Swissgrid is responsible for all of this

Keeping the transmission system stable, safe and secure takes seamlessly operating infrastructure, continuous management of power flows and cooperation with partners. In addition to transmitting electrical energy, Swissgrid provides ancillary services to ensure the secure supply of electricity.

Das alles macht Swiissgrid

1 Generation

Swissgrid does not generate any electricity, but transports the energy produced by the power plants to the consumption centres. The power plant operators help Swissgrid ensure grid stability by providing control energy. This is a reserve that Swissgrid uses in the event of an imbalance between production and consumption: when electricity consumption increases, Swissgrid has them feed more energy into the grid. When it falls, less energy is fed in.

2 Grid operations

The transmission system only works when the production and consumption of electricity are in balance. That makes Swissgrid's grid control rooms the heart of the transmission system. From here, operators monitor the grid around the clock and ensure that this balance is always maintained and the energy is transported safely and securely. They coordinate the electricity generation timetables, preventing congestion and overloading. This is achieved, for example, by connecting and isolating lines in switchgear systems or by a redispatch, i.e. instructing different power plants to increase or reduce their output.

3 Market development

Swissgrid doesn't just invest in the operation and modernisation of the transmission grid to ensure system security; it also invests in market development. By structuring tenders for the national and domestic procurement of control reserves more efficiently, Swissgrid can access more providers and so reduce procurement costs. Swissgrid also develops innovative product solutions and new price mechanisms which helps providers such as hydropower plants to better market their high level of flexibility in production, and to enable the use of new technologies, such as batteries.

4 Maintenance and repairs

Swissgrid inspects, maintains and repairs pylons, lines, substations and switchgear systems as and when required. This is the only way to ensure that the equipment can be operated safely. The responsibility for doing so lies with the plant managers who work at the seven locations.

5 Infrastructure

Swissgrid is responsible for the planning, replacement and dismantling of the entire transmission grid infrastructure. This is a challenging task, because bottlenecks already exist, new power plants are connecting to the grid and momentum on the electricity markets is constantly increasing. Further development of the transmission grid therefore required. All this does not automatically mean more lines, but primarily systematic modernisation and even dismantling.

6 Networking

Switzerland is part of the European interconnected grid – a form of networking and international cooperation which it relies upon. To overcome electricity bottlenecks in the winter months, for example. And to compensate for power plant failures or over-production. In return, as a transit country and with its pumped storage power plants, Switzerland plays an important role in this integrated European system as a major energy storage facility.

7 Consumption

With the exception of the Swiss Federal Railway (SBB), no consumers are connected directly to the transmission grid. In spite of that, the consumers play an important role in ensuring the stability of the grid. If there is a threat of an imbalance, Swissgrid asks refrigerated warehouses or waste incineration plants, for example, to cut down their energy consumption.

8 Switching substations

The switchgear systems housed in the substations are nodes between lines. Here, the energy is transformed to a lower voltage level and passed on to the lower grid levels. Swissgrid’s grid control rooms also isolate and connect lines in the switching substations by means of switching operations, in order to guide the energy flows.

9 Grid levels

Before the energy produced by the power plants can be used by the end consumers, the voltage is reduced through seven grid levels to 400 and 230 volts. In addition to extra-high voltage, high voltage, medium voltage and low voltage, these levels include three connecting transformer levels.

10 Transmission grid

The Swiss transmission grid extends across 6,700 kilometres of lines, 12,000 pylons and 125 substations with 146 switching substations, as well as 41 connections abroad. It is comprised of both 380 kilovolt and 220 kilovolt lines: While the former are used mainly to import and export electricity, the large Swiss power plants feed the majority of their energy into the 220 kilovolt grid. This high-tension voltage is necessary in the transmission grid in order to transport energy over long distances with as little power loss as possible.


Contact

Title

Please select a title.

Please enter your first name.

Please enter your last name.

Please enter a valid e-mail address.

Please enter your message.

Please click the checkbox.

La sphère de responsabilité de Swissgrid

L’infrastructure doit parfaitement fonctionner, il convient de gérer en permanence les flux d’électricité et de collaborer étroitement avec les partenaires afin que le réseau de transport soit stable et sûr. Swissgrid se charge non seulement de transporter l’énergie électrique, mais également d’assurer un approvisionnement sûr en électricité grâce à ses prestations de services système.

Das alles macht Swiissgrid

1 Production

Swissgrid ne produit pas d’électricité, mais transporte l’électricité produite par les centrales électriques vers les centres de consommation via le réseau de transport. Les exploitants de centrales aident Swissgrid à garantir la stabilité du réseau en fournissant de l’énergie de réglage. Celle-ci représente une réserve à laquelle Swissgrid recourt en cas de déséquilibre entre la production et la consommation. Si la consommation d’électricité augmente, Swissgrid leur demande d’injecter davantage d’énergie dans le réseau. Si cette dernière diminue, moins d’énergie sera injectée.

2 Exploitation du réseau

Le réseau de transport ne fonctionne que si la production et la consommation d’électricité sont équilibrées. Les centres de conduite du réseau de Swissgrid représentent ainsi le coeur du réseau de transport. Les opérateurs y surveillent le réseau 24 heures sur 24 et veillent à ce que cet équilibre soit respecté à tout moment et que l’énergie soit transportée en toute sécurité. Ils coordonnent les programmes prévisionnels de production d’électricité et préviennent les congestions et les surcharges. Pour cela, ils déconnectent ou raccordent par exemple certaines lignes dans des installations de couplage ou dans le cadre de mesures de redispatch, c’est-à-dire qu’ils ordonnent à plusieurs centrales électriques d’augmenter ou de diminuer leur puissance.

3 Développement du marché

Swissgrid n’investit pas uniquement dans l’exploitation et la modernisation du réseau de transport afin de garantir la sécurité du système, mais également dans le développement du marché. En rendant plus efficaces les appels d’offres pour l’acquisition de réserves de réglage en Suisse et à l’étranger, Swissgrid peut faire appel à plusieurs fournisseurs et réduire ainsi ses coûts d’acquisition. En outre, Swissgrid développe des solutions de produits innovantes et des nouveaux mécanismes de prix afin de permettre à certains fournisseurs, comme des centrales hydroélectriques, de mieux commercialiser leur grande flexibilité et de pouvoir utiliser de nouvelles technologies telles que des batteries.

4 Maintenance et entretien

Swissgrid inspecte et entretient les pylônes, les lignes, les sous-stations ainsi que les postes de couplage et les remet en état, le cas échéant, afin de pouvoir exploiter les installations en toute sécurité. Les responsables d’installation, qui sont répartis sur sept sites, se chargent de cette tâche.

5 Infrastructure

Swissgrid est responsable de la planification, du remplacement et de l’extension de toute l’infrastructure du réseau de transport. C’est une tâche ardue, étant donné qu’il existe déjà des congestions à l’heure actuelle, que de nouvelles centrales électriques sont raccordées au réseau et que la dynamique sur les marchés de l’électricité ne cesse de croître. Il convient donc de développer le réseau de transport, ce qui n’implique pas nécessairement la construction de nouvelles lignes, mais plutôt la modernisation ciblée aussi bien que le démantèlement de certaines parties du réseau.

6 Interconnexion

La Suisse fait partie intégrante du réseau interconnecté européen. Elle est tributaire de cette interconnexion, notamment afin d’éliminer des congestions en hiver, par exemple. La collaboration internationale permet également de compenser des défaillances de centrales électriques ou la surproduction. Inversement, la Suisse, qui est un pays de transit et accumule une grande quantité d’énergie grâce à ses centrales de pompage-turbinage, joue un rôle important au sein du réseau interconnecté européen.

7 Consommation

Aucun consommateur n’est directement raccordé au réseau de transport, à l’exception des Chemins de fer fédéraux. Les consommateurs jouent toutefois un rôle important en ce qui concerne la stabilité du réseau. Si un déséquilibre menace de se produire, Swissgrid demande aux entrepôts frigorifiques ou aux usines d’incinération des ordures ménagères de réduire leur consommation d’énergie, par exemple.

8 Postes de couplage

Les postes de couplage placés dans les sous-stations constituent des nœuds entre les lignes. Dans certaines installations, l’énergie est transformée et transmise à différents niveaux de réseau. En outre, les centres de conduite du réseau de Swissgrid déconnectent et raccordent des lignes dans les postes de couplage au moyen de manœuvres de couplage et dirigent ainsi les flux d’électricité.

9 Niveaux de réseau

Afin que les consommateurs finaux puissent utiliser l’énergie produite par les centrales électriques, la tension est réduite à 400 et 230 volts par le biais de sept niveaux de réseau. Font partie de ces niveaux les niveaux très haute tension, haute tension, moyenne tension et basse tension ainsi que trois niveaux de transformation reliant ces dernières.

10 Réseau de transport

Le réseau de transport suisse comporte 6700 kilomètres de lignes, 12 000 pylônes, 125 sous-stations avec 146 postes de couplage ainsi que 41 liaisons avec l’étranger. Il se compose de lignes à 380 kilovolt et 220 kilovolt. Alors que les lignes à 380 kilovolt sont majoritairement utilisées pour l’importation et l’exportation d’électricité, les grandes centrales électriques suisses injectent principalement leur énergie sur le réseau 220 kilovolt. Des tensions de l’ordre du kilovolt sont nécessaires sur le réseau de transport afin de pouvoir transporter l’énergie sur de longues distances avec le moins de pertes possible.


Portrait de l'entreprise

Pour l’avenir de l’électricité en Suisse - Portrait de la société nationale responsable du réseau de transport

Téléchargements


  • Gestion du réseau

    Les collaborateurs des deux centres de conduite surveillent le réseau de transport suisse dans ses moindres faits et gestes – et ce 24h/24. Ils assurent que le courant soit transporté et distribué en toute sécurité dans tout le pays.

    En savoir plus

Contact

Titre

Veuillez sélectionner le titre.

Veuillez entrer votre prénom.

Veuillez entrer votre nom.

Veuillez entrer une adresse e-mail valide.

Veuillez entrer votre message.

Veuillez cocher la case.