Power hub Switzerland

Approximately 900 companies are currently involved in the production, distribution and supply of electricity in Switzerland. These 900 companies supply electricity in Switzerland to around 8 million inhabitants as well as to customers in industry and trade. Different sizes of companies are involved, ranging from small entities supplying single communities to international conglomerates.

In Europe, Switzerland assumes a key role as the electricity hub of Europe. One important prerequisite for safeguarding future electricity supply is to integrate the Swiss electricity market into the European market. We are focusing all our energies on achieving this goal for you so that we can secure the future of Switzerland’s electricity supply in the best way possible.

Liberalisation: Energised competition


Europe is opening up its electricity markets. One of the key requirements is that all companies in the market must be able to use the transmission systems on equal terms.

schweiz_swissgrid

 

One grid for all
Switzerland regulated grid usage in the Electricity Supply Act (StromVG) of 2007. The Act stipulates that the high-voltage grid should be operated by a neutral body. The national grid company Swissgrid guarantees non-discriminatory access to the grid for all companies. Everyone benefits from the same conditions and no-one gains any advantage or suffers any disadvantage from using the grid.

Specialisation in the electricity market
The Act also separated the functions in the electricity market. In the previously monopolised markets, one company often performed several tasks: generation, transmission, distribution, trading and selling were all done under one roof. In the liberalised electricity market, on the other hand, the players focus more on core tasks resulting from the new market and system regulations.

Liberalised electricity market in Europe
Liberalisation creates competition and transparency. A country’s economy benefits from a liberalised electricity market. All of Europe is moving in that direction: the EU countries have gradually opened up their electricity markets and the grid monopolies are being broken up just like in Switzerland. Cross-border competition forces the companies in the electricity market to realign themselves: many companies are already operating on a very international level.

Electricity Supply Act: security for the future


Switzerland wants to open up its electricity market. Parliament approved the new Electricity Supply Act in 2007. Its aims are security of supply, liberalisation of the market and funding for green electricity.

Opening up the electricity market
The new Electricity Supply Act (StromVG) came into force in 2008. It establishes the foundations for the liberalisation of the Swiss electricity market. It will guarantee a secure supply of electricity for Switzerland. Swiss companies and private households will benefit from increased competition and transparency in the electricity market. As the national grid company, Swissgrid was entrusted with the operation of the Swiss high-voltage grid.

Key points of the Electricity Supply Act
Increased security of supply:
The main focus is on providing Switzerland with a secure supply of electricity.

Competitive orientation and market liberalisation: In the first phase, the electricity market for large companies with an annual consumption of more than 100,000 kWh will be liberalised. After five years, all Swiss end customers will be able to choose their supplier, unless a referendum is called.

Funding for green electricity and energy efficiency: Funding will be provided for electricity generated using renewable sources like water, sun, wind, biogas, biomass and geothermal energy. There will also be support for improving energy efficiency. 350 million francs a year will be invested. Electricity consumers will pay a supplement of no more than 0.6 Rappen per kWh.

Transfer of the high-voltage grid to Swissgrid: The 220/380 kV transmission system was transferred to the national grid company on January 3, 2013. Since then, Swissgrid is the owner of the 6700 kilometre long high-voltage grid.

Share
Facebook
Twitter

Stromdrehscheibe Schweiz

Rund 900 Unternehmen sind heute an der Produktion, der Verteilung und der Versorgung  der Schweiz mit Strom beteiligt. Diese rund 900 Unternehmen versorgen sowohl die rund 8 Millionen Einwohner der Schweiz mit Strom, wie auch die Kunden in Industrie und Handel. Dabei sind Unternehmen verschiedenster Größe beteiligt: vom Kleinversorger für einzelne Gemeinden bis hin zu internationalen Großkonzernen.

Die Schweiz nimmt dabei in Europa eine zentrale Rolle als europäische Stromdrehscheibe ein. Um auch in Zukunft die Versorgung zu garantieren, ist die Einbindung des schweizerischen Elektrizitätsmarktes in den europäischen eine wichtige Voraussetzung. Dafür arbeiten wir für Sie mit unserer ganzen Energie. Damit auch in Zukunft die Stromversorgung der Schweiz optimal gesichert ist.

Liberalisierung: Wettbewerb unter Strom


Europa öffnet seine Strommärkte. Eine der wichtigsten Voraussetzungen dazu: Alle Unternehmen in diesem Markt müssen die Übertragungsnetze zu gleichen Bedingungen nutzen können.

schweiz_swissgrid

 

Ein Netz für alle
Die Schweiz hat die Netznutzung mit dem Stromversorgungsgesetz (StromVG) von 2007 geregelt. Eine neutrale Stelle soll das Höchstspannungsnetz betreiben. Die Nationale Netzgesellschaft Swissgrid garantiert allen Unternehmen den diskriminierungsfreien Zugang zum Netz. Alle profitieren von gleichen Konditionen und aus der Netznutzung entsteht niemandem ein Vor- oder Nachteil.

Spezialisierung im Strommarkt
Damit hat das Gesetz auch die Funktionen im Strommarkt entkoppelt. In den monopolistischen Märkten von früher übernahm eine Firma häufig mehrere Aufgaben: Erzeugung, Übertragung, Verteilung, Handel und Vertrieb kamen aus einer Hand. Im liberalisierten Strommarkt dagegen konzentrieren sich die Akteure verstärkt auf Kernaufgaben, die sich durch die neuen Markt- und Systemregeln ergeben.

Geöffneter Strommarkt in Europa
Die Liberalisierung schafft Wettbewerb und Transparenz. Die Wirtschaft eines Landes profitiert von einem geöffneten Strommarkt. Ganz Europa bewegt sich dorthin: Die EU-Länder haben ihre Elektrizitätsmärkte stufenweise geöffnet. Die Strukturen werden wie in der Schweiz aufgebrochen. Der länderübergreifende Wettbewerb zwingt die Unternehmen des Strommarktes, sich neu auszurichten: Viele Firmen arbeiten bereits heute sehr international.

Stromversorgungsgesetz: Sicher in die Zukunft


Die Schweiz will ihren Strommarkt öffnen. Das Parlament hat 2007 das neue Stromversorgungsgesetz verabschiedet. Die Ziele sind die sichere Stromversorgung, die Liberalisierung des Marktes sowie die Förderung von Ökostrom.

Öffnung des Strommarktes
Das neue Stromversorgungsgesetz (StromVG) wurde 2008 in Kraft gesetzt. Es schafft die Grundlagen, um den Schweizer Elektrizitätsmarkt zu öffnen. Damit soll die sichere Versorgung unseres Landes gewährleistet sein. Schweizer Privathaushalte und Unternehmen werden von mehr Wettbewerb und Transparenz im Strommarkt profitieren. Als Nationale Netzgesellschaft wurde Swissgrid mit dem Betrieb des schweizerischen Höchstspannungsnetzes betraut.

Kernpunkte des StromVG
Verstärkte Versorgungssicherheit:
Im Vordergrund steht die sichere Versorgung unseres Landes mit Elektrizität.

Wettbewerbsorientierung und Marktöffnung: In einer ersten Etappe wird der Strommarkt für Grossunternehmen mit einem Jahresstromverbrauch über 100'000 kWh geöffnet. Nach fünf Jahren werden alle Schweizer Endkunden ihren Anbieter auswählen können, sofern nicht das Referendum ergriffen wird.

Förderung von Ökostrom und Energieeffizienz: Stromerzeugung mit erneuerbaren Energien aus Wasser, Sonne, Wind, Biogas, Biomasse und Erdwärme wird gefördert. Auch die Verbesserung der Energieeffizienz wird unterstützt. Dafür werden jährlich 350 Millionen Franken investiert. Stromverbraucher tragen mit einem Aufpreis von maximal 0,6 Rappen pro kWh dazu bei.

Übertragung des Höchstspannungsnetzes an Swissgrid: 2013 wurde das 220/380 kV Übertragungsnetz in die Nationale Netzgesellschaft überführt. Swissgrid ist seither Eigentümerin und Betreiberin des 6700 Kilometer langen Höchstspannungsnetzes.

Teilen
Facebook
Twitter