New site for Swissgrid

Swissgrid will merge the two current sites Laufenburg and Frick in the new central location in Aarau.

Why is Swissgrid moving its site?

Swissgrid, the national grid company, operates the Swiss transmission grid. As the owner it is responsible for its maintenance, renewal and expansion. To improve internal cooperation and make processes as efficient as possible, Swissgrid has decided to consolidate its two sites at Laufenburg and Frick. This will also solve the lack of space that has become a problem at the current locations.

What were the criteria behind the choice of location?

Swissgrid carried out a detailed feasibility study of several potential sites within and outside the canton of Aargau. A key criterion for the choice of location was its accessibility from all parts of the country, since, as the national grid company, Swissgrid is active throughout Switzerland. Furthermore, the new location should help make it easier to recruit specialists and still remain easy for existing employees to reach.

Did Swissgrid also examine sites in the Fricktal region?

Sites in Fricktal were also subjected to a feasibility study. Among the locations assessed, the former Electrolux site in Aarau turned out to be the best. Swissgrid is easily accessible from all parts of the country here, especially by public transport. The Electrolux site in Aarau, which is very close to the train station, meets all the conditions required for the location of the head office of the national grid company.

Who owns the Electrolux site?

The Credit Suisse Investment Foundation purchased the Electrolux site in 2011 with the aim of redeveloping it.

Will the grid control room be moved to Aarau?

The grid control room is where the core tasks of Swissgrid are carried out: the monitoring and control of the Swiss transmission grid. These activities are in part closely linked to other significant tasks for which Swissgrid is responsible. The Asset Management division and the grid control room will therefore work intensively together in the future on the maintenance of the transmission grid as well as other issues. Other existing tasks such as procurement and the deployment of ancillary services also require staff to be close to one another. Swissgrid has therefore decided to also relocate the grid control room to Aarau.

When was the grid control room in Laufenburg put into operation?

The grid control centre in Laufenburg dates back to 1958 when Switzerland, Germany and France first interconnected their high-voltage networks. It was moved to a new building in 1991. However, Swissgrid’s new responsibilities meant that the control centre needed to be redesigned. It was therefore renovated and reequipped in the period from the autumn of 2008 until the end of 2009. The technical infrastructure will continue to be used at the future location in Aarau, as long as the technology is still up to date.

What will happen to the present location and the infrastructure in Laufenburg?

The owner of the building in Laufenburg is Axpo Power AG. They will decide how the location is to be used in future. After the takeover of the Swiss transmission grid as of 2013, the grid system in Laufenburg has passed to Swissgrid.

What will happen to the switching substation when the grid control room is moved?

Swissgrid will replace the switch gear cubicle in the coming years. This means that considerably less land will be required for the switching substation in future, which will significantly improve the landscape.

How are the cooperation and discussions with the affected municipalities taking place?

Swissgrid has been in contact with the affected municipalities in Fricktal since the start of the location evaluation and is providing ongoing information about the project status and further course of action.

How is Swissgrid taking into account the concerns of the municipalities and population?

Swissgrid understands the concerns of the municipalities. It is willing to support the municipalities in the search for new usage options for the Laufenburg site. Swissgrid is also planning to invite the population in Fricktal to the company's offices to provide information about its tasks, challenges and the planned change of location.

Share
Facebook
Twitter

Nouveau site pour Swissgrid

Swissgrid consolidera les deux sites actuels de Laufenbourg et Frick dans le nouveau site central à Aarau.

Pourquoi l’entreprise Swissgrid transfère-t-elle son site?

Swissgrid, société nationale pour l’exploitation du réseau, exploite le réseau suisse de transport. En qualité de propriétaire la société est responsable de sa maintenance, de sa modernisation et de son extension. Afin d’améliorer la collaboration interne et d’organiser le plus efficacement possible les processus de travail, Swissgrid a décidé de consolider ses deux sites de Laufenbourg et de Frick. Cette mesure résout par la même occasion les problèmes d’espace insuffisants dont souffrent les deux sites actuels.

Quels critères ont joué un rôle décisif dans le choix du site?

Swissgrid a soumis plusieurs sites potentiels dans et en dehors du canton d’Argovie à une étude de faisabilité. L’accessibilité depuis toutes les régions du pays a été établie comme un critère important pour le choix du site. En effet, Swissgrid opère sur tout le territoire suisse en sa qualité de société nationale pour l’exploitation du réseau. Le nouveau site doit aussi contribuer à faciliter le recrutement d’experts. Il doit en outre rester facilement accessible pour les collaboratrices et collaborateurs actuels.

Swissgrid a-t-elle aussi examiné des sites dans le Fricktal?

Plusieurs emplacements dans le Fricktal ont également fait l’objet d’une étude de faisabilité. Parmi les lieux évalués, c’est l’ancien site d’Electrolux à Aarau qui s’est avéré le plus adéquat. Depuis cet emplacement, Swissgrid est accessible depuis toutes les régions de Suisse, notamment grâce aux transports publics. Le site d’Electrolux à Aarau, situé à proximité de la gare, réunit toutes les conditions que se doit de remplir le siège de la société nationale pour l’exploitation du réseau.

A qui appartient le site Electrolux?

La Fondation de placement du Credit Suisse a acheté le site Electrolux en 2011 dans l’objectif d’y construire de nouveaux bâtiments.

Le poste de conduite sera-t-il déplacé à Aarau?

Les tâches principales de Swissgrid, la surveillance et le pilotage du réseau de transport suisse, sont effectuées au poste de conduite. Ces activités sont en partie étroitement liées à d’autres tâches importantes qui incombent à Swissgrid. Le secteur Asset Management et le poste de conduite, notamment, collaboreront ainsi étroitement à l'avenir afin d'entretenir le réseau de transport. D’autres tâches déjà en cours telles que l’acquisition et l’utilisation de services système exigent une collaboration géographique étroite. C’est pourquoi Swissgrid a décidé de déplacer également le poste de conduite à Aarau.

Quand le poste de pilotage du réseau de Laufenbourg a-t-il été mis en service?

Le poste de pilotage du réseau de Laufenbourg date de 1958, lorsque la Suisse, l'Allemagne et la France ont interconnecté leurs réseaux à haute tension. En 1991, il a emménagé dans une nouvelle construction. Les nouvelles tâches de Swissgrid exigeaient alors une nouvelle conception du poste de conduite. De l'automne 2008 à fin 2009, il a fait l’objet d’une rénovation totale et a été rééquipé à neuf. Dans le futur site d'Aarau l'infrastructure technique actuelle sera utilisée dans la mesure où elle n'est pas obsolète.

Qu'advient-il du site actuel et de l'infrastructure de Laufenbourg?

La propriétaire du bâtiment de Laufenbourg est l'Axpo Power AG. Elle décidera de la future exploitation du site. Avec le rachat du réseau de transport suisse les installations de réseau étaient reprises par Swissgrid au début de l’année 2013.

Qu’adviendra-t-il du poste de couplage si le poste de conduite change d’emplacement?

Swissgrid entend rénover la cellule de couplage dans les années à venir. Un terrain beaucoup moins grand sera alors requis pour le poste de couplage. Le paysage s’en trouvera considérablement amélioré.

Quelles sont les modalités de la coopération et de l’échange avec les communes concernées?

Swissgrid est en contact avec les communes concernées du Fricktal depuis le début de l’évaluation des lieux et elle les informe régulièrement de l’avancement du projet et de la suite de la procédure.

Comment swissgrid répond-elle aux demandes des communes et de la population?

Swissgrid comprend les préoccupations des communes. Elle est disposée à prêter main forte aux communes dans leurs efforts de reconversion du terrain à Laufenburg. swissgrid prévoit aussi d’inviter la population du Fricktal dans ses locaux afin de l’informer sur ses fonctions, les défis auxquels elle est confrontée et le déménagement.

Partager
Facebook
Twitter