Grid project Bassecourt – Mühleberg

The enhancement of the Bassecourt – Mühleberg extra-high-voltage line is part of the «Strategic Grid 2025». Swissgrid needs the 380-kV connection between Bassecourt and Mühleberg to ensure the security of supply in the medium-term. This is particularly important in the winter months, when Switzerland relies on additional energy imports.

Your contact for this grid project

Sandra Bläuer
Sandra Bläuer

Phone +41 58 580 21 11
info@swissgrid.ch

380 kV line
380 kV line
Existing line
Existing line
Substation
Substation

Overview

The decommissioning of the Mühleberg nuclear power plant will result in the removal of part of Swiss energy production in Central Switzerland from the end of 2019. In the medium-term, this missing feed-in needs to be offset by higher production by Swiss power plants or energy imports from abroad. To enable the additional imports, the existing capacities of the extra-high-voltage lines and transformers between Bassecourt and Mühleberg need to be expanded. This is particularly important in the winter months, when Switzerland relies on additional energy imports.

In a normal supply situation, Greater Bern will receive an adequate supply of electricity even after the decommissioning of the Mühleberg nuclear power plant. In the event of short-term grid congestion, the Swissgrid grid control room can take various measures, such as switching operations or interventions in electricity generation (redispatch) or measures on the power market (NTC adjustments), to respond to the situation and ensure grid stability. Swissgrid needs the 380-kV connection between Bassecourt and Mühleberg to ensure the security of supply in the medium term.


Temporary voltage increase on the Bassecourt – Mühleberg line

The Federal Council has enacted various measures to strengthen security of supply in the short term. These measures are ready to be implemented in the coming winter in order to deal with extraordinary and critical situations. They include plans for temporary voltage increases on the Bickigen – Chippis (Gemmi line) and Bassecourt – Mühleberg transmission lines.

To prevent congestion in the transmission system in the coming winter, the Federal Council is allowing a temporary increase in the operating voltage of the two transmission lines between Bickigen and Chippis (Gemmi line) and Bassecourt and Mühleberg from 220 kilovolts (kV) to 380 kV in the period from January to April 2023. This will relieve congestion in the Swiss transmission grid so that the energy from the pumped storage power plants in the Alps can be transported in full to Central Switzerland. In an emergency, Swissgrid can increase the transfer capacity of the extra-high-voltage grid on the basis of criteria set by the federal government.

Test operation at a voltage of 380 kV

Swissgrid is making the necessary technical preparations to operate the Bickigen – Chippis and Bassecourt – Mühleberg lines at a voltage of 380 kV on a temporary basis in the event of a tense supply situation. The measure is only planned for the period between January and April 2023. Test operations will take place on both lines between mid-December 2022 and the end of February 2023. This will involve temporarily changing the voltage of the existing lines from 220 kV to 380 kV. The test operation with 380 kV will only be carried out if the grid situation allows it. The combined test operations will verify the lines from an operational point of view. The two voltage increases influence each other and can shift congestion depending on grid utilisation. The scope and duration of the test operations were approved by the Federal Inspectorate for Heavy Current Installations (ESTI).

Swissgrid had already successfully tested the operation of the Bassecourt – Mühleberg line and the transformer in Mühleberg at a voltage of 380 kV in autumn 2021. This means that Swissgrid will be technically ready to operate this line at 380 kV on a temporary basis in the event of a critical supply situation. The planned construction measures necessary for the permanent voltage change to 380 kV are being carried out in two stages from mid-August 2022 until the end of 2023.


Project

The Bassecourt – Mühleberg extra-high-voltage line is 45 kilometres long and was built in 1978. The Federal Inspectorate for Heavy Current Installations (ESTI) approved the line for an operating voltage of 380 kV back in 1978. However, it has been operated with a voltage of only 220 kV since that time. The voltage increase will take place in compliance with the limits specified in the Ordinance on Protection against Non-Ionising Radiation (NISV).

The line will be modernised along the existing pylons and will not change the landscape. In total, construction work is planned on 56 of 142 pylons as well as on the guyed gantries of the two substations in Pieterlen and Bassecourt: individual pylon foundations will be reinforced, double anchor chains will be installed, or the cable winch tension will be increased. The future operation at 380 kilovolts will result in an increase in noise emissions that will be hardly noticeable.

The construction costs for the increase in voltage and modernisation of the Bassecourt – Mühleberg extra-high-voltage line amount to approximately 11 million Swiss francs.

Schedule

On 22 August 2019 the Swiss Federal Office of Energy approved the voltage increase of the extra-high-voltage line between Bassecourt and Mühleberg from 220 to 380 kilovolts and dismissed the objections. These generally related to the load from magnetic fields and the noise or demanded that the line route be relocated or cabled. Various appellants have appealed to the Federal Supreme Court against the decision made by the Swiss Federal Office of Energy. The Federal Supreme Court confirmed the planning approval for increasing the voltage of the Bassecourt – Mühleberg line, rejecting all complaints, on 23 March 2021.

Schedule for the Bassecourt – Mühleberg grid project assuming optimal progress.

Planned construction work on the existing line

Swissgrid is carrying out the construction work in two stages. The first work on the section between Pieterlen and Bassecourt will begin in mid-August 2022. The existing mast foundations will be reinforced on four masts. In September, double supporting chains will be installed for around two weeks. At the beginning of September, the foundations of two pylons on the section between Mühleberg and Pieterlen will be reinforced. After an autumn/winter break, Swissgrid will carry out the remaining construction work in 2023. Swissgrid is planning to increase the voltage of the existing extra-high voltage line between Bassecourt and Mühleberg from 220 to 380 kV by the end of 2023.

Planned construction work in 2022

Substations

New transformers in the Mühleberg and Bassecourt substations

Swissgrid has commissioned a new transformer in the Mühleberg substation. Together with the increase in voltage of the extra-high-voltage line, the transformer in Mühleberg will ensure that current can be transported with a voltage of 380 kV as well as 220 kV.

The last of four transformer poles was delivered to Mühleberg in mid-September 2020. The new transformer was transported from the port Auhafen in Basel to Mühleberg in four heavy-load transporter trips. Every transformer pole has a transport weight of 170 tonnes and is around 11 metres long, almost 3.6 metres wide and 4.5 metres high. The transformer has been operational since the end of 2020.

The renovation work for the new 380/220 kV phase-shifting transformer in the Bassecourt substation has been completed. The new transformer has been in operation since May 2020 and enables better control of the energy flows from France.

1/2: The transformer pole is lifted and placed on the rails.
2/2: The transformer pole is drawn into the chamber with the help of a pulley system.
A giant comes to Mühleberg (video in German)

People & environment

Noise

  • The increase in voltage in a transmission line from an operation at 220 kV to 380 kV results in an increase in the maximum electrical field strength of the overhead line, which results in an increase in the noise level on the line.
  • The planning figures, i.e. the most stringent statutory precautionary values in accordance with the Noise-Protection Ordinance (LSV), are complied with at all noise-sensitive areas operating at 380 kV.
  • The existing quadruple conductor is currently already reducing the noise level along the line. The precautionary principle specified by the Noise-Protection Ordinance is therefore largely taken into account.
  • The noises are caused by the corona effect, which primarily occurs during wet weather conditions (rain, snow, fog). The noises are barely perceptible in fine and dry weather.

Electromagnetic fields

  • Magnetic fields
    • The emission limit for a magnetic field of 100 microtesla is complied with in all places where people may be present.
    • The optimum phasing is determined for the different sections in the project. The phase difference is already optimised in the section between Mühleberg and Pieterlen. The phase difference will be optimised for the section between Pieterlen and Bassecourt, which will result in an improvement from the current condition.
  • Electric field: The increase in voltage to 380 kV will also lead to an increase in the line's electric field. The emission limit (IGW) of 5 kV/m is complied with at all points.

Downloads


Project news

  • | Media release

    Temporary voltage increase on the Bickigen – Chippis and Bassecourt – Mühleberg lines

    Read article
  • | Media release

    Bassecourt – Mühleberg voltage increase

    Read article
  • | Blog

    A giant comes to Mühleberg

    Read article

Contact

Title

Please select a title.

Please enter your first name.

Please enter your last name.

Please enter a valid e-mail address.

Please enter your message.

Please click the checkbox.

Contact

Title

Please select a title.

Please enter your first name.

Please enter your last name.

Please enter a valid e-mail address.

Please enter your message.

Please click the checkbox.

Projet de réseau Bassecourt – Mühleberg

Le renforcement de la ligne à très haute tension Bassecourt – Mühleberg fait partie du «Réseau stratégique 2025». Swissgrid a besoin de la liaison 380 kV entre Bassecourt et Mühleberg afin de garantir la sécurité d’approvisionnement à moyen terme. Elle revêt notamment une grande importance en hiver lorsque la Suisse doit importer de l’énergie supplémentaire.

Votre contact pour ce projet

Sandra Bläuer
Sandra Bläuer

Téléphone +41 58 580 21 11
info@swissgrid.ch

Ligne 380 kV
Ligne 380 kV
Ligne actuelle
Ligne actuelle
Sous-station
Sous-station

Sommaire

La production d’énergie dans le Plateau diminuera à partir de fin 2019 suite à l’arrêt de la centrale nucléaire de Mühleberg. Une hausse de la production des centrales électriques suisses ou l’importation d’énergie depuis l'étranger devront compenser cette baisse de l’injection à moyen terme. La capacité actuelle des lignes à très haute tension et des transformateurs entre Bassecourt et Mühleberg doit être augmentée afin de permettre des importations supplémentaires. Cet aspect est particulièrement important en hiver, lorsque la Suisse doit importer de l’énergie supplémentaire.

L’approvisionnement en électricité de l’agglomération bernoise sera suffisant dans les situations normales, même après l’arrêt de la centrale nucléaire de Mühleberg. Dans le cas de brèves congestions du réseau, le centre de conduite du réseau de Swissgrid peut prendre différentes mesures, comme des manœuvres de couplage, des interventions dans la production d’électricité (redispatch) ou des actions sur le marché de l’électricité (adaptations de la capacité de transfert nette ou NTC, Net Transfert Capacity), en fonction de la situation afin de garantir la stabilité du réseau. Swissgrid a besoin de la liaison 380 kV entre Bassecourt et Mühleberg afin de garantir la sécurité d’approvisionnement à moyen terme.


Augmentation temporaire de la tension sur la ligne Bassecourt – Mühleberg

Le Conseil fédéral a édicté différentes mesures pour renforcer la sécurité d’approvisionnement à court terme. Celles-ci seront disponibles cet hiver pour faire face à des situations extraordinaires et critiques. Il est notamment prévu d’augmenter temporairement la tension des lignes de transport Bickigen – Chippis (ligne de la Gemmi) et Bassecourt – Mühleberg.

Afin d’éviter les congestions sur le réseau de transport, le Conseil fédéral autorise, pour cet hiver, l’augmentation temporaire de la tension d’exploitation des deux lignes de transport entre Bickigen et Chippis (ligne de la Gemmi) et entre Bassecourt et Mühleberg de 220 kilovolts (kV) à 380 kV entre janvier et avril 2023. Les congestions sur le réseau de transport suisse sont éliminées afin de pouvoir acheminer l’intégralité de l’énergie produite par les centrales hydroélectriques dans les Alpes vers le Plateau suisse. En cas d’urgence, Swissgrid peut augmenter la capacité de transport du réseau à très haute tension sur la base de critères définis par la Confédération.

Test d’exploitation avec une tension de 380 kV

Swissgrid se prépare, d’un point de vue technique, à exploiter les lignes Bickigen – Chippis et Bassecourt – Mühleberg à une tension de 380 kV de manière temporaire, en cas de situation d’approvisionnement tendue. La mesure n’est prévue que pour la période de janvier à avril 2023. Un test d’exploitation aura lieu sur les deux lignes de mi-décrembre 2022 à fin février 2023. La tension des lignes existantes passera alors temporairement de 220 kV à 380 kV. Ce test d’exploitation en 380 kV ne sera réalisé que si la situation de réseau le permet. Le test d’exploitation combiné permet de vérifier les lignes d’un point de vue opérationnel. Les deux augmentations de tension s’influencent mutuellement et peuvent déplacer les congestions en fonction de la charge du réseau. L’étendue et la durée du test d’exploitation ont été approuvées par l’Inspection fédérale des installations à courant fort (ESTI).

Swissgrid a déjà testé avec succès l’exploitation à une tension de 380 kV de la ligne Bassecourt – Mühleberg et du transformateur de Mühleberg à l’automne 2021. D’un point de vue technique, Swissgrid est donc prête à exploiter temporairement cette ligne en 380 kV en cas de situation d’approvisionnement critique. La modification durable de la tension à 380 kV nécessite des mesures de construction planifiées réalisées en deux étapes entre la mi-août 2022 et la fin 2023.


Projet

La ligne à très haute tension Bassecourt – Mühleberg de 45 kilomètres a été construite en 1978. L’Inspection fédérale des installations à courant fort (ESTI) a autorisé l'exploitation de la ligne avec une tension de 380 kV dès 1978. Jusqu'à présent, elle n'était exploitée qu'avec une tension de 220 kV. L’Ordonnance sur la protection contre le rayonnement non ionisant (ORNI) sera respectée lors de l’augmentation de la tension.

La ligne sera modernisée aux emplacements des pylônes actuels, le paysage ne sera donc pas modifié. Au total, des travaux sont prévus sur 56 des 142 pylônes ainsi que sur les portiques des deux sous-stations de Pieterlen et Bassecourt: les fondations de certains pylônes seront renforcées, des chaînes d’ancrage doubles seront installées ou la tension des câbles sera augmentée. L'exploitation à 380 kV n’augmentera les émissions de bruit que de manière à peine perceptible.

Les coûts de construction liés à l’augmentation de la tension et à la modernisation de la ligne à très haute tension Bassecourt – Mühleberg s’élèvent à environ onze millions de francs.

Calendrier

Le 22 août 2019, l’Office fédéral de l’énergie a approuvé l’augmentation de la tension de 220 à 380 kilovolts de la ligne à très haute tension entre Bassecourt et Mühleberg et rejeté les recours. Ces derniers concernaient principalement les nuisances et le bruit causés par les champs magnétiques ou exigeaient le déplacement du tracé ou le câblage de la ligne. Différents recourants ont porté la décision de l’Office fédéral de l’énergie devant le Tribunal fédéral. Le Tribunal fédéral a confirmé le 23 mars 2021 la décision d’approbation des plans en vue de l’augmentation de la tension de la ligne Bassecourt – Mühleberg et a rejeté tous les recours.

Calendrier optimal pour le projet Bassecourt – Mühleberg.

Travaux prévus sur la ligne existante

Swissgrid effectuera les travaux de construction en deux étapes. Les premiers travaux débuteront à la mi-août 2022 sur le tronçon entre Pieterlen et Bassecourt. Les fondations existantes de quatre pylônes seront renforcées. En septembre, des chaînes porteuses doubles seront installées pendant environ deux semaines. Début septembre, les fondations de deux pylônes seront renforcées sur le tronçon Mühleberg-Pieterlen. Après une pause automne/hiver, Swissgrid réalisera les travaux restants en 2023. Swissgrid prévoit d'augmenter la tension de la ligne à très haute tension existante Bassecourt – Mühleberg de 220 à 380 kV d'ici fin 2023.

Travaux prévus en 2022

Sous-stations

De nouveaux transformateurs dans les sous-stations de Mühleberg et de Bassecourt

Swissgrid a installé un nouveau transformateur dans la sous-station de Mühleberg. Associé à l’augmentation de la tension de la ligne à très haute tension, le transformateur à Mühleberg garantit que l’électricité peut être transportée avec une tension de 380 kV ou de 220 kV.

Le dernier des quatre pôles du transformateur a été livré à Mühleberg mi-septembre 2020. Le nouveau transformateur a été transporté du port Auhafen de Bâle à Mühleberg par quatre convois exceptionnels. Chaque pôle du transformateur pèse 170 tonnes et mesure environ 11 mètres de long, presque 3,6 mètres de large et 4,5 mètres de haut (cf. blog de Swissgrid). Le transformateur est opérationnel depuis fin 2020.

Les travaux de transformation destinés au nouveau transformateur-déphaseur 380/220 kV dans la sous-station de Bassecourt sont terminés. Le nouveau transformateur est en service depuis mai 2020. Il est ainsi possible de mieux gérer les flux d’énergie provenant de France.

1/2: Le pôle du transformateur est soulevé et placé sur des rails.
2/2: Le pôle du transformateur est tiré dans la chambre à l’aide d’un câble.
Un géant arrive à Mühleberg (vidéo en allemand)

Personnes & environnement

Bruit

  • De par l’augmentation de la tension d'un terne d’une exploitation de 220 kV à 380 kV, la valeur maximale du champ électrique de la ligne aérienne augmente, ce qui induit une augmentation du niveau sonore de la ligne.
  • Les valeurs de planification, c'est-à-dire les valeurs de précaution légales les plus strictes selon l’Ordonnance sur la protection contre le bruit (OPB) sont respectées à tous les endroits sensibles au bruit dans un environnement d’exploitation à 380 kV.
  • De par le faisceau à quatre conducteurs actuel, le niveau sonore est aujourd'hui déjà minimisé. Le principe de précaution de l’OPB est donc largement pris en considération.
  • Les bruits sont causés par l’effet Corona qui se produit principalement dans des conditions météorologiques humides (pluie, neige, brouillard). Quand le temps est beau et sec, les bruits sont à peine perceptibles.

Champs électromagnétiques

  • Champ magnétique
    • la valeur limite d'immission pour le champ magnétique de 100 microteslas est respectée partout où des personnes peuvent séjourner.
    • Pour les différents tronçons, la disposition optimale des phases est déterminée avec le projet. La disposition des phases sur le tronçon entre Mühleberg et Pieterlen est déjà optimisée. Sur le tronçon de Pieterlen à Bassecourt, la disposition des phases sera optimisée ce qui entraînera une amélioration par rapport à l'état actuel.
  • Champ électrique: le champ électrique de la ligne s'agrandit avec l'augmentation de la tension à 380 kV. La valeur limite d'immission (LI) de 5 kV/m est respectée partout.

Liens & téléchargements

Liens

Un géant arrive à Mühleberg

Téléchargements


Actualités concernant le projet

  • | Communiqué de presse

    Augmentation temporaire de la tension sur les lignes Bickigen – Chippis et Bassecourt – Mühleberg

    Lire l'article
  • | Communiqué de presse

    Augmentation de la tension entre Bassecourt et Mühleberg

    Lire l'article
  • | Blog

    Un géant arrive à Mühleberg

    Lire l'article

Contact

Titre

Veuillez sélectionner le titre.

Veuillez entrer votre prénom.

Veuillez entrer votre nom.

Veuillez entrer une adresse e-mail valide.

Veuillez entrer votre message.

Veuillez cocher la case.

Contact

Titre

Veuillez sélectionner le titre.

Veuillez entrer votre prénom.

Veuillez entrer votre nom.

Veuillez entrer une adresse e-mail valide.

Veuillez entrer votre message.

Veuillez cocher la case.