Planning for winter

Winter challenge

Electricity is always available in Switzerland. Around the clock, 365 days a year. But we must not take that for granted. Particularly in the winter months, energy producers are confronted with special challenges. The demand for energy increases considerably during periods of snow, ice and low temperatures. The problem here is that domestic electricity generation cannot cover this increased demand, which means that Switzerland relies on imports during the winter months.

Energy supply and consumption in Switzerland

1   Electricity generation in Switzerland: energy from nuclear, run-of-river and storage power plants
2 Import
3 Export
4 Net imports

But why is it that some places in Switzerland do not generate enough electricity during winter? The answer is that electricity generation is heavily dependent on the weather. For example, if water levels in rivers are low due to long dry spells, run-of-river power stations produce less electricity. The same applies to storage power plants: a dry summer or autumn means that the water levels in dams are low and water reserves are limited.

The potentially challenging energy and grid situation in the winter can only be overcome by working together.

The particular challenge is that Switzerland cannot simply import an unlimited amount of electricity. In the winter months, around 80 percent of electricity is imported at the highest voltage level (380 kV). To supply Switzerland with the energy it requires, this imported electricity must first be transformed to a lower voltage level (≤ 220 kV). However, the capacity for transforming electricity is limited. A greater number of high-capacity transformers is required.

1/2: Imports / Exports
Transformation
2/2: Transformation

Downloads

Contact

Title

Please select a title.

Please enter your first name.

Please enter your last name.

Please enter a valid e-mail address.

Please enter your message.

Please click the checkbox.

Planification hivernale

L’hiver, un défi

En Suisse, le courant est disponible en permanence. 24 heures sur 24, 365 jours par an. Mais ce n'est pas de toute évidence: notamment en hiver, les producteurs d’électricité font face à des défis particuliers. Le besoin en énergie augmente en cas de chute de neige, de verglas et de grand froid. Le problème: la production d’électricité en Suisse ne peut pas couvrir ce besoin supplémentaire en électricité. C’est la raison pour laquelle la Suisse est tributaire d’importations en hiver.

Approvisionnement et consommation de l'énergie en Suisse

1   Production d’électricité en Suisse: énergie de centrales nucléaires, de centrales au fil de l’eau et de centrales à accumulation
2 Importation
3 Exportation
4 Importations nettes

Mais comment se fait-il, qu’en hiver, la production d’électricité est insuffisante dans certaines régions de la Suisse? La production d’électricité dépend fortement des conditions météorologiques. Si, par exemple, les niveaux des rivières sont trop faibles en raison de longue périodes de sécheresse, les centrales au fil de l’eau produisent moins de courant. Cela vaut également pour les centrales à accumulation: un été ou automne sec fait baisser les niveaux des barrages, ce qui conduit à de faibles réserves d’eau.

Ce n'est qu'ensemble que les défis de l’hiver avec ses situations énergétiques et du réseau parfois tendues sont maîtrisés.

Le défi particulier: la Suisse ne peut pas importer autant de courant qu’elle veut. En effet, pendant le semestre hivernal, près de 80 pourcent du courant est importé via le niveau de tension le plus élevé (380 kV). Pour approvisionner la Suisse avec l’énergie nécessaire, le courant importé doit tout d’abord être transformé à un niveau de tension plus faible (≤ 220 kV). Les capacités pour la transformation du courant sont toutefois limitées. Davantage de transformateurs performants sont nécessaires.

1/2: Importations / Exportations
Transformation
2/2: Transformation

Téléchargements

Contact

Titre

Veuillez sélectionner le titre.

Veuillez entrer votre prénom.

Veuillez entrer votre nom.

Veuillez entrer une adresse e-mail valide.

Veuillez entrer votre message.

Veuillez cocher la case.