Winter 2023/2024

The responsibility for security of supply in Switzerland is shared by various players. As the national grid company, Swissgrid is responsible for ensuring the non-discriminatory, reliable and efficient operation of the transmission grid. Swissgrid works closely with partners in Switzerland and abroad and does everything in its power to contribute to Switzerland’s secure and reliable supply of electricity. Ensuring secure grid operations is an absolute priority for Swissgrid.

In 2022, the Federal Council enacted various measures to increase security of supply in the short term and assigned new roles to Swissgrid. The ordinance on the establishment of a power reserve for the winter (Winter Reserve Ordinance, WResV) came into force on 15 February 2023.

Hydropower reserve

In accordance with the ordinance on the establishment of a power reserve (WResV), Swissgrid procured the volume of energy specified by ElCom by means of a tendering procedure. Swissgrid accepted tenders from all operators of storage hydropower plants that feed energy into the Swiss control area who are in a position to offer a product that complies with the relevant benchmarks. In accordance with ElCom Directive 3/2023 («Benchmarks for the establishment of a hydropower reserve in the hydrological year 2023/2024»), procurement took place in staggered partial tenders between May and September 2023. The Federal Electricity Commission ElCom examined the tenders and awarded the relevant contracts.

The three auctions took place in late May, early July and mid-September. For the winter of 2023/24, a total volume of 400 GWh (2022: 400 GWh) has been procured at an average price of EUR 138.67/MWh (previous year: EUR 739.97/MWh). The hydropower reserve will cost 81 percent less in the current year than in the previous year. The costs for the reservation of water are financed through Swissgrid’s tariffs.

The hydropower reserve requires storage power plants to retain, in exchange for a fee, a certain amount of energy that can then be requested when needed. The reserve is intended to bridge a period of a few weeks towards the end of winter when there are fewer import possibilities and lower availability of domestic production.

In exchange for a fee, storage power plants will retain a certain amount of energy, the hydropower reserve.
In exchange for a fee, storage power plants will retain a certain amount of energy, the hydropower reserve.

The Federal Council has transferred the operational management of the hydropower reserve to Swissgrid by ordinance. Consequently, Swissgrid has taken on a new role that goes beyond its previous legal mandate. In specific terms, Swissgrid provides the IT systems for handling the auction and the requests. Swissgrid is also entrusted with defining and organising training for all processes, conducting the auctions and overseeing the accounting.

 

Voltage increases

To prevent congestion in the transmission system, the Federal Council allowed a temporary increase in the operating voltage of the two transmission lines between Bickigen and Chippis (Gemmi line) and Bassecourt and Mühleberg from 220 kilovolts (kV) to 380 kV for the winter of 2022/23.

Good progress has been made on the conversion work for the permanent voltage increase of the Bassecourt – Mühleberg line to 380 kV. It will be possible to operate the line at 380 kV on a permanent basis from the end of 2023. In addition, the existing transformer capacities of the transmission system in the Berne/Jura region have been expanded to strengthen security of supply.

The construction project for a definitive voltage increase of the Bickigen – Chippis extra-high-voltage line (Gemmi line) is still in the approval phase. Appeals against the planning approval granted by the Swiss Federal Office of Energy (SFOE) have been brought before the Federal Administrative Court. This is expected to delay the voltage increase of the Bickigen – Chippis line by two years. Commissioning is planned for 2027. In 2022, Swissgrid made the necessary technical preparations to operate the line at 380 kV on a temporary basis. Two 220 kV lines are currently connected via the electricity pylons. For the temporary voltage increase, all phases have been shifted by one position so that the 220 kV line is on the lowest cantilever. The line systems on four electricity pylons in the vicinity of the Bickigen, Chippis and Wimmis substations have been transposed especially for this purpose (see information sheet). The line lead-ins to the Bickigen and Chippis substations have also been modified. The aim was to minimise the impact on people and the environment as much as possible and to ensure that the safety distances between the conductors and the ground, houses or cableways can be observed. Subject to approval by the federal government, Swissgrid will be able to temporarily operate the line at 380 kV in the winter of 2023/24 if required to ensure grid-related security of supply.

Downloads


Grid connection of the reserve power plant in Birr

Eight modular, mobile gas turbines, each with around 30 megawatts of power, totalling almost 250 MW, have been installed on the premises of General Electric (GE) in Birr (AG). The turbines can be operated with various gaseous and liquid fuels. The Federal Council has issued an ordinance to govern the deployment of these reserve power plants. The use of energy is managed by Swissgrid. These energy reserves can be used as needed in extraordinary shortage situations until the end of April 2026.

A grid connection in record time

Swissgrid had to establish a new grid connection in order to feed the energy from the mobile gas turbines into the transmission system via the 220 kV substation in Birr. The grid connection for the Birr reserve power plant has been ready since 24 February 2023 after a construction period lasting just six months. The process usually takes several years. Implementing a project of this kind under extreme pressure in just a few months was a huge challenge for the project team and the commissioned suppliers and service providers.


Control energy for secure grid operation

Electricity cannot be stored in the transmission grid, so the amount of electricity fed in must always be the same as the amount of electricity fed out. This means that the production and consumption of energy must always be balanced. This equilibrium guarantees the secure and stable operation of the grid at a constant frequency of 50 hertz. If unforeseen fluctuations arise, the operators in the grid control rooms use control energy, a reserve that power plants keep available for Swissgrid and that can be retrieved as required. The power plants either increase or decrease their power to compensate for any missing or excess electrical energy. Even if electricity becomes scarce in the winter of 2023/24, Swissgrid must be able to provide sufficient control power. For this reason, procurements were made at an early stage to prepare for the winter.

Swissgrid Control
The employees in the two control centres in Aarau and Prilly monitor the entire Swiss transmission grid around the clock.

Emergency power groups

The use of emergency power groups as an additional reserve for the coming winter was substantiated in the Winter Reserve Ordinance. As with the hydropower reserve, Swissgrid is responsible for operational management.

The Confederation has signed four-year contracts with Axpo, BKW and CKW for a total contract sum of CHF 1 million. The aim is to contract emergency power groups to provide a total capacity of around 280 MW.

As poolers of emergency generators, these three companies are tasked with setting up a national virtual reserve power plant consisting of emergency generators that are voluntarily made available by their owners in return for remuneration. Registration with the three poolers is possible with immediate effect.


Interconnection with Europe

The Swiss transmission grid is part of the continental European interconnected grid and is connected to neighbouring countries via 41 cross-border lines. The close meshing of the electricity system and the existing cooperation with European partners make a significant contribution to Switzerland’s security of supply. Close cooperation with partners in Europe is also of the utmost importance for ensuring system security in Switzerland and its neighbouring European countries in the winter of 2023/24. Electricity self-sufficiency would not mitigate the risk of a power shortage.

Close cooperation with European partners requires a political or intergovernmental solution.

An island solution would jeopardise both secure grid operation and security of supply. The legislator took the importance of interconnection with Europe into account in the Electricity Supply Act. Cooperating with the European transmission system operators and ensuring sufficient international interconnection of the Swiss transmission grid represent an explicit legal mandate for Swissgrid (Art. 20, para. 2(f), StromVG).

Close cooperation with European partners requires a political or intergovernmental solution. This is the only way to establish a stable framework for secure cooperation with the EU in the long term, and hence for a high level of security of supply in Switzerland.


Contact

Title

Please select a title.

Please enter your first name.

Please enter your last name.

Please enter a valid e-mail address.

Please enter your message.

Please click the checkbox.

Winter 2023/2024

Die Verantwortung für die Stromversorgungssicherheit ist in der Schweiz auf verschiedene Akteure verteilt. Swissgrid verantwortet als nationale Netzgesellschaft den diskriminierungsfreien, zuverlässigen und leistungsfähigen Betrieb des Übertragungsnetzes. Swissgrid arbeitet eng mit Partnern im In- und Ausland zusammen und setzt alles daran, ihren Beitrag an die sichere und zuverlässige Stromversorgung der Schweiz zu leisten. Die Gewährleistung eines sicheren Netzbetriebs hat für Swissgrid absolute Priorität.

Der Bundesrat hat im Jahr 2022 zur kurzfristigen Erhöhung der Versorgungssicherheit verschiedene Massnahmen erlassen und Swissgrid neue Rollen übertragen. Die Verordnung über die Errichtung einer Stromreserve für den Winter (Winterreserveverordnung, WresV), ist am 15. Februar 2023 in Kraft getreten.

Wasserkraftreserve

Gemäss Verordnung über die Errichtung einer Stromreserve (WResV) hat Swissgrid die von der ElCom vorgegebene Energiemenge im Rahmen eines Ausschreibungsverfahrens beschafft. Swissgrid hat dabei alle Betreiber von Speicherwasserkraftwerken zur Teilnahme zugelassen, die in die Schweizer Regelzone einspeisen und in der Lage sind, ein den Eckwerten entsprechendes Produkt anzubieten. Gemäss Weisung 3/2023 der ElCom («Eckwerte für die Errichtung einer Wasserkraftreserve im hydrologischen Jahr 2023/2024») fand die Beschaffung in gestaffelten Teilausschreibungen im Zeitraum Mai bis September 2023 statt. Die Eidgenössische Elektrizitätskommission ElCom hat die Angebote geprüft und Zuschläge erteilt.

Die drei Auktionen fanden Ende Mai, Anfang Juli und Mitte September statt. Für den Winter 2023/24 wurde eine Gesamtenergiemenge von 400 GWh (2022: 400 GWh) zu einem Durchschnittspreis von 138,67 Euro/MWh (Vorjahr: 739,97 Euro/MWh) beschafft. Die Wasserkraftreserve kostet im laufenden Jahr 81 Prozent weniger als im Vorjahr. Die Kosten für die Reservierung des Wassers werden über die Tarife von Swissgrid finanziert.

Die Wasserkraftreserve sieht vor, dass Speicherkraftwerke gegen Entgelt eine bestimmte Menge Energie zurückbehalten, die bei Bedarf abgerufen werden kann. Mit der Reserve soll eine Phase gegen Ende Winter mit reduzierten Importmöglichkeiten und geringerer Verfügbarkeit inländischer Produktion während weniger Wochen überbrückt werden können.

Die Wasserkraftreserve sieht vor, dass Speicherkraftwerke gegen Entgelt eine bestimmte Menge Energie zurückbehalten.
Die Wasserkraftreserve sieht vor, dass Speicherkraftwerke gegen Entgelt eine bestimmte Menge Energie zurückbehalten.

Der Bundesrat hat Swissgrid die operative Abwicklung der Wasserkraftreserve per Verordnung übertragen. Swissgrid hat damit eine neue Rolle übernommen, die über ihren bisherigen gesetzlichen Auftrag hinausgeht. Konkret stellt Swissgrid die IT-Systeme für die Abwicklung der Auktion und der Abrufe zur Verfügung. Swissgrid definierte und schulte zudem sämtliche Prozesse, führte die Auktionen durch und stellt die finanzielle Abrechnung sicher.

 

Spannungserhöhung

Um Engpässe im Übertragungsnetz zu verhindern, ermöglichte der Bundesrat für den Winter 2022/2023 eine temporäre Erhöhung der Betriebsspannung für die beiden Übertragungsleitungen zwischen Bickigen und Chippis (Gemmileitung) sowie zwischen Bassecourt und Mühleberg von 220 Kilovolt (kV) auf 380 kV.

Die Umbauarbeiten für die dauerhafte Spannungserhöhung auf 380 kV der Leitung Bassecourt – Mühleberg sind weit fortgeschritten. Die Leitung kann ab Ende 2023 dauerhaft mit 380 kV betrieben werden. Zur Stärkung der Versorgungssicherheit wurden zudem die bestehenden Transformatorenkapazitäten im Übertragungsnetz in der Region Bern / Jura erweitert.

Das Bauprojekt für eine definitive Spannungserhöhung der Höchstspannungsleitung Bickigen – Chippis (Gemmileitung) ist noch in der Bewilligungsphase. Gegen den Plangenehmigungsentscheid des Bundesamtes für Energie (BFE) sind Beschwerden an das Bundesverwaltungsgericht eingegangen. Dadurch verzögert sich die Spannungserhöhung der Leitung Bickigen – Chippis um voraussichtlich zwei Jahre. Die Inbetriebnahme ist für 2027 geplant. 2022 bereitete Swissgrid die Leitung technisch für den temporären Betrieb mit 380 kV vor. Auf den Strommasten verlaufen heute zwei 220-kV-Leitungen. Für die temporäre Spannungserhöhung wurden alle Phasen um eine Position versetzt, damit die 220-kV-Leitung auf dem untersten Ausleger liegt. Dafür wurden an vier Strommasten im Bereich der Unterwerke Bickigen, Chippis und Wimmis die Leitungssysteme ausgekreuzt (siehe Infoblatt). Zudem wurden die Leitungseinführungen in die Unterwerke Bickigen und Chippis angepasst. Damit wurden die Auswirkungen auf Menschen und Umwelt möglichst minimiert sowie die Sicherheitsabstände der Leiterseile zum Boden, zu Häusern oder Seilbahnen eingehalten. Eine Bewilligung des Bundes vorausgesetzt kann Swissgrid im Winter 2023/24 bei Bedarf die Leitung zur Sicherstellung der netzseitigen Versorgungssicherheit temporär mit 380 kV betreiben.

Downloads


Netzanschluss des Reservekraftwerks in Birr

Auf dem Betriebsgelände von General Electric (GE) in Birr (AG) wurden acht modulare, mobile Gasturbinen mit je ca. 30 Megawatt Leistung, insgesamt knapp 250 MW, installiert. Die Turbinen können mit verschiedenen gasförmigen und flüssigen Brennstoffen betrieben werden. Den Einsatz dieser Reservekraftwerke hat der Bundesrat in einer Verordnung geregelt. Der Abruf erfolgt durch Swissgrid. Diese Energiereserven können in ausserordentlichen Knappheitssituationen bis Ende April 2026 bei Bedarf eingesetzt werden.

Ein Netzanschluss in Rekordtempo

Um die Energie aus den mobilen Gasturbinen über das 220-kV-Unterwerk in Birr ins Übertragungsnetz einzuspeisen, musste Swissgrid einen neuen Netzanschluss erstellen. Der Netzanschluss für das Reservekraftwerk Birr steht seit dem 24. Februar 2023 nach nur gerade sechs Monaten Bauzeit bereit. Normalerweise dauert dies mehrere Jahre. Ein solches Projekt unter Hochdruck in nur wenigen Monaten umzusetzen, stellte eine enorme Herausforderung an das Projektteam, die beauftragten Lieferanten und Dienstleister dar.


Regelenergie für einen sicheren Netzbetrieb

Strom kann im Übertragungsnetz nicht gespeichert werden, somit müssen die Stromeinspeisung und die -ausspeisung immer gleich hoch sein. Dies bedeutet, dass die Produktion und der Verbrauch von Energie stets im Gleichgewicht sein müssen. Dieses Gleichgewicht gewährleistet den sicheren und stabilen Betrieb des Netzes bei einer konstanten Frequenz von 50 Hertz. Bei unvorhergesehenen Schwankungen setzen die Operateure in den Netzleitstellen Regelenergie ein. Diese stellt eine Reserve dar, die die Kraftwerke für Swissgrid vorhalten und die bei Bedarf abgerufen werden kann. Entweder erhöhen oder senken die Kraftwerke kurzfristig ihre Leistung und kompensieren damit die fehlende oder die überschüssige elektrische Energie. Auch wenn Strom im Winter 2023/24 knapp werden sollte, muss Swissgrid über genügend Regelleistung verfügen können. Deshalb wurden zur Absicherung für den Winter bereits frühzeitig Beschaffungen durchgeführt.

Die Mitarbeitenden der beiden Leitstellen in Aarau und Prilly überwachen das Schweizer Übertragungsnetz rund um die Uhr.

Notstromgruppen

Der Einsatz von Notstromgruppen als zusätzliche Reserve für den kommenden Winter wurde in der Winterreserveverordnung konkretisiert. Swissgrid kommt wie bei der Wasserkraftreserve die operative Abwicklung zu.

Der Bund hat mit Axpo, BKW und CKW Verträge mit einer Laufzeit von vier Jahren unterzeichnet, die eine Vertragssumme von insgesamt einer Million Franken vorsehen. Ziel ist, Notstromgruppen mit einer Leistung von insgesamt rund 280 MW zu kontrahieren.

Als Pooler von Notstromaggregaten sind diese drei Unternehmen somit beauftragt, ein nationales virtuelles Reservekraftwerk aus Notstromaggregaten aufzubauen, die von ihren Besitzerinnen und Besitzern freiwillig gegen eine Entschädigung zur Verfügung gestellt werden. Diese können sich ab sofort bei den drei Poolern anmelden.


Vernetzung mit Europa

Das Schweizer Übertragungsnetz ist Teil des kontinentaleuropäischen Verbundnetzes und mit 41 grenzüberschreitenden Leitungen mit dem Ausland verbunden. Die enge Vermaschung des Stromsystems und die bisherige Zusammenarbeit mit den europäischen Partnern trägt massgeblich zur Versorgungssicherheit der Schweiz bei. Auch im Hinblick auf den Winter 2023/24 ist eine enge Zusammenarbeit mit den Partnern in Europa von grösster Wichtigkeit für die Systemsicherheit in der Schweiz und in den europäischen Nachbarländern. Stromautarkie würde das Risiko für eine Strommangellage nicht entschärfen.

Die enge Zusammenarbeit mit den europäischen Partnern benötigt eine politische bzw. zwischenstaatliche Lösung.

Eine Insellösung würde sowohl den sicheren Netzbetrieb als auch die Versorgungssicherheit gefährden. Der Gesetzgeber hat der Wichtigkeit der Vernetzung mit Europa im Stromversorgungsgesetz Rechnung getragen. Die Zusammenarbeit mit den europäischen Übertragungsnetzbetreibern und die Sicherstellung der ausreichenden internationalen Vernetzung des Schweizer Übertragungsnetzes ist ein expliziter gesetzlicher Auftrag von Swissgrid (Art. 20, Abs. 2, Ziff. f. StromVG).

Die enge Zusammenarbeit mit den europäischen Partnern benötigt eine politische bzw. zwischenstaatliche Lösung. Nur eine solche schafft einen stabilen Rahmen für eine langfristig gesicherte Zusammenarbeit mit der EU und damit für eine hohe Versorgungssicherheit der Schweiz.


Kontakt

Anrede

Bitte wählen Sie die Anrede aus.

Bitte geben Sie Ihren Vornamen an.

Bitte geben Sie Ihren Nachnamen an.

Bitte geben Sie eine gültige E-Mail Adresse ein.

Geben Sie bitte Ihre Nachricht ein.

Klicken Sie bitte die Checkbox an.