Grid project Bassecourt – Mühleberg

Between Bassecourt and Mühleberg, the voltage on the existing line will be increased from 220 kilovolts to 380 kilovolts. This will improve the security of supply in Greater Bern when the Mühleberg nuclear power plant is decommissioned at the end of 2019.

Your contact for this grid project

Jan Schenk
Jan Schenk

Phone +41 58 580 21 11
info@swissgrid.ch

380 kV line
380 kV line
Existing line
Existing line
Substation
Substation

Overview

The planned decommissioning of the Mühleberg nuclear power plant from 2019 will result in the removal of a large part of the energy feed-in at the 220 kV grid level in Mühleberg. To ensure security of supply in the Greater Berne area, the missing energy must primarily be imported via Northwest Switzerland. To do so, Swissgrid is modernising and reinforcing the grid infrastructure. It is increasing the voltage of the transmission line between Mühleberg (BE) and Bassecourt (JU) from 220 to 380 kV and installing a transformer in the Mühleberg substation. The Bassecourt – Mühleberg extra-high voltage line, with a length of 45 kilometres, was already approved for an operating voltage of 380 kV by the Federal Inspectorate for Heavy Current Installations (ESTI) in 1978, but is currently only operated at a voltage of 220 kV.

Construction measures on pylons and the line

The future operation of the line at a voltage of 380 kV requires construction measures to ensure compliance with the applicable limit values for the electric field as well as the Ordinance on Electric Lines and Cables. The grid project's impact on the environment and the landscape are minimal. The noise emissions are below the target figures specified by law. This ensures that the most stringent statutory precautionary values pursuant to the Noise-Protection Ordinance (LSV) are observed.


Project

The Bassecourt – Mühleberg extra-high voltage line, with a length of 45 kilometres, was constructed in 1978. It was approved and set up for an operating voltage of 380 or 220 kilovolts per circuit. Since then, the 380 kV circuit has been operated at 220 kV and the 220 kV circuit has been operated at 132 kV. The circuit operated at 220 kV will be upgraded for a power transmission of 380 kV. This will occur in compliance with the applicable limit values in the Ordinance on Protection against Non-Ionised Radiation (NISV) as well as the Noise-Protection Ordinance.

The increase in voltage will not impact on the landscape. The increase in voltage and modernisation of the line will take place on existing pylons. The line's route will remain the same. Construction work will take place on 54 of the total of 142 pylons.

Schedule – optimal case without appeal to the courts

2nd quarter 2017 Start of the planning approval procedure ESTI
3rd quarter 2018 Construction permit / tenders
1st quarter 2019 Construction and civil engineering / pylon and cable assembly
4th quarter 2019 Start of operation

New transformer in the Mühleberg substation

The planned decommissioning of the Mühleberg nuclear power plant (KKM) by no later than 2019 and the corresponding withdrawal of up to 370 MW of feed-in at the 220 kV level at the Mühleberg site results in an additional import requirement to supply the Greater Berne area and Central Switzerland. As a replacement, Swissgrid is planning to install an 800 MVA 380/220 kV transformer in Mühleberg. Connection to the 380 kV grid is expected to occur via the existing Bassecourt – Mühleberg line, which is currently operated at 220 kV. This will also relieve the burden on the transformer in Bassecourt, which could not be operated safely without a line increase in Mühleberg (n-1). The tense energy and grid situation in the winter of 2015/2016 clearly illustrated the urgency of the feed-in into the 220 kV grid, including in the region of Berne.


People & environment

Noise

  • The increase in voltage in a transmission line from an operation at 220 kV to 380 kV results in an increase in the maximum electrical field strength of the overhead line, which results in an increase in the noise level on the line.
  • The planning figures, i.e. the most stringent statutory precautionary values in accordance with the Noise-Protection Ordinance (LSV), are complied with at all noise-sensitive areas operating at 380 kV.
  • The existing quadruple conductor is currently already reducing the noise level along the line. The precautionary principle specified by the Noise-Protection Ordinance is therefore largely taken into account.
  • The noises are caused by the corona effect, which primarily occurs during wet weather conditions (rain, snow, fog). The noises are barely perceptible in fine and dry weather.

Electromagnetic fields

  • Magnetic fields
    • The emission limit for a magnetic field of 100 microtesla is complied with in all places where people may be present.
    • The optimum phasing is determined for the different sections in the project. The phase difference is already optimised in the section between Mühleberg and Pieterlen. The phase difference will be optimised for the section between Pieterlen and Bassecourt, which will result in an improvement from the current condition.
  • Electric field: The increase in voltage to 380 kV will also lead to an increase in the line's electric field. The emission limit (IGW) of 5 kV/m is complied with at all points.

Downloads


Grid news

  • | Media release

    Ground-breaking ceremony at «Gäbihübel»

    Read article
  • | News

    Chamoson – Chippis: Work has begun

    The preparatory work for the Chamoson – Chippis VHV overhead line that started last January is nearing completion for the first two sections between Chalais and Sierre and Sion and Vex.
    Read article
  • | News

    Chamoson – Chippis: supplementary geological study

    In 2015, the cantonal geologist of the Valais requested an additional «natural hazards» study within the framework of the Chamoson – Chippis extra-high-voltage transmission line project.
    Read article

Contact

Title

Please select a title.

Please enter your first name.

Please enter your last name.

Please enter a valid e-mail address.

Please enter your message.

Please click the checkbox.

Contact

Title

Please select a title.

Please enter your first name.

Please enter your last name.

Please enter a valid e-mail address.

Please enter your message.

Please click the checkbox.

Netzprojekt Bassecourt – Mühleberg

Zwischen Bassecourt und Mühleberg wird auf der bestehenden Leitung die Spannung von 220 kV auf 380 kV erhöht. Damit erhöht sich die Versorgungssicherheit im Grossraum Bern, wenn Ende 2019 das Kernkraftwerk Mühleberg stillgelegt wird.

Ihr Ansprechpartner für dieses Netzprojekt

Jan Schenk
Jan Schenk

Telefon +41 58 580 21 11
info@swissgrid.ch

380-kV-Leitung
380-kV-Leitung
Bestehende Leitung
Bestehende Leitung
Unterwerk
Unterwerk

Übersicht

Mit der geplanten Stilllegung des Kernkraftwerks Mühleberg ab 2019 fällt ein grosser Teil der Energieeinspeisung auf der 220-kV-Netzebene in Mühleberg weg. Zur sicheren Versorgung des Grossraums Bern muss die fehlende Energie hauptsächlich über die Nordwestschweiz importiert werden. Swissgrid modernisiert und verstärkt dazu die Netzinfrastruktur. Sie erhöht die Spannung der Übertragungsleitung zwischen Mühleberg (BE) und Bassecourt (JU) von 220 auf 380 kV und installiert einen Transformator im Unterwerk Mühleberg. Die Höchstspannungsleitung Bassecourt – Mühleberg mit einer Länge von 45 Kilometern wurde bereits 1978 durch das Eidgenössische Starkstrominspektorat (ESTI) für eine Betriebsspannung von 380 kV bewilligt, jedoch bis heute nur mit einer Spannung von 220 kV betrieben.

Bauliche Massnahmen und Leitung

Für den künftigen Betrieb der Leitung mit einer Spannung von 380 kV sind bauliche Massnahmen nötig, damit die gültigen Grenzwerte für das elektrische Feld sowie der Leitungsverordnung eingehalten werden. Die Auswirkungen des Netzprojekts auf die Umwelt und auf das Landschaftsbild sind minimal. Die Lärmemissionen liegen unterhalb den gesetzlich vorgegebenen Planungswerten. Somit werden die jeweils strengsten gesetztlichen Vorsorgewerte gemäss der Lärmschutzverordnung eingehalten.


Projekt

Die Höchstspannungsleitung Bassecourt – Mühleberg mit einer Länge von 45 Kilometern wurde 1978 gebaut. Sie wurde für eine Betriebsspannung je eines Stranges mit 380 bzw. 220 Kilovolt genehmigt und erstellt. Seither wird der 380-kV-Strang mit 220 kV und der 220-kV-Strang mit 132 kV betrieben. Der mit 220 kV betriebene Strang wird für die Stromübertragung mit 380 kV ertüchtigt. Dies geschieht unter Einhaltung der gültigen Grenzwerte der Verordnung über den Schutz vor nichtionisierender Strahlung (NISV) sowie der Lärmschutzverordnung.

Die Spannungserhöhung wirkt sich nicht auf das Landschaftsbild aus. Die Spannungserhöhung und Modernisierung der Leitung erfolgt an den bestehenden Masten. Die Linienführung der Leitung bleibt bestehen. An 54 von insgesamt 142 Masten werden Bauarbeiten durchgeführt.

Zeitplan – optimaler Fall ohne Weiterzug an die Gerichte

2. Quartal 2017 Start Plangenehmigungsverfahren ESTI
2. Quartal 2019 Baubewilligung / Ausschreibungen
3. Quartal 2019 Tiefbau / Mast- und Seilmontage
2020 Inbetriebnahme

Neuer Transformator im Unterwerk Mühleberg

Durch die geplante Ausserbetriebnahme des Kernkraftwerks Mühleberg spätestens im Jahr 2019 und dem entsprechenden Wegfall von bis zu 370 MW Einspeisung auf Ebene 220 kV am Standort in Mühleberg entsteht ein zusätzlicher Importbedarf zur Versorgung des Grossraums Bern und des zentralen Mittellandes. Swissgrid plant als Ersatz die Platzierung eines 800-MVA-Transformators 380 / 220 kV in Mühleberg. Der Anschluss an das 380-kV-Netz soll über die bestehende Leitung Bassecourt – Mühleberg erfolgen, welche aktuell mit 220 kV betrieben wird. Dadurch wird auch der Transformator in Bassecourt entlastet, der ohne Leitungserhöhung in Mühleberg nicht (n-1)-sicher betrieben würde. Die angespannte Energie- und Netzsituation im Winter 2015/2016 hat die Dringlichkeit der Einspeisung in das 220-kV-Netz deutlich aufgezeigt, so auch im Raum Bern.


Mensch & Umwelt

Lärm

  • Durch die Spannungserhöhung eines Leitungsstranges von einem Betrieb mit 220 kV auf 380 kV steigt die maximale elektrische Feldstärke der Freileitung an, was zu einer Zunahme des Geräuschpegels an der Leitung führt.
  • Die Planungswerte, d.h. die strengsten gesetztlichen Vorsorgewerte gemäss Lärmschutzverordnung (LSV) sind bei einem Betrieb mit 380 kV an allen lärmempfindlichen Orten eingehalten.
  • Durch das bestehende Vierer-Bündel wird der Geräuschpegel der Leitung bereits heute verringert. Damit wird dem Vorsorgeprinzip der LSV weitgehend Rechnung getragen.
  • Die Geräusche werden durch den Koronaeffekt hervorgerufen, der vor allem bei feuchten Witterungsverhältnissen (Regen, Schnee, Nebel) auftritt. Bei schönem und trockenem Wetter sind die Geräusche kaum wahrnehmbar.

Elektromagnetische Felder

  • Magnetisches Feld
    • Der Imissionsgrenzwert für das magnetische Feld von 100 Mikrotesla ist überall eingehalten, wo sich Menschen aufhalten können.
    • Für die unterschiedlichen Abschnitte wird mit dem Projekt jeweils die optimale Phasenlage ermittelt. Im Abschnitt Mühleberg bis Pieterlen ist die Phasenlage bereits heute optimiert. Auf dem Abschnitt Pieterlen bis Bassecourt wird die Phasenlage optimiert und somit eine Verbesserung gegenüber dem heutigen Zustand erreicht.
  • Elektrisches Feld: Bei der Spannungserhöhung auf 380 kV vergrössert sich das elektrische Feld der Leitung. Der Immissionsgrenzwert von 5 kV/m ist überall eingehalten.

Downloads


Netznews

  • | Medienmitteilung

    Sichere Stromversorgung für das Wallis und die Schweiz

    Beitrag lesen
  • | News

    Netzprojekte: Swissgrid informiert über den aktuellsten Stand der Bauarbeiten

    Beitrag lesen
  • | Medienmitteilung

    Spatenstich am «Gäbihübel»

    Beitrag lesen

Kontakt

Anrede

Bitte wählen Sie die Anrede aus.

Bitte geben Sie Ihren Vornamen an.

Bitte geben Sie Ihren Nachnamen an.

Bitte geben Sie eine gültige E-Mail Adresse ein.

Geben Sie bitte Ihre Nachricht ein.

Klicken Sie bitte die Checkbox an.

Kontakt

Anrede

Bitte wählen Sie die Anrede aus.

Bitte geben Sie Ihren Vornamen an.

Bitte geben Sie Ihren Nachnamen an.

Bitte geben Sie eine gültige E-Mail Adresse ein.

Geben Sie bitte Ihre Nachricht ein.

Klicken Sie bitte die Checkbox an.