Planning grid operation

Prevent congestion in the grid with long-term planning

The operation of the transmission grid is based on long-term planning. The operators in the grid control room in Aarau use a grid model to prepare an initial forecast of the expected grid situation over a year in advance. This planning considers events such as renovations and repairs of power plants or lines; decommissioning grid elements has an impact on transport capacities.

The planning of the grid operation is refined on an ongoing basis: the expected grid situation is constantly recalculated one year, one month, one week, two days and one day before real-time operation. For instance, the operators calculate the cross-border capacity that can be made available for electricity trade two days before live operation. One day before, the operators update their planning based on the schedules provided by power plants and electricity traders, which contain both domestic and international electricity trading transactions. The grid control room works together with the grid operators in neighbouring countries to check whether the grid and the international interconnection lines can transmit the produced and traded volume of energy, where congestion exists, and the action that needs to be taken.

Planning grid operation (in German)
Grid control in real-time operation
Planning grid operation (in German)
1/2: Planning grid operation (in German)
Grid control in real-time operation
2/2: Real-time operations (in German)

Operational planning aims to keep the grid stable and effective around the clock. As part of the planning process, Swissgrid consults affected parties, such as power plant operators and neighbouring transmission system operators, well in advance so it can provide as much capacity as possible on the transmission grid without placing grid security at risk.


  • Power market

    For Switzerland to continue to benefit from its role as an international electricity hub in future, it needs to be connected to the European internal electricity market. Swissgrid is therefore involved in a number of international committees to actively promote Switzerland's interests.

    Power market

Contact

Title

Please select a title.

Please enter your first name.

Please enter your last name.

Please enter a valid e-mail address.

Please enter your message.

Please click the checkbox.

Planung des Netzbetriebs

Dank langfristiger Planung Engpässen im Netz vorbeugen

Der Betrieb des Übertragungsnetzes ist langfristig geplant. Bereits über ein Jahr im Voraus erstellen die Operateure in der Netzleitstelle in Aarau anhand eines Netzmodells eine erste Prognose über die erwartete Netzsituation. Zum Beispiel werden Revisionen und Reparaturen von Kraftwerken oder Leitungen in der Planung berücksichtig. So haben Ausserbetriebnahmen von Netzelementen Auswirkungen auf die Transportkapazitäten.

Die Planung des Netzbetriebs wird laufend verfeinert. Ein Jahr, einen Monat, eine Woche, zwei Tage sowie einen Tag vor dem Echtzeitbetrieb wird die erwartete Netzsituation immer wieder neu berechnet. Zwei Tage vor dem Betrieb berechnen die Operateure beispielsweise die grenzüberschreitende Kapazität, welche dem Stromhandel zur Verfügung gestellt werden kann. Einen Tag vorher aktualisieren die Operateure ihre Planung anhand der Fahrpläne von Kraftwerken und Stromhändlern. Diese Fahrpläne enthalten sämtliche Stromhandelsgeschäfte im In- und Ausland. Die Netzleitstelle überprüft gemeinsam mit den Netzbetreibern im umliegenden Ausland, ob das Netz und die grenzüberschreitenden Leitungen die produzierten und gehandelten Mengen an Energie übertragen kann, wo Engpässe bestehen und welche Massnahmen notwendig sind.

Planung des Netzbetriebs
Die Netzleitstelle im Echtzeitbetrieb
Planung des Netzbetriebs
1/2: Planung des Netzbetriebs
Die Netzleitstelle im Echtzeitbetrieb
2/2: Die Netzleitstelle im Echtzeitbetrieb

Die Planung des Betriebs hat das Ziel, das Netz rund um die Uhr stabil und leistungsfähig zu halten. Swissgrid stimmt sich in der Planung frühzeitig mit betroffenen Parteien wie Kraftwerksbetreibern und benachbarten Übertragungsnetzbetreibern ab, um möglichst viel Kapazität auf dem Übertragungsnetz bereitstellen zu können, ohne die Netzsicherheit zu gefährden.


  • Strommarkt

    Damit die Schweiz in Zukunft weiterhin von ihrer Rolle als internationale Stromdrehscheibe profitiert, braucht es die Anbindung an den europäischen Strombinnenmarkt. Deshalb engagiert sich Swissgrid in unterschiedlichen internationalen Gremien und vertritt dort aktiv die Interessen der Schweiz.

    Strommarkt

Kontakt

Anrede

Bitte wählen Sie die Anrede aus.

Bitte geben Sie Ihren Vornamen an.

Bitte geben Sie Ihren Nachnamen an.

Bitte geben Sie eine gültige E-Mail Adresse ein.

Geben Sie bitte Ihre Nachricht ein.

Klicken Sie bitte die Checkbox an.