Grid stability

Equilibrium between production and consumption

Electricity cannot be stored in the transmission grid, so the amount of electricity fed in must always be the same as the amount of electricity fed out. This means the production and consumption of energy must always be balanced. This equilibrium ensures the secure and stable operation of the grid at a constant frequency of 50 Hertz. The Swiss transmission grid is not the only one that is operated at a frequency of 50 Hertz; the same is true for the entire European interconnected grid. Swissgrid works together with the other transmission system operators to ensure that the frequency in this interconnected grid can be maintained at all times.

If unforeseen fluctuations arise, the operators in the grid control rooms use control energy, a reserve that power plants keep available for Swissgrid and that can be retrieved as required. The power plants either increase or decrease their power to compensate for any missing or excess electrical energy.

Grid control in real-time operation
Planning grid operation (in German)
Grid control in real-time operation
1/2: Real-time operations (in German)
Planning grid operation (in German)
2/2: Planning grid operation (in German)
Nennfrequenz 50 Hertz
1/3
Frequenz zu tief
2/3
Frequenz zu hoch
3/3

In the European interconnected grid, the balance between production and consumption is achieved via a three-stage process: first, primary control energy is activated. The turbines of the power plants throughout Europe respond to frequency fluctuations and increase or decrease their power accordingly. After a few minutes, the secondary control replaces the primary control. The power is provided by Swiss power plants, which receive an automatic signal from Swissgrid. After 15 minutes, the operators manually switch to tertiary control energy. They instruct individual domestic or international power plants to feed more or less energy into the grid.

Die drei Stufen des Regelenergieeinsatzes
1/4
Primärregelung
2/4
Sekundärregelung
3/4
Tertiärregelung
4/4

Schedule management – the foundation of a constantly balanced grid

Careful planning together with the power plants and electricity traders is essential to make sure that the grid is always in equilibrium. Swissgrid is responsible for making sure that the transmission grid in Switzerland is always in balance. This also means the power plants and electricity traders always need to feed precisely as much energy into the grid (i.e. produce or purchase) as they sell.

One day before operation, the power plants and electricity traders send schedules of their national and international electricity trading transactions to the grid control rooms. The operators closely inspect the trading transactions and coordinate them with colleagues from the international transmission system operators. That is how they check whether the sum of all the trading transactions by the power plants and electricity traders is in balance, among other things. The schedules can be adjusted until shortly before as well as during operation. These cross-border preparations make it possible for the transmission system operators to ensure that the entire European interconnected grid remains in balance and to prevent fluctuations.


Downloads


  • Planning grid operation

    The operation of the transmission grid is based on long-term planning. The operators in the grid control room in Aarau use a grid model to prepare an initial forecast of the expected grid situation over a year in advance.

    Learn more

  • Grid data

    Swissgrid continuously compiles operating information, analyses it, and leverages it to optimise grid deployment. We use detailed criteria to monitor and assess the status of the transmission system in Switzerland.

    Learn more

Contact

Title

Please select a title.

Please enter your first name.

Please enter your last name.

Please enter a valid e-mail address.

Please enter your message.

Please click the checkbox.

Stabilité du réseau

Équilibre entre la production et la consommation

L’électricité ne pouvant pas être stockée sur le réseau de transport, il est nécessaire que l’injection de courant et le soutirage soient toujours égaux. En d’autres termes, la production et la consommation d’énergie doivent toujours être à l’équilibre. C’est cet équilibre qui garantit la sécurité et la stabilité de l’exploitation du réseau à une fréquence constante de 50 Hertz; il n’y a pas que le réseau de transport suisse qui est exploité à cette fréquence: c’est aussi le cas de tout le réseau interconnecté européen. De concert avec les autres gestionnaires de réseau de transport, Swissgrid veille à ce que cette fréquence puisse être respectée en permanence sur le réseau interconnecté.

Le centre de conduite du réseau lors de l’exploitation en temps réel
Planification de l’exploitation du réseau
Le centre de conduite du réseau lors de l’exploitation en temps réel
1/2: Le centre de conduite du réseau lors de l’exploitation en temps réel
Planification de l’exploitation du réseau
2/2: Planification de l’exploitation du réseau

En cas de fluctuations imprévues, les opérateurs des centres de conduite du réseau ont recours à l’énergie de réglage. Il s’agit d’énergie que les centrales électriques mettent en réserve pour Swissgrid et qui peut être utilisée si nécessaire. Les centrales électriques peuvent augmenter ou diminuer leur puissance à court terme, compensant ainsi l’énergie électrique manquante ou excédentaire.

Nennfrequenz 50 Hertz
1/3
Frequenz zu tief
2/3
Frequenz zu hoch
3/3

Sur le réseau interconnecté européen, l’équilibrage entre production et consommation s’effectue via un processus en trois étapes: la première étape consiste à activer l’énergie de réglage primaire. En cas de fluctuations de fréquence, les turbines des centrales électriques dans toute l'Europe réagissent en augmentant ou diminuant leur puissance. Au bout de quelques minutes, le réglage primaire est remplacé par le réglage secondaire. Ce dernier est réalisé par les centrales électriques suisses auxquelles Swissgrid envoie un signal automatique. Au bout d’un quart d’heure, les opérateurs utilisent manuellement l’énergie de réglage tertiaire. Ils donnent à certaines centrales électriques de Suisse ou de l’étranger l’instruction d’injecter plus ou moins d’énergie dans le réseau.

Die drei Stufen des Regelenergieeinsatzes
1/4
Primärregelung
2/4
Sekundärregelung
3/4
Tertiärregelung
4/4

Gestion du programme prévisionnel – la base d’un réseau constamment à l’équilibre

Afin que l’équilibre du réseau puisse être assuré à tout moment, il est indispensable de procéder à une planification minutieuse avec les centrales électriques et les négociants d’électricité. Swissgrid est chargée de maintenir constamment le réseau de transport suisse à l’équilibre. C’est pourquoi les centrales électriques et les négociants d’électricité sont également tenus de toujours injecter dans le réseau, c’est-à-dire produire ou acheter, la même quantité d’énergie que celle qu’ils vendent.

Un jour avant l’exploitation, les centrales électriques et les négociants d’électricité envoient aux centres de conduite du réseau des programmes prévisionnels sur lesquels figurent leurs transactions d’électricité nationales et internationales. Les opérateurs contrôlent rigoureusement les transactions commerciales et les harmonisent avec les gestionnaires de réseau de transport étrangers. Ceci leur permet notamment de vérifier si la somme de toutes les transactions commerciales des centrales électriques et des négociants d’électricité est équilibrée. Les programmes prévisionnels sont encore susceptibles d’être adaptés peu avant et même pendant l’exploitation. Grâce à ces préparations transfrontalières, les gestionnaires de réseau de transport peuvent garantir l’équilibre au sein du réseau interconnecté européen et éviter des fluctuations.


Téléchargements

  • Planification de l’exploitation du réseau

    L’exploitation du réseau de transport est planifiée à long terme. Plus d’un an à l’avance, les opérateurs établissent déjà un premier pronostic sur la situation de réseau attendue dans le centre de conduite du réseau d’Aarau à l’aide d’un modèle de réseau.

    En savoir plus

  • Données de réseau

    Swissgrid recueille en permanence données, les analyse et optimise ainsi l’utilisation du réseau. Grâce à des critères détaillés, nous mesurons l’état du réseau de transport en Suisse.

    En savoir plus

Contact

Titre

Veuillez sélectionner le titre.

Veuillez entrer votre prénom.

Veuillez entrer votre nom.

Veuillez entrer une adresse e-mail valide.

Veuillez entrer votre message.

Veuillez cocher la case.