Star of Laufenburg

In 1958, the electricity grids of Germany, France and Switzerland are connected together at 220-kilovolt level in the Frick Valley in the Swiss canton of Aargau. This brings the nations of Central Europe closer together. With the commissioning of the switching substation known as the «Star of Laufenburg», the European electricity grid is born.

1/6
2/6
3/6
4/6
5/6
6/6

When the lines are built, history is also written, line by line.

The backbone of European electricity supply

The expansion of the switching substation in Laufenburg at that time is seen as a milestone in the history of electricity. The «Star of Laufenburg» provides an unprecedented level of grid stability and security of supply for Switzerland and the whole of Central Europe. The cross-border electricity market is created at a stroke.

This creates the basis for international interconnected grid operations. The coordination of electricity flows in Europe becomes necessary after the Second World War. There is an explosive growth in electricity consumption, and the energy has to be transported securely and safely over shorter distances to the consumer.

60 years «Star of Laufenburg»

Today, the European interconnected grid guarantees a secure supply of electricity for over 30 countries and over 530 million consumers. The exchange of electricity enables power shortages in individual countries to be overcome and overloading to be avoided. Thanks to this international cooperation, it is also possible to compensate for power plant failures or overproduction. This benefits grid security and, ultimately, every single consumer.

The interconnected grid is geared to the topography and the energy availability in the individual regions. This includes, for example, wind energy from the North Sea, Spain and Portugal, as well as solar energy from Southern Europe and North Africa. The Swiss electricity grid, a key element of the European interconnected grid, links the north of Europe with the south across the Alps. At the same time, the Alps act as an important energy storage facility for the whole of Europe, with large quantities of energy being stored in Switzerland’s reservoirs and drawn upon when needed.

Secure supply of electricity in Europe thanks to Swissgrid

Switzerland is closely networked with its neighbouring countries via 40 lines. As an electricity hub, it makes an important contribution to the security of the European electricity supply. On behalf of ENTSO-E, the European Network of Transmission System Operators for Electricity, Swissgrid assumes a key role as the coordination centre for Southern Europe, in order to keep the European grid in balance. Available transport capacities are assigned to the partner grid operators and impending overloads are avoided. The main aim at all times is to ensure security of supply – and not only for Switzerland.

Close collaboration with Europe is important to ensure that this task is performed seamlessly in future, in spite of the lack of electricity agreements. For that reason, Swissgrid is actively involved in national and international bodies, to represent Swiss interests and to ensure smooth cooperation with Europe.

Contact

Title

Please select a title.

Please enter your first name.

Please enter your last name.

Please enter a valid e-mail address.

Please enter your message.

Please click the checkbox.

L'étoile de Laufenburg

Nous sommes en 1958 lorsque les réseaux électriques allemand, français et suisse sont interconnectés au niveau de tension 220 kilovolts dans la vallée argovienne de Frick. Les États d’Europe centrale se rappro-chent ainsi davantage. Le poste de couplage connu sous le nom d’«étoile de Laufenburg» a ainsi donné naissance au réseau électrique européen.

1/6
2/6
3/6
4/6
5/6
6/6

L’histoire de l’électricité s’écrit au fur et à mesure de la construction des lignes.

L’épine dorsale de l’approvisionnement énergétique européen

Le poste de couplage agrandi à l’époque à Laufenburg est alors considéré comme un jalon dans l’histoire de l’électricité. L’«étoile de Laufenburg» assure une stabilité du réseau jusqu’alors inconnue ainsi que la sécurité de l’approvisionnement pour la Suisse et toute l’Europe centrale. Le marché transfrontalier de l’électricité voit soudain le jour. Les bases du réseau interconnecté international sont créées.

La coordination européenne des flux d’électricité devient nécessaire après la Seconde Guerre mondiale. La consommation d’électricité explose et il convient de transporter l’énergie jusqu’aux consommateurs en toute sécurité sur de plus courtes distances.

Vidéo en allemand: 60 Jahre «Stern von Laufenburg»

À l’heure actuelle, le réseau interconnecté européen garantit l’approvisionnement sûr en électricité pour plus de 30 pays, soit plus de 530 millions de consommateurs. L’échange d’électricité permet de surmonter les congestions dans les différents pays et d’éviter les surcharges. Cette coopération internationale permet également de compenser les défaillances de centrales électriques ou la sur­production. La sécurité du réseau en est améliorée et tous les consommateurs en bénéficient.

Le réseau interconnecté se base sur la topographie et l’offre énergétique des différentes régions. L’énergie éolienne de la mer du Nord, de l’Espagne ou du Portugal ainsi que l’énergie solaire de l’Europe du Sud et de l’Afrique du Nord en font partie, par exemple. Le réseau électrique suisse, partie centrale du réseau interconnecté européen, relie le nord et le sud de l’Europe à travers les Alpes. Ces dernières jouent également un rôle important d’accumulateur d’énergie pour toute l’Europe: les lacs d’accumulation suisses stockent une grande quantité d’énergie qu’il est possible de transporter en cas de besoin.

Un approvisionnement sûr en électricité au sein de l’Europe grâce à Swissgrid

La Suisse est étroitement interconnectée à ses voisins européens à l’aide de plus de 40 lignes. Elle joue le rôle de plaque tournante de l’électricité et contribue à la sécurité de l’approvisionnement en électricité au sein de l’Europe. Sur mandat du REGRT-E, le Réseau européen des gestionnaires de réseau de transport d’électricité, Swissgrid assume un rôle essentiel en tant que centre de coordination pour l’Europe du Sud pour maintenir l’équilibre sur le réseau européen. Elle attribue à cet effet les capacités de transport disponibles aux gestionnaires de réseau partenaires et prévient les surcharges imminentes. L’objectif premier consiste toujours à garantir l’approvisionnement en électricité, et ce non seulement pour la Suisse.

Une collaboration étroite avec l’Europe est donc importante afin qu’elle puisse continuer à remplir cette tâche sans accrocs, malgré l’absence d’un accord sur l’électricité. Swissgrid s’implique ainsi dans des comités nationaux et internationaux afin de représenter les intérêts de la Suisse et de garantir une bonne collaboration avec l’Europe.

Contact

Titre

Veuillez sélectionner le titre.

Veuillez entrer votre prénom.

Veuillez entrer votre nom.

Veuillez entrer une adresse e-mail valide.

Veuillez entrer votre message.

Veuillez cocher la case.