Star of Laufenburg

In 1958, the electricity grids of Germany, France and Switzerland are connected together at 220-kilovolt level in the Frick Valley in the Swiss canton of Aargau. This brings the nations of Central Europe closer together. With the commissioning of the switching substation known as the «Star of Laufenburg», the European electricity grid is born.

1/6
2/6
3/6
4/6
5/6
6/6

When the lines are built, history is also written, line by line.

The backbone of European electricity supply

The expansion of the switching substation in Laufenburg at that time is seen as a milestone in the history of electricity. The «Star of Laufenburg» provides an unprecedented level of grid stability and security of supply for Switzerland and the whole of Central Europe. The cross-border electricity market is created at a stroke.

This creates the basis for international interconnected grid operations. The coordination of electricity flows in Europe becomes necessary after the Second World War. There is an explosive growth in electricity consumption, and the energy has to be transported securely and safely over shorter distances to the consumer.

60 years «Star of Laufenburg»

Today, the European interconnected grid guarantees a secure supply of electricity for over 30 countries and over 530 million consumers. The exchange of electricity enables power shortages in individual countries to be overcome and overloading to be avoided. Thanks to this international cooperation, it is also possible to compensate for power plant failures or overproduction. This benefits grid security and, ultimately, every single consumer.

The interconnected grid is geared to the topography and the energy availability in the individual regions. This includes, for example, wind energy from the North Sea, Spain and Portugal, as well as solar energy from Southern Europe and North Africa. The Swiss electricity grid, a key element of the European interconnected grid, links the north of Europe with the south across the Alps. At the same time, the Alps act as an important energy storage facility for the whole of Europe, with large quantities of energy being stored in Switzerland’s reservoirs and drawn upon when needed.

Secure supply of electricity in Europe thanks to Swissgrid

Switzerland is closely networked with its neighbouring countries via 40 lines. As an electricity hub, it makes an important contribution to the security of the European electricity supply. On behalf of ENTSO-E, the European Network of Transmission System Operators for Electricity, Swissgrid assumes a key role as the coordination centre for Southern Europe, in order to keep the European grid in balance. Available transport capacities are assigned to the partner grid operators and impending overloads are avoided. The main aim at all times is to ensure security of supply – and not only for Switzerland.

Close collaboration with Europe is important to ensure that this task is performed seamlessly in future, in spite of the lack of electricity agreements. For that reason, Swissgrid is actively involved in national and international bodies, to represent Swiss interests and to ensure smooth cooperation with Europe.

Contact

Title

Please select a title.

Please enter your first name.

Please enter your last name.

Please enter a valid e-mail address.

Please enter your message.

Please click the checkbox.

Stern von Laufenburg

Wir schreiben das Jahr 1958, als im aargauischen Fricktal die Stromnetze Deutschlands, Frankreichs und der Schweiz auf der 220-Kilovolt-Spannungsebene zusammengeschaltet werden. Die mitteleuropäischen Staaten rücken damit näher zusammen. Mit der als «Stern von Laufenburg» bekannten Schaltanlage ist das europäische Stromnetz geboren.

1/6
2/6
3/6
4/6
5/6
6/6

Beim Bau der Leitungen wird Stück für Stück Stromgeschichte geschrieben.

Rückgrat der europäischen Energieversorgung

Die damals in Laufenburg erweiterte Schaltanlage gilt als Meilenstein in der Stromgeschichte. Der «Stern von Laufenburg» unterstützt eine noch nie da gewesene Netzstabilität und die Versorgungssicherheit für die Schweiz und ganz Mitteleuropa. Mit einem Schlag entsteht der grenzüberschreitende Strommarkt.

Die Basis für einen internationalen Verbundnetzbetrieb war geschaffen. Notwendig wird die europäische Koordination der Stromflüsse nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg. Der Stromkonsum steigt explosionsartig, und die Energie soll über kürzere Distanzen sicher zum Verbraucher transportiert werden.

60 Jahre «Stern von Laufenburg»

Heute garantiert das europäische Verbundnetz die sichere Stromversorgung für über 30 Länder mit über 530 Millionen Konsumenten. Der Stromaustausch ermöglicht es, Stromengpässe in einzelnen Ländern zu überwinden und Überlastungen zu vermeiden. Kraftwerksausfälle oder Überproduktionen werden dank dieser internationalen Kooperation ebenfalls kompensiert. Davon profitiert die Netzsicherheit und schlussendlich jeder einzelne Konsument.

Das Verbundnetz orientiert sich an der Topografie und am Energieangebot der einzelnen Regionen. Dazu zählen beispielsweise die Windenergie aus der Nordsee, Spanien und Portugal sowie die Sonnenenergie aus Südeuropa und Nordafrika. Über die Alpen verbindet das Schweizer Stromnetz als zentraler Teil des europäischen Verbundnetzes den Norden mit dem Süden Europas. Die Alpen agieren gleichzeitig als wichtiger Energiespeicher für ganz Europa: In den Schweizer Speicherseen sind grosse Mengen an Energie gespeichert, die bei Bedarf wieder abgeführt werden.

Sichere Stromversorgung in Europa dank Swissgrid

Die Schweiz ist mit über 40 Leitungen eng mit ihren Nachbarländern vernetzt. Als Stromdrehscheibe leistet sie einen Beitrag zur Sicherheit der europäischen Stromversorgung. Im Auftrag des ENTSO-E, des Verbands Europäischer Übertragungsnetzbetreiber, übernimmt Swissgrid als Koordinationszentrum für Südeuropa eine zentrale Rolle, um das europäische Netz im Gleichgewicht zu halten. Dazu werden verfügbare Transportkapazitäten an die Partnernetzbetreiber vergeben und drohende Überlastungen verhindert. Höchstes Ziel ist stets die Sicherstellung der Stromversorgung – und dies nicht nur für die Schweiz.

Damit diese Aufgabe auch künftig reibungslos erfüllt wird, ist eine enge Zusammenarbeit mit Europa wichtig – trotz fehlendem Stromabkommen. Swissgrid engagiert sich deshalb in nationalen und internationalen Gremien, um die Schweizer Interessen zu vertreten und eine reibungslose Zusammenarbeit mit Europa sicherzustellen.

Kontakt

Anrede

Bitte wählen Sie die Anrede aus.

Bitte geben Sie Ihren Vornamen an.

Bitte geben Sie Ihren Nachnamen an.

Bitte geben Sie eine gültige E-Mail Adresse ein.

Geben Sie bitte Ihre Nachricht ein.

Klicken Sie bitte die Checkbox an.