Grid project Bickigen – Chippis

The energy from hydropower cannot be fully transported to the centres in Central Switzerland without expanding the existing lines. This requires an increase in voltage between the Chippis (VS) and Bickigen (BE) substations from the current 220 kilovolts to 380 kilovolts.

Your contact for this grid project

Jan Schenk
Jan Schenk

Phone +41 58 580 21 11
info@swissgrid.ch

380 kV line
380 kV line
Existing line
Existing line
Substation
Substation

Overview

The project provides for an increase in voltage along the 106 kilometre, 220 kilovolt line between the Bickigen (BE) and Chippis (VS) substations with a 380 kilovolt line. The 220 kilovolt line from Chippis to Bickigen was constructed between 1963 and 1965. The Federal Inspectorate for Heavy Current Installations (ESTI) had already approved this line for an operating voltage of 380 kilovolts, but to date it has only been operated at 220 kilovolts.

The transmission grid has structural bottlenecks in the Valais and in other regions and Swissgrid already regularly needs to instruct power plant operators to restrict production. To increase the capacity of the existing 220 kilovolt line between Chippis and Mörel, the entire line will be converted to a voltage of 380 kilovolts. Without connecting the transmission lines in the Valais to the 380 kilovolt grid, it will only be possible to transport around two thirds of the Valais production from hydropower once the new Nant de Drance pumped storage power plant commences operation.

To enable the full extent of the energy to be transported between the Chippis (VS) substation and the Bickigen (BE) substation, the entire line will be increased from the current voltage of 220 kilovolts to 380 kilovolts.


Project

The line between Chippis and Bickigen is now to be operated on a voltage of 380 kV. It will be refurbished and modernised for this. The construction project is extensive: Changes are planned for more than 294 pylons. However the construction activities will be undertaken on the already existing pylons and lines. The original line route will therefore not be changed.

Before the line can be operated with 380 kV, it is mandatory that it be adapted to today's legislation – for instance stricter ordinances with regard to protection from noise or from non-ionising radiation. The voltage increase and modernisation activities contain among other things

  • an increase in the cable winch tension in order to increase the ground distance between the pylons (with 267 pylons),
  • the integration of double tension chains for the lowest derrick (for 50 pylons). That will increase the ground distance by around 4.5 metres in the area of the suspension pylons,
  • a heightening of the pylons by a few metres (30 pylons),
  • the integration of silent cables to reduce noise as well as
  • reinforcements to the foundations (for 245 pylons) and supporting structures (for 263 pylons).

The construction work will last a total of about two years. The construction period per pylon location will last between 3 and 15 days depending on the activity.

Facts and figures

Route lengths Chippis – Wimmis about 49,5 km
Wimmis – Bickigen about 57,1 km
Number of pylons 297
Number of strands 2
Number of bundles 2
Electric conductors 600 mm2 Aldrey
Voltage before / after 220 kV / 380 kV
Amperage before / after 1920 amperes / 1500 amperes

Milestones in the event of an optimal process

July 2015 Planning approval dossier submitted to ESTI
November – December 2015 Public circulation in the municipalities
February 2017 ESTI sends the dossier to the Swiss Federal Office of Energy (SFOE). The SFOE then enters into conciliation negotiations with legitimate objectors.
End of 2018 The planning approval decision is expected from the SFOE
2021 Commissioning

People & environment

Landscape

The construction project is extensive, but only has a minimal effect on the environment and landscape. Lasting environmental impact will occur in relation to the landscape, however the changes compared to the initial state will only be perceptible in the planned increase to the height of the pylons. The heights of 7 pylons will be raised between 2 and 6 metres, primarily in the Alpine region between Leukerbad and Kandersteg, but isolated pylon height increases will occur along the entire line. Targeted measures will minimise the negative impact on the soil, flora and fauna, and the initial state will be restored following the completion of the construction work.

Electromagnetic fields

The renovation work will reduce the magnetic field load along the entire line and significantly improve the current state. While operation at 380 kilovolts will increase noise emissions, the measures that have been introduced ensure that the emission limits are complied with across the board.

Restriction of operating current

Swissgrid always observes the statutory limits when constructing lines. The Ordinance on Protection from Non-Ionising Radiation (NISV) is always complied with. Swissgrid also reserves the right to operate the line at the previous intensity of current of 1920 amperes. This is based on the version of the NISV revised in July 2016. Increasing the voltage from 220 kilovolts to 380 kilovolts requires the heights of isolated pylons to be raised, certain foundations to be reinforced and the wire rope hoists to be tensioned in certain sections. These measures reduce the magnetic field without significantly restricting the operating current.


Downloads


Grid news

  • | Media release

    Ground-breaking ceremony at «Gäbihübel»

    Read article
  • | News

    Chamoson – Chippis: Work has begun

    The preparatory work for the Chamoson – Chippis VHV overhead line that started last January is nearing completion for the first two sections between Chalais and Sierre and Sion and Vex.
    Read article
  • | News

    Chamoson – Chippis: supplementary geological study

    In 2015, the cantonal geologist of the Valais requested an additional «natural hazards» study within the framework of the Chamoson – Chippis extra-high-voltage transmission line project.
    Read article

Contact

Title

Please select a title.

Please enter your first name.

Please enter your last name.

Please enter a valid e-mail address.

Please enter your message.

Please click the checkbox.

Contact

Title

Please select a title.

Please enter your first name.

Please enter your last name.

Please enter a valid e-mail address.

Please enter your message.

Please click the checkbox.

Projet de réseau Bickigen – Chippis

Il est nécessaire de procéder à l'extension des lignes existantes afin de pouvoir transporter toute l'énergie issue de la force hydraulique vers les centres de consommation du Plateau suisse. À cette fin, il convient d'augmenter la tension entre les sous-stations de Chippis (VS) et de Bickigen (BE) de 220 kV à l'heure actuelle à 380 kV.

Votre contact pour ce projet

Joshu Jullier
Joshu Jullier

Téléphone +41 58 580 21 11
info@swissgrid.ch

Ligne 380 kV
Ligne 380 kV
Ligne actuelle
Ligne actuelle
Sous-station
Sous-station

Sommaire

Le projet prévoit l'augmentation de la tension de la ligne 220 kV existante, qui relie les sous-stations de Bickigen (BE) et de Chippis (VS) sur 106 kilomètres, à 380 kV. La ligne 220 kV entre Chippis et Bickigen a été construite entre 1963 et 1965. L'Inspection fédérale des installations à courant fort (ESTI) avait déjà autorisé une tension d'exploitation de 380 kV pour celle-ci, mais à ce jour, elle n'a été exploitée qu'avec une tension de 220 kV.

Le réseau de transport présente des congestions structurelles en Valais et dans d'autres régions. À l'heure actuelle, Swissgrid doit demander régulièrement aux exploitants de centrales électriques de restreindre la production. Afin d'augmenter la capacité de la ligne 220 kV existante entre Chippis et Mörel, cette ligne sera transformée pour passer intégralement à une tension de 380 kV. Si les lignes de transport en Valais ne sont pas raccordées au réseau 380 kV, près d'un tiers de la production valaisanne issue de la force hydraulique ne pourra pas être transporté lorsque la nouvelle centrale de pompage-turbinage de Nant de Drance sera mise en service.

La tension de cette ligne va donc être augmentée sur toute sa longueur et passer de 220 kV à l'heure actuelle à 380 kV afin de pouvoir transporter toute l'énergie entre les sous-stations de Chippis (VS) et de Bickigen (BE).


Projet

La ligne entre Chippis et Bickigen doit désormais être exploitée sous une tension de 380 kV. Elle va donc être rénovée et modernisée. C'est un projet de construction de grande ampleur: il est en effet prévu de modifier 294 pylônes. Les transformations seront toutefois réalisées sur les pylônes et les lignes existants. Le tracé des lignes reste inchangé.

Il faut impérativement adapter la ligne à la législation actuelle, aux ordonnances plus strictes en ce qui concerne la protection contre le bruit ou le rayonnement non ionisant, par exemple, avant de pouvoir l'exploiter sous 380 kV. Les mesures d'augmentation de la tension et de modernisation comportent notamment

  • une augmentation de la tension des câbles afin d'augmenter leur distance par rapport au sol entre les pylônes (pour 267 pylônes),
  • le montage de chaînes de tension doubles pour le bras inférieur (pour 50 pylônes). La distance par rapport au sol sera ainsi augmentée d'environ 4.5 mètres dans la zone des pylônes d'alignement,
  • la surélévation de quelques mètres de certains pylônes (30 pylônes),
  • le montage de câbles silencieux ainsi que
  • des travaux de renforcement des fondations (pour 245 pylônes) et de la structure porteuse (pour 263 pylônes).

Les travaux vont durer deux ans environ. Les transformations vont prendre entre 3 et 15 jours par pylône en fonction de leur étendue.

Faits et chiffres

Longueurs des lignes 49,5 km environ pour Chippis – Wimmis
57,1 km environ pour Wimmis – Bickigen
Nombre de pylônes 297
Nombre de ternes 2
Nombre de faisceaux 2
Conducteurs 600 mm2 Aldrey
Tension avant / après 220 kV / 380 kV
Intensité avant / après 1920 ampères / 1500 ampères

Etapes en cas de procédure optimale

Juillet 2015 Dossier d'approbation des plans soumis à l'ESTI
Novembre – décembre 2015 Mise à l'enquête publique dans les communes
Février 2017 L'ESTI transmet le dossier à l'Office fédéral de l'énergie (OFEN). Ce dernier va ensuite entamer des séances de conciliation avec les opposants légitimes.
Fin 2019 L'OFEN doit prendre la décision d'approbation des plans
2021 Mise en service

Personnes & environnement

Paysage

C'est un projet de grande ampleur qui n'a toutefois que de faibles répercussions sur l'environnement et le paysage. Les conséquences durables sur l'environnement concernent le paysage, les changements par rapport à la situation initiale seront cependant uniquement visibles dans le cas de la surélévation prévue des pylônes. Sept pylônes seront surélevés de 2 à 6 mètres, principalement dans la zone alpine située entre Loèche-les-Bains et Kandersteg. Certains pylônes seront cependant également surélevés tout au long de la ligne. Les répercussions négatives sur les sols, la flore et la faune seront minimisées grâce à des mesures ciblées, et l'état initial sera rétabli à la fin des travaux.

Champs électromagnétiques

Les mesures d'assainissement diminueront l'impact du champ magnétique sur toute la longueur de la ligne, ce qui entraîne une nette amélioration par rapport à la situation actuelle. L'exploitation à 380 kV augmente certes les émissions de bruit, mais les valeurs limites d'immissions sont toutefois respectées partout grâce aux mesures prises.

Limitation du courant d'exploitation

Swissgrid respecte toujours les valeurs limites légales en vigueur lors de la construction de lignes. L'Ordonnance sur la protection contre le rayonnement non ionisant (ORNI) est toujours respectée. De plus, Swissgrid se réserve le droit d'exploiter la ligne avec une intensité de 1920 ampères, comme c'est le cas actuellement. La version révisée de l'ORNI de juillet 2016 en forme la base. Il est nécessaire de surélever certains pylônes, de renforcer des fondations et de tendre les conducteurs sur certains tronçons afin de pouvoir augmenter la tension de 220 à 380 kV. Ces mesures permettent également de réduire notablement le champ magnétique, même sans limitation du courant d'exploitation.


Téléchargements


Actualités concernant le réseau

  • | News

    Projets de réseau: Swissgrid informe sur l’état d’avancement des travaux de cons-truction

    Lire l'article
  • | Communiqué de presse

    Premier coup de pioche dans la zone «Gäbihübel»

    Lire l'article
  • | News

    Chamoson – Chippis: Démarrage des travaux

    Les travaux préparatoires de la ligne aérienne THT Chamoson – Chippis débutés en janvier dernier touchent à leur fin sur les deux premiers tronçons de travail entre Chalais et Sierre et Sion et Vex.
    Lire l'article

Contact

Titre

Veuillez sélectionner le titre.

Veuillez entrer votre prénom.

Veuillez entrer votre nom.

Veuillez entrer une adresse e-mail valide.

Veuillez entrer votre message.

Veuillez cocher la case.

Contact

Titre

Veuillez sélectionner le titre.

Veuillez entrer votre prénom.

Veuillez entrer votre nom.

Veuillez entrer une adresse e-mail valide.

Veuillez entrer votre message.

Veuillez cocher la case.