Research & development

The energy reform poses new challenges for the Swiss electricity grid. In-depth research and development work is needed to prepare the transmission grid for the future. Swissgrid cooperates with universities to develop the new technologies and methods required to enable the efficient and secure transmission of energy.

The expansion and modernisation of the Swiss electricity grid is one of Swissgrid's most important tasks. It is vital to ensure that Switzerland continues to have a secure supply of electricity in the future.

Therefore, we’re looking for bright minds. Swissgrid supports research projects, theses and offers internships. We are interested in research on the following topics:

  • Automation/digitalisation in system operations and in asset management
  • New technologies/methods for energy transmission
  • Ensuring the stability of the grid
  • Increasing public acceptance for grid projects (modernisation and expansion)

More capacity on transmission lines

The Swiss electricity grid has a number of congestion points. To eliminate these, greater transfer capacity is required. However, the construction of new lines is not always accepted by the parties affected. As an alternative, Swissgrid endeavours to optimise the transfer capacity of existing lines.

The «Hybrid Overhead Lines in Switzerland» research project being carried out by ETH Zurich is investigating the extent to which the combination of direct and alternating current systems increases the transfer capacity of existing 380 kV overhead lines. Calculations show that the capacity of hybrid overhead lines is 50 percent higher than that of conventional lines.

The ETH research project not only considers the technical aspects of the different systems but also evaluates their cost-efficiency and social acceptance.

Hybrid Overhead Lines in Switzerland

3D Decision Support System

Where will a new line run? Which area is suitable, which less so? The 3D Decision Support System project developed by ETH Zurich aims to answer these questions and find the line route that is most widely accepted by the stakeholders.

To do so, the system considers the interests of the parties affected and provides a three-dimensional view of the different solutions.

In this way, the 3D Decision Support System greatly facilitates the planning of lines and makes project planning more efficient and transparent. Swissgrid uses the system to erect new lines.

The 3D Decision Support System – using algorithms to optimise line routing

Energyscape - Focus on the landscape

Wind power plants or transmission lines change the landscape significantly. But what infrastructure fits into which landscape? And to what extent is it accepted by the parties affected? – The ETH «Energyscape» project aims to construct electricity infrastructure where acceptance is greatest. To do so, it creates acoustic/visual simulations of infrastructure in characteristically Swiss landscapes.

Links

Energyscape ETH Zürich

Energyscape SNF


Smart Grids - Intelligent grids

More and more electricity is being produced locally. It primarily comes from renewable sources, such as wind and solar power plants. Production is difficult to plan and is subject to fluctuations.

That's why Smart Grids are needed. They ensure that electricity producers and consumers are in constant communication – and balance fluctuations in production and consumption. In doing so, Smart Grids help to ensure reliable and efficient operation.

An important part of Smart Grids is intelligent measuring systems called Smart Meters. They help save electricity and improve energy efficiency. Intelligent measuring systems are part of the federal government's Energy Strategy 2050.


Contact

Title

Please select

Please fill in this field

Please fill in this field

Please enter a valid e-mail address

Please fill in this field

Forschung & Entwicklung

Die Energiewende stellt das Schweizer Stromnetz vor neue Herausforderungen. Damit das Übertragungsnetz den Anforderungen der Zukunft gewachsen ist, braucht es Forschung und Entwicklung. Zusammen mit Hochschulen entwickelt Swissgrid neue Technologien und Methoden, die für die effiziente und sichere Übertragung der Energie erforderlich sind. Der Ausbau und die Modernisierung des Schweizer Stromnetzes gehören zu den Schlüsselaufgaben von Swissgrid. Damit Swissgrid auch morgen das Rückgrat der sicheren Stromversorgung bildet.

Mehr Kapazität auf Übertragungsleitungen

Das Schweizer Stromnetz weist Engpässe auf. Um diese zu beheben, muss die Übertragungskapazität erhöht werden. Dafür braucht es neue Leitungen. Doch bei den Betroffenen stossen diese auf eine geringe Akzeptanz. Als Alternative bietet sich die Optimierung von bestehende Leitungen an.

Das Forschungsprojekt «Hybride Freileitungen in der Schweiz» der ETH Zürich untersucht, wie durch die Kombination von Gleich- und Wechselstromsystemen bei existierenden 380-kV-Freileitungen die Übertragungskapazität gesteigert werden kann. Berechnungen zeigen, dass die Übertragungskapazität mit solchen Leitungen um 50 Prozent erhöht werden könnte.

Die Forscher berücksichtigen neben den technischen Aspekten auch die Wirtschaftlichkeit und die gesellschaftliche Akzeptanz.

Hybride Freileitungen in der Schweiz

3D Decision Support System

Wo soll eine neue Leitung durchführen? Welches Gebiet ist geeignet, welches weniger gut? – Das von der ETH Zürich entwickelte Projekt 3D Decision Support System will diese Fragen beantworten und denjenigen Leitungsverlauf finden, der bei den Akteuren die grösste Akzeptanz geniesst.

Das System berücksichtigt zu diesem Zweck die Interessen der Betroffenen und stellt die unterschiedlichen Lösungen dreidimensional dar.

Damit erleichtert das 3D Decision Support System wesentlich die Planung von Leitungen und macht die Projektierung effizienter sowie transparenter. Swissgrid nutzt das System für die Errichtung neuer Leitungen.

3D Decision Support System: Wie Algorithmen optimale Leitungen erstellen

Energyscape - Die Landschaft im Zentrum

Windkraftwerke oder Übertragungsleitungen verändern die Landschaft wesentlich. Doch welche Infrastruktur passt in welche Landschaft? Und in welchem Umfang wird sie von den Betroffenen akzeptiert? – Das ETH-Projekt «Energyscape» verfolgt das Ziel, Strominfrastruktur dort zu errichten, wo die Akzeptanz am grössten ist. Zu diesem Zweck erstellt es akustisch-visuelle Simulationen von Infrastruktur in Landschaften, die für die Schweiz charakteristisch sind.

Links

Energyscape ETH Zürich

Energyscape SNF


Smart Grids - Intelligente Netze

Immer mehr Strom wird dezentral produziert. Er stammt grösstenteils aus erneuerbaren Quellen wie beispielsweise Wind- und Solarkraftwerken. Seine Produktion ist schwer zu planen und unterliegt Schwankungen.

Deshalb braucht es sogenannte Smart Grids. Sie stellen sicher, dass Produzenten und Konsumenten stets miteinander kommunizieren – und gleichen Schwankungen bei Produktion und Verbrauch aus. Somit tragen Smart Grids zur Gewährleistung eines sicheren und effizienten Betriebs bei.

Ein wichtiger Bestandteil von Smart Grids sind intelligente Messsysteme, sogenannte Smart Meter. Sie helfen, Strom zu sparen, und erhöhen die Energieeffizienz. Die intelligenten Messsysteme sind Teil der Energiestrategie 2050 des Bundes.

Kontakt

Anrede

Bitte auswählen

Bitte füllen Sie dieses Feld aus

Bitte füllen Sie dieses Feld aus

Bitte geben Sie eine gültige E-Mail Adresse ein

Bitte füllen Sie dieses Feld aus