Regulatory business model


Business activity

As the National Grid Company, Swissgrid is responsible for the non-discriminatory, reliable and efficient operation of the transmission grid as well as its sustainable and efficient maintenance. The renovation and demand-driven expansion of the Swiss extrahigh-voltage grid are also considered amongst the company’s most important tasks.

Swissgrid also provides additional services, such as balance group and congestion management or ancillary services (AS) as part of the European and Swiss grid operations. In addition to representing national interests, Swissgrid makes an important contribution to ensuring the secure supply of electricity for Switzerland.


“Cost-plus” regulation

Swissgrid’s legal mandate and business activities expose the company to costs that can be passed on to the lower grid levels and end consumers in the form of tariff revenues if the regulator deems the costs to be chargeable. ElCom performs an ex post review of the chargeability of the costs for Swissgrid.

Chargeable costs include the operating and capital costs of a secure and efficient grid. Chargeable costs also include an adequate operating profit. As a result, this is referred to as a “cost-plus” regulation: “cost” stands for the cost recovery principle and “plus” stands for the operating profit.


Chargeable operating and capital costs

Chargeable operating costs include the costs for services directly related to the operation. Examples include costs for maintaining the grid, costs for providing the ancillary services, personnel expenses, costs for materials and third-party supplies as well as direct income taxes.

Chargeable capital costs include depreciation/amortisation and imputed interest. The amount of imputed interest is directly dependent on the assets required to operate the grid (invested operating assets, IOA) and the applicable regulatory interest rate (WACC).

In particular, the IOA consists of the transmission grid assets (including plants under construction), intangible assets, the net current assets determined on a monthly basis and the accumulated volume- and tariff-related timing differences.


Volume-and tariff-related timing differences

Swissgrid calculates the required tariff revenues ex ante based on budgeted costs (operating and capital costs). Volume and price differences between the “actual” situation for a year and the “budgeted” situation for the same year regularly lead to differences between the actual costs and actual income for a year. These differences are referred to as volume- and tariff-related timing differences and are rectified over the coming years.

If effective costs exceed the tariff revenues for the same year, this results in a deficit. This deficit can be eliminated over subsequent years by increasing the tariff. By contrast, if tariff revenues exceed effective costs for the same year, this results in a surplus, which must be used to reduce tariffs over subsequent years.

As part of the invested operating assets, volume- and tariff-related timing differences are also subject to interest at the WACC and so influence the capital costs. Deficits increase capital costs, while these are reduced by surpluses.


Profit regulation

The legal framework in place for Swissgrid means that the EBI (earnings before interest) of the regulated business area is essentially a multiplication of the invested operating assets (IOA) and the capital cost rate (WACC). Additional profits may arise from Swissgrid’s unregulated business area.

The EBI is then used to compensate Swissgrid’s stakeholders via interest on borrowed capital and return on equity (dividends and/or profit retention). Cost-plus regulation therefore leads to a return in the amount of the capital cost rate (WACC).


Imputed capital cost rate (WACC)

The WACC is an imputed interest rate defined annually based on the electricity supply legislation. It applies equally to all grid operators.

The WACC is calculated methodically taking account of the current Best Practice guidelines provided by the Federal Department of Environment, Transport, Energy and Communications (DETEC). The methodology was developed specifically for the regulation of electricity grid operators and intends to ensure security of investment for these operators. With regard to the financing structure, the WACC calculation assumes an equity share of 40 per cent and a borrowed capital share of 60 per cent. Specific thresholds apply for the individual capital cost parameters.

As the WACC represents an imputed interest rate for the electricity industry, Swissgrid’s actual capital costs are not included in the tariff calculation. On the other hand, this means that Swissgrid is responsible for determining how the imputed interest received via the tariffs is distributed to shareholders and lenders.


Illustration of the regulatory business model

Contact

Title

Please select a title.

Please enter your first name.

Please enter your last name.

Please enter a valid e-mail address.

Please enter your message.

Please click the checkbox.

Modèle d'entreprise réglementaire


Activité commerciale

En tant que société nationale pour l’exploitation du réseau, Swissgrid est tenue d’assurer une exploitation non discriminatoire, fiable et performante du réseau de transport ainsi que son entretien écologiquement viable et efficace. La société a pour autres missions principales de rénover le réseau à très haute tension et de l’étendre en fonction des besoins.

Par ailleurs, Swissgrid fournit d’autres services dans le cadre du réseau interconnecté européen et suisse, par exemple la gestion des groupes-bilan et des congestions ou les prestations de services système (PSS). Ce faisant, Swissgrid défend les intérêts de la Suisse et apporte une contribution essentielle à la sécurité de l’approvisionnement en électricité en Suisse.


Réglementation «Cost Plus»

Le mandat légal et l’activité commerciale de Swissgrid génèrent des coûts que la société répercute sur les niveaux de réseau inférieurs et les consommateurs finaux sous forme de recettes tarifaires, à condition que l’autorité de régulation approuve leur imputation dans les tarifs. L’ElCom contrôle a posteriori (ex post) l’imputabilité tarifaire des coûts de Swissgrid.

Sont qualifiés de coûts imputables les coûts d’exploitation et de capital d’un réseau sûr, performant et efficient. Les coûts imputables incluent également un bénéfice d’exploitation approprié. Pour ces raisons, cette réglementation est appelée «Cost Plus», où «Cost» renvoie au principe de couverture des coûts, et «Plus» au bénéfice d’exploitation.


Coûts d’exploitation et de capital imputables

Les coûts d’exploitation imputables comprennent les prestations directement liées à l’exploitation. Citons, par exemple, les coûts d’entretien du réseau, les dépenses nécessaires à la fourniture de prestations de services système, les charges de personnel, les coûts du matériel ainsi que des prestations de tiers et les impôts directs.

Les coûts de capital imputables sont constitués des amortissements et des intérêts calculés. Le montant des intérêts calculés dépend directement du montant des valeurs patrimoniales nécessaires à l’exploitation du réseau (BNV) et du taux d’intérêt théorique à appliquer (WACC).

La BNV se compose notamment des installations du réseau de transport (y compris les installations en construction), des immobilisations incorporelles ainsi que de l’actif circulant net déterminé sur une base mensuelle et des différences de couverture cumulées.


Différences de couverture

Les recettes tarifaires nécessaires sont calculées au préalable par Swissgrid à partir de coûts budgétés (coûts d’exploitation et de capital). Les différences de prix et de quantités entre la situation «effective» d’une année et le «plan» pour la même année génèrent régulièrement des divergences entre les coûts réels et les produits réels d’une année. On parle alors de différences de couverture. Elles doivent être résorbées lors des exercices suivants.

Si les charges réelles sont supérieures aux recettes tarifaires du même exercice, il y a déficit. Ce déficit peut être comblé lors des exercices suivants par une hausse des tarifs. En revanche, si les recettes tarifaires sont supérieures aux charges réelles du même exercice, il y a excédent, lequel doit être résorbé lors des exercices suivants par une baisse des tarifs.

Le taux WACC s’applique également aux différences de couverture, qui sont incluses dans les valeurs patrimoniales nécessaires à l’exploitation. Celles-ci influent sur le montant des coûts de capital. Les déficits augmentent les coûts de capital, tandis que les excédents les réduisent.


Réglementation des bénéfices

L’EBI (résultat avant intérêts) de l’activité réglementée de Swissgrid correspond aux valeurs patrimoniales nécessaires à l’exploitation (BNV) multipliées par le coût moyen pondéré du capital (WACC). L’activité non réglementée de Swissgrid peut générer des bénéfices supplémentaires.

Une partie de l’EBI est ensuite utilisée pour indemniser les bailleurs de fonds de Swissgrid au moyen de deux instruments: la rémunération des capitaux empruntés et le rendement des fonds propres (dividende et/ou thésaurisation des bénéfices). Ainsi, il résulte de la réglementation «Cost Plus» un rendement égal au coût moyen pondéré du capital (WACC).


Coût moyen pondéré du capital (WACC) théorique

Le WACC est un taux d’intérêt théorique fixé chaque année en adéquation avec la législation sur l’approvisionnement en électricité. Il est appliqué au même titre à tous les gestionnaires de réseau. Le WACC est calculé par le Département fédéral de l’environnement, des transports, de l’énergie et de la communication (DETEC) selon une méthode précise en tenant compte des bonnes pratiques actuelles. Cette méthode a été spécialement mise au point pour la réglementation spécifique des gestionnaires du réseau électrique afin de garantir la sécurité de leurs investissements. En ce qui concerne la structure de financement, le calcul du WACC repose sur une part de fonds propres de 40% et une part de capitaux empruntés de 60%. Des limites de tolérance spécifiques sont appliquées aux différents paramètres des coûts de capital.

Puisque le WACC représente un taux d’intérêt théorique pour tout le secteur, les coûts de capital effectifs de Swissgrid ne sont pas inclus dans le calcul des tarifs. Inversement, Swissgrid est tenue de répartir les intérêts théoriques perçus dans les tarifs entre les détenteurs des fonds propres et les bailleurs des fonds empruntés.


Illustration du modèle d'entreprise réglementaire

Contact

Titre

Veuillez sélectionner le titre.

Veuillez entrer votre prénom.

Veuillez entrer votre nom.

Veuillez entrer une adresse e-mail valide.

Veuillez entrer votre message.

Veuillez cocher la case.