybrid overhead power lines for Switzerland» project (...>

17.12.2013

Capacity increases by means of AC/DC hybrid lines

Potential and feasibility in Switzerland.

29.01.2013

Study on geomagnetically induced currents in the Swiss transmission system

The study was carried out on behalf of Swissgrid and the Sw...>

17.12.2012

Swissgrid a key partner in the e-HIGHWAY2050 project

On 27 November 2012, the European Commission approved the f...>

Freileitungen und Erdkabel

Für eine nachhaltige Schweizer Energiezukunft braucht es die Modernisierung und den Ausbau der Infrastruktur. Dazu gehören insbesondere die Höchstspannungsleitungen, bei denen heute Freileitungen überwiegen. Der Einsatz von Erdkabeln im Übertragungsnetz ist vergleichsweise neu. Bei der Projektierung, dem Bau sowie bei Betrieb und Instandhaltung haben Freileitungen und Erdkabel Vor- und Nachteile. Daher muss Swissgrid bei jedem Netzbauprojekt sowohl Freileitungs- als auch Verkabelungsvarianten prüfen. Die Erkenntnisse dienen den Entscheidungsgremien als Grundlage für die Korridor- sowie Technologieentscheide.
 

Masten_Grenzwertrichtwerte_250px

Eine Freileitung besteht aus der Gesamtheit aller Phasen- und Erdleiter auf einem Tragwerk und wird oberirdisch geführt. Zur Energieübertragung auf der Höchstspannungsebene wie z.B. 220 und 380 Kilovolt setzt man weltweit überwiegend Freileitungen ein. Als Isolation dient die den Leiter umgebende Luft. Die Wärme, welche durch den Stromfluss im Leiter entsteht, kann leicht an die Umwelt abgegeben werden. Im Winter kann durch die tiefere Umgebungstemperatur mehr Strom transportiert werden als im Sommer. In der Schweiz werden vorwiegend Aldrey-Seile verwendet – eine Legierung aus Aluminium, Magnesium und Silicium.

Eine wesentliche Rolle bei der technischen Dimensionierung spielen die Rahmenbedingungen (z.B. Übertragungsleistung, Trasseelänge, Leitungsauslastung, Bodenverhältnisse etc.), die wiederum die Anzahl Leiter, deren Querschnitt oder die Wahl des Leitermaterials beeinflussen. Zusätzlich fliessen in die Überlegungen die Ansprüche an Verfügbarkeit und Redundanz ein. Wie müssen Erdkabel dimensioniert werden, um die Versorgungssicherheit zu gewährleisten? Jeder Ausbau des Übertragungsnetzes muss entsprechend individuell abgeklärt und unter Berücksichtigung eines verlässlichen Betriebes beurteilt werden.

Bauweisen

Rohrblock Tunnelbau Gesteuerte Bohrung
Betonrohrblöcke werden in offener Bauweise in ca. 1 - 2 m Tiefe verlegt. Die Breite des Kabelgrabens beträgt ca. 5 m. Für den Bau ist eine minimale Breite von ca. 25 m notwendig. Um Erdkabel grabenlos zu verlegen, werden im Stollenbau oder Pressvortrieb Tunnel von ca. 3 - 4 m Durchmesser gebaut. Die Kabel werden auf speziellen Kabelträgern geführt. Ein richtungsgesteuerter Bohrkopf untergräbt oberflächliche Hindernisse. Damit diese nicht einstürzen, wird stabilisierende Flüssigkeit hinter den Bohrkopf gepumpt und Leerrohre für die Kabel werden eingezogen. Diese Bauweise eignet sich für kurze Distanzen wie die Unterquerung von Gewässern oder Strassen.

Erdkabel sind für die Energieübertragung in regionalen Verteilnetzen weit verbreitet und werden im überregionalen Verteilnetz bis 150 kV immer mehr eingesetzt. In diesen Bereichen sind Erdkabel technisch und betrieblich erprobt. Im Übertragungsnetz mit 380 kV und 220 kV kommen Erdkabelstrecken über 1 km Länge noch wenig zur Anwendung, so dass Erfahrungswerte aus langjährigem Betrieb fehlen.

  Erdkabel Freileitung

Höchstspannung: 380 kV und 220 kV 8 km 6 750 km

Hochspannung: 36 kV bis 150 kV 2 031 km 7 158 km

Mittelspannung: 1 kV bis 36 kV 33 544 km 10 914 km

Niederspannung: 0.4 kV bis 1 kV 76 311 km 9 719 km

Jedes Netzbauprojekt wird in einem mehrstufigen Planungs- und Bewilligungsverfahren erarbeitet, in das Bundesämter, kantonale Behörden, Umweltverbände, Netzbetreiber und Direktbetroffene involviert sind. Während im Sachplanverfahren die Technologie und der Planungskorridor durch die Behörden festgelegt werden, können im Plangenehmigungsverfahren Direktbetroffene ihre Anliegen einbringen. Für die Entscheide wird das «Bewertungsschema für Übertragungsleitungen» angewendet, das von den Bundesämtern für Energie (BFE), Umwelt (BAFU) und Raumentwicklung (ARE) sowie der Elektrizitätskommission (ElCom) erarbeitet wurde. Ziel ist es, Lösungen mit hoher Akzeptanz zu gewährleisten.

Bewertungsschema für Übertragungsleitungen

Alle vier Bewertungskategorien fliessen gleichwertig in den Technologieentscheid mit ein.

* Kostenvergleich

Die Kosten sind Teil der Entscheidungsgrundlagen. Berücksichtigt werden die Lebenszykluskosten. Diese beinhalten Bau, Betrieb, Instandhaltung und elektrische Energieverluste über die gesamte Lebensdauer. In Abhängigkeit von der Technologie und den örtlichen Gegebenheiten sind die Kosten einer Edverkabelung um einen bestimmten Faktor höher als bei einer Freileitung. In Fällen mit günstigen Gegebenheiten für Erdkabel und ungünstigen Gegebenheiten für Freileitungen können Erdkabel ca. doppelt so teuer sein. Bei umgekehrten Gegebenheiten kann der Faktor bis zu 10 und mehr betragen.

Jedes Netzprojekt von Swissgrid, ob Freileitung oder Erdkabel, muss durch den Regulator ElCom aus wirtschaftlicher Perspektive beurteilt werden, da die Kosten auf die Stromrechnung der Konsumenten übertragen werden.

Teilen
Facebook
Twitter

News zum Thema Netztechnologien

18.04.2016

Swissgrid beteiligt sich am Nationalen Forschungsprogramm «Energiewende»

An der 10. Schweizerischen Energieforschungskonferenz vom 1...>

17.12.2013

Erhöhung der Übertragungskapazität durch hybride AC/DC-Freileitungen

Potenzial und Machbarkeit in der Schweiz.

21.02.2013

RGI Workshop zum Thema Erdverkabelung von Höchstspannungsleitungen in Spreitenbach

Swissgrid ist seit 2 Jahren aktives Mitglied der Renewables...>

29.01.2013

Studie zu geomagnetischen Störungen im Schweizer Übertragungsnetz

Die Studie wurde im Auftrag von Swissgrid und BFE durchgefü...>