Grid technologies

Overhead line or cable?

The decision on whether to install a high-voltage line as an overhead line or as an underground cable is based on a wide range of criteria. That's why Swissgrid checks the cable and overhead line options for every grid project.

At the extra-high-voltage level (220 kV and 380 kV), electricity is currently predominantly transported using overhead lines. The air acts as a perfect insulator here, and the heat created by the electricity flow can be transferred well to the surroundings. In the winter, the low temperatures allow much more electricity to be transported than in the summer.

For voltages of up to 150 kV, underground cables are used where possible. Underground cables have been extensively tried and tested in this lower voltage range. By contrast, too few reliable empirical values are available at the extra-high-voltage level for distances of more than one

Freileitung
1/5: An overhead line consists of the totality of all phase and earth conductors on a supporting structure and is installed above ground. Overhead lines are used almost exclusively worldwide for energy transmission at high voltage levels, such as 220 and 380 kilovolts. The air surrounding the conductor serves as insulation.
Rohrblock
2/5: Concrete tube blocks are laid in open-air at approx. 1 to 2 meters deep. The width of the wiring trench is approx. 5 meters. A minimum width of approx. 25 meters is required for the construction.
Tunnelbau
3/5: To install underground cables without trenches, tunnels of approx. 3 to 4 meters in diameter are constructed in the form of galleries or microtunnelling. The cables are placed on specific cable holders.
Gesteuerte Bohrung
4/5: A drill head to control the digging direction under the obstacles of the surface. To prevent them from collapsing, a stabilizing liquid is squirted behind the drill head and the empty tubes for the cables are laid. This type of construction is suitable for short distances, for example, passages under rivers or roads.
5/5: Transfer between overhead lines and underground cables: Additional factors have to be taken into account when different technologies are used along a line. Among other things, line routing becomes more challenging, because connecting the underground cable with the overhead line requires the construction of cable transfer stations the size of an ice hockey rink. Ensuring that the cable transfer stations and cable trench route are positioned to avoid existing (traffic) infrastructure poses major challenges for the project planners and engineers.

  • Emissions

    It is hard to imagine our daily life without the numerous electronic gadgets and tools. However, we are much less aware that electric and magnetic fields are formed everywhere electricity is present: including in the generation, transmission and distribution of electric energy.

    Learn more

  • Research & development

    Swissgrid cooperates with universities to develop the new technologies and methods required to enable the efficient and secure transmission of energy.

    Learn more

Contact

Title

Please select a title.

Please enter your first name.

Please enter your last name.

Please enter a valid e-mail address.

Please enter your message.

Please click the checkbox.

Technologies de réseau

Ligne aérienne ou câble sousterrain?

La décision de construire une ligne à très haute tension sous forme de ligne aérienne ou de câblage souterrain repose sur divers critères. C'est la raison pour laquelle Swissgrid examine des variantes avec câble et ligne aérienne pour chaque projet de réseau.

Au niveau très haute tension (220 kV et 380 kV), le courant est jusqu'à présent en grande partie transporté via des lignes aériennes. L'air constitue en effet un isolateur optimal. La chaleur générée par le flux d'électricité peut être facilement évacuée dans l’environnement. En hiver, grâce aux températures plus basses, il est possible de transporter nettement plus de courant qu'en été.

Des câbles souterrains sont utilisés, dans la mesure du possible, jusqu'à une tension de 150 kV. Dans ces faibles plages de tension, les câbles souterrains ont largement fait leurs preuves. En revanche, des valeurs empiriques fiables pour le niveau très haute tension avec des distances de plus d'un kilomètre ne sont que trop peu disponible à l'heure actuelle.

Freileitung
1/5: Une ligne aérienne est constituée de la totalité des conducteurs de phase et de terre sur une structure portante aérienne. On utilise dans le monde entier majoritairement des lignes aériennes pour le transport d’énergie à très haute tension, p.ex. pour le niveau de tension 220 et 380 kilovolt. L’air environnant sert d’isolation pour les lignes.
Rohrblock
2/5: Les blocs de tubes en béton sont posés à ciel ouvert à env. 1 à 2 mètres de profondeur. La largeur de la tranchée de câbles s'élève à env. 5 mètres. Une largeur minimale d'env. 25 mètres est nécessaire à la construction.
Tunnelbau
3/5: Afin de poser des câbles souterrains sans tranchée, des tunnels d'env. 3 à 4 mètres de diamètre sont construits sous forme de galeries ou par micro tunnelier. Les câbles sont placés sur des supports de câbles spécifiques.
Gesteuerte Bohrung
4/5: Une tête de forage à commande de direction creuse sous les obstacles de la surface. Pour éviter qu'ils ne s'effondrent, un liquide stabilisant est giclé derrière la tête de forage et les tubes vides pour les câbles sont posés. Ce type de construction convient pour de courtes distances comme, par exemple, les passages sous des rivières ou des routes.
5/5: Transition ligne aérienne et tronçon souterrain: Il convient de prendre en compte davantage de facteurs si différentes technologies sont utilisées sur une même ligne. Le tracé sera notamment plus exigeant. En effet, pour relier les câbles souterrains à la ligne aérienne, une station aéro-souterraine de la taille d’un terrain de hockey sur glace est nécessaire. Lors du positionnement des stations aéro-souterraines et du tracé de la tranchée de câbles, la traversée des infrastructures de transport existantes représente par exemple des défis importants pour l’étude du projet et la mise en oeuvre.
  • Emissions

    Il nous serait bien difficile d’imaginer notre quotidien sans les nombreux compagnons électroniques qui nous entourent. Nous sommes en revanche beaucoup moins conscients du fait que des champs électriques et magnétiques apparaissent partout où l’électricité est présente et ce même lors de la production, du transport, de la distribution et de la consommation d’énergie électrique.

    En savoir plus

  • Recherche et développement

    En coopération avec les hautes écoles, Swissgrid développe de nouvelles technologies et méthodes nécessaires au transport efficace et sûr de l’énergie.

    En savoir plus

Téléchargements

Contact

Titre

Veuillez sélectionner le titre.

Veuillez entrer votre prénom.

Veuillez entrer votre nom.

Veuillez entrer une adresse e-mail valide.

Veuillez entrer votre message.

Veuillez cocher la case.