Approval process

Swissgrid is responsible for the project planning for and implementation of the transmission lines. The period from the start of a project through to the commissioning of the relevant line is currently around 15 years. However, objections and court judgements at a late stage often lead to significant delays in projects – and they can take up to 30 years.


Der Weg zur Bewilligung
Grid expansion in Switzerland

Politics, the industry and the government have recognised that both project planning and the approval and court processes need to take place much more quickly in future. To accelerate the overall process, the Swiss Federal Office of Energy (SFOE) has developed a series of measures as part of the «Electricity Grid Strategy». Swissgrid hopes that the strategy and the corresponding measures will be implemented as quickly as possible.

The SFOE and Swissgrid have undertaken to cooperate efficiently with one another to speed up the process.


The Swiss government's sectoral plan process

Sectoral plan process

The process

The sectoral plan for transmission lines is the government’s overarching planning and coordination tool for the development and new construction of transmission lines (220 and 380 Kilovolt) and railway power lines (132 Kilovolt). The sectoral plan process is a regulatory process by way of which a line construction project is assessed from an area planning perspective, is reviewed in relationship with the existing and future utilizations as well as compatibility with the protected areas, and a planning corridor is defined.

Preparatory phase

Before the actual sectoral plan process can be launched, Swissgrid and the cantons involved conclude a coordination agreement. This guarantees that the interests of the cantons are incorporated into the planning at the earliest possible stage. The sectoral plan process starts with the submission of the application for inclusion in the sectoral plan for transmission lines (SÜL application) by Swissgrid, in which proposals for planning territories are put forward.

Phase 1

On the basis of the planning territory proposals made by Swissgrid in the SÜL application, the support group deployed by the Swiss Federal Office of Energy (SFOE) makes its recommendations. Within the planning territory, several corridor options should be possible.

Phase 2

Swissgrid draws up various corridor options within the defined planning territory. The support group then recommends one planning corridor using, if required, the «Evaluation Plan for Transmission Lines».

The government decides on both the planning territories and the planning corridor on the basis of the support group recommendations. The planning territories and the corridor are then set out in the sectoral plan based on these decisions. Within the planning corridor defined by the government, Swissgrid can then work out the concrete line routing during the detailed phase of the project, which follows the sectoral plan process.


Involvement options in the sectoral plan process

Support group

Die Begleitgruppe wird vom Bundesamt für der Planungsgebiete und bei The support group is put together by the Swiss Federal Office of Energy (SFOE). It provides assistance with the definition of the planning territories and with the definition of the planning corridor and makes recommendations.

The support group comprises representatives of the interested Swiss federal offices (ARE, SFOE, BAV, etc.) and of the ESTI, the ElCom, the cantonal authorities involved, organisations under private law (e.g. environmental protection organisations) and Swissgrid. Independent experts are also asked to assist where necessary.

Consultation and cooperation process in accordance with Art. 19 of the Area Planning Directive (RPV)

Prior to the relevant definitions being laid down by the government, any private person may issue a statement on the support group recommendations by way of the consultation and cooperation process.


Contact

Title

Please select

Please fill in this field

Please fill in this field

Please enter a valid e-mail address

Please fill in this field

Procédures d’autorisation rapides

Swissgrid est responsable de l'étude de projet et de la réalisation des lignes de transport. Actuellement, la durée depuis le début du projet jusqu’à la mise en service d’une ligne est d'environ 15 ans. Les recours et décisions juridiques au cours d’une phase ultérieure conduisent toutefois régulièrement à des retards considérables – les projets pouvant en partie durer jusqu’à 30 ans.


Der Weg zur Bewilligung
Comment s'obtient l'autorisation

La politique, le secteur et la Confédération ont reconnu que l'étude de projet ainsi que les procédures d’autorisation et juridiques doivent dorénavant se dérouler beaucoup plus rapidement. Pour accélérer l'avancement des projets, l’Office fédéral de l’énergie (OFEN) a élaboré une série de mesures dans le cadre de la «Stratégie réseaux électriques». Swissgrid espère que la stratégie et les mesures correspondantes seront rapidement mises en œuvre.

L’OFEN et Swissgrid se sont engagés à collaborer de manière efficace afin d’accélérer les procédures.


La procédure de plan sectoriel de la Confédération

Procédure de plan sectoriel

La procédure

Le plan sectoriel des lignes de transport d‘électricité est l’instrument de planification et de coordination principal de la Confédération pour l’extension et la nouvelle construction de lignes de transport d’électricité (220 et 380 kilovolts) et de lignes électriques (132 kilovolts). La procédure de plan sectoriel est une procédure administrative au cours de laquelle il s’agit d'évaluer un projet de construction de lignes du point de vue de l‘aménagement du territoire, de le vérifier par rapport aux exploitations existantes et futures ainsi que la compatibilité avec les zones de protection actuelles et de définir un corridor de planification.

Phase de préparation

Avant de pouvoir démarrer la procédure du plan sectoriel à proprement dit, Swissgrid et les cantons concernés concluent une convention de coordination. Celle-ci assure que les requêtes des cantons soient intégrées le plus tôt possible à la planification. La procédure du plan sectoriel démarre par le dépôt de la demande d’enregistrement dans le plan sectoriel des lignes de transport d'électricité (demande PSE) par Swissgrid dans lequel des propositions pour des domaines de planification sont mises en évidence.

Phase 1

Le groupe d’accompagnement employé par l'Office fédéral de l'énergie (OFE) émet une recommandation sur la base des propositions élaborées par Swissgrid dans la demande PSE pour une région. Plusieurs variantes de corridors seront possibles au sein du domaine de planification.

Phase 2

Swissgrid élabore différentes variantes de corridors au sein du domaine de planification défini. Le groupe d’accompagnement recommande alors éventuellement un corridor de planification en utilisant le «schéma d'évaluation pour des lignes de transport».

Connaissant les recommandations du groupe d’accompagnement, la Confédération décide par rapport aux régions ainsi que par rapport au corridor de planification. Avec ces décisions, les régions et le corridor sont définis dans le plan sectoriel. Au sein du corridor de planification défini par la Confédération, Swissgrid peut élaborer le tracé de ligne concret après la procédure du plan sectoriel pendant le projet détaillé.


Possibilités de participation dans la procédure du plan sectoriel

Groupe d’accompagnement

Le groupe d’accompagnement est composé par l'Office fédéral de l’énergie (OFE). Il remplit un rôle de conseiller lors de la définition des domaines de planification et lors de la définition du corridor de planification et émet des recommandations.

Le groupe d’accompagnement se compose de représentants des offices fédéraux intéressés (ARE, OFEV, OFT etc.) et de l’ESTI, l’EICom, des administrations cantonales concernées, des organisations de droit privé (par ex. organisations de protection de l'environnement) et de Swissgrid. Suivant les besoins, on a recours à des experts indépendants.

Procédure de consultation et de participation selon l’art. 19 de l’ordonnance de l’aménagement du territoire (OAT)

Avant la définition respective par la Confédération, toute personne privée peut prendre position sur les recommandations du groupe d’accompagnement dans le cadre de la procédure de consultation et de participation.


Contact

Titre

Veuillez sélectionner

Merci de remplir ce champ

Merci de remplir ce champ

Veuillez entrer une adresse e-mail valide

Merci de remplir ce champ