Planning for winter

Ensuring secure grid operations in Switzerland is always more challenging during the winter. In Switzerland, more energy is consumed in the winter than in the summer. Switzerland is therefore dependent on imports in winter to cover the increased domestic electricity demand.

 
The grid situation was stable and non-critical over the entire winter 2016/2017. Switzerland’s available net import capacity has once again been increased, and is much higher than last year. As far as possible, shutdowns have been postponed until after the winter.

By the end of January 2017, the resulting import capacity was only partially used and was below 50% on average. During the cold wave, due to the very high level of power generation from hydro storage plants, the water levels in the reservoirs since the end of January 2017 reached a new seasonal low. However, much higher imports have been recorded in February. This causes a greater strain on the grid, particularly for transfomers; however, this was not at a critical level. The discrepancy with the established median on the high-water level curve has continuously diminished as a result and as of the end of March was again at a customary level for the season.

As part of its responsibilities, Swissgrid has taken all necessary measures to ensure that the transmission grid is available at all times. Market players have access to a tool that they can use to estimate the net import capacity in various load flow situations. Furthermore, Swissgrid had reserved power plant output in February 2017 («winter hedging products») that could be accessed in extreme grid situations in order to manage congestion. Such a situation could occur, for instance, if a transformer malfunctions while imports are very high.

In the environment of very mild temperatures in March 2017 the energy situation in Switzerland sustainably relaxed in view of the lower electricity load and the nuclear power plant Leibstadt resuming operation. in the middle of March, Swissgrid also put the new 380/220-kV transformer in the Beznau substation into operation, as planned in the 2025 strategic grid. It supports the import capacity at the Swiss northern borders and improves the reliability of supply.

In view of the favourable supply situation the start of April in the neighbouring countries, extraordinary situations (power plant outages, delayed snow melts, etc.) can for the most part be covered via additional net imports.

Precise observation of the general situation will therefore remain necessary in the coming weeks.

 
Swissgrid is responsible for operating, maintaining, modernising and expanding the transmission grid with voltages of 380 kV and 220 kV on grid level 1 to meet demand. Swissgrid thus plays an important role in maintaining security of supply in Switzerland.

Because of its greater transfer capacity, the 380 kV grid is used to transport and exchange electricity with other countries. A large part of domestic production occurs at the 220 kV level. Switzerland’s energy is also supplied primarily via the 220 kV grid and other transformation systems at lower grid levels.

During the winter half-year, 75-85% of imports and 80-90% of exports are transported at the 380 kV voltage level. In the case of imports, this usually happens via the cross-border lines with the northern neighbours France, Germany and Austria.

The capacity of the transformers that convert the energy from 380 kV to 220 kV largely determines how much imported energy can be used to supply Swiss consumers. As the capacity for transforming from 380 kV to 220 kV is limited, imports can only be utilised to a limited extent to cover Switzerland’s electricity demand.

Structure of the Swiss transmission and distribution grid

 
During the winter, Switzerland’s energy supply is met by domestic production and net imports from neighbouring countries. In addition to the available base-load energy, the utilities also use water reserves from the reservoirs to cover part of the consumption with peak energy. The amount of peak energy supplied by storage power plants depends on the electricity demand.

  1. Switzerland's electricity consumption and how this demand can be met can be explained using the example of a bathtub. The bath represents consumption. The greater the consumption, the larger the bath.
     
  2. The electricity supply can be represented by the quantity of water in the bath. It is made up of various components:
    1. Net imports: these imports are largely delivered via transformers from 380 kV to 220 kV and lower voltage levels to the consumers.
    2. Energy from nuclear and run-of-river power plants: Both types of power plants supply so-called 'base-load energy' and account for a significant proportion of the water in the bath.
    3. Energy from storage power plants: the water in the reservoirs forms an energy reserve, which empties between around October and early May each year and is replenished in the summer months. Storage power plants supply so-called 'peak-load energy'.
  3. The bath also has a tap and a plug hole. The inflow from the tap represents imports and the outflow through the plug hole represents exports of energy abroad. The difference between inflow and outflow represents the net imports. Any energy which is exported is not available to supply to consumers in Switzerland.

Energy supply and consumption in Switzerland

 
The reservoir levels are published weekly by the Swiss Federal Office of Energy (SFOE) and provide information on the water reserves available for electricity generation in Switzerland. The Swiss storage power plants are the only flexible domestic power resource and therefore play a central role in guaranteeing secure grid operation. They provide control energy in order to ensure a constant balance between electricity consumption and production, and they can be deployed in critical grid situations for redispatch measures. The responsibility for reservoir management lies with the power plant operators.

Date Description Format
18.09.2017 Current reservoir levels PDF

 
During the winter of 2015/2016, energy companies, grid operators and authorities successfully cooperated to manage the strained energy and grid situation. The situation was analysed in the «Working group Winter», and measures and solutions were developed. Swissgrid and ElCom recommend agreeing on a plan early so all the players are able to act quickly and decidedly in case the situation intensifies.

Swissgrid and ElCom have convened the «Working group Winter» again this winter. The first meeting took place on 3 November 2016.

German presentations of the Working group Winter

Date Description Format
16.02.2017 Präsentation Arbeitsgruppe Winter PDF
03.02.2017 Bericht vorgezogene SDL-Beschaffung Winter 2016/17 PDF
02.02.2017 Präsentation Arbeitsgruppe Winter PDF
17.01.2017 Präsentation Arbeitsgruppe Winter PDF
13.12.2016 Szenarien für die Netto-Importkapazität der Schweiz
im Winter 2016/2017
PDF
01.12.2016 Präsentation Arbeitsgruppe Winter PDF
03.11.2016 Präsentation Arbeitsgruppe Winter PDF
03.11.2016 Präsentation ElCom PDF

Netto Import Tool

As proposed by the working group on «Responsibility for the security of electricity supply», the «Netto Import Tool» should provide market participants with information about the maximum net import capacity of Switzerland. The net import capacity is the amount of imported energy that can be transformed unto the lower voltage levels in order to serve customers in Switzerland.

The tool allows market participants to estimate the Swiss net import capacity for different load-flow scenarios. This should help them to plan their portfolios in a such a way that they can fulfill their contractual and in some cases legal obligation to deliver energy and be balanced. Please note that the results are indicative only. The assumptions and limitations for the calculations are specified in the worksheet.

Date Description Format
30.01.2017 Netto Import Tool XLSB
Share
Facebook
Twitter

Winterplanung

Die Gewährleistung des sicheren Netzbetriebs in der Schweiz ist im Winter jeweils mit erhöhten Anforderungen verbunden. Im Winter wird in der Schweiz mehr Energie verbraucht als im Sommer. Deshalb ist die Schweiz im Winter auf Importe angewiesen, um den höheren Strombedarf im Inland zu decken.

 
Die Netzsituation präsentiert sich derzeit stabil und unkritisch. Die zur Verfügung stehende Netto-Importkapazität der Schweiz wurde maximiert und ist in diesem Winter wesentlich höher als im vergangenen Jahr. Unter anderem wurden Ausserbetriebnahmen so weit wie möglich auf die Zeit nach dem Winter verschoben. Die resultierende Importkapazität ist bis Ende Januar nur teilweise ausgenutzt worden und lag im Durchschnitt unter 50%. Die Speicherproduktion war in dieser Zeit auf sehr hohem Niveau, so dass der Füllstand der Speicherseen Mitte Januar 2017 einen neuen saisonalen Tiefst-Stand erreichte.

Seit Anfang Februar sind jedoch wesentlich höhere Importe zu verzeichnen. Die Differenz zum langjährigen Median der Füllstandskurve hat sich seither verringert. Für das Netz ergibt sich dadurch eine höhere Belastung, insbesondere der Transformatoren, jedoch nicht in einem kritischen Bereich.

Swissgrid hat im Rahmen ihrer definierten Verantwortung alle notwendigen Massnahmen getroffen, damit das Übertragungsnetz jederzeit verfügbar ist. So steht den Marktteilnehmern ein Tool zur Verfügung, mit dem sie die Netto-Importkapazität in verschiedenen Lastfluss-Situationen abschätzen können. Darüber hinaus hat Swissgrid Kraftwerksleistung reserviert («Winter-Absicherungsprodukte»), die in extremen Netzsituationen abgerufen werden kann, um Engpässe zu bewältigen. Eine solche Situation könnte z.B. dann eintreten, wenn bei sehr hohen Importen zeitgleich ein Transformator ausfällt.

Trotz der von Swissgrid umgesetzten Massnahmen zur Maximierung der Netto-Importkapazität verbleiben Risiken. Beispielsweise ist es nicht sicher, ob die ausländischen Übertragungsnetzbetreiber entsprechende Kapazitäten in Exportrichtung zur Verfügung stellen können. Zudem kann der Ausfall von Netzelementen im Schweizer Übertragungsnetz nicht ausgeschlossen werden.

Eine verstärkte Beobachtung der allgemeinen Lage bleibt in den kommenden Wochen deshalb notwendig.

 
Swissgrid ist für den Betrieb, den Unterhalt, die Erneuerung und den bedarfsgerechten Ausbau des Übertragungsnetzes mit den Spannungen 380 kV und 220 kV auf der Netzebene 1 verantwortlich. Damit leistet Swissgrid einen wesentlichen Beitrag zur Gewährleistung der Versorgungssicherheit in der Schweiz.

Das 380-kV-Netz dient aufgrund seiner grösseren Übertragungskapazität dem Transport sowie dem Stromaustausch mit dem Ausland. Auf der 220-kV-Ebene erfolgt ein grosser Teil der inländischen Produktion. Die zur Versorgung in der Schweiz notwendige Energie wird ebenfalls primär über das 220-kV-Netz sowie weitere Transformierungen auf die unterlagerten Netzebenen gespeist.

Im Winterhalbjahr erfolgen 75-85% der Importe sowie 80-90% der Exporte über die 380-kV-Spannungsebene. Bei den Importen geschieht dies in der Regel über die Grenzleitungen mit den nördlichen Nachbarstaaten Frankreich, Deutschland und Österreich, dem sogenannten Norddach.

Die Kapazität der Transformatoren, die die Energie von 380 kV auf 220 kV transformieren, bestimmt weitestgehend wieviel an Import zur Versorgung der Schweizer Verbraucher genutzt werden kann. Da die Kapazität für die Transformierung von 380 kV auf 220 kV limitiert ist, sind Importe nur in beschränktem Umfang zur Deckung des Schweizer Strombedarfs nutzbar.

Aufbau des Schweizer Übertragungs- und Verteilnetzes

 
Die Energieversorgung der Schweiz wird im Winter durch inländische Produktion sowie durch Nettoimporte aus dem benachbarten Ausland gedeckt. Die Energieversorger verwenden neben der zur Verfügung stehenden Bandenergie zudem die Wasserreserven aus den Speicherseen, um mit Speicherkraftwerken je nach Strombedarf einen Teil des Verbrauchs mit Spitzenenergie zu decken.

  1. Wieviel Strom die Schweiz benötigt und wie dieser Bedarf gedeckt wird, kann mittels einer Badewanne erklärt werden. Dabei stellt die Badewanne den Verbrauch dar. Je grösser der Verbrauch, desto grösser die Badewanne.
     
  2. Die Versorgungsenergie kann als Wasserinhalt der Badewanne dargestellt werden. Dieser setzt sich aus unterschiedlichen Bestandteilen zusammen:
    1. Nettoimporte: Die Nettoimporte gelangen grösstenteils mittels Transformierung von 380 kV auf 220 kV und tiefere Spannungsebenen zu den Verbrauchern.
    2. Energie aus Kernkraft- und Laufwasserkraftwerken: Beide Kraftwerkstypen liefern sogenannte Bandenergie. Sie deckt einen wesentlichen Anteil des gesamten Wasserbeckens ab.
    3. Energie aus Speicherkraftwerken: Das in den Speicherseen vorhandene Wasser bildet eine Energiereserve, die jeweils ca. zwischen Oktober und Anfang Mai entleert und in den Sommermonaten wieder aufgefüllt wird. Speicherkraftwerke liefern sogenannte Spitzenenergie.
  3. Die Badewanne hat auch einen Zu- und Abfluss. Zuflüsse sind Importe, Abflüsse sind Exporte von Energie ins Ausland. Die Differenz von Zu- und Abflüssen ergibt die Nettoimporte. Energie, die exportiert wird, steht nicht für die Versorgung der Verbraucher in der Schweiz zur Verfügung.

Energieversorgung und -verbrauch in der Schweiz

 
Der Füllstand der Speicherseen wird vom Bundesamt für Energie (BFE) wöchentlich veröffentlicht und gibt Auskunft über die in der Schweiz verfügbaren Wasserreserven zur Stromproduktion. Die Schweizer Speicherkraftwerke sind die einzige flexible inländische Stromressource. Entsprechend spielen sie für die Gewährleistung des sicheren Netzbetriebs eine zentrale Rolle. Sie erbringen Regelenergie, um Stromverbrauch und Produktion stets im Einklang zu halten, und sie können in kritischen Netzsituationen für Redispatchmassnahmen eingesetzt werden. Die Speicherbewirtschaftung fällt in die Zuständigkeit der Kraftwerkbetreiber.

Aktueller Füllstand der Speicherseen (Englisch)

Datum Beschreibung Format
20.02.2017 Current reservoir levels PDF

 
Im Winter 2015/ 2016 haben Energieunternehmen, Netzbetreiber und Behörden erfolgreich zusammengearbeitet, um die angespannte Energie- und Netzsituation zu bewältigen. In der «Arbeitsgruppe Winter» wurde die Situation analysiert und es wurden Massnahmen und Lösungen entwickelt. Swissgrid und ElCom befürworten eine frühzeitige Abstimmung, damit alle Akteure im Fall einer Verschärfung der Situation schnell und entschlossen handeln können.

Swissgrid und ElCom haben die «Arbeitsgruppe Winter» auch diesen Winter wieder einberufen. Die erste Sitzung hat am 3. November 2016 stattgefunden.

Präsentationen der Arbeitsgruppe Winter

Datum Beschreibung Format
16.02.2017 Präsentation Arbeitsgruppe Winter PDF
03.02.2017 Bericht vorgezogene SDL-Beschaffung Winter 2016/17 PDF
02.02.2017 Präsentation Arbeitsgruppe Winter PDF
17.01.2017 Präsentation Arbeitsgruppe Winter PDF
13.12.2016 Szenarien für die Netto-Importkapazität der Schweiz
im Winter 2016/2017
PDF
01.12.2016 Präsentation Arbeitsgruppe Winter PDF
03.11.2016 Präsentation Arbeitsgruppe Winter PDF
03.11.2016 Präsentation ElCom PDF

Netto-Importkapazität-Tool

Wie von der Arbeitsgruppe «Verantwortung Versorgungssicherheit Elektrizität» vorgeschlagen, soll das Netto-Import-Tool den Marktteilnehmern Informationen über die maximale Netto-Importkapazität der Schweiz liefern. Die Netto-Importkapazität ist die Menge der importierten Energie, die in niedrigere Spannungspegel umgewandelt werden kann, um Kunden in der Schweiz zu versorgen.

Mit dem Tool können Marktteilnehmer die Schweizer Netto-Importkapazität für verschiedene Lastfluss-Szenarien abschätzen. Damit dürften sie besser in der Lage sein, ihre Portfolios so zu planen, dass sie ihre vertraglichen und teilweise auch gesetzlichen Verpflichtungen zur Energieversorgung und Ausgeglichenheit erfüllen. Bitte beachten Sie, dass es sich bei den Ergebnissen nur um ungefähre Werte handelt. Die den Berechnungen zugrunde gelegten Annahmen und Beschränkungen sind in dem Arbeitsblatt angegeben.

Datum Beschreibung Format
30.01.2017 Netto-Importkapazität Tool XLSB
Teilen
Facebook
Twitter