Emissions

Electromagnetic field

When it comes to power lines or electrical devices, electromagnetic radiation and its potential risks are often a topic of discussion. Strictly speaking, this radiation consists of electric and magnetic fields. Exposure limits are in place to protect us from adverse health impacts. Switzerland’s limits are among the strictest in the world.

Electric and magnetic fields

Electric and magnetic fields are produced wherever electricity is generated, transported and used. As soon as a device is connected to a power socket, in your home for instance, it carries voltage. This creates an electric field, even if the device remains switched off and no current flows. Once the device is switched on and current is flowing, a magnetic field is created in addition to the electric field. The strength of the magnetic field is measured in microteslas (μT).

As soon as a device is connected to an electrical outlet, it contains a voltage. An electric field is created even if the device remains switched off and no current flows. The voltage determines the intensity of the electric field and is measured in volt per metre (V/m).

Static fields and alternating fields

Direct current, which is used in conventional electronic consumer goods such as computers, mobile phones or cameras, creates static electric and magnetic fields. These have a constant field strength.

However, in the case of alternating current, which comes out of the power sockets in every household, the voltage and current intensity change in a regular rhythm, the frequency. The electricity grid has a frequency of 50 Hz.

The intensity of a magnetic field is dependent on the current intensity and not on the voltage. The lower the current intensity on a line, the lower the magnetic field around the line. As a rule, the capacity of extra-high-voltage lines is not fully utilised, as the transmission grid is operated in such a way that in the event of a line failure, the current can flow via other lines.

The intensity of electric and magnetic fields decrease with distance. The greater the distance to the conductor or cable, the lower the electric and magnetic fields. In the case of cables in households, the fields are almost insignificant just a few decimetres away. In the case of extra-high-voltage lines working at fully capacity, this distance is around one hundred metres.

Strength of the magnetic field at ground level in microteslas (line under full load at 2240 A)

Limits – Switzerland has one of the strictest guidelines in the world

The exposure limit for a magnetic field of 100 microteslas protects against all scientifically known adverse health effects. It applies everywhere that people may be present. In addition, the Swiss Environmental Protection Act demands that the population also be protected from health risks that are not yet proven, but conceivable. The legal installation limit of 1 microtesla is used for this purpose. This limit applies wherever people spend longer periods of time, for example in bedrooms or living rooms, schools or on playgrounds. This is one of the strictest limits in Europe. Both limits apply to the maximum utilisation of a line.

  Electric field Magnetic field
Formation As soon as a device is connected to a power socket, even if it is not switched on. As soon as current flows.
Intensity determined by: Voltage (Volt) The amount of current flowing (Ampere)
Intensity measured in: Kilovolt per metre (kV/m) Microtesla (µT)
Limits (CH) 5 kV/m 100 µT (exposure limit)
1 µT (installation limit)

Effects on health

The brain controls the body via electric signals, which should not be disturbed. Electric fields are largely prevented from entering the body by clothes and the skin. Magnetic fields produced by alternating current whenever current is transmitted, on the other hand, easily penetrate house walls and the body. If sufficiently strong, they can influence the biological signals. The limits are therefore set so that health risks are ruled out. The effects of weak, long-term exposure (alternating fields with field strengths below the installation limit of 1 microtesla) have still not been scientifically proven.

Magnetic fields exist around overhead lines and underground cabling

The magnetic field is much stronger right above underground cabling than it is below an overhead line. On the ground, where people normally are, the magnetic field for overhead lines is a few microtesla while it can reach up to 100 microtesla for underground cabling.

Spatial expansion of the magnetic field

For overhead lines, the 1 microtesla limit is observed at a distance of approx. 60-80 metres from the conductors.
1/2: For overhead lines, the 1 microtesla limit is observed at a distance of approx. 60-80 metres from the conductors.
For underground cabling, this distance is approx. 6-8 metres.
2/2: For underground cabling, this distance is approx. 6-8 metres.

Sources: The following content is reproduced with the kind permission of the Swiss Research Foundation for Electricity and Mobile Communication at the ETH Zurich. www.emf.ethz.ch


Measurements and calculations


Cooperation with research

Swissgrid has entered into a partnership with the Swiss Research Foundation for Electricity and Mobile Communication (FSM), a non-profit research foundation at the ETH Zurich. The FSM promotes research on technological, biological, health-related and social issues in the context of electromagnetic fields of radio and electricity technologies. The foundation also provides consulting for the authorities, companies and organisations, hosts conferences and imparts expert knowledge to the general public.

FSM website


Noise

Unfavourable weather conditions in particular, such as rain, hoar frost or wet snow, can cause local electrical discharge in power lines. In electrical engineering, this process is known as corona discharge. The phenomenon can produce noises described as crackling or humming.

In Switzerland we have an emissions limit of 55 decibels in residential areas (45 decibels at night), which must be adhered to by law. The noise pollution from a busy street is over 80 decibels. Where necessary, Swissgrid employs all technical means to limit the corona effect. Corona noises are not present in underground lines.

The following movies show the sound intensity of high voltage power lines compared to more common ambient noise:


Environment

Environmental impact assessment

As part of the approval process (UVP), the environmental impact assessment examines whether a project complies with the legal regulations for environmental protection. The environmental impact assessment report (UVB) is the basis for the examination. As the client, Swissgrid is responsible for the preparation and submittal of the UVB documents. However, an independent, professionally qualified office is normally commissioned to prepare the UVB. Various issues are dealt with in the report, including noise, non-ionising radiation, water, soil, contamination, forest, biotope and vegetation, fauna and habitat, landscape and visual character, cultural monuments and archaeological sites.

Environmental supervision

Environmental supervision (UBB) looks after and monitors environmental concerns during construction and supports the client in the legally compliant and environmentally compatible execution of the construction project. In the process, it ensures compliance with environmental laws, regulations, guidelines, instructions and requirements of the planning approval decision. They advise and support the participants, observe and evaluate environmental problems on the construction site and ensure legally compliant execution of the project.

Downloads

Contact

Title

Please select a title.

Please enter your first name.

Please enter your last name.

Please enter a valid e-mail address.

Please enter your message.

Please click the checkbox.

Emissions

Champs électromagnétiques

Quand on parle de lignes électriques ou d’appareils électriques, le sujet des rayonnements électromagnétiques et de leurs risques potentiels revient souvent. Ces rayonnements sont à proprement parler des champs électriques et magnétiques. Des valeurs limites nous protègent des effets négatifs pour la santé. Les valeurs limites en Suisse font partie des plus strictes au monde.

Champs électriques et magnétiques

Des champs électriques et magnétiques sont générés sur tous les lieux de production, de transport et d'utilisation de courant. Ainsi, dès qu'un appareil est branché, par exemple à la maison, il est sous tension. Il en résulte un champ électrique, même si l'appareil reste éteint et qu’aucun courant ne circule. Lorsqu'il est allumé, le courant circulece qui engendre, en plus du champ électrique, un champ magnétique dont la puissance se mesure en microtesla (μT)

Dès qu’un appareil est branché à une prise électrique, il est sous tension. Même si l’appareil est éteint et qu’aucun courant ne passe, un champ électrique se forme.

Champs statiques et champs alternatifs

Le courant continu utilisé dans les biens électroniques de consommation courants comme les ordinateurs, les téléphones portables ou les appareils photo, produit des champs magnétiques et électriques statiques.  Ces derniers ont une puissance constante.

En revanche, pour le courant alternatif, présent dans tous les foyers dans les prises électriques, la tension et l’intensité du courant changent à un rythme régulier, appelé fréquence. Le réseau électrique a une fréquence de 50 Hz.

La puissance d'un champ magnétique dépend de l’intensité du courant, et non pas de la tension. Plus l’intensité du courant sur une ligne est faible, plus le champ magnétique autour de la ligne est donc également faible. En règle générale, les lignes à très haute tension ne sont pas utilisées à leur pleine capacité étant donné que le réseau de transport est exploité de sorte que le courant puisse circuler sur d’autres lignes en cas de défaillance d’une ligne.

La puissance des champs électriques et magnétiques diminue avec la distance. Plus on s’éloigne du conducteur ou du câble, plus les champs électriques et magnétiques sont faibles. Pour les câbles présents dans les foyers, quelques dizaines de centimètres suffisent pour que les champs disparaissent en grande partie. Pour les lignes à très haute tension à pleine charge, cette distance s’élève à environ cent mètres.

Intensité du champ magnétique au niveau du sol en microteslas (ligne à pleine charge à 2240 A)

Valeurs limites – la Suisse a une des réglementations les plus strictes au monde

La valeur limite d’immissions de 100 microteslas pour les champs magnétiques protège en particulier des atteintes à la santé scientifiquement reconnues. Elle s’applique partout où des personnes pourraient séjourner. La Loi suisse sur la protection de l’environnement exige en outre de protéger également la population des risques pour la santé aujourd’hui non avérés mais envisageables. C’est à cela que sert la valeur limite de l’installation de 1 microtesla. Elle s'applique partout où des personnes séjournent durablement, par exemple dans les salons ou les chambres, les écoles ou les aires de jeux. C’est une des valeurs limites les plus strictes en Europe. Les deux valeurs limites s’appliquent pour la charge maximale d’une ligne.

  Champ électrique Champ magnétique
Génération Si un appareil est branché sur une prise – même s'il est éteint. Quand le courant circule.
Puissance déterminée par: Tension (Volt) Quantité de courant transmise (Ampère)
Mesure de la puissance en: Kilovolt par mètre (kV/m) Microtesla (µT)
Valeurs limites (CH) 5 kV/m 100 µT (valeur limite d'immission)
1 µT (valeur limite d'immission)

Effets sur la santé

Le cerveau commandele corps par des signaux électriques qui ne doivent pas être perturbés. Les vêtements et la peau forment une barrière efficace pour éviter que les champs électriques ne pénètrent dans le corps. Les champs magnétiques générés par le courant alternatif au contraire, comme c’est le cas lors du transport d'électricité, traversent facilement les murs des maisons, ainsi que le corps.  Ces derniers peuvent, en cas de puissance suffisante, avoir une influence sur les signaux naturels. Les valeurs limites sont néanmoins fixées de manière à exclure tout risque pour la santé. Les scientifiques n’ont à ce jour pas prouvé les effets des expositions faibles de longue durée (champs alternatifs avec puissance inférieure à la valeur limite de l’installation de 1 microtesla).

Les champs magnétiques sont présents dans les lignes aériennes comme dans les lignes souterraines

Le champ magnétique directement sur une ligne souterraine est nettement supérieur à celui sous une ligne aérienne. Au niveau du sol, là où se trouve l‘homme, le champ magnétique d’une ligne aérienne compte peu de microtesla alors que celui d’une ligne souterraine s’élève jusqu’à 100 microtesla.

Diffusion spatiale du champ magnétique

La valeur limite de 1 microtesla d’une ligne aérienne se situe à une distance d’environ 60 à 80 mètres des conducteurs.
1/2: La valeur limite de 1 microtesla d’une ligne aérienne se situe à une distance d’environ 60 à 80 mètres des conducteurs.
Pour une ligne souterraine, cette valeur limite est atteinte à une distance de 6 à 8 mètres déjà.
2/2: Pour une ligne souterraine, cette valeur limite est atteinte à une distance de 6 à 8 mètres déjà.

Source: ces contenus sont transmis avec l'aimable autorisation de la Fondation suisse pour la recherche sur l'électricité et la communication mobile de l'EPF de Zurich. www.emf.ethz.ch


Mesurages et calculs


Collaboration avec la recherche

Swissgrid a conclu un partenariat avec FSM (Forschungsstiftung Strom- und Mobilkommunikation), une fondation à but non lucratif établie à l’ETH de Zürich. FSM promeut la recherche sur les questions techniques, biologiques, sanitaires et sociales en relation avec les champs électromagnétiques des technologies radio et électriques. Par ailleurs, FSM conseille les autorités, les entreprises et les organisations, met sur pied des séminaires et fournit des informations factuelles au grand public.

Site web FSM


Bruit

Des décharges électriques locales peuvent se produire au niveau des lignes électriques, notamment en cas de conditions météorologiques défavorables, par exemple en cas de pluie, de givre ou de neige mouillée. En électrotechnique, ce phénomène est appelé «décharge coronaire». Il peut générer des bruits décrits comme des grésillements ou des bourdonnements.

Une limite d’émission de 55 décibels dans les zones habitées (45 décibels durant la nuit) est applicable en Suisse et doit impérativement être respectée. Le niveau sonore d’une rue à grande circulation dépasse 80 décibels. Partout où cela est nécessaire, Swissgrid s’efforce de réduire ces effets coronaires par tous les moyens techniques possibles. Dans le cas des lignes souterraines, les bruits dus à l’effet de couronne disparaissent.

Les films suivants montrent la puissance du son des lignes à très haute tension comparée aux bruits plus connus:


Environnement

Étude de l’impact sur l’environnement

L’étude de l’impact sur l’environnement (EIE) permet, dans le cadre de la procédure d’autorisation, de contrôler si un projet respecte les prescriptions légales sur la protection de l’environnement. Le contrôle se base sur le rapport d’impact sur l’environnement (RIE). En tant que maître d’ouvrage, Swissgrid est responsable de l’élaboration et de la remise des documents du RIE. Toutefois, l’élaboration du RIE est en règle générale confiée à un bureau d’ingénierie indépendant et spécialisé. Différents aspects sont traités dans le rapport, dont le bruit, les rayonnements non ionisants, les eaux, les sols, les décharges désaffectées, les forêts, les biotopes et la végétation, la faune et ses habitats naturels, les paysages, les sites construits ainsi que les monuments historiques et les sites archéologiques.

Suivi environnemental

Le suivi environnemental de la phase de réalisation (SER) traite et pilote les considérations environnementales lors de la construction et assiste la maîtrise d’ouvrage pour une réalisation du projet de construction conforme à la loi et respectueuse de l’environnement. Ce faisant, il veille au respect des lois, ordonnances, dispositions, directives en matière de protection de l’environnement ainsi qu’aux obligations relatives à la décision d’approbation des plans. Il conseille et assiste les parties prenantes, observe et évalue les problèmes environnementaux sur le chantier et s’assure que le projet est réalisé en conformité avec les réglementations en vigueur.

Téléchargements

Contact

Titre

Veuillez sélectionner le titre.

Veuillez entrer votre prénom.

Veuillez entrer votre nom.

Veuillez entrer une adresse e-mail valide.

Veuillez entrer votre message.

Veuillez cocher la case.