Grid expansion is necessary

Rising electricity consumption, new power plants at home and abroad and the increasingly decentralised generation of electricity from renewable energies present the transmission grid with major challenges. To ensure a future of sustainable energy, we need to modernise the transmission grid. We need to cover demand while preventing bottlenecks and closing the gaps in the transmission grid. Specifically, we need to optimise the grid systematically and strengthen it where necessary.

 
Elimination of existing bottlenecks

Nearly two-thirds of today’s transmission grid was built in the 1950s and 60s. At that time, the focus was on ensuring regional supplies by transporting energy from nearby power plants to areas of heavy consumption. But the needs of the grid have changed in recent years. On the one hand, there are new power plants, while on the other there are new and continuously growing centres of consumption, which have a higher demand for electricity.

As a result, the Swiss transmission grid already has bottlenecks that need eliminating in order to enhance the security of supply throughout Switzerland.

 
What is impelling the Swiss grid

As part of the plans for the «Strategic Grid 2025», Swissgrid has identified the key drivers for grid development. The direct drivers behind the renovation and expansion of the Swiss transmission grid are the international network, connection of new large power plants and the secure supply of downstream grids.

treiber_verbund

International association

Exchanging electricity abroad increases Switzerland’s supply security. It permits the export of domestically produced electricity and the import needed at times of low domestic production (primarily in winter). In the event of increasing volumes overloading of the grid can occur. Expected imports and exports make domestic grid expansion necessary.

treiber_kraftwerke

Major new power plants in Switzerland

This can for example include the new construction of a large pumped storage facility, which greatly changes the transport task in a region. New pumped storage power plants in thinly populated regions with fewer strong lines in particular cause overloading of the grid.

treiber_netze

Supply of downstream grids

The distribution grids are constantly adjusting to changes in electricity demand and generation. New connection requests can lead to structural congestion and as a result change the supply task for Swissgrid, which also has an effect on the «Strategic Grid 2025».

 
As few new lines as possible, as many as necessary

The NOVA principle (grid optimisation before reinforcement before expansion) provides an important technical planning basis that aims to keep the impact on landscape and the environment as low as possible.

The breakdown of projects for the «Strategic Grid 2025» is as follows:

  • 193 kilometres: Increase in voltage from 220 to 380 kV on lines that are dimensioned and approved for this (grid optimisation)
  • 87 kilometres: Replacement of existing lines to increase the voltage from 220 to 380 kV (grid reinforcement)
  • 370 kilometres: Construction of lines along new routes (grid expansion)

 
Important dialogue with stakeholders and interested parties

bewilligungsverfahren_en

Expansion projects need to have a clearly defined, multi-stage procedure in place from the project idea through to their realisation in the field, which is approved by the competent authorities. Its starting point is the sectoral planning process, which considers a project in a broader spatial context. Only in a second step, the planning approval process, is the focus on actual routing of power lines.

Swissgrid involves those parties affected by the network expansion early on in the process, at the appropriate level and within the specified process framework. Swissgrid makes use of various occasions and opportunities to reach out to affected communities:

  • Direct dialogue and site inspections with representatives of affected municipalities are important to promote mutual understanding, build trust and grow acquainted with the local situation.
  • Information events about grid projects offer all interested parties an opportunity to gain detailed knowledge about every aspect of a project, and put specific questions to the experts.
  • Key information on all grid projects is published on the Swissgrid website and also spread via Twitter.

 
Grid project communication

dialog

Swissgrid maintains an open and transparent dialogue with all the relevant stakeholder groups. The various concerns of the affected and interested parties are gathered in due time and taken into account, in order to enhance acceptance of the expansion plans.

Along with the authorities conducting and involved in the process, the most important stakeholder groups for grid construction projects in Switzerland include the cantons, municipalities, landowners, environmental organisations, the media and the public at large. Depending on the phase and size of the project, Swissgrid sets up various communication channels to engage in constructive and solution-oriented dialogue with these stakeholder groups. Swissgrid conducts direct discussions, organises public information events, monitoring groups and on-site inspection tours, and provides information about all the important projects on its website. In addition, Swissgrid also facilitates communication and dialogue via social media (e.g. Twitter and YouTube).

The «Grid Infrastructure Communication Toolkit» has been developed in the context of a European project in which Swissgrid has also been involved. This is an online guide, presenting practical tools and measures that promote a constructive and solution-oriented dialogue with various stakeholder groups.

Share
Facebook
Twitter

Netzausbau ist notwendig

Der steigende Stromkonsum, neue Kraftwerke im In- und Ausland und die zunehmende dezentrale Erzeugung aus erneuerbaren Energien stellen das Übertragungsnetz vor grosse Herausforderungen. Eine nachhaltige Energiezukunft erfordert auch die Modernisierung des Übertragungsnetzes. Netzengpässe sind zu beseitigen und Lücken im Übertragungsnetz bedarfsgerecht zu schliessen. Konkret geht es darum, das Netz gezielt zu optimieren und wo notwendig zu verstärken.

 
Beseitigung der bestehenden Engpässe

Fast zwei Drittel des heutigen Übertragungsnetzes wurden in den 1950er und 60er Jahren gebaut. Damals lag der Fokus darauf, mit dem Transport der Energie von den nahe gelegenen Kraftwerken in die verbraucherstarken Zentren die regionale Versorgung sicherzustellen. Die Bedürfnisse an das Netz haben sich aber in den letzten Jahren geändert. Auf der einen Seite gibt es neue Kraftwerke und auf der anderen Seite neue und stetig wachsende Verbraucherzentren, welche einen höheren Strombedarf aufweisen.

Das Schweizer Übertragungsnetz weist daher bereits heute Engpässe auf, die beseitigt werden müssen, um die Versorgungssicherheit in der gesamten Schweiz zu erhöhen.

 
Was das Schweizer Netz vorwärts treibt

Swissgrid hat im Rahmen der Planung des «Strategischen Netzes 2025» die grundlegenden Treiber für die Netzentwicklung identifiziert. Die direkten Treiber für den Um- und Ausbau des Schweizer Übertragungsnetzes sind der internationale Verbund, der Anschluss von neuen Grosskraftwerken und die sichere Versorgung nachgelagerter Netze.

treiber_verbund

Internationaler Verbund

Der Stromaustausch mit dem Ausland erhöht die Versorgungssicherheit der Schweiz. Er ermöglicht den Export von inländisch produziertem Strom sowie den notwendigen Import in Zeiten mit geringer Eigenproduktion (primär im Winter). Bei steigendem Aufkommen kann es zu einer Überlastung des Netzes kommen. Erwartete Importe und Exporte machen Netzerweiterungen im Inland notwendig.

treiber_kraftwerke

Neue Grosskraftwerke in der Schweiz

Hierzu kann beispielsweise der Neubau eines grossen Pumpspeichers gehören, welcher die Transportaufgabe in einer Region deutlich verändert. Insbesondere neue Pumpspeicherkraftwerke in dünn besiedelten Regionen mit weniger starken Leitungen verursachen Überlastungen des Netzes.

treiber_netze

Versorgung nachgelagerter Netze

Die Verteilnetze passen sich stetig dem Wandel in der Stromnachfrage und -erzeugung an. Neue Anschlussbegehren können zu strukturellen Engpässen führen und dadurch die Versorgungsaufgabe für Swissgrid verändern, was sich auf das «Strategische Netz 2025» auswirkt.

 
So wenig neue Leitungen wie möglich, so viele wie nötig

Als wichtiger technischer Planungsgrundsatz dient das NOVA-Prinzip (Netzoptimierung vor -verstärkung vor -ausbau), das darauf abzielt, die Umwelt- und Landschaftseinflüsse der Netzplanung so gering wie möglich zu halten.

Die Projekte für das «Strategische Netz 2025» teilen sich wie folgt auf:

  • 193 Kilometer: Erhöhung der Spannung von 220 auf 380 kV auf dafür dimensionierten und zugelassenen Leitungen (Netzoptimierung)
  • 87 Kilometer: Ersatz von bestehenden Leitungen zur Erhöhung der Spannung von 220 auf 380 kV (Netzverstärkung)
  • 370 Kilometer: Neubau von Leitungen auf einer neuen Trasse (Netzausbau)

 
Wichtiger Dialog mit Betroffenen, Beteiligten und Interessierten

bewilligungsverfahren_de

Von der Idee eines Projekts bis zur Realisierung im Gelände muss ein Ausbauvorhaben in einem klar definierten, mehrstufigen Verfahren durch die zuständigen Behörden bewilligt werden. Ausgangspunkt ist dabei das Sachplanverfahren, in welchem ein Projekt in einem grösseren räumlichen Zusammenhang betrachtet wird. Erst in einem zweiten Schritt geht es im Plangenehmigungsverfahren um die konkrete Linienführung einer Leitung.

Swissgrid bezieht die vom Netzausbau Betroffenen frühzeitig, stufengerecht und innerhalb des vom Verfahren vorgegebenen Rahmens in den Prozess ein. Um mit der betroffenen Bevölkerung in Kontakt zu kommen, nimmt Swissgrid unterschiedliche Gelegenheiten und Möglichkeiten wahr:

  • Wichtig sind direkte Gespräche und Begehungen mit Vertretern von betroffenen Gemeinden, um das gegenseitige Verständnis zu fördern, Vertrauen aufzubauen und die spezifischen Gegebenheiten vor Ort kennenzulernen.
  • Informationsveranstaltungen zu Netzprojekten bieten allen Interessierten die Gelegenheit, sich im Detail über alle Aspekte eines Projektes zu informieren und spezifische Fragen an Experten zu richten.
  • Die wichtigsten Informationen zu allen Netzprojekten werden auf der Website von Swissgrid publiziert und auch via Twitter verbreitet.

 
Netzprojektkommunikation

dialog

Swissgrid pflegt einen offenen und transparenten Dialog mit allen relevanten Anspruchsgruppen. Die unterschiedlichen Anliegen der Betroffenen und Interessierten werden rechtzeitig aufgenommen und berücksichtigt, um die Akzeptanz der Ausbauvorhaben zu steigern.

Zu den wichtigsten Anspruchsgruppen von Netzbauprojekten zählen in der Schweiz, neben den verfahrensführenden und -beteiligten Behörden, Kantone, Gemeinden, Grundeigentümer, Umweltorganisationen, Medien und die breite Öffentlichkeit. Für einen konstruktiven und lösungsorientierten Dialog mit diesen Anspruchsgruppen setzt Swissgrid je nach Projektphase und Dimension auf verschiedene Kommunikationskanäle. Swissgrid führt direkte Gespräche, organisiert öffentliche Informationsveranstaltungen, Begleitgruppen und Begehungen im Gelände und stellt auf der Website Informationen zu allen wichtigen Projekten zur Verfügung. Ergänzend führt Swissgrid die Kommunikation und den Dialog über Social Media (z.B. Twitter und Youtube).

Im Rahmen eines europäischen Projektes, an dem auch Swissgrid mitgewirkt hat, wurde das «Grid Infrastructure Communication Toolkit» entwickelt. Ein Online-Ratgeber, der konkrete Instrumente und Massnahmen vorstellt, die den konstruktiven und lösungsorientierten Dialog mit verschiedenen Anspruchsgruppen fördern.

Teilen
Facebook
Twitter