Grid technologies

Overhead line or cable?

The decision on whether to install a high-voltage line as an overhead line or as an underground cable is based on a wide range of criteria. That's why Swissgrid checks the cable and overhead line options for every grid project.

At the extra-high-voltage level (220 kV and 380 kV), electricity is currently predominantly transported using overhead lines. The air acts as a perfect insulator here, and the heat created by the electricity flow can be transferred well to the surroundings. In the winter, the low temperatures allow much more electricity to be transported than in the summer.

For voltages of up to 150 kV, underground cables are used where possible. Underground cables have been extensively tried and tested in this lower voltage range. By contrast, too few reliable empirical values are available at the extra-high-voltage level for distances of more than one

Freileitung
1/5: An overhead line consists of the totality of all phase and earth conductors on a supporting structure and is installed above ground. Overhead lines are used almost exclusively worldwide for energy transmission at high voltage levels, such as 220 and 380 kilovolts. The air surrounding the conductor serves as insulation.
Rohrblock
2/5: Concrete tube blocks are laid in open-air at approx. 1 to 2 meters deep. The width of the wiring trench is approx. 5 meters. A minimum width of approx. 25 meters is required for the construction.
Tunnelbau
3/5: To install underground cables without trenches, tunnels of approx. 3 to 4 meters in diameter are constructed in the form of galleries or microtunnelling. The cables are placed on specific cable holders.
Gesteuerte Bohrung
4/5: A drill head to control the digging direction under the obstacles of the surface. To prevent them from collapsing, a stabilizing liquid is squirted behind the drill head and the empty tubes for the cables are laid. This type of construction is suitable for short distances, for example, passages under rivers or roads.
5/5: Transfer between overhead lines and underground cables: Additional factors have to be taken into account when different technologies are used along a line. Among other things, line routing becomes more challenging, because connecting the underground cable with the overhead line requires the construction of cable transfer stations the size of an ice hockey rink. Ensuring that the cable transfer stations and cable trench route are positioned to avoid existing (traffic) infrastructure poses major challenges for the project planners and engineers.

  • Emissions

    It is hard to imagine our daily life without the numerous electronic gadgets and tools. However, we are much less aware that electric and magnetic fields are formed everywhere electricity is present: including in the generation, transmission and distribution of electric energy.

    Learn more

  • Research & development

    Swissgrid cooperates with universities to develop the new technologies and methods required to enable the efficient and secure transmission of energy.

    Learn more

Contact

Title

Please select a title.

Please enter your first name.

Please enter your last name.

Please enter a valid e-mail address.

Please enter your message.

Please click the checkbox.

Netztechnologien

Freileitung oder Kabel?

Ob eine Hochspannungsleitung als Freileitung gebaut oder in Form eines Kabels in den Boden verlegt werden soll, wird auf Grundlage verschiedenster Kriterien entschieden. Deshalb prüft Swissgrid bei jedem Netzprojekt Varianten mit Kabel und Freileitung.

Auf Höchstspannungsebene (220 kV und 380 kV) wird der Strom bislang weitgehend über Freileitungen transportiert. Die Luft dient dabei als optimaler Isolator. Die durch den Stromfluss entstehende Wärme kann gut an die Umwelt abgegeben werden. Im Winter lässt sich wegen den tieferen Temperaturen deutlich mehr Strom als im Sommer transportieren.

Bis zu einer Spannung von 150 kV werden, sofern möglich, Erdkabel eingesetzt. In diesen niedrigeren Spannungsebenen sind die Erdkabel breit erprobt. Verlässliche Erfahrungswerte auf der Höchstspannungsebene mit Distanzen über einem Kilometer Länge liegen hingegen noch zu wenig vor.

Freileitung
1/5: Eine Freileitung besteht aus der Gesamtheit aller Phasen- und Erdleiter auf einem Tragwerk und wird oberirdisch geführt. Zur Energieübertragung auf der Höchstspannungsebene wie z.B. 220 und 380 Kilovolt setzt man weltweit überwiegend Freileitungen ein. Als Isolation dient die den Leiter umgebende Luft.
Rohrblock
2/5: Betonrohrblöcke werden in offener Bauweise in ca. 1 - 2 m Tiefe verlegt. Die Breite des Kabelgrabens beträgt ca. 5 m. Für den Bau ist eine minimale Breite von ca. 25 m notwendig
Tunnelbau
3/5: Um Erdkabel grabenlos zu verlegen, werden im Stollenbau oder Pressvortrieb Tunnel von ca. 3 - 4 m Durchmesser gebaut. Die Kabel werden auf speziellen Kabelträgern geführt.
Gesteuerte Bohrung
4/5: Ein richtungsgesteuerter Bohrkopf untergräbt oberflächliche Hindernisse. Damit diese nicht einstürzen, wird stabilisierende Flüssigkeit hinter den Bohrkopf gepumpt und Leerrohre für die Kabel werden eingezogen. Diese Bauweise eignet sich für kurze Distanzen wie die Unterquerung von Gewässern oder Strassen.
5/5: Übergang Freileitung Kabelstrecke: Kommen unterschiedliche Technologien innerhalb einer Leitung zur Anwendung, gilt es zusätzliche Faktoren zu berücksichtigen. Dazu gehört, dass die Trasseeführung anspruchsvoller wird. Denn für die Verbindung der Erdkabel mit der Freileitung ist jeweils ein Übergangsbauwerk in der Grösse eines Eishockeyfeldes notwendig. Bei der Platzierung von Übergangsbauwerken sowie bei der Trasseeführung des Kabelgrabens stellen z.B. die Querung von bestehenden (Verkehrs­) Infrastrukturen beachtliche Herausforderungen für Projektierung und Umsetzung dar.

  • Emissionen

    Unseren Alltag können wir uns ohne zahlreiche elektronische Begleiter und Hilfsmittel kaum mehr vorstellen. Viel weniger sind wir uns allerdings bewusst, dass überall dort, wo Strom vorhanden ist, elektrische und magnetische Felder entstehen: auch bei Produktion, Transport und Verteilung von elektrischer Energie.

    Mehr erfahren

  • Forschung & Entwicklung

    Zusammen mit Hochschulen entwickelt Swissgrid neue Technologien und Methoden, die für die effiziente und sichere Übertragung der Energie erforderlich sind.

    Mehr erfahren

Downloads

Kontakt

Anrede

Bitte wählen Sie die Anrede aus.

Bitte geben Sie Ihren Vornamen an.

Bitte geben Sie Ihren Nachnamen an.

Bitte geben Sie eine gültige E-Mail Adresse ein.

Geben Sie bitte Ihre Nachricht ein.

Klicken Sie bitte die Checkbox an.