Winter 2023/2024

The responsibility for security of supply in Switzerland is shared by various players. As the national grid company, Swissgrid is responsible for ensuring the non-discriminatory, reliable and efficient operation of the transmission grid. Swissgrid works closely with partners in Switzerland and abroad and does everything in its power to contribute to Switzerland’s secure and reliable supply of electricity. Ensuring secure grid operations is an absolute priority for Swissgrid.

In 2022, the Federal Council enacted various measures to increase security of supply in the short term and assigned new roles to Swissgrid. The ordinance on the establishment of a power reserve for the winter (Winter Reserve Ordinance, WResV) came into force on 15 February 2023.

Hydropower reserve

In accordance with the ordinance on the establishment of a power reserve (WResV), Swissgrid procured the volume of energy specified by ElCom by means of a tendering procedure. Swissgrid accepted tenders from all operators of storage hydropower plants that feed energy into the Swiss control area who are in a position to offer a product that complies with the relevant benchmarks. In accordance with ElCom Directive 3/2023 («Benchmarks for the establishment of a hydropower reserve in the hydrological year 2023/2024»), procurement took place in staggered partial tenders between May and September 2023. The Federal Electricity Commission ElCom examined the tenders and awarded the relevant contracts.

The three auctions took place in late May, early July and mid-September. For the winter of 2023/24, a total volume of 400 GWh (2022: 400 GWh) has been procured at an average price of EUR 138.67/MWh (previous year: EUR 739.97/MWh). The hydropower reserve will cost 81 percent less in the current year than in the previous year. The costs for the reservation of water are financed through Swissgrid’s tariffs.

The hydropower reserve requires storage power plants to retain, in exchange for a fee, a certain amount of energy that can then be requested when needed. The reserve is intended to bridge a period of a few weeks towards the end of winter when there are fewer import possibilities and lower availability of domestic production.

In exchange for a fee, storage power plants will retain a certain amount of energy, the hydropower reserve.
In exchange for a fee, storage power plants will retain a certain amount of energy, the hydropower reserve.

The Federal Council has transferred the operational management of the hydropower reserve to Swissgrid by ordinance. Consequently, Swissgrid has taken on a new role that goes beyond its previous legal mandate. In specific terms, Swissgrid provides the IT systems for handling the auction and the requests. Swissgrid is also entrusted with defining and organising training for all processes, conducting the auctions and overseeing the accounting.

 

Voltage increases

To prevent congestion in the transmission system, the Federal Council allowed a temporary increase in the operating voltage of the two transmission lines between Bickigen and Chippis (Gemmi line) and Bassecourt and Mühleberg from 220 kilovolts (kV) to 380 kV for the winter of 2022/23.

Good progress has been made on the conversion work for the permanent voltage increase of the Bassecourt – Mühleberg line to 380 kV. It will be possible to operate the line at 380 kV on a permanent basis from the end of 2023. In addition, the existing transformer capacities of the transmission system in the Berne/Jura region have been expanded to strengthen security of supply.

The construction project for a definitive voltage increase of the Bickigen – Chippis extra-high-voltage line (Gemmi line) is still in the approval phase. Appeals against the planning approval granted by the Swiss Federal Office of Energy (SFOE) have been brought before the Federal Administrative Court. This is expected to delay the voltage increase of the Bickigen – Chippis line by two years. Commissioning is planned for 2027. In 2022, Swissgrid made the necessary technical preparations to operate the line at 380 kV on a temporary basis. Two 220 kV lines are currently connected via the electricity pylons. For the temporary voltage increase, all phases have been shifted by one position so that the 220 kV line is on the lowest cantilever. The line systems on four electricity pylons in the vicinity of the Bickigen, Chippis and Wimmis substations have been transposed especially for this purpose (see information sheet). The line lead-ins to the Bickigen and Chippis substations have also been modified. The aim was to minimise the impact on people and the environment as much as possible and to ensure that the safety distances between the conductors and the ground, houses or cableways can be observed. Subject to approval by the federal government, Swissgrid will be able to temporarily operate the line at 380 kV in the winter of 2023/24 if required to ensure grid-related security of supply.

Downloads


Grid connection of the reserve power plant in Birr

Eight modular, mobile gas turbines, each with around 30 megawatts of power, totalling almost 250 MW, have been installed on the premises of General Electric (GE) in Birr (AG). The turbines can be operated with various gaseous and liquid fuels. The Federal Council has issued an ordinance to govern the deployment of these reserve power plants. The use of energy is managed by Swissgrid. These energy reserves can be used as needed in extraordinary shortage situations until the end of April 2026.

A grid connection in record time

Swissgrid had to establish a new grid connection in order to feed the energy from the mobile gas turbines into the transmission system via the 220 kV substation in Birr. The grid connection for the Birr reserve power plant has been ready since 24 February 2023 after a construction period lasting just six months. The process usually takes several years. Implementing a project of this kind under extreme pressure in just a few months was a huge challenge for the project team and the commissioned suppliers and service providers.


Control energy for secure grid operation

Electricity cannot be stored in the transmission grid, so the amount of electricity fed in must always be the same as the amount of electricity fed out. This means that the production and consumption of energy must always be balanced. This equilibrium guarantees the secure and stable operation of the grid at a constant frequency of 50 hertz. If unforeseen fluctuations arise, the operators in the grid control rooms use control energy, a reserve that power plants keep available for Swissgrid and that can be retrieved as required. The power plants either increase or decrease their power to compensate for any missing or excess electrical energy. Even if electricity becomes scarce in the winter of 2023/24, Swissgrid must be able to provide sufficient control power. For this reason, procurements were made at an early stage to prepare for the winter.

Swissgrid Control
The employees in the two control centres in Aarau and Prilly monitor the entire Swiss transmission grid around the clock.

Emergency power groups

The use of emergency power groups as an additional reserve for the coming winter was substantiated in the Winter Reserve Ordinance. As with the hydropower reserve, Swissgrid is responsible for operational management.

The Confederation has signed four-year contracts with Axpo, BKW and CKW for a total contract sum of CHF 1 million. The aim is to contract emergency power groups to provide a total capacity of around 280 MW.

As poolers of emergency generators, these three companies are tasked with setting up a national virtual reserve power plant consisting of emergency generators that are voluntarily made available by their owners in return for remuneration. Registration with the three poolers is possible with immediate effect.


Interconnection with Europe

The Swiss transmission grid is part of the continental European interconnected grid and is connected to neighbouring countries via 41 cross-border lines. The close meshing of the electricity system and the existing cooperation with European partners make a significant contribution to Switzerland’s security of supply. Close cooperation with partners in Europe is also of the utmost importance for ensuring system security in Switzerland and its neighbouring European countries in the winter of 2023/24. Electricity self-sufficiency would not mitigate the risk of a power shortage.

Close cooperation with European partners requires a political or intergovernmental solution.

An island solution would jeopardise both secure grid operation and security of supply. The legislator took the importance of interconnection with Europe into account in the Electricity Supply Act. Cooperating with the European transmission system operators and ensuring sufficient international interconnection of the Swiss transmission grid represent an explicit legal mandate for Swissgrid (Art. 20, para. 2(f), StromVG).

Close cooperation with European partners requires a political or intergovernmental solution. This is the only way to establish a stable framework for secure cooperation with the EU in the long term, and hence for a high level of security of supply in Switzerland.


Contact

Title

Please select a title.

Please enter your first name.

Please enter your last name.

Please enter a valid e-mail address.

Please enter your message.

Please click the checkbox.

Hiver 2023/2024

En Suisse, la responsabilité de la sécurité de l’approvisionnement en électricité est répartie entre différents acteurs. En tant que société nationale du réseau de transport, Swissgrid est responsable de l’exploitation non discriminatoire, fiable et performante du réseau de transport suisse. Swissgrid travaille en étroite collaboration avec des partenaires en Suisse et à l’étranger et met tout en œuvre pour apporter sa contribution à un approvisionnement en électricité sûr et fiable de la Suisse. La garantie d’une exploitation sûre du réseau est une priorité absolue pour Swissgrid.

Afin d’augmenter la sécurité d’approvisionnement à court terme, le Conseil fédéral a édicté en 2022 différentes mesures et confié de nouveaux rôles à Swissgrid. L’Ordonnance sur l'instauration d’une réserve d’électricité pour l’hiver (Ordonnance sur une réserve d’hiver, OIRH), est entrée en vigueur le 15 février 2023.

Réserve d’énergie hydraulique

Conformément à l’Ordonnance sur l’instauration d’une réserve d’électricité pour l’hiver (OIRH), Swissgrid a acquis la quantité d’énergie prescrite par l’ElCom dans le cadre d’une procédure d’appel d’offres. À cet égard, Swissgrid a autorisé la participation de tous les exploitants de centrales hydroélectriques à accumulation qui injectent dans la zone de réglage suisse et qui sont en mesure de proposer un produit correspondant aux valeurs de référence. En vertu de la directive 3/2023 de l’ElCom («Valeurs-clés pour l’instauration d’une réserve hydroélectrique pour l’année hydrologique 2023/2024»), l’acquisition s’est faite par le biais d’appels d’offres partiels qui se sont échelonnés de mai à septembre 2023. La Commission fédérale de l’électricité ElCom a examiné les offres et validé les adjudications.

Les trois ventes aux enchères ont eu lieu fin mai, début juillet et mi-septembre. Pour l’hiver 2023/2024, une quantité totale de 400 GWh (2022: 400 GWh) a été acquise à un prix moyen de 138,67 euros/MWh (année précédente: 739,97 euros/MWh). La réserve d’énergie hydraulique coûte cette année 81% de moins que l’année précédente. Les coûts de mise en réserve de l’eau sont financés par les tarifs de Swissgrid.

La réserve d’énergie hydraulique prévoit que les exploitants de centrales à accumulation retiennent, contre rétribution, une certaine quantité d’énergie, qui peut être sollicitée en cas de besoin. Cette réserve doit permettre de surmonter une phase de quelques semaines vers la fin de l’hiver, lorsque les possibilités d’importation sont réduites et que la disponibilité de la production nationale est moindre.

La réserve d’énergie hydraulique prévoit que les exploitants de centrales à accumulation retiennent une certaine quantité d’énergie.
La réserve d’énergie hydraulique prévoit que les exploitants de centrales à accumulation retiennent une certaine quantité d’énergie.

Le Conseil fédéral a confié par voie d’ordonnance à Swissgrid la gestion opérationnelle de la réserve d’énergie hydraulique. Swissgrid s’est donc vue confier un nouveau rôle qui va au-delà de son mandat légal actuel. Concrètement, Swissgrid met à disposition les systèmes informatiques pour le déroulement des ventes aux enchères et des appels. Swissgrid a également défini et formé l’ensemble des processus, et réalisé les ventes aux enchères. Elle assure en outre le décompte financier.


Augmentations de la tension

Afin d’éviter les congestions sur le réseau de transport, le Conseil fédéral a autorisé, pour l’hiver 2022/2023, l’augmentation temporaire de la tension d’exploitation des deux lignes de transport entre Bickigen et Chippis (ligne de la Gemmi) et entre Bassecourt et Mühleberg de 220 kilovolts (kV) à 380 kV.

Les travaux de transformation pour l’augmentation permanente de la tension à 380 kV de la ligne Bassecourt – Mühleberg sont bien avancés. La ligne pourra être exploitée en permanence à 380 kV à partir de fin 2023. Afin de renforcer la sécurité d’approvisionnement, les capacités de transformation existantes du réseau de transport dans la région Berne / Jura ont en outre été étendues.

Le projet de construction pour une augmentation définitive de la tension de la ligne à très haute tension Bickigen – Chippis (ligne de la Gemmi) est encore en phase d’autorisation. Des recours ont été déposés auprès du Tribunal administratif fédéral contre la décision d’approbation des plans de l’Office fédéral de l’énergie (OFEN). Cela retardera probablement l’augmentation de la tension de la ligne Bickigen – Chippis de deux années. La mise en service est prévue pour 2027. En 2022, Swissgrid a préparé techniquement la ligne pour une exploitation temporaire à 380 kV. Deux lignes de 220 kV passent aujourd’hui sur les pylônes électriques. Pour l’augmentation temporaire de la tension, toutes les phases ont été déplacées d’une position afin que la ligne de 220 kV se trouve sur le bras le plus bas. Pour ce faire, les systèmes de lignes ont été croisés sur quatre pylônes dans la zone des sous-stations de Bickigen, Chippis et Wimmis (voir fiche d’information). En outre, les entrées de lignes dans les sous-stations de Bickigen et de Chippis ont été adaptées. Cela a permis de minimiser autant que possible les impacts sur les personnes et l’environnement et de respecter les distances de sécurité entre les conducteurs et le sol, les maisons ou les téléphériques. Sous réserve d’une autorisation de la Confédération, Swissgrid pourra, si nécessaire, exploiter temporairement la ligne à 380 kV durant l’hiver 2023/24 afin d’assurer la sécurité d’approvisionnement du réseau.

Téléchargements


Raccordement au réseau de la centrale de réserve à Birr

Huit turbines à gaz modulaires et mobiles d’une puissance d’environ 30 mégawatts chacune, soit près de 250 MW au total, ont été installées sur le site de General Electric (GE) à Birr (AG). Les turbines peuvent être alimentées par différents combustibles gazeux et liquides. Le Conseil fédéral a réglementé l’utilisation de ces centrales de réserve dans une ordonnance. L’appel est effectué par Swissgrid. Ces réserves d’énergie pourront être utilisées en cas de besoin dans des situations de pénurie extraordinaires jusqu’à fin avril 2026.

Un raccordement au réseau en un temps record

Pour pouvoir injecter l’énergie des turbines à gaz mobiles dans le réseau de transport via la sous-station de 220 kV de Birr, Swissgrid a d’abord dû réaliser un nouveau raccordement au réseau. Le raccordement au réseau de la centrale de réserve de Birr est prêt depuis le 24 février 2023, après seulement six mois de travaux. En général, cela prend plusieurs années. Réaliser un tel projet en quelques mois seulement et sous pression a représenté un énorme défi pour l’équipe de projet, les fournisseurs et les prestataires de services mandatés.


De l’énergie de réglage pour une exploitation sûre du réseau

L’électricité ne pouvant pas être stockée sur le réseau de transport, il est nécessaire que l’injection de courant et le soutirage soient toujours égaux. En d’autres termes, la production et la consommation d’énergie doivent toujours être à l’équilibre. Cet équilibre garantit l’exploitation sûre et stable du réseau à une fréquence constante de 50 hertz. En cas de fluctuations imprévues, les opérateurs des centres de conduite du réseau ont recours à l’énergie de réglage. Il s’agit d’une réserve que les centrales électriques mettent en réserve pour Swissgrid et qui peut être utilisée si nécessaire. Les centrales électriques peuvent augmenter ou diminuer leur puissance à court terme, compensant ainsi l’énergie électrique manquante ou excédentaire. Même si le courant devait se faire rare en hiver 2023/24, Swissgrid doit pouvoir disposer de suffisamment de puissance de réglage. C’est pourquoi des acquisitions ont été effectuées très tôt pour se prémunir contre l’hiver.

Les collaborateurs des deux centres de conduite à Aarau et Prilly surveillent le réseau de transport suisse 24h/24.

Groupes électrogènes de secours

L’utilisation de groupes électrogènes de secours comme réserve supplémentaire pour l’hiver à venir a été concrétisé dans l’Ordonnance sur une réserve d'hiver. Comme pour la réserve d’énergie hydraulique, c’est à Swissgrid que revient la mise en œuvre opérationnelle.

La Confédération a signé des contrats d’une durée de quatre ans avec Axpo, BKW et CKW, qui prévoient une somme contractuelle totale d’un million de francs. L’objectif est de prendre sous contrat des groupes électrogènes de secours d’une puissance totale d’environ 280 MW.

En tant que agrégateurs de groupes électrogènes de secours, ces trois entreprises sont donc chargées de mettre en place une centrale de réserve virtuelle nationale composée de groupes électrogènes de secours mis à disposition par leurs propriétaires sur une base facultative en échange d’une indemnisation. Les propriétaires peuvent s’inscrire dès maintenant auprès des trois entreprises mentionnées ci-dessus.


Interconnexion avec l’Europe

Le réseau de transport suisse fait partie du réseau interconnecté d’Europe continentale et est reliée à l’étranger par 41 lignes transfrontalières. L’étroit maillage du système électrique et la collaboration menée jusqu’à présent avec les partenaires européens contribuent de manière déterminante à la sécurité d’approvisionnement de la Suisse. En prévision de l’hiver 2023/24, une collaboration étroite avec les partenaires en Europe est également de la plus haute importance pour la sécurité du système en Suisse et dans les pays européens voisins. L’autarcie électrique n’atténuerait pas le risque de pénurie d’électricité.

La coopération étroite avec les partenaires européens nécessite une solution politique ou intergouvernementale.

Une solution isolée compromettrait à la fois l’exploitation sûre du réseau et la sécurité de l’approvisionnement. Le législateur a tenu compte de l’importance de l’interconnexion avec l’Europe dans la Loi sur l’approvisionnement en électricité. La collaboration avec les gestionnaires de réseaux de transport européens et la garantie d’une interconnexion internationale suffisante du réseau de transport suisse est un mandat légal explicite de Swissgrid (art. 20, al. 2, ch. f. LApEl).

La coopération étroite avec les partenaires européens nécessite une solution politique ou intergouvernementale. Seule une telle solution crée un cadre stable pour une coopération garantie à long terme avec l’UE et donc pour une sécurité d’approvisionnement élevée de la Suisse.


Contact

Titre

Veuillez sélectionner le titre.

Veuillez entrer votre prénom.

Veuillez entrer votre nom.

Veuillez entrer une adresse e-mail valide.

Veuillez entrer votre message.

Veuillez cocher la case.