Grid project Bickigen – Chippis

The energy from hydropower cannot be fully transported to the centres in Central Switzerland without expanding the existing lines. This requires an increase in voltage between the Chippis (VS) and Bickigen (BE) substations from the current 220 kilovolts to 380 kilovolts.

Your contact for this grid project

Jan Schenk
Jan Schenk

Phone +41 58 580 21 11
info@swissgrid.ch

380 kV line
380 kV line
Existing line
Existing line
Substation
Substation

Overview

The project provides for an increase in voltage along the 106 kilometre, 220 kilovolt line between the Bickigen (BE) and Chippis (VS) substations with a 380 kilovolt line. The 220 kilovolt line from Chippis to Bickigen was constructed between 1963 and 1965. The Federal Inspectorate for Heavy Current Installations (ESTI) had already approved this line for an operating voltage of 380 kilovolts, but to date it has only been operated at 220 kilovolts.

The transmission grid has structural bottlenecks in the Valais and in other regions and Swissgrid already regularly needs to instruct power plant operators to restrict production. To increase the capacity of the existing 220 kilovolt line between Chippis and Mörel, the entire line will be converted to a voltage of 380 kilovolts. Without connecting the transmission lines in the Valais to the 380 kilovolt grid, it will only be possible to transport around two thirds of the Valais production from hydropower once the new Nant de Drance pumped storage power plant commences operation.

To enable the full extent of the energy to be transported between the Chippis (VS) substation and the Bickigen (BE) substation, the entire line will be increased from the current voltage of 220 kilovolts to 380 kilovolts.


Project

The line between Chippis and Bickigen is now to be operated on a voltage of 380 kV. It will be refurbished and modernised for this. The construction project is extensive: Changes are planned for more than 294 pylons. However the construction activities will be undertaken on the already existing pylons and lines. The original line route will therefore not be changed.

Before the line can be operated with 380 kV, it is mandatory that it be adapted to today's legislation – for instance stricter ordinances with regard to protection from noise or from non-ionising radiation. The voltage increase and modernisation activities contain among other things

  • an increase in the cable winch tension in order to increase the ground distance between the pylons (with 267 pylons),
  • the integration of double tension chains for the lowest derrick (for 50 pylons). That will increase the ground distance by around 4.5 metres in the area of the suspension pylons,
  • a heightening of the pylons by a few metres (30 pylons),
  • the integration of silent cables to reduce noise as well as
  • reinforcements to the foundations (for 245 pylons) and supporting structures (for 263 pylons).

The construction work will last a total of about two years. The construction period per pylon location will last between 3 and 15 days depending on the activity.

Facts and figures

Route lengths Chippis – Wimmis about 49,5 km
Wimmis – Bickigen about 57,1 km
Number of pylons 297
Number of strands 2
Number of bundles 2
Electric conductors 600 mm2 Aldrey
Voltage before / after 220 kV / 380 kV
Amperage before / after 1920 amperes / 1500 amperes

Milestones in the event of an optimal process

July 2015 Planning approval dossier submitted to ESTI
November – December 2015 Public circulation in the municipalities
February 2017 ESTI sends the dossier to the Swiss Federal Office of Energy (SFOE). The SFOE then enters into conciliation negotiations with legitimate objectors.
End of 2018 The planning approval decision is expected from the SFOE
2021 Commissioning

People & environment

Landscape

The construction project is extensive, but only has a minimal effect on the environment and landscape. Lasting environmental impact will occur in relation to the landscape, however the changes compared to the initial state will only be perceptible in the planned increase to the height of the pylons. The heights of 7 pylons will be raised between 2 and 6 metres, primarily in the Alpine region between Leukerbad and Kandersteg, but isolated pylon height increases will occur along the entire line. Targeted measures will minimise the negative impact on the soil, flora and fauna, and the initial state will be restored following the completion of the construction work.

Electromagnetic fields

The renovation work will reduce the magnetic field load along the entire line and significantly improve the current state. While operation at 380 kilovolts will increase noise emissions, the measures that have been introduced ensure that the emission limits are complied with across the board.

Restriction of operating current

Swissgrid always observes the statutory limits when constructing lines. The Ordinance on Protection from Non-Ionising Radiation (NISV) is always complied with. Swissgrid also reserves the right to operate the line at the previous intensity of current of 1920 amperes. This is based on the version of the NISV revised in July 2016. Increasing the voltage from 220 kilovolts to 380 kilovolts requires the heights of isolated pylons to be raised, certain foundations to be reinforced and the wire rope hoists to be tensioned in certain sections. These measures reduce the magnetic field without significantly restricting the operating current.


Downloads


Grid news

  • | Media release

    Ground-breaking ceremony at «Gäbihübel»

    Read article
  • | News

    Chamoson – Chippis: Work has begun

    The preparatory work for the Chamoson – Chippis VHV overhead line that started last January is nearing completion for the first two sections between Chalais and Sierre and Sion and Vex.
    Read article
  • | News

    Chamoson – Chippis: supplementary geological study

    In 2015, the cantonal geologist of the Valais requested an additional «natural hazards» study within the framework of the Chamoson – Chippis extra-high-voltage transmission line project.
    Read article

Contact

Title

Please select a title.

Please enter your first name.

Please enter your last name.

Please enter a valid e-mail address.

Please enter your message.

Please click the checkbox.

Contact

Title

Please select a title.

Please enter your first name.

Please enter your last name.

Please enter a valid e-mail address.

Please enter your message.

Please click the checkbox.

Netzprojekt Bickigen – Chippis

Die Energie aus der Wasserkraft lässt sich ohne den Ausbau der bestehenden Leitungen nicht vollumfänglich in die Zentren des Mittelands abtransportieren. Dazu wird die Spannungserhöhung zwischen dem Unterwerk Chippis (VS) und Bickigen (BE) von 220 kV auf 380 kV benötigt.

Ihr Ansprechpartner für dieses Netzprojekt

Joshu Jullier
Joshu Jullier

Telefon +41 58 580 21 11
info@swissgrid.ch

380-kV-Leitung
380-kV-Leitung
Bestehende Leitung
Bestehende Leitung
Unterwerk
Unterwerk

Übersicht

Das Projekt sieht die Spannungserhöhung der 106 Kilometer langen 220-kV-Leitung zwischen dem Unterwerk Bickigen (BE) und dem Unterwerk Chippis (VS) durch eine 380-kV-Leitung vor. Die 220-kV-Leitung von Chippis nach Bickigen wurde zwischen 1963 und 1965 gebaut. Das Eidgenössische Starkstrominspektorat (ESTI) hatte diese Leitung für eine Betriebsspannung von 380 kV bewilligt, diese wurde jedoch bis heute nur mit 220 kV betrieben.

Das Übertragungsnetz weist im Wallis und in anderen Regionen strukturelle Engpässe auf. Bereits heute muss Swissgrid regelmässig Kraftwerksbetreiber anweisen, die Produktion einzuschränken. Ohne die Anbindung der Übertragungsleitungen im Wallis an das 380-kV-Netz können nur rund zwei Drittel der Walliser Produktion aus Wasserkraft abtransportiert werden, wenn das neue Pumpspeicherkraftwerk Nant de Drance in Betrieb geht.

Damit die Energie in vollem Mass zwischen dem Unterwerk Chippis und dem Unterwerk Bickigen transportiert werden kann, wird diese Leitung durchgehend auf eine Spannung von heute 220 kV auf 380 kV erhöht.


Projekt

Die Leitung zwischen Chippis und Bickigen soll neu auf einer Spannung von 380 kV betrieben werden. Dafür wird sie saniert und modernisiert. Das Bauvorhaben ist umfangreich: So sind an über 294 Masten Veränderungen geplant. Die baulichen Massnahmen werden jedoch an den bereits bestehenden Masten und Leitungen vorgenommen. Die ursprüngliche Leitungsführung wird damit nicht verändert.

Bevor die Leitung mit 380 kV betrieben werden kann, muss sie zwingend an die heutige Gesetzgebung – beispielsweise strengere Verordnungen bezüglich Schutz vor Lärm oder vor nichtionisierender Strahlung – angepasst werden. Die Spannungserhöhungs- und Modernisierungsmassnahmen beinhalten unter anderem

  • eine Erhöhung der Seilzugspannung, um den Bodenabstand zwischen den Masten zu vergrössern (bei 267 Masten),
  • den Einbau von Doppelspannketten beim untersten Ausleger (bei 50 Masten). Damit wird der Bodenabstand um rund 4,5 Meter im Bereich der Tragmasten erhöht,
  • eine Erhöhung der Masten um einige Meter (30 Masten),
  • den Einbau von geräuscharmen Seilen zur Lärmreduktion sowie
  • Fundaments- (bei 245 Masten) und Tragwerksverstärkungen (bei 263 Masten).

Die Bauarbeiten dauern insgesamt etwa zwei Jahre. Die Bauzeit pro Maststandort wird je nach Massnahme zwischen 3 und 15 Tage dauern.

Zahlen und Fakten

Trasseelängen Chippis – Wimmis ca. 49,5 km
Wimmis – Bickigen ca. 57,1 km
Anzahl Masten 297
Anzahl Stränge 2
Anzahl Bündel 2
Stromleiter 600 mm2 Aldrey
Spannung vorher / nachher 220 kV / 380 kV
Stromstärke vorher / nachher 1920 Ampère / 1500 Ampère

Meilensteine bei optimalem Verlauf

Juli 2015 Plangenehmigungsdossier beim ESTI eingereicht
November – Dezember 2015 Öffentliche Auflage in den Gemeinden
Februar 2017 ESTI überweist das Dossier an das Bundesamt für Energie (BFE). Das BFE wird in einem nächsten Schritt Einigungsverhandlungen mit den legitimierten Einsprechern ansetzen.
Ende 2019 Der Plangenehmigungsentscheid durch das BFE wird erwartet
2021 Inbetriebnahme

Mensch & Umwelt

Landschaftsbild

Das Bauvorhaben ist umfangreich, aus Sicht Umwelt und Landschaft sind die Auwirkungen jedoch geringfügig. Bleibende Umweltauswirkungen erfolgen im Bereich Landschaft, allerdings werden die Veränderungen gegenüber dem Ausgangszustand nur bei den geplanten Masterhöhungen warnehmbar. Die Masterhöhungen an 7 Masten zwischen 2 und 6 Meter sind hauptsächlich im alpinen Gebiet zwischen Leukerbad und Kandersteg konzentriert, es gibt jedoch einzelne Masterhöhungen auf der ganzen Leitung. Mit gezielten Massnahmen werden die negativen Auswirkungen auf Boden, Flora und Fauna minimiert und nach Abschluss der Bauarbeiten wird der Ausgangszustand wiederhergestellt.

Elektromagnetische Felder

Durch die Sanierungsmassnahmen wird die Belastung des Magnetfelds auf der gesamten Leitung reduziert und damit der heutige Zustand deutlich verbessert. Durch den Betrieb mit 380 kV werden die Lärmemissionen zwar erhöht, die Immissionsgrenzwerte werden jedoch aufgrund der getroffenen Massnahmen überall eingehalten.

Beschränkung des Betriebsstroms

Swissgrid hält sich beim Bau von Leitungen immer an die gesetzlich gültigen Grenzwerte. Die Verordnung über den Schutz vor nichtionisierender Strahlung (NISV) wird stets eingehalten. Ferner behält sich Swissgrid vor, die Leitung wie bisher mit Stromstärke von 1920 Ampère zu betreiben. Basis dafür bildet die im Juli 2016 revidierte Fassung der NISV. Damit die Spannung von 220 Kilovolt auf 380 Kilovolt erhöht werden kann, müssen einzelne Masten erhöht, gewisse Fundamente verstärkt und an gewissen Abschnitten die Seilzüge gespannt werden. Mit diesen Massnahmen verringert sich das Magnetfeld auch ohne Beschränkungen des Betriebsstroms signifikant.


Downloads


Netznews

  • | Medienmitteilung

    Sichere Stromversorgung für das Wallis und die Schweiz

    Beitrag lesen
  • | News

    Netzprojekte: Swissgrid informiert über den aktuellsten Stand der Bauarbeiten

    Beitrag lesen
  • | Medienmitteilung

    Spatenstich am «Gäbihübel»

    Beitrag lesen

Kontakt

Anrede

Bitte wählen Sie die Anrede aus.

Bitte geben Sie Ihren Vornamen an.

Bitte geben Sie Ihren Nachnamen an.

Bitte geben Sie eine gültige E-Mail Adresse ein.

Geben Sie bitte Ihre Nachricht ein.

Klicken Sie bitte die Checkbox an.

Kontakt

Anrede

Bitte wählen Sie die Anrede aus.

Bitte geben Sie Ihren Vornamen an.

Bitte geben Sie Ihren Nachnamen an.

Bitte geben Sie eine gültige E-Mail Adresse ein.

Geben Sie bitte Ihre Nachricht ein.

Klicken Sie bitte die Checkbox an.