Planning for winter

Winter challenge

Electricity is always available in Switzerland. Around the clock, 365 days a year. But we must not take that for granted. Particularly in the winter months, energy producers are confronted with special challenges. The demand for energy increases considerably during periods of snow, ice and low temperatures. The problem here is that domestic electricity generation cannot cover this increased demand, which means that Switzerland relies on imports during the winter months.

Energy supply and consumption in Switzerland

1   Electricity generation in Switzerland: energy from nuclear, run-of-river and storage power plants
2 Import
3 Export
4 Net imports

But why is it that some places in Switzerland do not generate enough electricity during winter? The answer is that electricity generation is heavily dependent on the weather. For example, if water levels in rivers are low due to long dry spells, run-of-river power stations produce less electricity. The same applies to storage power plants: a dry summer or autumn means that the water levels in dams are low and water reserves are limited.

The potentially challenging energy and grid situation in the winter can only be overcome by working together.

The particular challenge is that Switzerland cannot simply import an unlimited amount of electricity. In the winter months, around 80 percent of electricity is imported at the highest voltage level (380 kV). To supply Switzerland with the energy it requires, this imported electricity must first be transformed to a lower voltage level (≤ 220 kV). However, the capacity for transforming electricity is limited. A greater number of high-capacity transformers is required.

1/2: Imports / Exports
Transformation
2/2: Transformation

Downloads

Contact

Title

Please select a title.

Please enter your first name.

Please enter your last name.

Please enter a valid e-mail address.

Please enter your message.

Please click the checkbox.

Winterplanung

Herausforderung Winter

Strom ist in der Schweiz stets verfügbar. Rund um die Uhr, an 365 Tagen im Jahr. Doch dies ist nicht selbstverständlich: Vor allem die Wintermonate stellen die Stromproduzenten vor besondere Herausforderungen. So steigt der Bedarf an Energie bei Schnee, Eis und tiefen Temperaturen deutlich. Das Problem: Die Stromproduktion im Inland kann diesen Mehrbedarf an Strom nicht decken. Während des Winters ist die Schweiz deshalb auf Importe angewiesen.

Energieversorgung und -verbrauch in der Schweiz

1   Stromproduktion in der Schweiz: Energie aus Kernkraft-, Laufwasserkraft- und Speicherkraftwerken
2 Import
3 Export
4 Nettoimporte

Doch wie kommt es, dass im Winter in der Schweiz mancherorts zu wenig Strom hergestellt wird? Die Stromproduktion ist stark von der Wettersituation abhängig. Sind beispielsweise die Pegelstände in den Flüssen durch lange Trockenperioden tief, produzieren Laufwasserkraftwerke weniger Strom. Dasselbe gilt für die Speicherkraftwerke: Ein regenarmer Sommer oder Herbst führt dazu, dass die Pegelstände der Stauseen tief und damit die Wasserreserven knapp sind.

Die Herausforderungen des Winters mit seinen teilweise angespannten Energie- und Netzsituationen lassen sich nur gemeinsam bewältigen.

Die besondere Herausforderung: Die Schweiz kann nicht beliebig viel Strom importieren. Denn im Winterhalbjahr wird rund 80 Prozent des Stroms über die höchste Spannungsebene (380 kV) importiert. Um die Schweiz mit der notwendigen Energie zu versorgen, muss der Importstrom zunächst auf eine tiefere Spannungsebene transformiert werden (≤ 220 kV). Die Kapazitäten für die Transformierung des Stroms sind jedoch beschränkt. Es braucht mehr leistungsfähige Transformatoren.

1/2: Import / Export
Transformation
2/2: Transformation

Downloads

Kontakt

Anrede

Bitte wählen Sie die Anrede aus.

Bitte geben Sie Ihren Vornamen an.

Bitte geben Sie Ihren Nachnamen an.

Bitte geben Sie eine gültige E-Mail Adresse ein.

Geben Sie bitte Ihre Nachricht ein.

Klicken Sie bitte die Checkbox an.