Swissgrid is responsible for all of this

Keeping the transmission system stable, safe and secure takes seamlessly operating infrastructure, continuous management of power flows and cooperation with partners. In addition to transmitting electrical energy, Swissgrid provides ancillary services to ensure the secure supply of electricity.

Das alles macht Swiissgrid

1 Generation

Swissgrid does not generate any electricity, but transports the energy produced by the power plants to the consumption centres. The power plant operators help Swissgrid ensure grid stability by providing control energy. This is a reserve that Swissgrid uses in the event of an imbalance between production and consumption: when electricity consumption increases, Swissgrid has them feed more energy into the grid. When it falls, less energy is fed in.

2 Grid operations

The transmission system only works when the production and consumption of electricity are in balance. That makes Swissgrid's grid control rooms the heart of the transmission system. From here, operators monitor the grid around the clock and ensure that this balance is always maintained and the energy is transported safely and securely. They coordinate the electricity generation timetables, preventing congestion and overloading. This is achieved, for example, by connecting and isolating lines in switchgear systems or by a redispatch, i.e. instructing different power plants to increase or reduce their output.

3 Market development

Swissgrid doesn't just invest in the operation and modernisation of the transmission grid to ensure system security; it also invests in market development. By structuring tenders for the national and domestic procurement of control reserves more efficiently, Swissgrid can access more providers and so reduce procurement costs. Swissgrid also develops innovative product solutions and new price mechanisms which helps providers such as hydropower plants to better market their high level of flexibility in production, and to enable the use of new technologies, such as batteries.

4 Maintenance and repairs

Swissgrid inspects, maintains and repairs pylons, lines, substations and switchgear systems as and when required. This is the only way to ensure that the equipment can be operated safely. The responsibility for doing so lies with the plant managers who work at the seven locations.

5 Infrastructure

Swissgrid is responsible for the planning, replacement and dismantling of the entire transmission grid infrastructure. This is a challenging task, because bottlenecks already exist, new power plants are connecting to the grid and momentum on the electricity markets is constantly increasing. Further development of the transmission grid therefore required. All this does not automatically mean more lines, but primarily systematic modernisation and even dismantling.

6 Networking

Switzerland is part of the European interconnected grid – a form of networking and international cooperation which it relies upon. To overcome electricity bottlenecks in the winter months, for example. And to compensate for power plant failures or over-production. In return, as a transit country and with its pumped storage power plants, Switzerland plays an important role in this integrated European system as a major energy storage facility.

7 Consumption

With the exception of the Swiss Federal Railway (SBB), no consumers are connected directly to the transmission grid. In spite of that, the consumers play an important role in ensuring the stability of the grid. If there is a threat of an imbalance, Swissgrid asks refrigerated warehouses or waste incineration plants, for example, to cut down their energy consumption.

8 Switching substations

The switchgear systems housed in the substations are nodes between lines. Here, the energy is transformed to a lower voltage level and passed on to the lower grid levels. Swissgrid’s grid control rooms also isolate and connect lines in the switching substations by means of switching operations, in order to guide the energy flows.

9 Grid levels

Before the energy produced by the power plants can be used by the end consumers, the voltage is reduced through seven grid levels to 400 and 230 volts. In addition to extra-high voltage, high voltage, medium voltage and low voltage, these levels include three connecting transformer levels.

10 Transmission grid

The Swiss transmission grid extends across 6,700 kilometres of lines, 12,000 pylons and 125 substations with 146 switching substations, as well as 41 connections abroad. It is comprised of both 380 kilovolt and 220 kilovolt lines: While the former are used mainly to import and export electricity, the large Swiss power plants feed the majority of their energy into the 220 kilovolt grid. This high-tension voltage is necessary in the transmission grid in order to transport energy over long distances with as little power loss as possible.


Contact

Title

Please select a title.

Please enter your first name.

Please enter your last name.

Please enter a valid e-mail address.

Please enter your message.

Please click the checkbox.

All dies verantwortet Swissgrid

Swissgrid ist rund um die Uhr im Einsatz, damit das Übertragungsnetz immer stabil und sicher ist. Dafür braucht es eine reibungslos funktionierende Infrastruktur, permanentes Management der Stromflüsse und enge Zusammenarbeit mit Partnern.

Das alles macht Swissgrid

1 Produktion

Swissgrid produziert keinen Strom, sondern transportiert über das Übertragungsnetz die von den Kraftwerken produzierte Energie zu den Verbrauchszentren. Die Kraftwerksbetreiber unterstützen Swissgrid, die Netzstabilität zu gewährleisten, indem sie Regelenergie zur Verfügung stellen. Diese stellt eine Reserve dar, die Swissgrid bei einem Ungleichgewicht zwischen Produktion und Verbrauch einsetzt. Steigt der Stromverbrauch, lässt Swissgrid von den Kraftwerken mehr Energie ins Netz einspeisen. Sinkt dieser, wird weniger Energie eingespeist.

2 Betrieb des Netzes

Das Übertragungsnetz funktioniert nur, wenn Produktion und Verbrauch von Strom im Gleichgewicht sind. Das macht die Swissgrid Netzleitstellen zum Herzstück des Übertragungsnetzes. Von hier aus überwachen Operateure das Netz rund um die Uhr und sorgen dafür, dass dieses Gleichgewicht jederzeit eingehalten und die Energie sicher trasportiert wird. Sie koordinieren die Stromproduktionsfahrpläne, verhindern Engpässe und Überlastungen. Dies erfolgt zum Beispiel durch das Verbinden und Abtrennen von Leitungen in Schaltanlagen oder Redispatch, d.h. der Anweisung an mehrere Kraftwerke, ihre Leistung hoch- oder runterzufahren.

3 Marktentwicklung

Swissgrid investiert nicht nur in den Betrieb und die Modernisierung des Übertragungsnetzes, um die Systemsicherheit zu gewährleisten, sondern auch in die Marktentwicklung. Indem die Ausschreibungen zur Beschaffung der Regelreserve im In- und Ausland effizienter gestaltet werden, kann Swissgrid auf mehr Anbieter zurückgreifen und so die Beschaffungskosten senken. Damit Anbieter wie Wasserkraftwerke ihre hohe Flexibilität besser vermarkten und neue Technologien wie Batterien genutzt werden können, entwickelt Swissgrid zudem innovative Produktlösungen und neue Preismechanismen.

4 Wartung und Instandhaltung

Swissgrid inspiziert, wartet und setzt Masten, Leitungen, Unterwerke und Schaltanlagen bei Bedarf instand. Nur so können die Anlagen sicher betrieben werden. Verantwortlich dafür sind die Anlagenverantwortlichen, die von sieben Standorten aus arbeiten.

5 Infrastruktur

Swissgrid ist verantwortlich für die Planung, den Ersatz und den Ausbau der gesamten Infrastruktur des Übertragungsnetzes. Eine herausfordernde Aufgabe, denn bereits heute bestehen Engpässe, neue Kraftwerke gehen ans Netz und die Dynamik auf den Strommärkten nimmt stetig zu. Dies erfordert eine Weiterentwicklung des Übertragungsnetzes. All dies heisst nicht automatisch mehr Leitungen, sondern vor allem gezielte Modernisierung und auch Rückbau.    

6 Vernetzung

Die Schweiz ist Teil des europäischen Verbundnetzes. Eine Vernetzung, auf die die Schweiz angewiesen ist. Zum Beispiel, um Stromengpässe in den Wintermonaten zu überwinden. Und um dank der internationalen Zusammenarbeit Kraftwerksausfälle oder Überproduktionen zu kompensieren. Umgekehrt übernimmt die Schweiz als Transitland und mit ihren Pumpspeicherkraftwerken als grosser Energiespeicher eine wichtige Rolle im europäischen Verbund.

7 Verbrauch

Mit Ausnahme der Schweizerischen Bundesbahnen sind keine Verbraucher direkt an das Übertragungsnetz angeschlossen. Trotzdem spielen die Verbraucher für die Stabilität des Netzes eine wichtige Rolle. Droht ein Ungleichgewicht, fragt Swissgrid zum Beispiel Kühlhäuser oder Kehrrichtverbrennungsanlagen an, ihren Energieverbrauch zu drosseln.

8 Schaltanlagen

Die in Unterwerken untergebrachten Schaltanlagen sind Knotenpunkte zwischen Leitungen. Hier wird die Energie auf eine tiefere Spannungsebene transformiert und in die unteren Netzebenen weitergegeben. Ausserdem trennen und verbinden die Netzleitstellen von Swissgrid in den Schaltanlagen Leitungen durch Schalthandlungen und lenken damit die Energieflüsse.

9 Netzebenen

Bis die von den Kraftwerken produzierte Energie für die Endverbraucher nutzbar ist, wird die Spannung über sieben Netzebenen auf 400 und 230 Volt reduziert. Zu diesen Ebenen gehören neben der Höchst-, Hoch-, Mittel- und Niederspannungsebene drei verbindende Transformationsebenen.

10 Übertragungsnetz

Das Schweizer Übertragungsnetz umfasst 6700 Kilometer Leitungen, 12 000 Masten, 125 Unterwerke mit 146 Schaltanlagen sowie 41 Verbindungen ins Ausland. Es besteht sowohl aus 380-Kilovolt- als auch aus 220-Kilovolt-Leitungen: Während Erstere grösstenteils für den Import und Export von Strom genutzt werden, speisen die grossen Schweizer Kraftwerke ihre Energie mehrheitlich in das 220-Kilovolt-Netz ein. Die Spannung in Kilovolthöhe ist im Übertragungsnetz nötig, um Energie möglichst verlustarm über weite Strecken zu transportieren.

Downloads


  • Steuerung

    Die Mitarbeitenden der beiden Leitstellen überwachen das Schweizer Übertragungsnetz auf Schritt und Tritt – rund um die Uhr. Sie sorgen dafür, dass der Strom über alle Landesteile sicher transportiert und verteilt wird.

    Mehr erfahren

Kontakt

Anrede

Bitte wählen Sie die Anrede aus.

Bitte geben Sie Ihren Vornamen an.

Bitte geben Sie Ihren Nachnamen an.

Bitte geben Sie eine gültige E-Mail Adresse ein.

Geben Sie bitte Ihre Nachricht ein.

Klicken Sie bitte die Checkbox an.