Frequency

The standard frequency in Europe’s electricity grid is 50 Hz. In North America and parts of Japan, on the other hand, a standard frequency of 60 Hz is used. These frequencies must be kept as stable as possible for various reasons:

  • Time measurement: there are still many clocks which go by the frequency in the electricity grid. If the frequency is higher, they go faster. If the frequency is lower, they go more slowly.
  • Machines: large electrical machines can suffer damage if the frequency is too low or too high, or if it changes rapidly.

To ensure the frequency always remains at a stable level the balance between production and consumption of electrical power must always be right.

If the consumption of electrical power is lower than production, the frequency is higher; if consumption is higher than production, the frequency is lower. The reason for this is as follows: the electrical generators of an electricity grid rotate more readily and faster when consumption is low. Consequently, they rotate with a higher frequency. Conversely, the electrical generators rotate more laboriously and with a lower frequency when consumption is greater.

Everyday comparison with a bicycle

On a level road it is easy to maintain speed. On reaching a gradient, however, the rider needs to make more effort to achieve the same speed. Going downhill, the rider needs to apply the brakes to keep the same speed.

In the entire European network the electrical generators are set up in such a way that they automatically and immediately respond to a change in grid frequency. Depending on the level of consumption they increase or lower their capacity. This ensures that the frequency remains stable. This automatic adjustment can be compared with the cruise control in a car.

Grid time deviation

The grid time is a time measurement which is based on the standard grid frequency of 50 Hz in Europe. Fifty oscillations in alternating current equate to one second of grid time. Frequency fluctuations lead to deviations in grid time. If the frequency is lower than 50 Hz, the fifty oscillations last slightly longer. If, on the other hand, the frequency is lower than 50 Hz, the fifty oscillations are shorter. Since one second of grid time always constitutes precisely fifty oscillations, the grid seconds therefore last slightly shorter or longer depending on the frequency. The grid time deviation is calculated by comparing with UTC time (coordinated universal time), which is determined using highly precise atomic clocks.

This grid time deviation is constantly balanced out. If the time deviation is more than twenty seconds the frequency is corrected in the grid. In order to balance out the time deviation again the otherwise customary frequency of 50 Hz (Europe) is changed as follows:

  • 49.990 Hz, if the grid time is running ahead of UTC time
  • 50.010 Hz, if the grid time is lagging behind UTC time
Share
Facebook
Twitter

Fréquence

La fréquence standard dans le réseau électrique européen est de 50 Hz, alors qu’elle s’élève à 60 Hz en Amérique du Nord et dans certaines parties du Japon. Ces fréquences doivent être le plus stable possible pour diverses raisons:

  • Mesure du temps: il existe encore de nombreuses horloges qui se basent sur la fréquence du réseau électrique. Ainsi, si la fréquence augmente, ces horloges accélèrent. Si elle diminue, elles ralentissent.
  • Machines: les grosses machines électriques peuvent être endommagées si la fréquence est trop basse ou trop haute, ou si elle change trop rapidement.

Pour que la fréquence reste stable, l’équilibre entre production et consommation de puissance électrique doit être garantie en permanence.

Si la consommation est inférieure à la production, la fréquence est plus élevée; si elle est supérieure à la production, la fréquence est plus faible. Motif: les générateurs électriques d’un réseau électrique tournent plus rapidement lorsque la consommation est plus faible, et donc à une fréquence plus élevée. A l’inverse, ils tournent plus lentement lorsque la consommation augmente, et donc à une fréquence plus basse.

Comparaison avec le vélo

Lorsque le terrain est plat, le cycliste arrive à facilement maintenir sa vitesse. Mais dès qu’il amorce une pente, il doit fournir plus d’efforts pour atteindre la même vitesse. Et en descente, il doit freiner pour ne pas accélérer.

Dans le réseau européen, les générateurs électriques sont configurés de sorte à réagir automatiquement et sans délai à toute modification de la fréquence du réseau. En fonction de la consommation, ils augmentent ou réduisent leur puissance, ce qui permet de garantir la stabilité de la fréquence. Cette adaptation automatique peut être comparée au régulateur de vitesse d’une voiture.

Ecart du temps synchrone

Le temps synchrone est une mesure du temps basée en Europe sur la fréquence du réseau standard de 50 Hz: 50 pulsations du courant alternatif correspondent à une seconde du temps synchrone. Les variations de fréquence entraînent des écarts du temps synchrone. Si la fréquence est inférieure à 50 Hz, les 50 pulsations durent un peu plus longtemps, et si elle est supérieure à 50 Hz, les 50 pulsations durent un peu moins longtemps, Etant donné qu’une seconde du temps synchrone correspond exactement à 50 pulsations, les secondes durent plus ou moins longtemps selon la fréquence. L’écart du temps synchrone se calcule par comparaison avec l’heure mondiale (heure UTC), qui est définie sur la base d’horloges atomiques ultraprécises.

Cet écart du temps synchrone est compensé en permanence. S’il est de plus de 20 secondes, la fréquence est corrigée dans le réseau. Pour équilibrer l’écart du temps, la fréquence habituelle de 50 Hz (Europe) est modifiée comme suit:

  • 49,990 Hz, lorsque le temps synchrone est en avance pas rapport à l’heure mondiale
  • 50,010 Hz, lorsque le temps synchrone est en retard par rapport à l’heure mondiale
Partager
E-Mail
Facebook
Twitter