Research & development

The energy reform poses new challenges for the Swiss electricity grid. In-depth research and development work is needed to prepare the transmission grid for the future. Swissgrid cooperates with universities to develop the new technologies and methods required to enable the efficient and secure transmission of energy.

The expansion and modernisation of the Swiss electricity grid is one of Swissgrid's most important tasks. It is vital to ensure that Switzerland continues to have a secure supply of electricity in the future.

Therefore, we’re looking for bright minds. Swissgrid supports research projects, theses and offers internships. We are interested in research on the following topics:

  • Automation/digitalisation in system operations and in asset management
  • New technologies/methods for energy transmission
  • Ensuring the stability of the grid
  • Increasing public acceptance for grid projects (modernisation and expansion)

Equigy

In future, electricity generation will become less flexible and more difficult to predict due to the increase in new renewable energy resources, such as solar and wind power. This development presents challenges for transmission system operators, who need to ensure a balance between production and consumption.

With the crowd balancing platform «Equigy», Swissgrid has launched a pilot project in Switzerland that targets the use of storage technologies in the area of primary control energy. The goal of the project is to balance short-term fluctuations in the transmission grid with the support of small decentralised energy sources, such as energy storage systems, electric cars, battery storage devices and heat pumping technology.

Source: EQUIGY
Source: Equigy

3D Decision Support System

Where will a new line run? Which area is suitable, which less so? The 3D Decision Support System project developed by ETH Zurich aims to answer these questions and find the line route that is most widely accepted by the stakeholders.

To do so, the system considers the interests of the parties affected and provides a three-dimensional view of the different solutions.

In this way, the 3D Decision Support System greatly facilitates the planning of lines and makes project planning more efficient and transparent. Swissgrid uses the system to erect new lines.

1/2: 3D DSS in simple terms (video in German)
2/2: The 3D Decision Support System – using algorithms to optimise line routing (video in German)

More projects

More capacity on transmission lines

The Swiss electricity grid has a number of congestion points. To eliminate these, greater transfer capacity is required. However, the construction of new lines is not always accepted by the parties affected. As an alternative, Swissgrid endeavours to optimise the transfer capacity of existing lines.

The «Hybrid Overhead Lines in Switzerland» research project being carried out by ETH Zurich is investigating the extent to which the combination of direct and alternating current systems increases the transfer capacity of existing 380 kV overhead lines. Calculations show that the capacity of hybrid overhead lines is 50 percent higher than that of conventional lines.

The ETH research project not only considers the technical aspects of the different systems but also evaluates their cost-efficiency and social acceptance.

1/2: Hybrid power lines in the field test (video in German)
2/2: Hybrid Overhead Lines in Switzerland

Energyscape - Focus on the landscape

Wind power plants or transmission lines change the landscape significantly. But what infrastructure fits into which landscape? And to what extent is it accepted by the parties affected? – The ETH «Energyscape» project aims to construct electricity infrastructure where acceptance is greatest. To do so, it creates acoustic/visual simulations of infrastructure in characteristically Swiss landscapes.


Smart Grids

More and more electricity is being produced locally. It primarily comes from renewable sources, such as wind and solar power plants. Production is difficult to plan and is subject to fluctuations.

That's why Smart Grids are needed. They ensure that electricity producers and consumers are in constant communication – and balance fluctuations in production and consumption. In doing so, Smart Grids help to ensure reliable and efficient operation.

An important part of Smart Grids is intelligent measuring systems called Smart Meters. They help save electricity and improve energy efficiency. Intelligent measuring systems are part of the federal government's Energy Strategy 2050.


Data visualisation

For the operation of the transmission grid, more data than ever before is available. The big challenge is making this data of use for decisions in a systematic and timely manner. This project aims to enable faster and better decisions by means of visualisations of data relating to the current system state.


Data Lab

Grid operators work in an incredibly complex and greatly changing environment, in which the volume of data generated is increasing rapidly. When correctly processed and analysed, this data can optimise decision-making and corporate management and offer crucial added value. Swissgrid wants to exploit this potential. After all, increasingly demanding operations and the urgently required modernisation of the grid, as well as society’s calls for greater transparency, require new solutions.

Using data science, it is possible to evaluate and analyse large volumes of data. Data science can now also be used by smaller companies thanks to advancing industrialisation: tools and technologies have developed in recent years in parallel to ever greater computer performance and cheaper data storage and are in many cases available in a user-friendly format, for instance as cloud platforms and cloud services. Swissgrid has already gained experience in the use of data science through a range of pilot projects, and is now aiming to develop this area further.

Blog: «Greater knowledge thanks to data science»


Drone use for maintenance projects

Occasionally, supporting structures develop corrosion on the inside of pipes. However, paint used to protect against corrosion prevents rust being noticed during visual inspections. This project tests whether corrosion can be discovered using an automated process that employs drones. Such processes increase safety. Lines do not need to be switched off, and engineers are not required to inspect systems at a height of 50 metres.


Research partners

ETH Zurich
Research Center for Energy Networks
Research Foundation for Electricity and Mobile Communication
Swiss National Science Foundation
ETH Lausanne
School of Management and Engineering Vaud
Paul Scherrer Institute
Hochschule für Technik Rapperswil
Zurich University of Applied Sciences
University of Bern
Lucerne University of Applied Sciences and Arts

  • The grid of the future

    Switzerland’s electricity system is facing the biggest upheaval in its successful history. The energy reform is not only changing the technical conditions, but also the electricity economy. That is why Swissgrid is upgrading its grid to ensure its secure, environmentally compatible and economically efficient operation in the future.

    Learn more

  • Vacancies

    As the national grid company, we offer you the chance to take on exciting and meaningful tasks. Apply now and help shape Switzerland’s electricity future with us.

    Learn more

Contact

Title

Please select a title.

Please enter your first name.

Please enter your last name.

Please enter a valid e-mail address.

Please enter your message.

Please click the checkbox.

Recherche et développement

La transition énergétique pose de nouveaux défis au réseau électrique suisse. Le réseau de transport doit être à la hauteur des exigences du futur, d’où la nécessité de la recherche et du développement. En coopération avec les hautes écoles, Swissgrid développe de nouvelles technologies et méthodes nécessaires au transport efficace et sûr de l’énergie.

L’extension et la modernisation du réseau électrique suisse font partie des activités cœur de Swissgrid. De ce fait, l’approvisionnement de la Suisse est en tout temps garanti.

Pour ce faire, nous recherchons des esprits intelligents. Swissgrid soutient des projets de recherche, des thèses de diplôme et offre des place d’apprentissage. La recherche sur les sujets suivants nous intéresse:

  • Automatisation/numérisation dans l’exploitation du système et la gestion des infrastructures (Asset management)
  • Nouvelles technologies/méthodes pour le transport de l’énergie
  • Garantie de la stabilité du réseau
  • Augmentation de l’acceptation des projets de réseau (modernisation et extension)

Equigy

À l'avenir, la production d'électricité deviendra moins flexible et plus difficile à prévoir, en raison de la croissance des sources d’énergie renouvelables. Cette évolution met les gestionnaires de réseau de transport face à des défis substantiels; ils doivent en effet assurer l’équilibre entre la production et la consommation.

Avec la plateforme «Equigy», Swissgrid lance un projet en Suisse visant à exploiter les technologies de stockage dans le domaine de l'énergie de réglage primaire. Le projet a pour objectif de compenser des fluctuations à court terme dans le réseau de transport au moyen de petites sources d'énergie décentralisées – unités de stockage, voiture électrique, batteries ou pompes à chaleur.

Source: EQUIGY
Source: Equigy

3D Decision Support System

Par où doit passer une nouvelle ligne? Quelle zone est appropriée, quelle zone l’est moins? – Le projet 3D Decision Support System développé par l’EPF Zürich devrait répondre à ces questions et trouver le tracé le mieux accepté par les acteurs.

Pour ce faire, le système tient compte des intérêts des acteurs concernés et présente les différentes solutions en trois dimensions.

Le 3D Decision Support System facilite donc énormément la planification de lignes et rend la projection plus efficace et transparente. Swissgrid utilise le système pour créer de nouvelles lignes.

1/2: Présentation simple de l’outil 3D DSS (vidéo en allemand)
2/2: 3D Decision Support System (vidéo en allemand)

Autres projets

Davantage de capacité sur les lignes de transport

Le réseau électrique suisse présente des congestions. Pour y remédier, la capacité de transport doit augmenter. De nouvelles lignes sont donc nécessaires. Les personnes concernées ne les acceptent toutefois pas toujours. L’optimisation des lignes existantes peut donc être une alternative.

Le projet de recherche «Lignes aériennes hybrides en Suisse» mené par l’EPF de Zürich cherche à déterminer comment la combinaison de systèmes à courant continu et courant alternatif peut accroitre la capacité de transport des lignes aériennes 380 kV existantes. Des calculs montrent que la capacité de transport avec de telles lignes pourrait être augmentée de 50%.

Le projet de recherche de l’EPF tient non seulement compte d’aspects techniques, mais également de rentabilité et d’acceptation de la société.

1/2: Lignes hybrides sur le terrain (vidéo en allemand)
2/2: Lignes aériennes hybrides en Suisse

Energyscape - le paysage en priorité

Les centrales éoliennes ou lignes de transport modifient énormément le paysage. Mais quelle infrastructure convient à quel paysage? Et dans quelle mesure les personnes concernées l’acceptent-elles? – Le projet de l’EPF «Energyscape» vise à installer l’infrastructure électrique là où elle est le mieux acceptée. Pour ce faire, il élabore des simulations acoustiques et visuelles d’infrastructure dans des paysages caractéristiques de la Suisse.


Smart Grids - Des réseaux intelligents

De plus en plus de courant est produit de manière décentralisée. Il provient en grande partie de sources renouvelables, comme par exemple de centrales éoliennes et solaires. Sa production, difficile à planifier,  est soumise à des variations.

Les Smart Grids sont donc nécessaires. Ils assurent la communication entre les producteurs et les consommateurs – et compensent les variations de la production et de la consommation. Les Smart Grids contribuent ainsi à garantir une exploitation sûre et efficace.

Les systèmes de mesure intelligents, appelés Smart Meter, sont un élément essentiel des Smart Grids. Ils permettent d’économiser du courant et d’augmenter l’efficacité énergétique. Les systèmes de mesure intelligents font partie de la Stratégie énergétique 2050 de la Confédération.


Visualisation des données

À l’heure actuelle, nous disposons d’innombrables données pour l’exploitation du réseau de transport. Le principal défi consiste à rendre ces données utilisables de manière systématique et opportune pour la prise de décisions. Ce projet vise accélérer et à améliorer la prise de décisions via des visualisations de données sur l’état actuel du réseau.


Data Lab

Les gestionnaires de réseau agissent dans un environnement extrêmement complexe, en forte mutation et au sein duquel la quantité de données générées augmente très rapidement. Lorsqu’elles sont correctement préparées et analysées, ces données peuvent optimiser la prise de décision et la gestion de l’entreprise et offrir une plus-value décisive. Swissgrid entend exploiter ce potentiel. L’exploitation toujours plus exigeante et l’impérieuse nécessité de moderniser le réseau, ainsi que l’aspiration de la société à davantage de transparence, nécessitent de nouvelles solutions.

Grâce à la science des données, il est possible d’évaluer et d’analyser d’importantes quantités de données. Aujourd’hui, la science des données peut également être utilisée par de petites entreprises, grâce à l’industrialisation progressive: au cours des dernières années, avec des capacités de calcul toujours plus importantes et des coûts de stockage des données toujours plus faibles, les outils et les technologies se sont développés et sont, par exemple, souvent disponibles sous la forme de plateformes de cloud et de services de cloud simples à utiliser. Swissgrid a déjà acquis de l’expérience dans l’utilisation de la science des données dans le cadre de divers projets pilotes. L’objectif de Swissgrid est à présent de poursuivre le développement de ce domaine.

Blog: «Une meilleure vue d'ensemble grâce à Data Science»


Utilisation de drones pour l’entretien

Certains supports présentent des traces de rouille sur la face intérieure de leurs tubes. Cette rouille est passée inaperçue lors des inspections visuelles à cause de la peinture utilisée pour le traitement anticorrosion. Dans le cadre de ce projet, nous voulons vérifier s’il est possible de détecter la corrosion dans le cadre d’une procédure automatisée employant des drones. Cette procédure permettrait de renforcer la sécurité. Elle permettrait d’éviter la désactivation des lignes et l’intervention de monteurs à 50 mètres du sol pour l’inspection.


Partenaires de recherche

Research Center for Energy Networks
Swiss Research Foundation for Electricity and Mobile Communication
Fonds national suisse
EPFL
Haute Ecole d'Ingénierie et de Gestion du Canton de Vaud
Institut Paul Scherrer
Hochschule für Technik Rapperswil
Université des sciences appliquées de Zurich
Université de Berne
Lucerne University of Applied Sciences and Arts

  • Le réseau de demain

    Swissgrid entretient un dialogue actif et transparent avec des représentants du monde politique - et ce au niveau communal, régional et national. Au niveau européen, Swissgrid défend ses intérêts et les intérêts de la Suisse dans le cadre de comités et de groupes de travail.

    En savoir plus

  • Postes à pourvoir

    En tant que Société nationale pour l'exploitation du réseau, nous vous proposons des fonctions à la fois passionnantes et importantes. Postulez et rejoignez-nous pour écrire avec nous l'avenir de l'électricité en Suisse.

    En savoir plus

Contact

Titre

Veuillez sélectionner le titre.

Veuillez entrer votre prénom.

Veuillez entrer votre nom.

Veuillez entrer une adresse e-mail valide.

Veuillez entrer votre message.

Veuillez cocher la case.