Grid stability

Balance between production and consumption

Switzerland, like its European neighbours, operates its power transmission grid at a frequency of 50 Hertz. To ensure that this frequency remains stable, electricity generation and consumption must always be in balance.

If the frequency in the grid falls or rises, electrical devices and even important generators can be damaged.

Specialists at Swissgrid quickly identify any imminent grid underload or overload and possible frequency fluctuations. Even if only extremely small fluctuations arise, the specialists take the necessary measures to return the transmission grid to a balanced state.


Wide Area Monitoring

The Wide Area Monitoring platform allows grid operators to monitor the stability of grids across great distances. It connects metering stations throughout Europe: from Portugal to Turkey and from Denmark to Sicily.

Devices in the relevant substations at multiple locations in Europe measure the grid frequencies at synchronised times, calculate the frequency and deliver the associated data in real time.

Swissgrid uses Wide Area Monitoring to constantly monitor the processes in the European electricity grid and to detect the direction in which the energy is flowing. This helps Swissgrid plan transport capacities and keep its domestic grid in equilibrium.


  • Grid data

    Swissgrid continuously compiles operating information, analyses it, and leverages it to optimise grid deployment. We use detailed criteria to monitor and assess the status of the transmission system in Switzerland.

    Learn more

Contact

Title

Please select a title.

Please enter your first name.

Please enter your last name.

Please enter a valid e-mail address.

Please enter your message.

Please click the checkbox.

Netzstabilität

Gleichgewicht zwischen Produktion und Verbrauch

Die Schweiz betreibt ihr Netz zur Stromübertragung – gleich wie das benachbarte Europa – mit einer Frequenz von 50 Hertz. Damit diese Frequenz stabil bleibt, müssen Stromproduktion und ‑verbrauch stets im Gleichgewicht stehen.

Sinkt oder steigt die Frequenz im Netz, können elektrische Geräte, aber auch wichtige Generatoren Schaden nehmen.

Spezialisten bei Swissgrid erkennen rechtzeitig eine drohende Unter- oder Überlast des Netzes und damit mögliche Frequenzschwankungen. Bereits bei ganz kleinen Abweichungen ergreifen sie Massnahmen und führen das Übertragungsnetz ins Gleichgewicht zurück.


Wide Area Monitoring

Die Plattform Wide Area Monitoring ermöglicht es Netzbetreibern, die Stabilität von Stromnetzen über grosse Entfernungen zu überwachen. Sie verbindet Messstationen in ganz Europa: von Portugal bis in die Türkei und von Dänemark bis nach Sizilien.

Dabei messen Geräte in den jeweiligen Schaltanlagen an mehreren Orten in Europa und zeitlich synchronisiert die Netzfrequenzen, berechnen die Frequenz und liefern die dazugehörigen Daten in Echtzeit.

Swissgrid überwacht über das Wide Area Monitoring laufend die Vorgänge im europäischen Stromnetz und erkennt, in welche Richtung die Energie fliesst. Das unterstützt Swissgrid dabei, Transportkapazitäten zu planen und das eigene Netz im Gleichgewicht zu halten.


  • Netzdaten

    Swissgrid sammelt laufend Betriebsinformationen, wertet sie aus und optimiert damit den Netzeinsatz. Mittels detaillierter Kriterien messen wir, wie es um den Zustand des Übertragungsnetzes in der Schweiz bestellt ist.

    Mehr erfahren

Downloads

Kontakt

Anrede

Bitte wählen Sie die Anrede aus.

Bitte geben Sie Ihren Vornamen an.

Bitte geben Sie Ihren Nachnamen an.

Bitte geben Sie eine gültige E-Mail Adresse ein.

Geben Sie bitte Ihre Nachricht ein.

Klicken Sie bitte die Checkbox an.