Landowners

A large part of the 6,700-kilometre transmission grid passes through private property. Easement contracts are required so that Swissgrid and its contracted service providers can maintain and extend the grid. In these easement contracts, landowners grant Swissgrid the right to build a line on their land and to access or drive onto that land for the purposes of maintaining the line. In return, the owners receive remuneration as defined in the contract.

Easements are generally established for the following rights or restrictions:

  • Transit rights for lines (including construction rights)
  • Transit rights for third-party data
  • Suppression of plants and trees in the line area (planting restrictions)
  • Right to drive, right of way and right of access for maintenance of the installations
  • Construction and usage restrictions in the line area

FAQ

How long will the land be encumbered by the easement?

This is stipulated in the easement contract. A contract is either concluded for a limited term and has to be renewed if the line will continue operating once the contract expires or it is concluded for an indefinite period, for as long as the line is needed and operated. In this case, the easement terminates with the removal of the line.

In the past, electricity companies have handled contract durations differently («whilst the line is in place», a 50-year term or other terms). In accordance with recommendations from the Association of Swiss Electricity Companies (VSE), Swissgrid will always conclude new contracts with a term «whilst the line is in place».

If a landowner signs a contract for an indefinite period («whilst the line is in place»), does that mean the line will remain in place forever?

Signing an easement contract with an indefinite term («whilst the line is in place») means that the contract is valid for as long as the line exists. This means that the contract becomes invalid as soon as the line is dismantled.

Under no circumstances does an easement contract define how long the line remains in operation – regardless of whether the respective contract stipulates a fixed or indefinite term. Unlike a limited-term contract, an agreement lasting «whilst the line is in place» only means that there is no need to renew the rights.

When is remuneration paid for the transit rights granted?

If the transit right is not for a fixed duration but rather is granted for the complete service life of the line, supplemental remuneration generally takes place every 25 years. For contracts with a fixed term, remuneration is paid on conclusion of the easement contract for the entire term of the contract. The easement contract itself stipulates the exact rules governing remuneration.

According to what principles are landowners affected by lines compensated?

Remuneration is based on the type of land affected, the suitability of the site for cultivation, the type of easement, etc. Easements are compensated based on the difficulties caused by the line that are tangible at the time the line is erected, at the time the rights are renewed or at the time supplemental remuneration is paid.

Most Swissgrid easements relate to agricultural land. Here the amount of remuneration is based on the joint recommendations of the Swiss Farmers' Union (SBV) and the Association of Swiss Electricity Companies (VSE). The applicable remuneration methods can be obtained from the Swiss Farmers' Union Treuhand und Schätzungen department.

Are there different remuneration methods for agricultural land and land with planning permission?

Yes. Easements for agricultural areas are not compensated in the same way as land with planning permission. If a line crosses land with planning permission, a construction limitation is normally agreed as an easement and the remuneration is calculated based on this.

How do the transit rights for underground and overground lines differ?

There is no formal difference between transit rights for underground and overground lines. However, because underground lines are not visible, it is mandatory to enter the easement for underground lines in the land register. This is not required with overhead lines. The content of easements for underground and overground lines can vary slightly. For example, cable lines often require building and planting restrictions to secure constant access to the line at any time without major effort.

Can a landowner demand that an existing line be relocated or cabled?

By concluding an easement contract, the landowner undertakes to make available their land for the operation of the line, in the scope as stated in the contract and for the agreed amount of time, and is compensated accordingly. If the landowner demands that an easement or a line be relocated due to a change in usage requirements, then the landowner shall be liable for any and all related costs (Article 742 Paragraph 1 SCC).


Service provider

On 1 January 2016, Alpiq EnerTrans became the sole service provider to Swissgrid on matters of easement management.


Contact

Do you have questions about or want to change your easement contract? Contact us using our contact form or by phone.

Phone +41 848 010 020


Contact

Title

Please select

Please fill in this field

Please fill in this field

Please enter a valid e-mail address

Please fill in this field

Contact

Title

Please select

Please fill in this field

Please fill in this field

Please fill in this field

Please fill in this field

Please fill in this field

Country

Please select

Please enter a valid e-mail address

Please fill in this field

Please fill in this field

Grundeigentümer

Ein Grossteil des 6700 Kilometer umfassenden Übertragungsnetzes führt über private Grundstücke. Damit Swissgrid und ihre beauftragten Dienstleister das Netz unterhalten oder gezielt weiterentwickeln können, braucht es sogenannte Dienstbarkeitsverträge. In einem solchen Dienstbarkeitsvertrag erteilen die Grundeigentümer Swissgrid das Recht, eine Leitung auf ihrem Grundstück zu bauen und für deren Unterhalt das Gelände zu betreten beziehungsweise zu befahren. Im Gegenzug erhalten die Eigentümer eine im Vertrag festgelegte Entschädigung.

In der Regel werden Dienstbarkeiten für folgende Rechte beziehungsweise Beschränkungen errichtet:

  • Durchleitungsrechte für Leitungen (inkl. Recht Bauwerke)
  • Durchleitungsrechte für Daten Dritter
  • Niederhaltung von Pflanzen und Bäumen im Leitungsbereich (Pflanzbeschränkungen)
  • Fahr-, Weg- und Zutrittsrechte für die Instandhaltung der Anlagen
  • Bau- und Nutzungsbeschränkungen im Leitungsbereich

FAQ

Wie lange wird das Grundstück mit der Dienstbarkeit belastet?

Dies ist im Dienstbarkeitsvertrag geregelt. Der Vertrag ist entweder zeitlich befristet und muss erneuert werden, wenn die Leitung nach seinem Ablauf weiterbetrieben werden soll. Oder er ist auf unbestimmte Dauer abgeschlossen, und zwar so lange, wie die Leitung benötigt und betrieben wird. Die Dienstbarkeit endet in diesem Fall mit dem Rückbau der Leitung.

Die Elektrizitätsgesellschaften haben in der Vergangenheit die Dauer der Verträge unterschiedlich gehandhabt («auf Bestand der Leitung», befristet auf 50 Jahre oder andere Fristen). Swissgrid wird, entsprechend den Empfehlungen des VSE, neue Verträge immer auf Bestand einer Leitung abschliessen.

Wenn ein Grundeigentümer einen Vertrag auf unbestimmte Dauer («Bestand der Leitung») unterschreibt, bleibt dann die Leitung für immer bestehen?

Die Unterzeichnung eines Dienstbarkeitsvertrags auf unbestimmte Dauer («Bestand der Leitung») bedeutet, dass der Vertrag so lange Gültigkeit hat wie die Leitung besteht. Der Vertrag wird also hinfällig, sobald die Leitung zurückgebaut ist.

Ein Dienstbarkeitsvertrag bestimmt in keinem Fall wie lange die Leitung in Betrieb ist – unabhängig davon, ob eine zeitlich befristete oder unbefristete Dauer vertraglich festgehalten wurde. Im Unterschied zur zeitlich befristeten Vertragsdauer bedeutet eine vereinbarte Dauer «auf Bestand der Leitung» lediglich, dass keine Rechtserneuerung notwendig wird.

Wann werden die Entschädigungen für das gewährte Durchleitungsrecht ausbezahlt?

Ist das Durchleitungsrecht nicht für eine bestimmte Dauer, sondern für die ganze Lebensdauer der Leitung gewährt worden, findet in der Regel alle 25 Jahre eine Nachentschädigung statt. Für zeitlich befristete Verträge wird die Entschädigung bei Abschluss des Dienstbarkeitsvertrags für die gesamte Dauer des Vertrags ausbezahlt. Im Dienstbarkeitsvertrag ist die genaue Entschädigungsregelung enthalten.

Nach welchen Grundsätzen werden von Leitungen betroffene Grundeigentümer entschädigt?

Die Entschädigung richtet sich nach der Art des betroffenen Grundstücks, der Anbaueignung des Standorts, der Art der Dienstbarkeit etc. Basis für die Entschädigung von Dienstbarkeiten bilden die zum Zeitpunkt der Errichtung bzw. Rechtserneuerung oder Nachentschädigung erkennbaren Erschwernisse, welche durch die Leitung verursacht werden.

Die meisten Dienstbarkeiten von Swissgrid betreffen landwirtschaftliche Grundstücke. Hier richtet sich die Entschädigung nach den gemeinsamen Empfehlungen des Schweizerischen Bauernverbands (SBV) und des Verbands Schweizerischer Elektrizitätsunternehmen (VSE). Die geltenden Entschädigungsansätze können bei SBV Treuhand und Schätzungen bezogen werden.

Gibt es unterschiedliche Entschädigungsansätze für landwirtschaftliche Grundstücke und Bauland?

Ja. Dienstbarkeiten für landwirtschaftliche Flächen werden nicht gleich entschädigt wie Bauland. Wenn eine Leitung über Bauland führt, wird üblicherweise eine Baubeschränkung als Dienstbarkeit vereinbart und gestützt darauf die Entschädigung berechnet.

Worin unterscheiden sich Durchleitungsrechte für oberirdische und unterirdische Leitungen?

Formal gibt es keine Unterschiede zwischen Durchleitungsrechten für unterirdische und oberirdische Leitungen. Da unterirdische Leitungen nicht sichtbar sind, muss die Dienstbarkeit bei unterirdischen Leitungen zwingend im Grundbuch eingetragen werden. Bei Freileitungen ist dies nicht erforderlich. Inhaltlich können sich die Dienstbarkeiten für unterirdische und oberirdische Leitungen leicht unterscheiden. So sind bspw. bei Kabelleitungen regelmässig Bau- und Pflanzbeschränkungen notwendig sind, damit der Zugang zur Leitung jederzeit ohne grösseren Aufwand gewährleistet ist.

Kann die Verlegung oder Verkabelung einer bestehenden Leitung verlangt werden?

Mit Abschluss des Dienstbarkeitsvertrags verpflichtet sich der Grundeigentümer, sein Grundstück zum Betrieb der Leitung im vertraglich umschriebenen Umfang während der vereinbarten Zeit zur Verfügung zu stellen und wird dafür entschädigt. Verlangt der belastete Grundeigentümer aufgrund veränderter Nutzungsbedürfnisse eine Verlegung der Dienstbarkeit bzw. der Leitung, so hat er die damit verbundenen Kosten selber zu übernehmen (Art. 742 Abs. 1 ZGB).


Dienstleister

Seit dem 1. Januar 2016 stellt Alpiq EnerTrans als alleiniger Dienstleister im Auftrag von Swissgrid das Dienstbarkeitsmanagement sicher.


Kontakt Dienstbarkeiten

Haben Sie Änderungen oder Fragen zu Ihrem Dienstbarkeitsvertrag? Kontaktieren Sie uns über das Kontaktformular oder rufen Sie an.

Telefon +41 848 010 020


Kontakt

Anrede

Bitte auswählen

Bitte füllen Sie dieses Feld aus

Bitte füllen Sie dieses Feld aus

Bitte geben Sie eine gültige E-Mail Adresse ein

Bitte füllen Sie dieses Feld aus

Kontakt

Anrede

Bitte auswählen

Bitte füllen Sie dieses Feld aus

Bitte füllen Sie dieses Feld aus

Bitte füllen Sie dieses Feld aus

Bitte füllen Sie dieses Feld aus

Bitte füllen Sie dieses Feld aus

Land

Bitte auswählen

Bitte geben Sie eine gültige E-Mail Adresse ein

Bitte füllen Sie dieses Feld aus

Bitte füllen Sie dieses Feld aus