Congestion management

Targeted congestion management is a key priority for Swissgrid in line with its legal responsibility for reliable grid operation.


Subpages


Congestion arises when the demand for cross-border trading capacity exceeds supply. Congestion management involves preventive measures to manage the limited transmission capacity available. To avoid congestion, Swissgrid has the right to take special measures. Technical and economic measures are the tools used to prevent congestion. Such corrective measures are taken in order to keep the transmission grid stable and within load limits, and to avoid disruption in the interests of all customers.

Auctions

Why are auctions necessary?

Among other things, the new Electricity Supply Act requires congestion in the cross-border network to be managed by allocating network capacities according to a market-oriented allocation procedure, i.e. by means of auctions. Since the second internal electricity market directive and the regulation on cross-border trade in electricity (EG-VO 1228/03) also provide for congestion management, market-based procedures, i.e. auctions, have been held for some time across Europe. Due to the advanced stage of liberalisation of the EU electricity market and the increase in cross-border energy flows throughout Europe, it is necessary to introduce a transparent, non-discriminatory system of congestion management at Swiss borders with other countries. This will make an important contribution to ensuring network security and the security of supply in Switzerland.

Auction rules

These Auction Rules govern the terms and conditions for the auctioning of available transfer capacity, commonly for the regions of CWE, CSE and Switzerland. The relevant version of the Auction Rules are published on the JAO S.A. website.


Switzerland – Germany

Explicit yearly, monthly and daily auctions

In the cross-border transmission system between Switzerland and Germany, the available grid capacities are distributed by the responsible Transmission System Operators TransnetBW, Amprion GmbH and Swissgrid via auctions. The Allocation Office JAO S.A. performs auctions.

Intraday allocations

Intraday capacity allocation is carried out in addition to the daily, monthly and yearly auction. Market participants can request available intraday transport capacity on the platform Intraday Capacity Service. Assignment takes place by means of continuous explicit allocation according to the «first come first served» approach.

The Intraday allocation rules for Switzerland – Germany can be found on the TransnetBW website.


Switzerland – France

Explicit yearly, monthly and daily auctions

RTE and Swissgrid have assigned the Allocation Office JAO S.A. to auction the available cross-border transmission grid capacities between Switzerland and France.

Intraday allocations

Intraday capacity allocation is carried out in addition to the daily, monthly and yearly auction. Market participants can request available intraday transport capacity on the platform Intraday Capacity Service. Assignment takes place by means of continuous explicit allocation according to the «first come first served» approach.

The Intraday allocation rules for Switzerland – France can be found on the RTE website.


Switzerland – Italy

Explicit yearly, monthly and daily auctions

In the cross-border transmission system between Switzerland and Italy, the available grid capacities are distributed by Rete Elettrica Nazionale SpA (Terna) and Swissgrid. This is done using auctions. The Allocation Office JAO S.A. performs auctions.

Intraday explicit auctions

In order to further enhance the use of cross border capacities, Terna and Swissgrid have agreed to perform intraday explicit auctions on the Switzerland – Italy Border. This Intraday mechanism operated by the Allocation Office JAO S.A. and will comprise two auction sessions.

Information regarding the processes and scheduling can be found in the technical balance group provisions.

Nomination system

The nomination system is used for nomination of the awarded monthly and annual capacities. The Nomination system is also used for information on maintenance works and maintenance windows. This applies solely for the direction from Switzerland to Italy.

Requirements for nomination procedure

To use the awarded capacities at the auctions, PTR Holders have to notify Counterparties. If no Counterparties are registered the use of allocated PTRs is not possible.

Counterparty notification for yearly and monthly PTRs allocated from Switzerland to Italy

For PTRs nominations from Switzerland to Italy, PTR holder can designate counterparty(ies) allowed to make nominations to the neighbouring TSOs (A-to-N).

If the PTR holder is a signatory of a balance group contract he can designate a maximum of 20 counterparties, which are signatories of a dispatching contract in Italy. This applies as well, if the PTR holder is a signatory of a balance group contract and a dispatching contract. If the PTR holder is a signatory of a dispatching contract he can designate a maximum of 20 counterparties, which are signatories of a balance group contract.

The PTR holder has to communicate the counterparties to Swissgrid by using the counterparty management Form no later than 12:00 on Wednesday of week W-1. If this form is submitted in due time and the corresponding counterparty has confirmed the supply relationship with the counterparty confirmation form, the supply relationship can be used on Monday of week W (first execution day: Tuesday of Week W). Any counterparty can be modified every week by sending a new counterparty management form. Only those counterparties listed in the last form are relevant. For the use of the supply relationship, each counterparty must confirm the supply relationship with the counterparty confirmation form.

Counterparty notification for PTRs acquired through daily auctions from Switzerland to Italy

For PTRs nominations from Switzerland to Italy, the PTR holder should designate himself (A to A principle) or one counterparty (A to B principle) with the same form as for counterparty management of yearly and monthly PTR. These counterparty designations can be modified every week with the same modalities/rules as for yearly and monthly PTRs.

Agreement to access to the Swissgrid customer portal

Please specify the number of «Master» and «Read-Only» accounts.

Please send the duly completed form «Agreement for Access to the Swissgrid Customer Portal» by registered post to the address indicated on the form. To speed up the process, we recommend that you also fax the form. After successful registration you will receive your user ID and PIN. A token is not needed. Please send the forms related to counterparties by mail too after the submission by e-mail or fax.


Switzerland – Austria

Explicit yearly, monthly and daily auctions

In the cross-border transmission system between Austria and Switzerland, the available grid capacities are distributed by VERBUND-Austrian Power Grid AG (APG) and Swissgrid. This is done using auctions. The Allocation Office JAO S.A. performs auctions.

Intraday allocation

APG is responsible for intraday capacity allocation on the border Switzerland – Austria. Allocation takes place by phone using the permanently manned number +43 50320 53230.

The Intraday allocation rules for Switzerland – Austria can be found on the APG website.

Contact

Title

Please select a title.

Please enter your first name.

Please enter your last name.

Please enter a valid e-mail address.

Please enter your message.

Please click the checkbox.

Gestion des congestions

Pour Swissgrid, qui est légalement responsable de l'exploitation sûre du réseau, la gestion ciblée des congestions revêt une importance primordiale.


Pages suivantes


Une congestion survient lorsque la demande de capacités transfrontalières ne peut pas être totalement satisfaite. Gérer les congestions consiste à exploiter de façon préventive la capacité de transport disponible qui est limitée. Afin d'éviter les congestions, Swissgrid est en droit de prendre des mesures exceptionnelles, telles que des mesures techniques ou économiques. De telles mesures de délestage sont prises pour maintenir la stabilité du réseau de transport, respecter ses limites de charge et éviter les défaillances dans l'intérêt de tous les clients.

Enchères

Pourquoi les ventes aux enchères sont-elles nécessaires?

La nouvelle loi sur l'approvisionnement en électricité (LApEl) stipule notamment qu'en cas de congestions dans le réseau de transport transfrontalier, les capacités du réseau doivent être attribuées selon un procédé régi par les règles du marché, à savoir par le biais de ventes aux enchères. Comme, en Europe également, la deuxième directive du marché intérieur de l'électricité et l'ordonnance sur les échanges d'électricité (Règlement CE 1228/2003) prévoient une gestion des congestions, une procédure basée sur le marché – c'est-à-dire des ventes aux enchères – est appliquée depuis un certain temps à l'échelle européenne. La progression de la libéralisation du marché de l'électricité de l'UE et l'augmentation des flux d'énergie transfrontaliers dans toute l'Europe ont rendu nécessaire une gestion des congestions transparente et non-discriminatoire aux frontières suisses, ce qui contribue fortement à la sécurité du réseau et de l'approvisionnement en Suisse.

Règles applicables aux ventes aux enchères

Les règles applicables aux ventes aux enchères décrivent les règles et conditions de l'attribution des capacités de transport de la région CWE, CSE et de la Suisse. Les règles en vigueur sont publiées sur le site web de JAO S.A..


Suisse – Allemagne

Enchères explicites annuelles, mensuelles et journalières

Les capacités disponibles sur le réseau de transport transfrontalier entre la Suisse et l'Allemagne sont assignées par les gestionnaires de réseau de transport responsables
 TransnetBW, Amprion GmbH et Swissgrid par le biais des ventes aux enchères. Les enchères sont exercées par l'Allocation Office JAO S.A..

Allocations intra-day

L'attribution de capacité intra-day est effectuée en complément des ventes aux enchères quotidiennes, mensuelles et annuelles. Les acteurs du marché peuvent consulter la capacité de transport intra-day disponible sur la plateforme Intraday Capacity Service. L'attribution s'effectue à l'aide d'une allocation explicite permanente selon le principe du «permier arrivé, premier servi».

Les règles d'allocation intra-day sont disponibles sur le site web de TransnetBW.


Suisse – France

Enchères explicites annuelles, mensuelles et journalières

RTE et Swissgrid ont chargé l'Allocation Office JAO S.A. d'assigner les capacités disponibles sur le réseau de transport transfrontalier entre la Suisse et la France par le biais de ventes aux enchères.

Allocations intra-day

L'attribution de capacité intra-day est effectuée en complément des ventes aux enchères quotidiennes, mensuelles et annuelles. Les acteurs du marché peuvent consulter la capacité de transport intra-day disponible sur la plateforme Intraday Capacity Service. L'attribution s'effectue à l'aide d'une allocation explicite permanente selon le principe du «permier arrivé, premier servi».

Les règles d'allocation intra-day sont disponibles sur le site web de RTE.


Suisse – Italie

Enchères explicites annuelles, mensuelles et journalières

Rete Elettrica Nazionale SpA (Terna) et Swissgrid répartissent les capacités de réseau disponibles sur le réseau de transport transfrontalier entre la Suisse et l'Italie par le biais de ventes aux enchères. Les enchères sont exercées par l'Allocation Office JAO S.A..

Enchères explicites infra-journalières

En vue d'une amélioration de l'utilasation des capacités transfrontalier, Terna et Swissgrid ont décidé la mise en place des enchères explicites infra-journalières à la frontière Suisse – Italie. Ces enchères infra-journalières seront effectuées par l'Allocation Office JAO S.A. et comprendront deux sessions d'enchères.

Les informations concernant le processus et le scheduling sont disponibles dans les prescriptions techniques de groupe-bilan.

Système de nomination

Le système de nomination permet la nomination des capacités annuelles et mensuelles acquises aux enchères. En outre le système de nomination est utilisé pour publier les informations sur les travaux et périodes de maintenance. Ces différentes dispositions s'appliquent uniquement dans le sens Suisse – Italie.

Conditions pour l'accès aux nominations

Pour utiliser les capacités acquises aux enchères il est indispensable d'indiquer les relations fournisseurs. Si aucune relation n'est registrée, il n'y a aucune possibilité d'utiliser les capacités acquises.

Indication des relations fournisseurs pour les capacités annuelles et mensuelles pour la direction Suisse vers l'Italie

Pour nominer les PTRs de la Suisse vers l'Italie, le propriétaire du PTR peut définir des contreparties qui sont habilitées à faire des nominations (A à N) chez le TSO limitrophe.

Si le propriétaire d'un PTR est signataire d'un groupe-bilan il peut définir jusqu'à 20 contres parties au maximum, qui sont signataires d'un «Dispatching Contract» en Italie. Ceci s'applique aussi si le propriétaire d'un PTR est signataire d'un groupe-bilan et ainsi que d'un «Dispatching Contract». Si le propriétaire d'un PTR est signataire d'un «Dispatching Contract», alors il définit jusqu'à 20 contreparties au maximum, qui sont signataires d'un groupe-bilan.

Le propriétaire d'un PTR indique à Swissgrid ses contreparties avec le formulaire Counterparty Management au plus tard jusqu'à mercredi 12h00 de la semaine précédente (S-1). Si ce formulaire est transmis à temps et confirmé par la contrepartie avec le formulaire Counterparty Confirmation, alors cette relation peut être utilisée le lundi avec comme jour d'exécution le mardi de la semaine S. Chaque relation peut être changée chaque semaine avec le formulaire Counterparty Management. Seules les relations qui sont notées dans le dernier formulaire soumis, sont prises en considération. Pour qu'une relation fournisseur soit effective, il faut que chaque relation soit confirmée par la contrepartie avec le formulaire Counterparty Confirmation.

Indication des relations fournisseurs pour les capacités journalières pour la direction Suisse vers l'Italie

Pour nominer les PTRs de la Suisse vers l'Italie, le propriétaire du PTR peut indiquer soi-même (A à A) ou une contrepartie (A à B) comme relation, en utilisant le même formulaire que celui pour l'indication des contre parties des capacités annuelles et mensuelles. Cette relation peut être modifiée chaque semaine avec les mêmes modalités/règles comme l'indication des contre parties des capacités annuelles et mensuelles.

Agreement to Access to the Swissgrid Customer Portal

Indiquez dans le formulaire «Agreement for Access to the Swissgrid Customer Portal» le nombre de «Master» et de «Read-Only» Accounts.

Le formulaire «Agreement for Access to the Swissgrid Customer Portal» dûment rempli doit être envoyé par courrier recommandé à l'adresse indiquée. Pour accélérer le processus, nous suggérons l'envoi parallèlement par fax. Après la régistration fructueuse vous recevrez votre numéro «identifiant utilisateur» et un NIP. Un token n'est pas nécessaire. S'il vous plaît envoyez les formulaires concernant les Counterpartys après l'envoie par email ou par fax aussi par poste.


Suisse – Autriche

Enchères explicites annuelles, mensuelles et journalières

VERBUND-Austrian Power Grid AG (APG) et Swissgrid répartissent les capacités de réseau disponibles sur le réseau de transport transfrontalier entre la Suisse et l'Italie par le biais de ventes aux enchères. Les enchères sont exercées par l'Allocation Office JAO S.A..

Allocations intra-day

APG es responsable de l'attribution de la capacité intra-day à la frontière Suisse – Autriche. L'attribution s'effectue par téléphone au numéro disponible en permanence +43 50320 53230.

Les règles d'allocation intra-day sont disponibles sur le site web d'APG.

Contact

Titre

Veuillez sélectionner le titre.

Veuillez entrer votre prénom.

Veuillez entrer votre nom.

Veuillez entrer une adresse e-mail valide.

Veuillez entrer votre message.

Veuillez cocher la case.