Electricity price

The Electricity Supply Act (StromVG) and Electricity Supply Ordinance (StromVV) define Swissgrid’s mission and the general conditions for its business activities. Swissgrid calculates the grid usage and ancillary service tariffs for its services every year on the basis of forecasts. Its tariffs are monitored by the Swiss Federal Electricity Commission (ElCom).

Electricity price 2022

The costs for Swissgrid's transmission grid amount to around 8 per cent of the total electricity price that the end consumer pays. In 2023, a Swiss household with an annual consumption of 4,500 kWh will pay a total of CHF 70 towards the costs of the transmission grid operated by Swissgrid.

The majority of the costs for ancillary services are incurred through the provision of control power. Swissgrid uses the control energy made available by the power plants to balance short-term differences between electricity production and consumption. The grid usage tariff covers the costs of renewal, development and maintenance of the transmission grid, as well as of operations and monitoring via the control centres.

Swissgrid charges the grid usage tariffs – a working tariff, a power tariff and the fixed basic tariff per weighted outflow point – to the distribution system operators directly connected to the transmission grid. In turn, they calculate their own tariffs based on their grid costs and Swissgrid's initial grid usage tariffs. For end consumers, such as private households, this means that electricity tariffs often vary by distribution system operator.

For private end consumers, Swissgrid's tariffs for grid usage and individual ancillary services are included on their electricity bill as part of the «grid usage» price component. The general ancillary service tariffs as well as fees for cost-covering remuneration for feed-in to the electricity grid (CRF) and water pollution control are usually listed separately on the electricity bill.


Questions & answers

The costs for end consumers will increase in 2023 compared to 2022. Why is that?

It is true that the tariffs for general ancillary services and for active power losses, in particular, are rising. The costs in the general ancillary services sector are largely attributable to the provision of control power, and in the individual ancillary services sector, costs for active power losses are attributable to the procurement of active power loss energy. The prices of these products correlate with developments on the power markets. At the time of the tariff calculation for 2023, we had to assume that prices would be high, as they have been in recent months. In addition, in the general ancillary services sector we have to reduce a deficit, which is also largely due to the sharp rise in electricity market prices. The tariffs for general AS will therefore increase from 0.16 cents/kWh to 0.46 cents/kWh and the tariff for active power losses from 0.16 cents/kWh to 0.30 cents/kWh.

The tariffs for grid usage are increasing only slightly, while the tariff for reactive energy is actually decreasing.

The world is in an extraordinary situation. Why is Swissgrid raising tariffs at this particular time?

Swissgrid operates in a highly regulated environment, particularly with regard to tariff calculation. Prices on the power market and other external factors also have an impact on tariffs (hydrological conditions, liquidity of the market, bidding behaviour etc.). This situation gives Swissgrid little scope to flexibly adjust its tariffs in line with current economic and political circumstances.

Will tariffs go down again soon? How will tariffs behave in future?

Swissgrid expects greater tariff fluctuations in future.

The forecasting of future tariff development is always full of uncertainty. Procurement costs in the General AS sector in particular are significantly influenced by external factors (market prices, hydrological conditions, liquidity of the market, bidding behaviour etc.), while the procurement costs for active power losses are determined by the prices on the spot market. Swissgrid is committed to keeping tariffs as low as possible by reducing operating and procurement costs as much as it can.

How are Swissgrid tariffs incorporated into electricity bills?

Swissgrid bills the grid usage tariffs – a working tariff, a power tariff and the fixed basic tariff per weighted outflow point – to the distribution system operators directly connected to the transmission grid. In turn, they calculate their own tariffs based on their grid costs and the tariffs charged by Swissgrid for use of the grid. For end consumers such as private households, this means that electricity tariffs often vary according to distribution system operator. This is because the grid usage tariffs paid by end customers include costs for all grid levels in Switzerland.

The general ancillary services tariff is charged directly by Swissgrid to all distribution system operators, who pass it on to their end consumers.

Doesn’t Swissgrid simply want to make as much money as possible?

No. Swissgrid operates in a highly regulated environment. The Electricity Supply Act (StromVG) and Electricity Supply Ordinance (StromVV) define Swissgrid’s mission and the framework conditions for its business activities.

The Swiss Federal Electricity Commission ElCom oversees compliance with StromVG and StromVV. It is the independent, state regulatory authority in the electricity sector and monitors Swissgrid’s business activities. Among other things, it checks the allowability of costs and the tariffs charged by Swissgrid.

Swissgrid calculates each tariff in advance based on projected figures. Within the financial year concerned, the actual costs and income then deviate from the assumptions. With regard to volume- and tariff-related timing differences, it should be noted that according to Art. 19 Para. 2 StromVV, surpluses achieved in the past must be compensated for by reducing tariffs in the future. Higher tariff revenues therefore do not lead to higher profits for Swissgrid.


Downloads

Contact

Title

Please select a title.

Please enter your first name.

Please enter your last name.

Please enter a valid e-mail address.

Please enter your message.

Please click the checkbox.

Prix de l'électricité

La Loi sur l’approvisionnement en électricité (LApEl) et l’Ordonnance sur l’approvisionnement en électricité (OApEl) définissent la mission et les conditions-cadres des activités entrepreneuriales de Swissgrid. Pour ses prestations, Swissgrid calcule tous les ans les tarifs des prestations de services système et les tarifs d’utilisation du réseau sur la base d’estimations. Ses tarifs sont contrôlés par la Commission fédérale de l’électricité (ElCom).

Prix de l'électricité 2022

Les coûts du réseau de transport de Swissgrid représentent environ 8 pourcent du prix total de l’électricité facturé au consommateur final. En 2023, un ménage suisse consommant 4500 kWh par an paiera donc au total CHF 70 pour le réseau de transport exploité par Swissgrid.

Les coûts des prestations de services système sont principalement occasionnés par la mise en réserve de puissance de réglage. L’énergie de réglage mise à disposition par les centrales électriques permet à Swissgrid de compenser les écarts à court terme entre la production d’électricité et la consommation d’électricité. Le tarif d’utilisation du réseau couvre les coûts de rénovation, d’extension et de maintenance du réseau de transport, ainsi que les coûts pour l’exploitation et la surveillance par les centres de contrôle.

Les tarifs d’utilisation du réseau – un tarif de travail, un tarif de puissance et le tarif de base fixe par point de soutirage pondéré – sont facturés par Swissgrid aux gestionnaires de réseau de distribution raccordés directement au réseau de transport. Ces derniers calculent alors leurs propres tarifs sur la base de leurs coûts de réseau et des tarifs d’utilisation du réseau répercutés de Swissgrid. Pour les consommateurs finaux tels que par exemple les ménages privés, les tarifs de l’électricité peuvent donc varier d’un gestionnaire de réseau de distribution à l'autre.

Pour les consommateurs finaux privés, les tarifs d’utilisation du réseau et des prestations de services système individuelles de Swissgrid sont intégrés à la composante de prix «Utilisation du réseau» sur la facture d’électricité. Les tarifs des prestations de services généraux ainsi que les taxes liées à la rétribution à prix coûtant du courant injecté et à la protection des eaux figurent généralement séparément sur les factures d’électricité.


Questions et réponses

Les coûts pour les consommateurs finaux augmentent en 2023 par rapport à 2022. Pourquoi?

En fait, ce sont surtout les tarifs des services-système généraux et des pertes actives qui augmentent. Les coûts des services-système généraux sont dus majoritairement à la mise en réserve de puissance de réglage et, pour les services-système individuels pour les pertes actives, à l’acquisition d’énergie pour les pertes actives. Les prix de ces produits sont en corrélation avec l’évolution des marchés de l’électricité. Au moment de calculer les tarifs pour 2023, nous nous sommes basés sur des prix élevés, tels qu’ils ont été observés ces derniers mois. Nous devons aussi réduire un déficit au niveau des services-système généraux. Déficit qui est également dû en grande partie à la forte hausse des prix du marché de l’électricité. C’est la raison pour laquelle les tarifs pour les PSS généraux passent de 0,16 ct/kWh à 0,46 ct/kWh et le tarif pour les pertes actives de 0,16 ct/kWh à 0,30 ct/kWh.

Les tarifs pour l’utilisation du réseau n’augmentent que légèrement, le tarif pour l’énergie réactive diminue même.

Le monde se trouve dans une situation exceptionnelle. Pourquoi Swissgrid augmente-t-elle les tarifs maintenant?

Swissgrid opère dans un environnement très réglementé, notamment en ce qui concerne le calcul des tarifs. De même, les prix du marché de l’électricité ainsi que d’autres facteurs externes ont un impact sur les tarifs (conditions hydrologiques, liquidité du marché, comportement des soumissionnaires, etc). Cette situation initiale laisse peu de marge de manœuvre à Swissgrid pour adapter ses tarifs de manière flexible aux conditions économiques et politiques actuelles.

Les tarifs vont-ils bientôt baisser? Comment les tarifs se comporteront-ils à l’avenir?

Swissgrid s’attend à des fluctuations plus importantes des tarifs à l’avenir.

Les prévisions sur l’évolution future des tarifs sont toujours liées à des impondérables. Les charges d’approvisionnement de la branche des PSS généraux, en particulier, sont largement influencées par des facteurs externes (prix du marché, conditions hydrologiques, liquidité du marché, comportement des soumissionnaires, etc.); les charges d’approvisionnement pour les pertes actives sont déterminées par les prix sur le marché spot. Swissgrid s’engage à maintenir les tarifs aussi bas que possible en réduisant les coûts d’exploitation et d’acquisition autant que possible.

Comment les tarifs de Swissgrid sont-ils intégrés dans la facture d’électricité?

Les tarifs pour l’utilisation du réseau – un tarif de travail, un tarif de puissance ainsi que le tarif de base fixe par point de soutirage pondéré – sont facturés par Swissgrid aux gestionnaires de réseau de distribution raccordés directement au réseau de transport. Ceux-ci calculent à leur tour leurs propres tarifs sur la base de leurs coûts de réseau et des tarifs d’utilisation du réseau de Swissgrid répercutés. Pour le consommateur final, par exemple les ménages privés, les tarifs de l’électricité peuvent donc fortement varier en fonction du gestionnaire de réseau de distribution. En effet, les tarifs d’utilisation du réseau payés par les clients finaux comprennent des coûts pour tous les niveaux de réseau en Suisse.

Le tarif général de services-système est facturé directement par Swissgrid à tous les gestionnaires de réseau de distribution qui le répercutent sur leurs consommateurs finaux.

Swissgrid ne souhaite-t-elle pas simplement encaisser le plus d’argent possible?

Non. Swissgrid évolue dans un environnement fortement réglementé. La loi sur l’approvisionnement en électricité (LApEl) et l’ordonnance sur l’approvisionnement en électricité (OApEl) définissent la mission et les conditions générales des activités entrepreneuriales de Swissgrid.

La Commission fédérale de l’électricité ElCom contrôle le respect des directives de la LApEl et de l’OApEl. Elle est l’autorité de régulation indépendante de l'État dans le domaine de l’électricité et surveille les activités d’exploitation de Swissgrid. Elle vérifie notamment l’imputabilité des coûts et les tarifs facturés par Swissgrid.

Swissgrid calcule les tarifs à chaque fois sur la base de prévisions. Durant l’exercice concerné, les recettes et les coûts réels peuvent ainsi différer des hypothèses utilisées pour déterminer les tarifs. En ce qui concerne les différences de couverture, il convient de noter que, conformément à l’art. 19, al. 2 OApEl, les excédents de couverture réalisés dans le passé doivent être compensés par une baisse des tarifs à l’avenir. Des recettes tarifaires plus élevées n’entraînent donc pas une augmentation des bénéfices de Swissgrid.


Téléchargements

Contact

Titre

Veuillez sélectionner le titre.

Veuillez entrer votre prénom.

Veuillez entrer votre nom.

Veuillez entrer une adresse e-mail valide.

Veuillez entrer votre message.

Veuillez cocher la case.