Frequency

In Europe a grid frequency of 50 Hertz is used for the electrical power supply by AC voltage. In North America and Japan, and on railways and aircraft, different grid frequencies are used. The Hertz unit of frequency was named after the German physicist Heinrich Hertz.

To ensure the frequency remains at a stable level, the balance between production and consumption of electrical power must always be right. If there are deviations, this leads to a change in the grid frequency. If the frequency in the grid drops or rises, electrical devices and even generators can be damaged.

It is the responsibility of Swissgrid to detect grid overload or underload promptly. Very accurate measurements of the grid frequency are taken for this purpose. In the event of even minimal deviations in grid frequency from the setpoint value, action is taken to balance out the load in the grid.

For this to happen, certain power plant capacities need to be available at all times. In the event of a fault, neighbouring grids can help to stabilise the frequency of the overall grid by providing or drawing power at a higher rate.

Share
Facebook
Twitter

Netzfrequenz

In Europa wird zur elektrischen Energieversorgung mittels Wechselspannung eine Netzfrequenz von 50 Hertz verwendet. In Nordamerika und Japan, Eisenbahnen und Flugzeugen verwendet man davon abweichende Netzfrequenzen. Die Einheit Hertz ist nach dem deutschen Physiker Heinrich Hertz benannt.

Damit die Frequenz stabil bleibt, muss das Gleichgewicht zwischen Produktion und Verbrauch elektrischer Leistung immer gegeben sein. Kommt es zu Abweichungen, führt dies zu einer Veränderung der Netzfrequenz. Sinkt oder steigt die Frequenz im Netz, können elektrische Geräte aber auch Generatoren beschädigt werden.

Aufgabe von Swissgrid ist es, Netzüberlast oder Netzunterlast rechtzeitig zu erkennen. Hierzu dient die sehr genaue Messung der Netzfrequenz. Schon bei minimalen Abweichungen der Netzfrequenz vom Sollwert werden Massnahmen ergriffen, um die Last im Netz auszugleichen.

Dazu müssen gewisse Kraftwerkskapazitäten jederzeit bereitstehen. Im Störungsfall können Nachbarnetze helfen, die Frequenz des Gesamtnetzes zu stabilisieren, indem sie in erhöhtem Masse Leistung bereitstellen oder abnehmen.

Teilen
E-Mail
Facebook
Twitter