(n-1) Load in the Swiss Electricity Grid

The Swiss transmission grid is approaching its capacity limits. More than two-thirds of the Swiss transmission grid is over 40 years old and can no longer cope with the future requirements of increasing electricity consumption as well as the fluctuating feed-in from renewable energy. Even today, power plant operators have to reduce electricity production from hydropower because Swissgrid doesn't have sufficient grid capacity to discharge the energy. The Swissgrid Control grid control room is faced with major challenges in the operation of the Swiss transmission grid due to structural bottlenecks.

Unplanned grid loads can occur in the Swiss transmission grid at any time due to unforeseen events such as outages of grid elements (lines or transformers). The electricity tries to find its way through grid elements that are still intact, for example after the outage of a line. This unplanned electricity flow can lead to an overload of other grid elements.

At least every five minutes, Swissgrid Control determines the (n-1) load of the grid elements in the entire Swiss transmission grid based on thousands of current and voltage measurements. In the process, the load values that result for the remaining grid elements are calculated after the simulated outage of any element. The simulation shows which element of the entire still intact transmission grid would be loaded the most in case of the failure of another grid element. An (n-1) load that is greater than 100% means that this could lead to an overload and to the loss of another grid element if the overload remains. Therefore, the objective of grid operations is to keep the (n-1) load of the grid elements at a maximum of 100 per cent at all times.

The (n-1) simulation therefore does not represent the actual load in the transmission grid. However, the result of the simulation is used by Swissgrid Control for the preparation and execution of measures if the possibility of overrunning the (n-1) limits exist.

The Swiss transmission and extra high voltage grid is a complex system with a total of around 6700 kilometres of lines, 140 switching substations and 41 connections to foreign countries. The grid elements with the highest (n-1) loads occur together with well-known capacity bottlenecks in the existing transmission grid. If the same grid elements are always overloaded in the (n-1) case, then this is a bottleneck in the Swiss transmission grid.

Excessively high (n-1) loads were calculated at different points in the Swiss transmission grid (380/220 kV) during calendar year 2013 as well as in the previous years. These loads can be caused by the outage of different grid elements. Swissgrid Control registers the grid element that experiences an excessively high (n-1) load due to the outage of another grid element. With this information, Swissgrid Control can initiate the necessary measures in the grid.

The following map shows the lines or transformers where the highest (n-1) loads occurred during the year 2013. In particular, the affected grid elements are heavily loaded due to a lack of transport capacity for discharging energy from hydropower plants. The illustration shows that the Swissgrid grid was subjected to major loads in 2013.

Netzengpaesse_Datenbooklet_en
Z100118_swissgrid-control_01

 
Only as an exception do ideal conditions prevail in the operation of a transmission grid. Much more, the operation is characterised by scheduled shutdowns of grid element, maintenance stoppages of power plants, and differences between the forecast and actual electricity consumption. This is made even more difficult by grid loads from unplanned events such as, for example, the outage of a power plant or a transmission line. Swissgrid Control takes measures to restore the (n-1) security depending on the extent of a too high (n-1) load. The higher the calculated overrun of the 100% limits, the more drastic and last-minute the selected measures are. They range from topological measures (changes to the interconnection of lines), continue with interventions in the power plant production (redispatch), up to a limitation to the cross-border transits or power outages for consumers.

Share
Facebook
Twitter

Downloads

(n-1)-Belastung im Schweizer Stromnetz

Das Schweizer Übertragungsnetz stösst an seine Kapazitätsgrenze. Mehr als zwei Drittel des Schweizer Übertragungsnetzes ist über 40 Jahre alt und ist den künftigen Anforderungen des steigenden Stromverbrauchs sowie der schwankenden Einspeisung aus erneuerbaren Energien nicht mehr gewachsen. Insbesondere in kalten Winternächten und heissen Sommertagen kam es regelmässig zu Netzengpässen. Infolgedessen musste Swissgrid aus Gründen der Netzsicherheit die Topologie des Netzes anpassen sowie die Produktion aus Wasserkraft in den Alpen und den Energieaustausch mit dem Ausland wiederholt einschränken. Die Netzleitstelle Swissgrid Control wird beim Betrieb des Schweizer Übertragungsnetzes durch die strukturellen Engpässe vor grosse Herausforderungen gestellt.

Im Schweizer Übertragungsnetz können jederzeit ungeplante Netzbelastungen durch unvorhergesehene Ereignisse wie Ausfälle von Netzelementen (Leitungen oder Transformatoren) auftreten. Der Strom sucht sich – z.B. nach Ausfall einer Leitung – seinen Weg durch die noch intakten Netzelemente. Diese ungeplanten Stromflüsse können zu einer Überlastung eines anderen Netzelementes führen.

Mindestens alle fünf Minuten bestimmt Swissgrid Control anhand tausender Strom- und Spannungsmessungen die (n-1)-Belastung der Netzelemente im gesamten Schweizer Übertragungsnetz. Dabei wird berechnet, welche Belastungswerte sich nach dem simulierten Ausfall eines beliebigen Elements für die verbleibenden Netzelemente ergeben. Aus der Simulation geht hervor, welches Element des gesamten noch intakten Übertragungsnetzes im Falle des Ausfalls eines anderen Netzelementes am stärksten belastet wäre. Eine (n-1)-Belastung über 100 Prozent bedeutet, dass dies zu einer Überlastung und bei anhaltender Überlastung zum Verlust eines weiteren Netzelementes führen könnte. Deshalb ist das Ziel des Netzbetriebs, die (n-1)-Belastung der Netzelemente jederzeit bei maximal 100 Prozent zu halten.

Die (n-1)-Simulation stellt damit nicht die tatsächliche Belastung des Übertragungsnetzes dar. Das Ergebnis der Simulation dient für Swissgrid Control aber zur Vorbereitung und Umsetzung von Massnahmen, falls die Möglichkeit einer Überschreitung der (n-1)-Limite besteht.

Das Schweizer Übertragungs- bzw. Höchstspannungsnetz ist ein komplexes System mit einer Leitungslänge von insgesamt rund 6700 Kilometern, 140 Schaltanlagen und 41 Verbindungen ins Ausland. Die Netzelemente mit den höchsten (n-1)-Belastungen fallen mit den bekannten Kapazitätsengpässen im bestehenden Übertragungsnetz zusammen. Sind im (n-1)-Fall immer die gleichen Netzelemente überlastet, handelt es sich um ein Nadelöhr im Schweizer Übertragungsnetz.

Im Schweizer Übertragungsnetz (380/220 kV) sind während des Kalenderjahres 2013 wie bereits in den Vorjahren an verschiedenen Stellen zu hohe (n-1)-Belastungen errechnet worden. Diese Belastungen können durch den Ausfall von verschiedenen Netzelementen verursacht werden. Bei Swissgrid Control wird jeweils das Netzelement registriert, das durch den Ausfall eines anderen Netzelementes eine zu hohe (n-1)-Belastung erfährt. Mit diesen Informationen kann Swissgrid Control die notwendigen Massnahmen im Netz einleiten.

Auf der nachfolgenden Karte sind die Leitungen bzw. Transformatoren ersichtlich, bei denen während des Jahres 2013 die höchsten (n-1)-Belastungen aufgetreten sind. Die betroffenen Netzelemente sind insbesondere aufgrund fehlender Transportkapazitäten zum Abtransport der Energie aus der Wasserkraft stark belastet. Die Darstellung zeigt, dass das Swissgrid Netz im Jahr 2013 grossen Belastungen ausgesetzt war.

Netzengpaesse_Datenbooklet_de
Z100118_swissgrid-control_01

 
Im Betrieb des Übertragungsnetzes herrschen nur im Ausnahmefall ideale Verhältnisse. Der Betrieb ist vielmehr geprägt durch planmässige Ausserbetriebnahmen von Netzelementen, durch Revisionsstillstände von Kraftwerken und durch Abweichungen zwischen prognostiziertem und tatsächlichem Stromverbrauch. Erschwerend kommen die Netzbelastungen durch ungeplante Ereignisse hinzu, wie z.B. der Ausfall eines Kraftwerkes oder einer Übertragungsleitung. Je nach Ausmass einer zu hohen (n-1)-Belastung werden bei Swissgrid Control Massnahmen getroffen, um die (n-1)-Sicherheit wiederherzustellen. Je höher die berechnete Überschreitung der 100%-Limiten, desto drastischer und kurzfristiger sind die gewählten Massnahmen. Diese reichen von topologischen Massnahmen (Verändern der Verschaltung der Leitungen) über Eingriffe in die Kraftwerksproduktion (Redispatch) bis zur Beschränkung des grenzüberschreitenden Transits oder der Abschaltung von Verbrauchern.

Teilen
Facebook
Twitter